Find companies:
Home Instead Senior Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
376 reviews

Home Instead Senior Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An extremely demanding work environment both personally and professionally.
Administrative Assistant - Scheduling (Former Employee), Halifax, NSMarch 20, 2014
Pros: work to support some of your communities most vulnerable people
Cons: total lack of work-life balance
This organization is a 24-hour environment. While this level of commitment from staff ensures top-tier attention and maximized individual efforts are directed towards outstanding client care, this expectation of round-the-clock dedication without clear dictates of availability or unavailability is not for the faint of heart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-sufficient work life which allows for close bonds to be established with clients
Caregiver (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 18, 2013
Pros: develop close bonds to clients.
Cons: do not get paid by the hour for a 24hr shift or for overnight shifts (fixed rate).
One-on-one compassionate care to an older adult living at home.
Working with individuals who have dementia provides the opportunity for the caregiver to develop strong interpersonal skills such as empathy, patience, creativity in patient care, validation of patient's feelings, and communication with family members.
A caregiver's journal is present in – more... every client's home which is required for the caregiver to document the client's health status, and any pertinent information.
Depending on the client's health needs, there may be more than one caregiver working with a client, in which case communication between co-workers is needed. This is done through the caregiver's journal, when caregiver's meet at the beginning/end of their shift, or through the agency's office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place, lack of organization and communication
Home Helper (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONNovember 12, 2013
Cons: not enough hours at times
In home care communication is required. When you call and need to explain, you should be able to talk to one person and get it sorted out not go through 3 people in the office. The teamwork with someone with 24hr care was amazing. Most are not PSW's like I because it's non medical it's not important to have. Being able to help my client transition back – more... into being home from hospital, getting to know them on a more personal level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy and fun to work
Home Instead Senior Care (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 29, 2013
Pros: chatting with thwm
Cons: n/a
The most enjoyable part of the my job is when i saw my client with there big smile that is my priceless...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical Day as a Nurse
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee), torontoMarch 11, 2013
Pros: long hours therefore you make more money, and i get to utilize all my skills
Cons: when the hours get cut
I would normally wake up at 6 am and make my way to work. Once I get there i would first do my round of the floor and make sure all the resident are okay and alive. I would also check the charts to see if there is any information, or change in the patient's status or if there was an incident. Then I will begin to prepare the morning medications. While – more... the patient's are having breakfast or making there way down to breakfast I will start administering the medications to about 25-30 residents. After the medications have been administered i will begin to document and start preparing the afternoon medications and continue with assessments and documentations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Manangement and very nice employers.
Caregiver (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: free trips
Cons: regular time
Its a very nice and good experience for me to work and working at my current company.The management is also very nice and very kind and also my co - workers. Though the hardest past is when you care for one client for a long time and he/she lost ( passed away) is so sad and you have to start all over again to a new and different clients again. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job is when you go and accompany you clients to different places all over Winnipeg from the mall to museums,etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you are flexible with time
Caregiver (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 16, 2012
Pros: fun things with seniors
Cons: hours vary, some days you work 12 hours, other days, only 3
I liked this job, but I found that I seemed to always be on call which I wasn't aware of. I would get calls at 7 asking me to be at work by 8. You can say no to jobs, but if you say no too many times they stop calling you. Also, I was having to drive over an hour to some of my shifts that were only 3 hours long so I felt that I was spending more on – more... gas than I was getting paid. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the seniors I worked with and doing things with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Nurse's Aide (Current Employee), Shelby Township, MIApril 14, 2014
flexible hours, good management, easy to build relationships with patients, rewarding job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication, large ratio of caregivers to clients
CareGiver (Current Employee), Erie, PAApril 14, 2014
Pros: the clients really appreciate your help
Cons: lack of communication/management
I am a licensed professional that works part time for home instead in the evenings and weekends to earn extra income. The clients are wonderful however, the company just seems to want money! I am given hours to show up at the clients home and the client isn't expecting me for hours later, this has happened 3 times! I currently am getting 9 hours a week, – more... I have asked for more hours and I was told they had a huge loss in clientele over the past few months and there were no more hours to give at this time. I have been employed with them for over a year, I have never been written up nor had any complaints so this isn't due to lack of performance, now I see they are hiring???? I am still getting my 9 hours a week???
Phone calls do not get returned, they only call me if they need someone to cover or paperwork, very frustrating place to work!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Care Co Ordinator (Current Employee), Swansea,April 5, 2014
Pros: no comment
Cons: no comment
No Comment
HISC is a good company to work for.
Management are excellent.
Co workers are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
companionship to the elderly
Caregiver (Former Employee), Whittier, CAApril 3, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: losing a client
the most enjoyable part of the job is listening to the stories the elderly have the hardest part is watching them pass away
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love hearing the clients' stories!
Caregiver (Former Employee), TexasApril 2, 2014
Pros: rewarding, fulfilling, stories, meeting people, building relationships, nice office staff
Cons: lack of benefits, no personal life, calling all the time
This is a great place to work if you love working with seniors, it takes true compassion to help them stay in their homes. I learned a lot about taking care of seniors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with seniors is where my heart is.
Caregiver (Current Employee), Hillsboro, ORApril 1, 2014
Seniors are a joy and a treasure waiting to be opened. They all have such wonderful stories and are willing to share them. While they are work, they are the best reward of my day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caregiver
Caregiver (Former Employee), Brandon, FLMarch 31, 2014
Pros: the talks we would have
Cons: moving away
I help clean and cook for my clients and clean ther house I learned to to be a helping hand my manager help with wen I started out in this filred the hardest part about his job was wen my client passed away the most enjoyable part about the job was that my clients changed my life and out look on people period
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is part-time. It is very rewarding work. There are no guarantees day by day that you will work your upcoming shift.
Senior Caregiver (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMarch 30, 2014
Pros: getting to know the senior who has had much experience and wisdom to share, the feeling of knowing you have helped a senior get through the day, and counseling them when they are in need.
Cons: compensation and job security are not preferred.
Working at Home Instead Senior Care as a Caregiver is very rewarding. The health of our clients may change day to day; therefore, it may be challenging for the Caregiver and especially to the senior, when adapting to added treatments and medications. The health of senior is tenuous, hence, there is little guarantee of hours worked during the week. A – more... senior may be taken to the hospital or assisted care for therapy or treatment for a day or three months. The immeasurable joy that comes from knowing the senior personally is the glue that keeps a worker coming back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Caregiver (Current Employee), Granville, OHMarch 21, 2014
Helping a lending hand to those in need. Company provides training. Management and co-workers are great to work with. Hardest part of job is losing a patient to death. The most enjoyable and rewarding part of the job is being there to help patient feel secure and loved at the end of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Children
Caregiver (Current Employee), Franklin, WIMarch 20, 2014
This is a great job if you enjoy working with children with a reasonable work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, but stressful
Caregiver (Former Employee), El Paso, TXMarch 20, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: short breaks.
I enjoyed working at Kmart. It was stressful, and management need to be realistic about expectations. I learned cash register, customer service, merchandising, how to use other tools. to get information about merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassionate and fun workplace
Medical Assistant/Caregiver (Current Employee), Wyoming, DEMarch 20, 2014
Pros: freedom to plan and do what you and the client enjoy
Cons: healthcare and part-time hours
I have created a chart of things to do while at the clients home/facility so i would do personal care,medication reminders,light housekeeping,laundry,meal prep,shopping/errands and respite care. Normally its just the client and i so we have a lot of fun and i try to keep them busy. Management is great just wish i had more hours or clients.The hardest – more... part of the job is when someone passes away or you lose a client you really like because this is senior care so some have very bad health issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Nursing Agency
Geriatric Nursing Assistant / HHA/ CMT (Former Employee), Towson, MDMarch 18, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: no healthcare benefits
Performed nursing duties in a professional and confidential manner daily.I enrolled in several classes such as ,Seizure training, Alzheimer t raining, Basic Life Support for Care Givers and several
other classes. My co-workers were a professional team of caregivers,and I enjoy working with them.
There is no hard part in my job assignments, I perform – more... at 100% always giving it my best. The most enjoyable thing is : Knowing
I give it my best every time. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Instead Senior Care

Home Instead Senior Care provides non-medical services for seniors. America's trusted source for senior care.

Home Instead Senior Care Photos