Find companies:
Homewatch Caregivers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Homewatch Caregivers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client-centred, quality home care services
Registered Practical Nurse (Temporary License) (Former Employee), Oakville, ONNovember 8, 2012
Pros: flexible hours, training ongoing.
Cons: lots of weekend hours required, casual schedule.
Supportive, friendly work environment. Flexible hours. Ongoing training. Staff meetings and parties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work for
CNA/HHA (Former Employee), Akron, OHJune 10, 2014
I enjoyed working for this company but the jobs they had were kind of far for me I lived in Garfield heights and was traveling to Akron everyday for work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable. It's always nice to put a smile on the elderlys' faces.
Caregiver (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJune 3, 2014
Pros: pet's on the patio and chapel services
Cons: breaks
A typical day at work is rewarding because I leave knowing I have helped someone who needs the assistance from me because of failing health conditions.

The management is excellent. They make you feel like we work as a team and you feel like family.

The co-workers are super nice! I get along with everyone and look forward to seeing them each day.

The – more... hardest part of the job is when someone begins to decline in their health and even though you try your hardest to comfort them and ease their pain, they feel like it's time to give up.

The most enjoyable part about my job is going and sharing donuts with an elderly man or woman. They feel like a kid again! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This a very nice place to work
CNA/Caregiver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 14, 2014
I would recommend anyone to work there everyone is nice from the owners on down family owned and operated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Poorly Run Agency Starting Off
Caregiver (Former Employee), Framingham, MAMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great family and client
Cons: poor communication, no benefits, low pay, no stability
This agency lacks in communication between their caregivers and family members leaving everyone guessing what's going to happen next or assumming matters are all worked out. I had no guarentee that my job was secure and was talked into doing 24 hour shifts when all I wanted was hours during the day.
We didnt get paid extra for holidays though the familes – more... were charged and there was no benefits at all even for full time employees. My pay check was messed up several times due to the payroll and my last check was 5 hours short.
I will never feel as out of control again as I did working for this agency. I stayed as long as I could for my client since we are the blood line as the company says, but at the end the agency won. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding work during shift
STNA (Former Employee), Cincinnati OHMarch 23, 2014
Pros: one could set the hours pretty much as would best fit into your life.
Cons: no breaks per se. such is the nature of healthcare.
Arrive at client's house aware of what was generally expected each day. Perform duties as laid out in care plan. Personalize care for client as you become more familiar with them. Document your duties as they were performed, as well as any reactions/responses from client that day. Report any new or unusual occurrences from your client in ones documentation. – more... Job can be physically tiring, but emotionally rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Home Health Aide (HHA) (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 6, 2014
My job as a caregiver is to help others to be able to live a better live.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome patient!
Caregiver/Companion (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMarch 6, 2014
learned a lot about taking care of people! I loved spending time with all of the different clients!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if you like elderly people and helping them
Personal Care Assistant (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 1, 2014
I visit two or three clients a day, which is pretty much the same. Assist with bath, general house cleaning & shopping. I work alone which is pretty easy. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the clients happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Job, but Very Busy
Nurse Assistant/Caregiver (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 1, 2014
Pros: independency
Cons: must deal with clients attitudes and demands
The most enjoyable part of this job is building relationships with clients. This job takes more than doing the basic job duties, such as bathing, grooming, cooking, and running errands. You must have the right personality, patience, and compassion. Companies hardly ever pay much for this type work, but this company tries to pay its employees the most – more... they can. Management is great. Not only do they care about the clients, but they also care about their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly ran
Nursing (Former Employee), ILFebruary 20, 2014
I was hired a few weeks ago. They never personally interviewed me. They threw a bunch of papers at me and told me to sign. When I went to do a job I noticed that their notations are terrible. I was not even informed about a client's main diagnosis. How can you skip that? The owner of the company kept calling the client by the wrong first name. The notes – more... were never turned into the office so when I called for an emergency the nameless (yes, she gave no name when she picked up) person told me that she knows nothing about the client's health history. Then I was told to have the client sit for 6 hours and not move. It is obvious as to why she doesn't know what is going on and is not a health care professional. A person should never sit for 6 hours and not move or get diaper changes. I take pride in my work and it hurt me to even be there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Showing compassion for someone in need.
Certified Nurse Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: no distractions
Cons: adusting to the environment.
A typical day at work was providing the best care and support to resident and patient's. I learned how to established good communication and build a healthy relationship with the patient/resident. Management, especially time management had to be used wisely in order that all of the patient/residents needs were taken care of along with the duties and – more... responsibilities of the job. I really did'nt see by co-workers, unless she camy by for evluation and she was very effficient.The hardest part of the job was turing the patient/resident in bed that has excessive weight,but I dit it. The most enjoyable part of the job was just sharing and caring for someone else. Also being the listening easr and shoulder when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, No mileage coverage
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), OhioFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: abundance of clients
Cons: no gas milage
They would ask me to travel 50+ miles to a client for 2 hours and not give me miles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Clients ... Management is unorganized
Caregiver (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IowaJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: getting to meet new clients and learning their life stories
Cons: horrible management.
As a in home caregiver, you drive to your client's houses. Then they'll have a predetermined list of what they'd like you to do for them that day; whether that's running errands, cleaning the house or helping them do things around the house.
The management is very unorganized. It's easier for your clients to tell you when they don't need you instead – more... of the management due to their lack of communication.
The hardest part of this job is dealing with the management but I am willing to deal with it because I love my clients that much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start
PCA (Current Employee), Windsor, CTJanuary 18, 2014
Homewatch is a very diverse company. The care levels range from a 1 (med reminders) to a 10 (total care). Each resident and their families are all very different. You learn so much and utilize every skill. A great place to start for a new CNA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conducive and considerate agency to work with. Good communication between staff/ clent and consumers
Home Health Aide (Live-in) (Former Employee), south orange, njJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: mionthly recognitionreward of hard working staff, reward for introducing job seekers to the agency
A day goes by by accomplishing the care plan of the client. I learnt that working with the aged requires a lot of patience and understanding of their condition to be able to provide the desired comfort. The management is very open and considerate with staff in ensuring a condicive work environment. The workers work together as a team to ensure smooth – more... transition during shifts and execution of the care plan. The hardest part is losing a client and the most enjoyable is making the client as comfortble as posible and putting smiles of their/family members' faces – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
CNA (Current Employee), Leawood, KSJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: very flexible scheduling, alot of downtime to study, but still work and learn
Cons: not guaranteed hours
I would arrive, look at the care plan, and see what I would be doing over there. I would be sure to meet the needs of the client and his/her family. My coworkers are very friendly and give a full review if I am the one relieving them from a shift. The hardest part of the job was getting comfortable in the clients home since it is in-home- care, but – more... once you get used to it, you don't think twice. The most enjoyable part would be knowing that I am the one making a difference in their health and life, also just talking to them about their day or whatever. I also enjoyed doing stuff with them and listening to what they have to say. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with my clients. There were problems with payroll.
caregiver (Former Employee), MAJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: working with my client and client's family.
Cons: payroll issues, not getting paid what was agreed to on orientation, not getting voice messages or texts answered.
I was hired as a live-in. I love the client and family! I love working with my client! My first check had half the money that I was counting on for Christmas missing. I was hired for a certain rate for a 24 hr shift and a different rate 12.50 as a regular hourly rate ,if it wasn't a 24 hr shift. This was written down during my orientation as the agreed – more... rate of pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local office Convenient travel time
Director of Nursing (Former Employee), Daytona BeachJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: education, convenient location, great co-workers
Cons: frequent change to policies
Homewatch was a great company to work for, The company provided great educational opportunities with their website. The company provided great orientation to all staff in the field and in the office. The office was conveniently located and as DON it was not difficult to travel from one county to another to provide supervision to staff when required. – more... The hardest part of the job was the frequent policy changes that occurred monthly. The most enjoyable part of the job was training staff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caregiving, but not the best pay
Caregiver (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 4, 2014
The hours are really flexible, but the pay isn't all that great. If you can get a better job, go for it, but for the flexibility you get, this job a-okay. There isn't much advancement up the chain though and I wouldn't try to turn this into a career.

1 2 3 4