Houle Electric Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Pre-Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCMay 26, 2016
I only worked there for two weeks for the Work experience portion of my Electrician Foundation Studies but found the company to be well managed, mannerly and efficient. I felt welcome and useful and I am even grateful for the opportunity received.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive and pleasant environment
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BCMay 11, 2016
simple day at work safety meetings,management easy to talk too .
company willing to train in different areas of work. co workers always willing to helping out each other ...
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
2nd Year Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BCApril 20, 2016
Having a safe day is a good way to start it and end it. While completing some tasks. I don't mind working long hours because i like money and getting lots of work done is very satisfying. so its a win win haha.
Pros
long hours and good cash
Cons
working in the rain
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great people but terrible foremans
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BCApril 14, 2016
They paid particularly well but at the same time they expected you to be not a minute late on break, if you were you were written up. A ton of bag lickers shooting for foreman that will take credit for your own work, talk behind your back, and throw you under the bus at any turn. I don't know why, but houle loves to promote those people to foreman positions, be warned.
Pros
money
Cons
bad supervision (from my expirience)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Contractor
Industrial Electrician RioTinto Alcan (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BCMarch 4, 2016
Solid leadership with a focus on safety and customer service .Strong focus on accountability tempered with a safety mindset and quality work . Large industrial job , well organized, plenty of resources .
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked the job
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BCFebruary 18, 2016
it was a good job they treated me fine. I would work with them again if I had the opportunity. It was a rainy job but we had fun and got it done.
Pros
good pay rate
Cons
the hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work for always busy
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort St James, BCJanuary 27, 2016
Working for Houle was I learnt a lot of new things in the electrical trade and got a long with the people I worked with. Many tasks and responsibilities on the site that developed my problem solving abilities and priorities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, terrible management and clueless foreman
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCDecember 18, 2015
I worked with Houle Electric in Kelowna after moving up to the Okanagan. Co-workers were friendly and knowledgable, ranging in age. I dealt with two foreman on two different job sites. One was quite young and knowledgable in the trade but didn't know what was going on with the site. The other didn't have a clue about what was going on, was totally overwhelmed and took it out on his employees like a child. The management above the foremen was no better, clueless, cheap and didn't want to listen to any of the problems.
Pros
Good pay, friendly co-workers
Cons
Long hours, terrible foreman and management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Electrician Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCDecember 15, 2015
I worked on substation. I did some grounding but mostly I was terminated panels. Job was fun but short. I had grate co-workers and my management was OK too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, Friendly Place!
Summer Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCOctober 6, 2015
Houle Electric was an amazing first experience working. My boss was amazing and I gained a reference. I gained loads of experience and had fun doing it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working employees, Professional managers, and completely organized
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  kitimat, BCSeptember 15, 2015
Hard working, high volume of work, and daily meeting at 6:30 am!! All in a friendly and positive work place. I proud to be a part of this team at Holue.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Houle Kitimat
Journeymen Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BCJune 30, 2015
Houle is a good to place to work for construction electricians. A diverse group of electrician for across the country. Opportunities for apprentices are good.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
To many young formen
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good work shop.
apprentice electrician (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCApril 1, 2015
very happy to have had the chance to work for this company. gained substantial amount of experiences.
it consist of a very good and knowledgeable group of hard working guys.
Pros
fre lunch ocasionaly
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most organized, well managed
Journeyman Assistant (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCMarch 17, 2015
best co workers, very interesting learn new things and always had a keen interest in electrical trade. would like to learn more and become a certified red seal electrician.
Pros
wage and work in town
Cons
slow at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture
Apprentice Electrician (Current Employee) –  BCMarch 7, 2015
Houle is a great company who cares about their employees. They are invested in your learning and training you to be a great electrician.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized, never knew what we would be doing.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort St James, BCOctober 27, 2014
very hectic, unorganized. Never knew what we would be doing. All over the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Houle Electric is a good well managed company that treats their employees well.
service electrician (Former Employee) –  NanaimoMarch 14, 2014
Working as a service person for Houle allows each of the workers and opportunity to develop their own client list. As you service different customers there are businesses that become reliant on you for the service you provide.
Houle will train you for whatever skills you require and have an aptitude for.
The management team are hard working individuals that maintain high levels of success in securing jobs and manage the jobs effectively.
The hardest part of the job is being on call 24/7 although that is usually shared with other service people.
The most enjoyable part of the job is having good equipment at your disposal including tools and vehicles. (They also have an excellent working relationship with the IBEW)
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working employees, challenging jobs
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Courtenay, BCNovember 2, 2012
fast paced environment, good communication between workers
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture