Find companies:
Home Instead Senior Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
475 reviews

Home Instead Senior Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An extremely demanding work environment both personally and professionally.
Administrative Assistant - Scheduling (Former Employee), Halifax, NSMarch 20, 2014
Pros: work to support some of your communities most vulnerable people
Cons: total lack of work-life balance
This organization is a 24-hour environment. While this level of commitment from staff ensures top-tier attention and maximized individual efforts are directed towards outstanding client care, this expectation of round-the-clock dedication without clear dictates of availability or unavailability is not for the faint of heart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-sufficient work life which allows for close bonds to be established with clients
Caregiver (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 18, 2013
Pros: develop close bonds to clients.
Cons: do not get paid by the hour for a 24hr shift or for overnight shifts (fixed rate).
One-on-one compassionate care to an older adult living at home.
Working with individuals who have dementia provides the opportunity for the caregiver to develop strong interpersonal skills such as empathy, patience, creativity in patient care, validation of patient's feelings, and communication with family members.
A caregiver's journal is present in – more... every client's home which is required for the caregiver to document the client's health status, and any pertinent information.
Depending on the client's health needs, there may be more than one caregiver working with a client, in which case communication between co-workers is needed. This is done through the caregiver's journal, when caregiver's meet at the beginning/end of their shift, or through the agency's office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place, lack of organization and communication
Home Helper (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONNovember 12, 2013
Cons: not enough hours at times
In home care communication is required. When you call and need to explain, you should be able to talk to one person and get it sorted out not go through 3 people in the office. The teamwork with someone with 24hr care was amazing. Most are not PSW's like I because it's non medical it's not important to have. Being able to help my client transition back – more... into being home from hospital, getting to know them on a more personal level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy and fun to work
Home Instead Senior Care (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 29, 2013
Pros: chatting with thwm
Cons: n/a
The most enjoyable part of the my job is when i saw my client with there big smile that is my priceless...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical Day as a Nurse
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee), torontoMarch 11, 2013
Pros: long hours therefore you make more money, and i get to utilize all my skills
Cons: when the hours get cut
I would normally wake up at 6 am and make my way to work. Once I get there i would first do my round of the floor and make sure all the resident are okay and alive. I would also check the charts to see if there is any information, or change in the patient's status or if there was an incident. Then I will begin to prepare the morning medications. While – more... the patient's are having breakfast or making there way down to breakfast I will start administering the medications to about 25-30 residents. After the medications have been administered i will begin to document and start preparing the afternoon medications and continue with assessments and documentations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Manangement and very nice employers.
Caregiver (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: free trips
Cons: regular time
Its a very nice and good experience for me to work and working at my current company.The management is also very nice and very kind and also my co - workers. Though the hardest past is when you care for one client for a long time and he/she lost ( passed away) is so sad and you have to start all over again to a new and different clients again. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job is when you go and accompany you clients to different places all over Winnipeg from the mall to museums,etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you are flexible with time
Caregiver (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 16, 2012
Pros: fun things with seniors
Cons: hours vary, some days you work 12 hours, other days, only 3
I liked this job, but I found that I seemed to always be on call which I wasn't aware of. I would get calls at 7 asking me to be at work by 8. You can say no to jobs, but if you say no too many times they stop calling you. Also, I was having to drive over an hour to some of my shifts that were only 3 hours long so I felt that I was spending more on – more... gas than I was getting paid. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the seniors I worked with and doing things with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Caregiver (Current Employee), Mississauga,Ontario CanadaOctober 7, 2011
Cons: long hours work
My views about the company that I have worked with is that they treat as a family.The owners are very nice, understanding and they know how to handle their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incentives
CNA (Former Employee), Snellville, GASeptember 26, 2014
Pros: traveling
Cons: traffic
A typical work day would be to give showers, cook, and clean.
I learned how to care for the elderly.
I worked alone.
The hardest part of the job was having to except the loss of a client.
The most enjoyable part was to meet the need of a client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No place to work
Scheduling coordinator (Former Employee), HalifaxSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: riding a fine line with ns labour standards
Not allowed to talk unless about work, or less than 1 minute. No training, just watched some videos.i should have known when I started and 3 schedulers up and quit in their first month. Asking caregivers to sign overtime wavers to work 60 hrs per week at regular pay (totally not legal). On call 2 nights per week and every second weekend and they make – more... it sound like no one calls but you could be working for hours on a tablet and calling people out for only 1 hr pay. Pay is way too low with no room for improvement. They prey on older, foreign, and fresh out of school employees that don't know what a good job with benefits is like, anyone else quits. They are the epitome of the reason people do not like transfer foreign workers because they hire them and drive wages down. Cheap, cheap company where bottom line is the dollar not the integrity of providing an excellent service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful hours and even worse management.
CareGiver (Former Employee), Collinsville, ILSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: i loved working with the elderly.
Cons: not paid nearly enough, no chance of a raise..ever, lying office workers
I'm upset that there are no negative "stars" I could give. The Collinsville office workers (present) are absolutely unorganized and rude. I was very excited about working for this company when I started a year ago, but I quickly learned that the office workers are rude, they love to lie, and very condescending. They give you all kinds of hours when – more... you first start, but as you stay longer and longer, they begin to pull those hours(and their excuses are sad) An employee in the office has admitted to over charging a client $5000 every two weeks(bragged, actually. So I wouldn't consider this company to take care of your loved one, either.) They will harass you to cover a shift, and when you need time off..good luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Per Diem job
Caregiver (Former Employee), Somerset, NJSeptember 25, 2014
In the 4 months I worked with Home Instead Senior care, I learned a lot of how to properly take care of seniors. I grew to love the people I worked with. I would have stayed longer, but the company, because I was not certified only offered my per diem hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Caregiver (Current Employee), Tallahassee FloridaSeptember 25, 2014
When work is available it is good considering you work the longer shifts or have multiple clients. Most of the office staff is helpful and polite with a few exceptions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Vero Beach, FLSeptember 23, 2014
Not pleased with this company at all
Very high turn over rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with diversity in culture
Nursing Assitant (Former Employee), Honolulu, HISeptember 23, 2014
Pros: incentives and reward of helping others
Cons: using own vehicle, mileage and gas out of pocket expenses.
A typical day at work would be caring for a new client and patient who needs companionship and is deserving to have restored quality of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No consistent hours
CNA (Former Employee), lakeville .MNSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: if your not full time, they take your hours and give them to full time employees and you get laid off
I had to drive a lot from client to client . Sometimes too much time in between clients and nothing or nowhere to go.
Most of the clients were only 1-2 hours , which made it hard to make a living
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with my clients.
PCA (Former Employee), Martinsburg, WVSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: the people.
Cons: no healthcare.
Enjoyed the staff and fun of meeting new people frequently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally good, hard working staff with good leadership.
Director of Business Development (Former Employee), Mentor, OHSeptember 19, 2014
Well managed company with creative ideas for caregiving. Dedicated staff with extensive experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Caregiver (Former Employee), New Braunfels, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
nothing to say really, not a good company to work for, supervisors dont communicate very well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with the different clients that I had over the past 6 years
Caregiver (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VASeptember 13, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and know that i'm able to help them stay at home
Cons: clients passing away
When I arrive at my clients house
start the coffee pot
get my clients medication along with a glass of juice, wake my client so she can take her medication
get all my supplies that I need to give my client a shower, (towels, wash clothes, clothing, etc.)
dust & sweep
give my client a shower after she gets out of bed
do laundry, make the bed, change – more... the sheets if it is needed
talk with client, watch TV, sit outside

the hard's part of the job is when my clients pass away

the best part of my job is being able to help the different clients I've had over the years – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Instead Senior Care

Home Instead Senior Care provides non-medical services for seniors. America's trusted source for senior care.

Home Instead Senior Care Photos