Honda Canada MFG Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting worse all the time.
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Alliston9 November 2017
Pays less than it used to with fewer days off, no pension and harder working conditions. Contract only work to start for 5 years then takes 10 more years to make top pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON31 October 2017
Honda is a great company to work for lots of opportunity for advancement . I left Honda in 2010 becaue I returned to my country of birth . But Honda is a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON3 October 2017
As a summer student , going into this job I didn't know what to expect but as the weeks went on I enjoyed working here more and more. This workplace works off of shift work therefor we are two weeks on days (6:30am-3pm) then two weeks on afternoons (4:30pm-1am), it was hard to adapt to the shift changes but after a month it was normal. The hardest part of this job is staying motivated to keep working as you have to produce 400 cars a shift every day. I would consider coming back for sure.
Pros
Good pay, fun environment
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCM is a good place to work
Associate (Current Employee) –  Alliston, ON11 July 2017
My opinion may be bias because I work in one of the easiest departments at HCM. A typical day at work there is pretty straight forward. I have 4 different processes to work on a day. 3 breaks. etc. I have learned that working here isnt easy on your body, but with benefits and in house physio you can manage pain and whatever else is going on. They are pretty good when it comes to time off for surgery or whatever you need health wise. The workplace culture is maybe one of the only poor things about working here in my opinion. Seeing as it is factory work, you get a very good variety of people, but it is not always a positive, or fun/nice work environment. The diverse hiring is a plus though. Honda does not discriminate against anyone, they hire all sorts of different kinds of people.
The thing I enjoy most about my job is the events that HCM puts on for the employees, like the christmas party, and the BBQ during the summer. But the benefits are also great! There are also many opportunities for advancement within the workplace.
Pros
good benefits, stable job, opportunity for advancement.
Cons
weekend work, commuting, lots of OT during winter. Shift Rotation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON24 May 2017
Terrible place to work. You will be injured in no time. They only care about profit, which barely any is shared with the employees. Management/HR treats you as a robot. You can not call in sick, or have any mental/physical disability. They don't reward you for any good work, and are always on top of you for anything you may do by mistake. Don't think you have any job sercurity, or to be treated equal in that place. Oh vacation time? Good luck. Only thing it's good for is making friends with coworkers.
Pros
Ok money for what you did, making friends
Cons
Rarely any time off, call in sick; get in trouble, Unequal pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON9 May 2017
The employees are great and treat you nice.
The pay is also very good and the benefits are amazing,
The locaiton is a bit far and the shifts are hard to get used to
Pros
Good pay, good people, good experince
Cons
shift work, long distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for average young adult just finishing school but that's it
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON23 August 2016
Worked at Honda for just under two years was on my second contract with them overall it's good for a young adult just finishing school and not knowing exactly where they want to go in life. But for long term I wouldn't recommend it the contracts now are no where near as good as they use to be. You start at a fraction of the rate and cap out at only 19/hour with only 3 vacation days for a whole year. Also find some of the management to play favourites and not take some serious issues that were addressed serious. That's why I left for bigger and better opportunities and wouldn't go back .
Pros
Always work available but slight chance to move up in company
Cons
No guarantees or future there even after years of hard work put in
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont be late and NEVER vall in!
On line associate (Current Employee) –  Alliston plant 222 August 2016
NEVER call in.
AR thinks your robots with no excuse even brement days
People are pretty down to earth and know its a team effort
Bonuses are great just be there on time everyday
Pros
Big automotive name
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe Productive Atmosphere
Industrial Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  Alliston, ON7 February 2013
A typical day at Honda starts and ends with a shift meetings where we pass of the day’s events to the shift coming on. During a typical day includes trouble shooting both electrical and mechanical systems, and daily maintenance such as checks which include the electrical and mechanical status eg. motor currents, oil levels, and general machine condition.

The hardest part of a typical day at Honda is also the best part which is when the machine goes down it is my job to get it back up a running as quickly as possible. During these conditions you have a lot of pressure to perform safely and productively which can be very stressful and rewarding at the same time
Pros
safe atmoshpere, good benifits, every day is different.
Cons
3 shift rotation
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great company to work for
On-line associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton ON7 December 2012
Management was great! Learned alot about the company, co-workers are also great!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report

Want to know more about Honda Canada MFG?

Ask a question

See more Honda Canada MFG reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Honda Canada MFG. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

Honda Canada MFG Reviews by Location