Houle Electric Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great group of people to work with
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Courtenay, BC28 June 2017
My time with Houle was spent at the Comox Valley Hospital project for nearly a year. A typical day at work consisted of bending emt and installing raceways, installing light fixtures, low voltage wiring and data wiring. I learned a lot while with Houle especially about bending conduit which is what I spent most of my time doing. I got along great with the management and had very few issues if any at all. Workplace culture was good especially considering it was such a big jobsite, all trades and coworkers got along for the most part. The hardest part of the job for me was commuting over an hour each way without being compensated for it by my union. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to meet new people with similar interests in career and lifestyle!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC28 February 2017
Good site lots of helpful workmates, foreman were all very helpful and understanding and willing to help with any problems. Didn't just delegate to another employee
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent apprenticeship and Leadership training
Apprentice Construction Electrician (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC22 February 2017
Extensive experiences in commercial installations and great learning value. Fantastic co-workers and team leads, always supporting, mentoring and motivating to improve, work safe and practice good work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, Decent pay
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC19 February 2017
Hard work, decent pay.
Shift work and camp environment so you didn't see family very often.
Management often seemed lost but answered any questions to the best of their ability or got back to you with in the day, especially when it comes to safety.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC19 October 2016
I liked working for the company. The pay was good, the culture was good, and I was kept on large projects, which is always a nice thing. Not a lot off pressure either,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment and workers
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC23 July 2016
The work on site was fairly good it terms of making sure the specific areas people were at where safe and workable. We did a lot of cable pulls through pull pits which was fine because i did not mind getting wet or dirty. My co-workers for the most part were very helpful and fun to be around. The hardest part of the job was the weather because it was, for 1) either 35 degrees or raining all the time and for 2) was the down time. It made days seem longer then they were when you told to wait for other crews in you area to finish up so you can begin your work. My thinking is, I like to keep busy so if possible, i will find some other work to do until I`m able to get back to my original task.
Pros
Free breakfasts, lunches, dinners, free flights, good people, hard work, co
Cons
distance from home, travel time and delays, weather, down time on site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a camp job
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC2 June 2016
As far as construction goes it was a very diigent company and workers responded well with management and worked well together with a great safety track record.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Pre-Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC26 May 2016
I only worked there for two weeks for the Work experience portion of my Electrician Foundation Studies but found the company to be well managed, mannerly and efficient. I felt welcome and useful and I am even grateful for the opportunity received.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive and pleasant environment
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC11 May 2016
simple day at work safety meetings,management easy to talk too .
company willing to train in different areas of work. co workers always willing to helping out each other ...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
2nd Year Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC20 April 2016
Having a safe day is a good way to start it and end it. While completing some tasks. I don't mind working long hours because i like money and getting lots of work done is very satisfying. so its a win win haha.
Pros
long hours and good cash
Cons
working in the rain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great people but terrible foremans
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC14 April 2016
They paid particularly well but at the same time they expected you to be not a minute late on break, if you were you were written up. A ton of bag lickers shooting for foreman that will take credit for your own work, talk behind your back, and throw you under the bus at any turn. I don't know why, but houle loves to promote those people to foreman positions, be warned.
Pros
money
Cons
bad supervision (from my expirience)
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Contractor
Industrial Electrician RioTinto Alcan (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC4 March 2016
Solid leadership with a focus on safety and customer service .Strong focus on accountability tempered with a safety mindset and quality work . Large industrial job , well organized, plenty of resources .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked the job
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC18 February 2016
it was a good job they treated me fine. I would work with them again if I had the opportunity. It was a rainy job but we had fun and got it done.
Pros
good pay rate
Cons
the hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work for always busy
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort St James, BC27 January 2016
Working for Houle was I learnt a lot of new things in the electrical trade and got a long with the people I worked with. Many tasks and responsibilities on the site that developed my problem solving abilities and priorities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, terrible management and clueless foreman
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC18 December 2015
I worked with Houle Electric in Kelowna after moving up to the Okanagan. Co-workers were friendly and knowledgable, ranging in age. I dealt with two foreman on two different job sites. One was quite young and knowledgable in the trade but didn't know what was going on with the site. The other didn't have a clue about what was going on, was totally overwhelmed and took it out on his employees like a child. The management above the foremen was no better, clueless, cheap and didn't want to listen to any of the problems.
Pros
Good pay, friendly co-workers
Cons
Long hours, terrible foreman and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Electrician Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC15 December 2015
I worked on substation. I did some grounding but mostly I was terminated panels. Job was fun but short. I had grate co-workers and my management was OK too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, Friendly Place!
Summer Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC6 October 2015
Houle Electric was an amazing first experience working. My boss was amazing and I gained a reference. I gained loads of experience and had fun doing it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working employees, Professional managers, and completely organized
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  kitimat, BC15 September 2015
Hard working, high volume of work, and daily meeting at 6:30 am!! All in a friendly and positive work place. I proud to be a part of this team at Holue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Houle Kitimat
Journeymen Electrician (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC30 June 2015
Houle is a good to place to work for construction electricians. A diverse group of electrician for across the country. Opportunities for apprentices are good.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
To many young formen
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good work shop.
apprentice electrician (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC1 April 2015
very happy to have had the chance to work for this company. gained substantial amount of experiences.
it consist of a very good and knowledgeable group of hard working guys.
Pros
fre lunch ocasionaly
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Houle Electric. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7