HOME Hardware Employee Reviews

Found 202 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cobden, ON19 April 2017
Working at HOME Hardware was both productive and fun. Every one got done what needed to be done, but we also had fun while doing it. Especially the crafts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My kind of retail job.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Selwyn, ON7 April 2017
Unlike the department store retail environment, which was stressful and unfulfilling, Home Hardware was relaxing, with enough variability in the day-to-day to keep it from being boring. Most everyone was friendly, and there was always something to do in order to pass the time - dust off the home decor section, refill the cooler, help a customer bring their stuff to their car, etc.

Still, you could honestly tell the owner genuinely cared about the satisfaction of the customer. Also, the summer hot dog cart is awesome.
Pros
Friendly owner/staff, non-stressful environment
Cons
Wasn't on a bus route.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summer
Yard Attendant (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC5 April 2017
worked there for a few months in the summer pretty decent job with alright pay for when i was in high school. lots of different jobs to do to keep you busy through out the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and fun work
WAREHOUSE LABOURER (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC4 April 2017
A day consists of morning stocking of larger items as well as daily safety checks of all equipment used, throughout the day you help customers with heavy items, receive shipments and more
Pros
great people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring, but easy
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 April 2017
It's pretty easy work, but can be boring during slow times. There's not too much to do...Stock shelves, clean, help customers and mostly stand around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Driver, Labourer (Current Employee) –  Nelson, BC1 April 2017
Good place to work, but could use more in the pay scale department. The benefits and matched RRSP's are a big bonus though. Overall it is better than it isn't.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Job Activities/Management and Workplace Environment
Stocer/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON29 March 2017
The procedure of work was that of assisting customers with merchandising help and stocking inventory on shelves while maintaining a organized product display. Management was very understanding and was very respectable when it came to work pace and overall led to a greater workplace culture with the other employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy in the summer quiet in the off season
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Gravenhurst, ON29 March 2017
Working at the Home Hardware was okay in the summer months when it was very busy and catered to a tourist/cottager type of client. very quiet in the winter months and the owners were difficult to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and life experiences
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 March 2017
This job has taught me a lot of life lessons in which can be useful in future career opportunities.
The enjoyable parts of the job is the staff I work with.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Magnetawan, ON27 March 2017
Very efficient steady work, highly recommend for job type. But drama filled workplace, can be very stressful if you have difficulty with confrontation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming environment, good people to work around.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Devon, AB20 March 2017
When I first started working here I was made to feel at home, and appreciated. The same could be said for when I left. The owner is very caring about all of the employees.
Pros
Hours on holidays reduced, getting holidays off.
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kingsville, ON17 March 2017
This was a great part-time job for after school employment. The employer was very accommodating with my school schedule. A typical day consisted of using the point of sale, helping customers, and stocking shelves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job but long hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Aldergrove, BC11 March 2017
This job was good to me but i often found the hours were way too long. Id start at 8 and not get off until 6pm. There is a lot of standing around and your feet get very sore.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a sense of family
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tottenham, ON11 March 2017
Overall it was a great place to work, i gained lots of fun and lasting memories as well as friends, as well as valuable knowledge in a variety of fields.
Pros
free pizza on stat holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, great community.
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Invermere, BC6 March 2017
Going into working at home hardware with very little customer service experience was no problem because everyone is very willing to help you learn. it is a very easy going and calm environment. The people who work there are very kind and care about your wellbeing.
Pros
Flexible Schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB5 March 2017
working was okay, hours are alright, management could be tweaked and fixed to work properly and effectively communicate with the associates properly. as well with planning of the store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Plumbing and Electrical Associate (Former Employee) –  Camrose, AB25 February 2017
I enjoyed it, it was a nice place to work, but I was fired for being late. The staff was friendly and courteous, my manager was fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Efficient, Enjoyable Hours.
Yard Hand (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB24 February 2017
It was a pleasure to work for Home hardware. The level of courtesy and friendship is phenomenal. Each day there is always something knew to learn. It teaches the basic fundamental of hard work and being depended on for the greater good.
Pros
Many different work environments
Cons
Repetetive hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Labourer/Cashier/Delivery (Current Employee) –  Blackville, NB12 February 2017
The most enjoyable part of working at Home Hardware is the costumers and getting to interact and help people with what they need. A downfall off working at Home Hardware is I'm currently not working in my work place which is something I'm really looking forward to doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a clean & fun environment to work in.
Sales in Home Hardware Building Center (Current Employee) –  Winkler, MB11 February 2017
Really considerate organization. This is a family oriented establishment. They care for the employees. Are very willing to help out when there are questions or misunderstandings.
Pros
Full hour lunches
Cons
Weekend work, long hours, no commission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HOME Hardware. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 225 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7