HRG North America Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Table tennis table
Senior Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 21, 2016
We enjoy celebrating birthday parties of coworkers and occasionally hotel presentations from various cities. In the working atmosphere I enjoy most of the time talking with clients of their previous experiences.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Expereince
Travel Agent- TQR/TSR Agent (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 25, 2016
I deal with many different situations and files daily. There is no typical routine for my current position. Management is very hands on. Wish there was a bit more flexbility in shifts and wages. Overall it is a good place to start working in the Travel Indutsry.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience for high profile clients
Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 20, 2016
A typical day at work consists of getting calls to book travel and hotel and car rentals for government employees. Processing airline ticket exchanges requested by clients.
Pros
Hour lunches, meeting reps from airlines and hotels
Cons
Rotating shifts, no consistent work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for.
RBC/HRG sales agent (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCFebruary 17, 2016
Be honestly Keep alway from HRG, so many promise of opportunity but after the probation period all the BS started. Just keep alway from it.
Pros
Non
Cons
Non management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Junior Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCJanuary 8, 2016
Workload is extremely stressful, but the pay is good compared to other jobs within the same industry. Training could be more efficient as well as the tools used for everyday functions.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management/self serving and ungrateful
agent (Former Employee) –  halifaxJune 22, 2015
Only "yes" people can succeed. Cowardly management void of direction and integrity
Ivory tower for management, no direction from and poor character from within management.

Advice to Management
Welcome and listen to the voice of employees. Rip the gravy train that management is riding off the tracks and start with fresh, smart talent.
Pros
good pay, amazing front line agents
Cons
no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes17No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Travel counsellor - RBC (Former Employee) –  HalifaxApril 21, 2015
Not enough money, for what you have to put up with.
You're always micromanaged, and have managers breathing down your neck at all times.
You aren't allowed to call customers by their first names to make them comfortable; you always have to say Mr/Mrs. So and so.
Very stressful.
You have to deal with 3 different sets of managers - 1 set in the office, 1 set from Orbitz, and 1 set that does scheduling and deals with attendance.
You are expected to be there, no matter what, even if the busses are cancelled due to snow, or any other reason.
All in all, I came home everyday with a massive headache and just mentally exhausted. Every, single, day. Once I left, it's like a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders. Call centres aren't for everyone, I know that, but I know some people who worked at different ones, and by the sounds of it, this one is the worst one!
Pros
Sometimes there is free food.
Cons
Long hours, mandatory overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home-Based Office work
Travel Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCOctober 27, 2014
• Using our Global Distribution and web based programs provide travel counseling support for travel within Canada and USA to loyalty cardholders
• Selling air, car, hotel, products in an inbound call centre
• Providing a high level of customer service
• Provide support to callers for navigational questions or inquiries.
• Providing services based on client loyalty program rules and regulations
• Liaise with airline representatives to secure preferred seating when none is showing or available.
• Confirm telephone/on-line check-in, upon request.
• Ensure mileage credits are applied for all air, car, and hotel bookings.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Leisure Travel Counselor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 3, 2014
Its a great company to work for. you never knew what to expect on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work / Good company
Travel Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 15, 2014
I enjoyed my time at HRG and would love to go back when time permits. The days passed by pretty quickly The company offers incentives. Staff is always willing to help out. Training tine and duration are fair and well done.
Pros
visitors frm hotels, airlines
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impersonal management team
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSFebruary 18, 2014
Long hours with limited scheduled breaks
Coworkers nice but no time to socialize
Management located in a different province - never met them
Taking direction from 3 different companies (1 for schedule/1 for the office and 1 for agent support)
Too much change and never enough training provided - you have to learn by doing which is very stressful
Fun interacting with clients over the phone, most times
Pros
free lunches and snacks occasionally
Cons
expected overtime, required to work longer than scheduled
Was this review helpful?Yes29No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities
Customer Service Representative (Part-Time) (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCNovember 28, 2013
High call volume call centre where everything is monitored, calls monitored and graded. No chance for advancement and no higher pay as they can easily find someone to replace you. Good workers aren't recognized. Good job for a student but not someone who has a family.
Pros
home office, health and dental benefits, 3 wks vacation, good training
Cons
have to work weekends, no life work balance, low pay, no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many calls
Travel Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCAugust 26, 2013
can not be a long term work, working here is too tiring and too much pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and I enjoyed learning about the industry
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, QCFebruary 26, 2013
Worked contract but would love to work full time for this firm.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The People and Culture of the organization fun environment, Team Lunches
Customer Care Financial Specialist (Former Employee) –  TorontoFebruary 2, 2013
Getting daily task completed
meeting deadlines
Challenging
I enjoy the quarterly team building activities, team work environment
working with different people from different back grounds
Pros
fam allowance
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great management team.
Operations supervisor, Loyalty Department (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCAugust 30, 2012
I enjoyed working for HRG North America. We had a great office and a great team to work with. HRG provided excellent training and opportunities for advancement.
Pros
challenging, learning opportunities and democratic work place.
Cons
long hours and stat holidays rotational work.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense Accuracy
Travel Agent (Current Employee) –  WinnipegJune 14, 2012
I take an average of 19-25 calls per day, from customers inquiring and booking travel reservations worldwide.
I have learned extensive information on the many terms and conditions for a variety of airlines, car renatls, hotels and package companies.
I work with a supportive and positive team who are always ready to help when needed.
Most of my co-workers are quiet, but very friendly and supportive.
The hardest part of the job are exchanges on international bookings and the occasional difficult customer.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the variety.
Pros
variety, busy, global thinking
Cons
exchanges.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a results orientated individual with a passion for travel. I have excellent customer service skills
CFS Counsellor (Former Employee) –  GTA, Kitchener/Waterloo areaJune 14, 2012
I am a team player who has a passion for travel and I have fantastic customer service skills. I am very eager to troubleshoot any area in travel and tourism
Was this review helpful?Yes3No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and friendly working environment
Travel Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMarch 16, 2012
I enjoyed and loved working with HRG. It was a place where you can work and play. All staff are helpful with one another as well as the management team. They are always available to answer any questions that involves my responsibility as a Travel counselor. Advancement is very open for any individuals who are willing to do so.
Pros
free flight tickets, discounted hotel accom. and car rentals
Cons
have to do a lot of multi tasking...
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très belle équipe
Conseillère en voyages (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCMay 10, 2016
Expérience très enrichissante. Agréable atmosphère de travail permettant d'exploiter chaque facette de mes compétences.
Pros
non routinier
Cons
aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture