Find companies:
Homewood Suites
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

Homewood Suites Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and advance
Guest Service Manager (Former Employee), Newtown, PADecember 18, 2013
I started with the company in helping them open the brand new Homewood Suites in Newtown. I started as a guest service agent and within a few months was promoted to Front office supervisor and then promoted again to Front Office manager. My general manager was a hard work and taught me a lot of new things that I will always be able to use in my work – more... and in my everyday life. My co-workers all worked well together and we got the job done. I enjoyed working my way up to management level and helping those that worked for me get to that next level. I also enjoyed interacting with all the guest staying at the hotel. Homewood suites is a long term hotel so you get to know people as they are there for longer periods of time so its nice to be able to treat our guests like family. "Welcome Home" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good place to work
Landscaping Worker (Former Employee), Malvern, PADecember 16, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: n/a
i enjoyed working in that environment.
the staff was helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Lafayette, INDecember 9, 2013
Pros: free breakfast
Worked independently at your own pace. but was fast paced for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant
Night Auditor (Current Employee), Lawton, OKNovember 27, 2013
Pros: loved night hours
Cons: no breaks, building was not properly secured
A night of work consist of walking the hotel grounds then daily task of paperwork. From there house keeping duties as of cleaning folding towels and placing them in their correct location.I learned all the software and more excellent ways of providing service to customers. The hardest part of the job must be the trash and breakfast bar ( being all machines – more... are set up by night audit ex. cereal, coffee, toaster ..) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful atmosphere - feels like home away from home
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXNovember 16, 2013
The staff at Homewood Suties from the GM to Housekeeping to the Food & Beverage Department are like one big family. The hotel runs very smoothly because everyone communicates and pitch in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive place to work
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), Lewisville, TXNovember 11, 2013
Pros: uniforms
loved working at this company! The employees were all easy to get along with and management seemed genuinely concerned about employees well being
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Front Desk Supervisor/Representative (Former Employee), jacksonville flOctober 18, 2013
I enjoyed working there and I even got two of my friends to work there who stayed for 9 yrs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a happy environment to be in.
Housekeeper/Inspector (Current Employee), Hoover, ALOctober 16, 2013
A typical day at work as an inspector would be first to check all the private rooms who do not want their rooms clean for the day and so i had to write it down and then wait for the housekeeping ladies to finish their rooms so that i would check them after them to see that everything was in the proper place and then put in the room. I would not consider – more... anything to be hard in my job and for what i enjoy is that i am always doing something. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere and friendly co-workers
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Troy, MIOctober 11, 2013
I worked for two separate locations for this brand. The first in Warren was a wonderful place to work. The guests and management were very easy to work with and get along with. It was very much a team effort and everyone was recognized for there perfomance. I was being trained in all aspects of the hotel so that I may advance to positon of assistant – more... manager but the hotel was sold and the opportunity lost.
The Troy location was completely different. Management was never present and when they were they were not accessible and could not be bothered to help with situations. They were not accomodating to personal or health situations and that made it very hard to work there. My co-workers on the other hand were very friendly and easy to get along with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Home away from Home
Night Auditor (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALOctober 4, 2013
Pros: providing people with exceptional service.
Cons: competative market
Duties include but are not limited to:
• Insuring accuracy and completeness of first and second shift's reports, accounts, and deposits
• Performing closeout of all house accounts on a monthly basis
• Managing Accounts - i.e. (developing and managing house and group accounts, retrieving and balancing accounts. reconciling high balances, running authorization – more... on credit cards, posting and charging accounts, and processing payments).
• Other responsibilities include data entry-typing, faxing, filing, coping, and scanning documents; Answering and transferring calls from a multi-line phone system, assisting guest and vendors, and making reservations.
• Responsible for analyzing revenue, closing out the business day and submitting financials to corporate accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have been a great place to work if all were treated equally.
GSA (Current Employee), Clearwater, FLSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: great hotel discounts if you travel.
Cons: no breaks, low morale, and verbally abused by the public.
Some employees are exempt from following rules and it is ignored by management. Work 8 hour shift without breaks. Lack of annual reviews and rarely get a pay increase. Lack of communications and left looking like a fool. It would be nice to have a holiday off now and then, but that only applies to management. Have to deal with a lot of verbal abuse, – more... from guest who blame you for everything from booking wrong room types ( when they did their own booking ), not being familiar with the property layout .... goes on and on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Loving Place To Work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Forsyth, ILAugust 28, 2013
A Typical Day Of Work Consist Of Doing My Job To The Best Of My Ability, Spending Time With The Residents, I Learned How To Be Patient & Care For Others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Hotel Front desk job.
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee), Fort WorthAugust 4, 2013
Pros: employee discount rates
Cons: no official breaks
As a front desk agent I enjoy working for Homewood Suites Hotel. On a daily basis, I see myself being challenged with various situations in which the opportunity to learn and professional grow exists. On an average day I have to be able to multitask by answering incoming calls, check in/out guests, assisting with the other employees and their responsibilities, – more... & develop rapport & loyalty with our guests. I enjoy the relationships I develop with other coworkers and project constructive criticism when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Maintenance (Former Employee), Lafayette, INAugust 1, 2013
Pros: hours were good
Cons: never really had any
Always met new people. Liked helping others. Staff was very nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMJuly 29, 2013
Starting a shift consisted of taking over the cash drawer, counting money to ensure correct amounts. Continued checking in late arrivals and setting up wakeup calls. Mid shift constisted of running the night audit reports and ensuring that all information was correctly entered into the system, and to ensure that all amounts matched and balanced. At – more... the end of shift final receipts were delivered to guests checking out that day. Breakfast and coffee service was set-up in the dining room area, and early departing guests were checked out of the hotel. I enjoyed working with my assistant manager as well as my fellow co-workers. Everyone was freindly, and handled their responsiblities, making shift transitions seemless, not only for us the employess but the guests as well. I learned from managers as well as other employess how to handle certain guests, run the front desk adn balance reports. The hardest part of the job was dealing with overbookings, during special events. The most enjoyable part was meeting people from all over the world, and working to make their stay comfortable and pleasant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the place
Housekeeper Attendant (Former Employee), Covington, LAJuly 3, 2013
very laid back. co workers a little catty but work was able to work around me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're a hard worker, you will get compensation
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAMay 19, 2013
Pros: compensation
Cons: open 365 days a year
Very friendly staff and management. If you worked hard and go out of your way you will be recognized for it and well compensated. Great perks!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Janitor (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 5, 2013
Pros: flexible time schedule
Cons: not enough hours to go around
It was a nice place to work,i just wasn't getting paid what i felt i was worth. I did a little bit of everything,janitor,front desk,and night laundry. the management was ok he just kept promising me hours he never gave. the people i worked with were very nice and I had a blast with them! the hardest part of the job was when to toilets broke,I had to – more... use a shovel that day.i loved the job though, i got a chance to help people all day and i love love helping people!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting different people
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Germantown, TNApril 25, 2013
Pros: hotel discounts
Cons: promotioms
I have a very quiet night at work. Almost all the reservations has been checked in. I normally dont see all the co-workers. The hardest part of the job is getting promoted. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting discount on hotel stays
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
resevations clerk (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNApril 22, 2013
took reservation for the incoming people that was going to stay at the hotel. make sure i booked the right room for the guest.