Honeywell Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 126 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work culture and Helpful Staff
HVAC Controls Senior Designer/ Engineer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 7, 2014
1) A day started with stand up meeting within a team members for 20 minutes. We discuss safety issues, Project status, quality plans, delivery plans, improvement actions, goals matrics and Kiezens (improvement suggestion) in the stand up meeting.
2) So many things I have learned, imporntantly technical skills, project communication and quick meetings, team handling and building.
3) Project Planning and its execution, Task wise palnning for each team member, On time project delivery and Skill developement of team members by conducting share and learn sessions.
4) Collegues was very helpful and would love to work as a part of team with them. All of them created nice work culture in the organization.
5) We worked on retrofit jobs where inputs received from the customer are not matching with actual field condition. Need to put lot of efforts to get exact idea of field conditions remotely from India. I believe to work on USA or CANADA's jobs remotely from India with poor input drawings was the challeging part.
6) Enjoyable part was, we celebrate every festival and Birthday of team members in the organization. Sometimes went for trips and outing with team members, which created more interaction within us.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Picker / Packer/ Auditor (Former Employee) –  RiverportJuly 3, 2012
Have a shift meeting before we all started our day on were we stand in production and what our goes are for today.
Recieved my job duties for the day from my supervisor, depending on were i was needed is how I started
I've packed, picked, trained new employees on packing and picking, and audit production on new and existing employees.
Great people
Pros
great people, was able to show my patential and move up
Cons
not my career choice but i loved the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Electronic Assembler (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, OntarioDecember 27, 2012
Focus on our jobs and learning new things everyday. Management is really great because they always available for any problems or suggestion we might have. Co-worker are nice to work with friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job is when there isn't enough jobs to go around. The most enjoyable part of the jobs is meeting new people and learning new things everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning place
Control System Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario.October 19, 2012
• The work day was never typical.
• I was trained and learned on the Honeywell DCS and FSC.
• The management communicated well with workers.
• The co-workers were all helpful and good to get along with.
• The hardest part of the work was the travelling.
• The most enjoyable part of the work was a succesful project
completion
Pros
intresting work
Cons
too much travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for, great exposure and growth potential
Specialist Software Level 2 (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 11, 2014
A typical day is working on your set goals, have a daily scrum to discuss the progress and impediments to solve problems right in the beginning phase.
Management is very good, work environment is great
Pros
great environment, good management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A global company with a very good product and great local people.
Project Manager, Building Systems Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJuly 15, 2013
The hours are long and the the working conditions can be brutal but the pay is good and the local workers are very friendly.

But in typical "global company" fashion, the bigger they get locally, the more impersonal and detached management gets.
Pros
great pay, flexible work hours.
Cons
management is cold and indifferent.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK company for permanent employees
System Engineer (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONApril 23, 2015
Honeywell is a good company for permanent employees. Not so if one works as a contractor for you don't get to know the day-to-day activities with the project that you are working on.
Pros
Nice cafeteria
Cons
poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Junior Facilities Engineer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMarch 5, 2015
Honeywell Inc. is a reputable company that encompasses building solutions in a professional manner yet fun environment. I recommend working here either as a co-op or grad student.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt a lot from a challenging and fast-paced environment
Marketing Graphic Artist (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJune 13, 2013
I worked for the marketing department of a multinational corporation. My boss and half of the team were based in the United States, so we used to meet thru videoconferences once a week to review the pipeline, assign new projects and discuss issues. We had a challenging workload with tight deadlines but being busy was great for me. I learnt to manage my time to work on several projects at the same time and deal proactively with priorities. Our team was great because we used to support each other. Personally, I used to get complex projects because I’m detail oriented, organized, dynamic, resourceful and responsible.
Pros
continued education and training
Cons
the corporation is specializing in acquisitions, which means layoffs will remain.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educating but low salary
Technician (Former Employee) –  TechnicianMarch 24, 2015
Nice company to learn modern technology...........................................
and hand on training
Very clean atmosphere
Training is beneficial
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, and fair work hours.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Markham, ONNovember 5, 2012
Great staff that are always willing to help. Management is always willing to accommodate to your needs for scheduling. The workload is beyond fair and the encourage over-time.
Pros
they encourage over-time
Cons
small lunch room
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Senior Advance Engineer (Electronics HW) (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, Ont, CanadaSeptember 16, 2013
We are building a world that’s safer and more secure, more comfortable and energy efficient, more innovative and productive.
Our Company Text Size:
Honeywell is a Fortune 100 company that invents and manufactures technologies to address some of the world’s toughest challenges linked to global macrotrends such as energy efficiency, clean energy generation, safety and security, globalization and customer productivity. With approximately 132,000 employees worldwide, including more than 22,000 engineers and scientists, we have an unrelenting focus on performance, quality, delivery, value and technology in everything we make and do.
Pros
great
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and Stressful - Relentless Customer Makes It Difficult Even for the Best of Us
Facilities Management Administrator (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ONJanuary 21, 2014
Even though my hours are 730a-4pm, I am usually in the office by 630-7am to be able to get through my emails before my techs come in for the day and before my manager shows up so that I am ready for whatever challenges he needs me for. My manager is great and my techs are also fabulous.

The problem with this site is our customer is a completely unreasonable person. Because this site is the first of it's kind in Ontario, Honeywell made some MAJOR mistakes with what they agreed and obligated us to within the Project Agreement with this customer. With the time limitations and staffing levels that we currently have, there is no way that we will be able to meet the obligations of our PA, even though it is still expected. I am usually running 15-20hrs (min) OT a week and find myself working before work, after work, and thinking about work while I sleep.

I truly believe that with a customer who was dedicated to making the site the best it could be for all staff, patients and visitors, this site would be an enjoyable place to work. Even though it would still be demanding and challenging, to be able to work side by side WITH our customer to make things better would be a great feeling. Instead, we run head to head against eachother as it seems to be his missing in life to try to have us removed from site, or penalized so much for ridiculous things that we can't properly focus on our jobs.

Because I am such a dedicated employee, and I very much care about my job and my fellow staff members, I try to give 110% in everything I do. However, even in this situation... 110% will not be enough
  more... without the added support from our Head Office.

It has been an absolute pleasure getting to know all the staff at the site I work at. So many different personalities, and it makes for a great break in the chaos and stress of the day when you run into some of these people.

There is a lack of realism from upper management with assisting in where the issues are. Everyone is overwhelmed with the amount of work that they have on their plates, and even though this company pays pretty well, you give up your life for them if you want to stay on top of all the responsibilities of your job.

In 2014, as well, the benefit premium went up, and the prescription program dropped almost in half for eligible medications, we lost vision care and we also lost other benefits.

This company I believe expects everyone on their payroll to wear 10 hats, be self reliant in training yourself in policies and procedures, but holds you responsible for things you don't know.... even if you didn't know that you NEEDED to know them. The training is lacking, and the site support that is VERY much needed, is no where in sight. You have to be mentally tough, and willing to sacrifice quite a bit of your time if you expect to fill the roles that Honeywell sets out before you.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive company,
Shipper/Receiver/Machine/Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Scarborough onNovember 13, 2012
Honeywell was a great place to work for, there was always room for improvement. They encouraged everyone to further educate themself
by providing courses after hours. Also they promoted extra curriculum activities, like baseball, volleyball and even a hockey team. Which often resulted in close friendships with your co-workers and a great working relationship. The hardest part of my job, I would say is when the plant closed down. The most enjoyable part was working with a great bunch of people.
Pros
was a very clean and safe work place
Cons
plant moved to hungary
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honeywell is an institute
SMT Operator (Current Employee) –  calgaryMay 23, 2012
My first day at work
learning lot
Excellent idea about management
Great positive working experience with different communities
My negligence
my employer gives me good remarks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress, dog eat dog atmosphere, high paying
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 7, 2014
high stress, immediate boss may know nothing about your job and provide worst possible advice. keep excellent documentation, people get thrown under the bus.
some people do provide honest practical advice, you have to find and cultivate these people.
hours can get bad.
in house training is very good, but they are condensing this very hard.
Pros
rate of pay, exposure to new methods, in house training
Cons
long overtime hours without pay, stress
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Senior software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 12, 2014
Good work life balance , Good Managers , Work from Home option,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Electrical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 26, 2013
 Tested and analyzed the performance and reliability of Honeywell Environmental Control Systems for aerospace
 Performed preventative maintenance and calibration of the above mentioned equipment and systems.
 Identified and resolved equipment malfunctions, working with manufacturers and field representatives as necessary to procure replacement parts
 Maintained system logs and manuals to document testing and operation of equipment
 Provide engineering support and recommendations for new and existing equipment
 Assist in inspecting, testing and adjusting electronic components
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Various Temp Agencies(assemble gas meters) (Former Employee) –  Woodstock,OntarioJune 30, 2013
Enjoyed working at honeywell management is very good.I have know comlaints at all about working for this company.
Pros
very good atmossphere
Cons
great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy every minute of my work and I have excellent work environment and team work.
Sr. Finance Associate (A/P &A/R) (Former Employee) –  burnaby, bcJune 17, 2014
Successfully handled customers and vendors to get my daily task accomplished. I have a good team work with motivating supervisor.

I am on my own and I manage my time efficiently to avoid pressure of work at month end.

My typical daily work starts with checking my voice mail, calendar, checking my emails and the daily task list to do. At the end of the day, I evaluate myself to make sure that the work I did each day was satisfiable and meets the task I set for that day.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,243 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture