Find companies:
Home Instead Senior Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
521 reviews

Home Instead Senior Care Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Provider
Senior Care Provider (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 16, 2014
I really enjoyed working with the seniors. I have always had respect for seniors and have raised my children to be the same when dealing with senior citizens, it is my belief that seniors deserve to be respected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An extremely demanding work environment both personally and professionally.
Administrative Assistant - Scheduling (Former Employee), Halifax, NSMarch 20, 2014
Pros: work to support some of your communities most vulnerable people
Cons: total lack of work-life balance
This organization is a 24-hour environment. While this level of commitment from staff ensures top-tier attention and maximized individual efforts are directed towards outstanding client care, this expectation of round-the-clock dedication without clear dictates of availability or unavailability is not for the faint of heart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-sufficient work life which allows for close bonds to be established with clients
Caregiver (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 18, 2013
Pros: develop close bonds to clients.
Cons: do not get paid by the hour for a 24hr shift or for overnight shifts (fixed rate).
One-on-one compassionate care to an older adult living at home.
Working with individuals who have dementia provides the opportunity for the caregiver to develop strong interpersonal skills such as empathy, patience, creativity in patient care, validation of patient's feelings, and communication with family members.
A caregiver's journal is present in – more... every client's home which is required for the caregiver to document the client's health status, and any pertinent information.
Depending on the client's health needs, there may be more than one caregiver working with a client, in which case communication between co-workers is needed. This is done through the caregiver's journal, when caregiver's meet at the beginning/end of their shift, or through the agency's office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place, lack of organization and communication
Home Helper (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONNovember 12, 2013
Cons: not enough hours at times
In home care communication is required. When you call and need to explain, you should be able to talk to one person and get it sorted out not go through 3 people in the office. The teamwork with someone with 24hr care was amazing. Most are not PSW's like I because it's non medical it's not important to have. Being able to help my client transition back – more... into being home from hospital, getting to know them on a more personal level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy and fun to work
Home Instead Senior Care (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 29, 2013
Pros: chatting with thwm
Cons: n/a
The most enjoyable part of the my job is when i saw my client with there big smile that is my priceless...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical Day as a Nurse
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee), torontoMarch 11, 2013
Pros: long hours therefore you make more money, and i get to utilize all my skills
Cons: when the hours get cut
I would normally wake up at 6 am and make my way to work. Once I get there i would first do my round of the floor and make sure all the resident are okay and alive. I would also check the charts to see if there is any information, or change in the patient's status or if there was an incident. Then I will begin to prepare the morning medications. While – more... the patient's are having breakfast or making there way down to breakfast I will start administering the medications to about 25-30 residents. After the medications have been administered i will begin to document and start preparing the afternoon medications and continue with assessments and documentations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Manangement and very nice employers.
Caregiver (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: free trips
Cons: regular time
Its a very nice and good experience for me to work and working at my current company.The management is also very nice and very kind and also my co - workers. Though the hardest past is when you care for one client for a long time and he/she lost ( passed away) is so sad and you have to start all over again to a new and different clients again. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job is when you go and accompany you clients to different places all over Winnipeg from the mall to museums,etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you are flexible with time
Caregiver (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 16, 2012
Pros: fun things with seniors
Cons: hours vary, some days you work 12 hours, other days, only 3
I liked this job, but I found that I seemed to always be on call which I wasn't aware of. I would get calls at 7 asking me to be at work by 8. You can say no to jobs, but if you say no too many times they stop calling you. Also, I was having to drive over an hour to some of my shifts that were only 3 hours long so I felt that I was spending more on – more... gas than I was getting paid. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the seniors I worked with and doing things with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Caregiver (Current Employee), Mississauga,Ontario CanadaOctober 7, 2011
Cons: long hours work
My views about the company that I have worked with is that they treat as a family.The owners are very nice, understanding and they know how to handle their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Employee Relations Supervisor (Former Employee), North Richland Hills, TXDecember 12, 2014
Originate and lead employment recruiting programs, practices and objectives to recruit, develop and retain a superior workforce of exempt and non-exempt and interns
● Direct, plan and implement policies, objectives and recruiting/training to ensure continuous growth/development of employees; manage companywide process of organizational development, – more... including maintaining employee training records
● Assign/delegate responsibilities to 200 of department staff
● Manage and facilitate bi-weekly employee orientation; assist with the organization and improvement of the program
● Develop and document all policies related to employment; intercept all payroll issues
● Implement programs related to employment, hiring, recruiting, and employee retention
● Review resumes for all candidates; handle the recruiting, screening, interviewing, and testing of applicants; check references; conduct educational and criminal verifications; complete employment paperwork and notify the department of employee's starting date and the requisition the employee is filling, etc.
● Coordinate the development/implementation of recordkeeping systems, reporting, or other administrative control processes
● Plan, direct and coordinate employment/recruitment activities, including events at colleges, universities, job fairs
● Comply with Federal, State, and Local Employment Law by studying existing and new legislation, anticipating new requirements, enforcing adherence to requirements and advising management on needed actions
● Complete monthly reports on employment activity, exit interview on terminating employees and orientation of new employees
● Maintain referral contacts within the business community, locally and regionally – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it.
Cargiver (Current Employee), Jackson, TnDecember 8, 2014
Pros: clients are wonderful
Cons: not enough pay, gas, milage.
Home instead is not worth what you put in it. They do not nderstand when you want a day off. The management is not good at all, the office does not communicate. I love the people I take care of they are great, and the only reason I have not quit. They do not pay enough for what all is required. Traning is awful, they have no clue what they are talking – more... about. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to be involved in Senior's lives.
Client Care Coordinator/Staffing Coordinator (Former Employee), Abilene, TXDecember 8, 2014
Hardest part of the job is taking care of yourself so not to burn out.
Best part of the job is helping seniors age in place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, large office staff turnover, competitve pay, poor scheduling personnel
Caregiver/Personal Assistant (Current Employee), Appleton, WIDecember 6, 2014
Pros: work with clients, flexibility of hours, personal fullfillment
Cons: management, scheduling personnel turnover, lack of listening to caregiver information
Personal cares, cooking, cleaning, charting, light house and yard work, medication reminders.

Learned patience.

Management - poor, inconsistent, turns over regularly(schedulers).

Little interaction with co-workers other than office staff.

Hardest part of job - dealing with hospice and Alzheimer patients. Trying to get management to do what they – more... say they are going to do and take caregivers reports on client changes seriously.

Most enjoyable - getting to know seniors and their wealth of life experience. Helping make their senior years more comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adaptable to any life schedule
Healthcare Provider (Current Employee), Jackson, TNDecember 5, 2014
a day at work is to provide safety and care to elderly patients. Job duties will vary according to clients needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from the York uk office
Caregiver (Former Employee), York United KingdomDecember 4, 2014
Pros: clients loverly
Cons: staff spoken down to, bullying
Worked for this company, the franchise owner does not care about staff, they talk down to you. Office staff incompetent.. Owners have stated to others all carers are thick.
Awful company to work for, no respect for caregivers. Owners money orientated, and do not act in the best interest of staff or clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at!
Caregiver (Former Employee), Louisville, KYDecember 4, 2014
Pros: meet new people
Cons: salary
Everyone at Home Instead is so friendly and lovely. My day at work went pretty smoothly, you have to have a passion for seniors to be able to take care of them. It was really fun, I learned lots of new things and met all types of wonderful people, the hardest part of the job was bathing and transferring the seniors. I worked alone IN the seniors homes, – more... so I didn't interact a lot with co-workers. But when I did see them, they were very enthusiastic and friendly. The only thing I didn't like was the salary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting work place that provides positive energy
caregiver (Current Employee), Philadelphia,PADecember 4, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: hours are not guaranteed
I love Home instead senior Care they give off a positive impact on the employees as well as the seniors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet new people
Caregiver (Former Employee), Bryan, TXDecember 3, 2014
Pros: sometimes you might be paid just to watch someone sleep
Cons: no scheduled breaks or lunches, mgmt insists you keep clients in unsafe situations
There are a variety of things you might be doing, from sitting with a client who isn't even aware of the outside world, to taking clients grocery shopping to being just a glorified housekeeper.

The hardest part was getting the phone call that you would no longer be seeing a client because they passed away.

There are really no co-workers to deal with – more... except when you relieve a co-worker in a 24-hour care situation.

Management was not so good. I was bitten and scratched many times by a client, but the client's family wanted me to keep coming so my scheduler ignored my concerns. I was also sexually harassed by a client and the scheduler said he wanted to buy me a gift to apologize so I would keep coming. That's when I was out the door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), State College, PANovember 28, 2014
Pros: worked with a family in home
Cons: my hours were not good
I liked the girls in the office. Didn't have a lot of contact after hire but they had a good training program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was'nt satisified with the company
Caregiver/Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 24, 2014
Pros: set my own day
Cons: no adavancement
I would arrive on site and meet with the client .
A lot about working with a client that may have demitea.
Okay.
mostly worked by myself.
The job where not hard at all.
Working with my clients.

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Instead Senior Care

Home Instead Senior Care provides non-medical services for seniors. America's trusted source for senior care.

Home Instead Senior Care Photos