Find companies:
HomeSense
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

HomeSense Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, which will provide you with exceptional retail experience.
Customer Service Representative, Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 7, 2012
Pros: pizza lunches from time to time
Cons: long shifts, quizzes
A typical day would include an overflow of customers which results in everything becoming increasingly fast paced. As a customer service representative I have learned to be very efficient, answering phone calls, organizing carryouts and cashing customers out all while making sure to provide positive customer service. The hardest part about the job would – more... be handling many things at once, such as making sure your previous customer gets their carryout, while taking on a new customer, or paging managers and coordinators for markdowns and faulty returns. Also the clientelle also differs based on location, therefore as an associate, it will become easy to diffrentiate the demands and expectations of customers based on the demographic they are coming from. Acccurately enough, HomeSense stock will also differ based on which location you are working at. Management is also very good depending on the team and how they are. Co-workers make homesense an enjoyable experience, for I had the benefit of working with great people. Aside from that, all the beautiful merchandise that comes into the store also made it a little enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generative and good workplace.
Associate (Former Employee), London, ONOctober 2, 2012
it was great Experince to work in strong company, I received appropriate treatment from the company Management. the hadest part of the job that there was not enough hours which put me in tight budget spending. the most enjoyable part that i met good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Appreciation
PERMANENT PART-TIME SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: get to see cool new products
Cons: thefts, con artists, 10% discount for employees!
Working at Homesense is exhausting. The managers I worked with were terrible at allotting duties. Working in a zone does not mean working in just that zone. You run around the store frequently, especially if you have to move furniture. And you're ALWAYS on call to move bought products into people's vehicles. On a normal day, you're working in three – more... places at once. At least I did. Co-workers were cutthroat: most tried to sabotage my job with catty talk to management behind my back.
The most enjoyable part of the job was finding new products on the trucks you've never seen before. Hardest part of the job was keeping up with thieves....because Homesense is cheap products, people like to steal often in there.
A cool part of the job for the three years I worked there was the knowledge on home products, remedies and gadgets available on the market, and what is best for your house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very Cultured enviroment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), White Rock, BCJune 7, 2012
Pros: rewards, very friendly, parties
Cons: for me kind of far from home
One of the best employers by far. Gives you equal opportunities and always focuses on its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable company
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 28, 2012
While I worked for Homesense. I was able to learn new things and meet different people everyday. The staff had great product knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with core company values which help you grow as an individual.
Retail Clerk (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 28, 2012
Pros: friendly environment, free lunches, rewarded for work, bake sale fundraisers
Cons: hard work and physically draining at times
Homsense offers you the opportunity to work with numerous co-workers and customers. Their core values include, but are not limited to: diversity, integrity, customer satisfaction, teamwork, open communication, mutual respect and caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great at training associates to work in a variety of areas
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kingston, ONMarch 30, 2012
I enjoy working with the associates as a team at this employer. They provide the staff an opportunity to work independently and to take responsibility for work and also to work as part of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Royal Tunbridge Wells, ENGMay 29, 2014
great job with great management and staff, leant alot from my managers.

always had a good time at work specially specially events and night shifts.

is one of my best years in retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Reading, ENGJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: friendly associates, great to gain retail experience
Cons: understaff
I enjoyed working at HomeSense. I was always greeted with smiles when I arrived at work and all the staff were really helpful when I first started. I thought that the management would be scary, but they were very comforting and welcomed me into the company. It was hard at first, having to get used to being on my feet for so many hours, but I got used – more... to that quite quickly. I was always helped when being introduced to different departments in the store which helped me a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable, challenging but rewarding
Deputy Manager (Current Employee), NorthamptonJanuary 2, 2014
Working in an Off Price Environment presents daily challenges and excitement. Not knowing what product will arrive at the back door is both exciting and demanding in terms of the continuous need to flex space and react to a fast pace turnover of stock. The excitement is the uniqueness of the product and the autonomy to merchandise accordingly. Teamwork – more... is essential as all colleagues play a significant part in day to day operations and the success of daily performance is dictated by effective deployment and productivity. The ethic of ' Outrageous Value in a Low Cost Environment ' is equally exciting to the customer and every visit becomes a ' Treasure Hunt! ' Learning about and handling diverse product on a day to day basis is stimulating and continuous. At close of business, all members of the Team know they have had a FULL day at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pathetic
sales floor rep. (Former Employee), Abbotsford, b.c.December 24, 2013
Pros: none :)
Cons: too many to list
The management team is nothing but lame
Seriously... They expect so much from you but don't want to pay you. And on top of that, they treat you like c**p.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy and productive workplace
Shop Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGAugust 26, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: maintaining the whole store on close
I enjoyed working at HomeSense. I was always greeted with smiles when I arrived at work and all the staff were really helpful when I first started. I thought that the management would be scary, but they were very comforting and welcomed me into the company. It was hard at first, having to get used to being on my feet for so many hours, but I got used – more... to that quite quickly. I was always helped when being introduced to different departments in the store which helped me a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), CardiffMarch 26, 2013
Pros: discount
Cons: management
Put delivery out
Help customers
Took payments

I found the management team were not well organised and tried to micro-manage people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy working hours
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Birstall Retail ParkJanuary 15, 2013
Cons: ridiculous working hours.
Working at HomeSense can be fun. It is situated in a busy retail park near a busy motorway so there is a lot of footfall from all over the country.

They expect you to work ridiculous hours from as early as 4am and as late as midnight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience to improve customer service levels
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), CambridgeNovember 22, 2012
Pros: hardworking team, efficient store, good management, good training
Cons: sometimes understaffed so too much work to do in a little time
I enjoyed my time working at Homesense.

I believe it gave me core experience regarding customer service. I also gained experience regarding team work, flowing stock, displaying stock, working in the warerhouse, using tills and operating security systems.

Working at homesense gave me a sense of direction regarding the retail trade, I improved on my – more... time management when doing tasks and ensured I was displaying my full potential at all times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homesense
Associate (Current Employee), Merry Hill DudleyNovember 2, 2012
Working for homesense is a good place to work for but i dont think the contracts they give you are very good, the highest contract you can have being an associate is 20 hours a week.
There are no benefits that you get, the rate of pay is good for an associate.
I was also a team leader in training for a while, i felt i wasnt getting enough support from – more... the management.
i flow stock from the processing room, cash handling, maintenance, merchandising. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.
Processer (Former Employee), GloucesterOctober 22, 2012
Pros: discount and flexible hours
Nice place I enjoyed working there for 4 years and would of stayed longer.