Horizon Drilling Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Term employment
Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB20 April 2017
Directly related to the oil industry, work flow fluctuated on daily basis.

Management team in a development mode. Small company with limited administrative staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay great company
Roughneck/Derrickhand (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 March 2017
what can i say its the rigs. you either fit in or you dont. great hr ladies great locations close to home if you do well there is time to advance if you dont fit in then go home
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have decent rigs with good crews
Floorhand/Roughneck (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB30 March 2017
Horizon Drilling is fast growing company with decent rigs, and good guys working for them. The work there is fast paced. The job was very physically demanding which I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome to work for
derrickhand (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB13 March 2017
never had any issues with working for horizon always willing to train and help you move up every person i worked for was always good and the office was easy and fast to deal with.
good pay and good people.
Pros
safety bonuses are awesome
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horizon Drilling
Roughneck (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB12 March 2017
I enjoyed working here. I learned alot and made a decent living. I wouldnt have left if the pirce of oil didnt drop and they started laying employees off,
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hours, Good Pay, Fair Days Off
Roughneck/Floorhand (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt AB4 March 2017
I will be pursuing Petroleum Engineering and this job was a great place to gain knowledge of the work environment. Will be going back for future employment upon my return home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time with Horizon Drilling
Motor Hand (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB29 February 2016
Really enjoyed this job, learned alot about work ethic, maintaining motors and generators, being prepared for any task at hand, being one step ahead all the time is key. With the price of oil and current events in alberta things have slowed dramatically, im looking to get away from the oil field into a more promising and reliable line of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Motor Hand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB24 January 2016
Working for horizon drilling was awesome to bad about the price of oil. Great employer with good safety program. Awesome
Pros
money
Cons
lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the work hate being away for 3 weeks
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB11 November 2015
great company as well as great employees, company takes care of you in all factors. pay is great travelling away for long amounts of time is no fun, would rather in Alberta if I was to ever do it again
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun hard work
Floor Hand (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 September 2015
Horizon is a great company that can help you get in shape, make some money, and learn. There are many people with a great work ethic that work for Horizon Drilling.
Pros
Physical work
Cons
away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and fun company to work for.
Field Purchasing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB28 August 2015
Horizon is a great company to work for. Management has always been supportive with anything professionally/personally related and the family like atmosphere in the office is comforting. I enjoy the interaction with other workers. The position itself is busy and keeps me stimulated.
Pros
Annual functions, Silent Auctions, Golf Tournaments, Lobster Boils
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent and friendly company to work for
Floor Hand/ Lease hand (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB27 July 2015
I am a big fan of the company, not so much the price of oil and what it has done to the viability of prospering in the field of employment.
Pros
Great Pay, Awesome benefits.
Cons
Like every job in the oil patch, prosperity iis dictated by the price of oil
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Derrickhand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB26 April 2015
A typical day was highlighted by are engineer or consultant destroying us morally and spiritually as well as put is in and expect us to work in harms way all the time, the best part was pay day and hardly worth it, management proved to be extremely shady and unproductive, the hardest part was being smarter than most of the guys I was with. I learned how to swallow my pride there for sure.
Pros
Payday
Cons
Insurmountable
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and good benefits
Floor hand (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB5 March 2015
They had a really good RRSP plan and safety awards plan. They give money out for completing hazard assessments and the general pay is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rig work
Leasehand (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB7 January 2015
typical rig work, cleaning and taking care of other workers.
Pros
good money
Cons
short hitch
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get your fit and you will love it
Roughneck/Leasehand (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 November 2014
Great company, great management. I filled in on several rigs and I found I was a good fit with some crews and not so much with others. However, the office goes out of their way to help you if you are a good worker and I found a great rig with a great crew.

I will also mention that problems are fixed very quickly. One of my pays didn't go in my account in error, and within a couple hours of notifying the office I had my money. Things happen, but it's how they're fixed is when you see how good a company is.

If you've never worked on a rig before, you better be in shape!
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Rig life
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB14 November 2014
Its rig life
good perspective on what work really is!
And for this I thank them
and i will take this work ethic where ever i go next
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working environment/ fast paced
Derrick (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB7 April 2014
hard working environment/ fast paced
long hours
tight deadlines
Pros
my crew
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always stayed busy
Rough Neck (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 April 2013
come in connect pipe, and clean rig, make meals for driller and help derrickhand mix. or trip out or in which is all you do on your full 12 hour shifts exceept for flow check.

hardest part would be the weather, working in -45 isnt considered fun. most co-workers were good, I get along with pretty much everyone. some where mean to my dummy roughneck and made him cry but i kept him ina a normal state of mind and didn't let anyone pick on him for no reason, I stick up for my crew, out there its our second family from home.

Best part is either sleep or coming home :D
Pros
crew cab, paid for fleights in and out of job site, free lunches with camp job. good pay cheques
Cons
long hours, stressful, minimal to no breaks some day.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
motor hand (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB26 April 2013
horizon drilling is a good company i learn a lot from them who gonna serve me in the future there was not any hard thing at horizon during my time working them
the most enjoyable time was my co-worker
Pros
my manager was a great guy
Cons
7 am to 7 pm
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report

See more Horizon Drilling reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Horizon Drilling. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
3.9

Horizon Drilling Reviews by Location