Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,668 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here was Ok.
Sales Associate, Stocker (Former Employee), Baytown, TXAugust 18, 2014
Certain managers were not understanding of anything. Most were cool though. A lot of work for not that great pay, unfortunately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company and good environment.
Cashier - Plumbing Sales Associate (Current Employee), Frederick, MDAugust 18, 2014
Assist customers with repairs and new installation of home projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn
Sales (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 18, 2014
Pros: sometimes free lunch
I got to meet a lot of people working there that I still comminuting with tell this day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New call center
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Kennesaw, GAAugust 18, 2014
A new company that's still working on getting everything together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fun learning enviroment
Merchandising Execution Team (Current Employee), Rock Springs, WYAugust 18, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: location
At Home Depot I have had the chance to learn about merchandising on so many levels. The management is professional and gives flexible hours to workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting and a lot to learn
customer service specialist (Current Employee), Utica, NYAugust 18, 2014
helping customers is my passion. I helped a lot of people and learned a lot too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lot engineer
Lot Attendant/Pro (Former Employee), Hollywood, FLAugust 18, 2014
Basically I would help the pro loader with customers loading concrete bags of 60 to 100 pounds, measure and cut drywall or sheet rock either load or tie product to cars, trucks, suv.. My job as well was to clean the entire lot of shopping carts and trash. The hardest part was to close most nights cause you had to clean the entire lot by yourself. What – more... I learn from my managers is never be afraid to try new things and be very optimistic. What I did enjoy was the interact with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if have knowldege in construction
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, NYAugust 18, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing negative.
hours are good, good place to work friendly management and co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electrical, Plumbing, & Head Cashier (Former Employee), Fort WorthAugust 17, 2014
Pros: stable, friendly
Cons: annual raises or lack there of
I worked at a couple different stores and it will vary store to store, but overall I really enjoyed the years I was there. Annual raises are kind of a joke, so without moving up in management it's kind of hard to really make any money long term.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job
Cashier (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 17, 2014
Being a cashier for almost a year, I could argue that my fellow cashiers here were often late or slow which would cause huge lines and create a stressful environment at times. Hardest part of the job has to be the scheduling, every week you had a different schedule which causes problems with your family, school and social life. The most enjoyable part – more... of the job was clocking out, as cashiers you are told to have fast lines and fast checkout while pushing credit cards and other merchandise down the customer's throat not to mention the long lines that would occur it made for a horrible shopping experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting new people
GENERAL WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), illinoisAugust 17, 2014
Pros: lunches
Cons: hours
great working place, get to meet a lot of new faces. learn new proceses
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make Home Depot special
PRO Desk Supervisor (Current Employee), Lacey, WAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: management
I have met some very wonderful people at The Home Depot and that's what makes the company wonderful. They are thoughtful and display a sense of family.
Management is moving in a negative direction by reducing the overall workforce on the sales floor for unknown reasons. The customers are not happy about this and do mention it in the company's Voice – more... of the Customer surveys recently.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when you can just relax and take care of the customer's needs.
The most difficult part of the job is trying to sift through the new standard operating procedures which seems to be a moving target. There's very little time to get your job done AND take care of customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make Home Depot special
PRO Desk Supervisor (Current Employee), Lacey, WAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: management
I have met some very wonderful people at The Home Depot and that's what makes the company wonderful. They are thoughtful and display a sense of family.
Management is moving in a negative direction by reducing the overall workforce on the sales floor for unknown reasons. The customers are not happy about this and do mention it in the company's Voice – more... of the Customer surveys recently.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when you can just relax and take care of the customer's needs.
The most difficult part of the job is trying to sift through the new standard operating procedures which seems to be a moving target. There's very little time to get your job done AND take care of customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the assiciates that I worked with and I love the "Core" values of the Depot.
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Meridian, IDAugust 17, 2014
Pros: 401k reimbursement for some classes homer fund helping build parks for children
Cons: scheduling became a "nightmare" as all done on computer, not enough praise for really good employees, no recognition of a person when leaving and poor managers.
I loved the associates that I worked with and I loved the ability to take classes and improve my own skills. As a Head Cashier, I made a good hourly wage but it was difficult to ever get a raise. Because I worked there for so many years, I saw changes in management and in the company itself. I am a firm believer in praise! Praise for doing the right – more... thing, for providing good customer service and for being a good employee. Sometimes these these things were present and many times, they were not. One of the Core Values is, "Take care of the associates and they will take care of the store." Sometimes, I saw this happening and sometimes, I did not. I felt there was never enough praise for a "job well done". I stated that many times to management, but I did not feel it helped. I bought stock because we could buy it at a reduced rate and some of what we put into a 401K account was matched by the company. As a single mom I had never had any savings...finally, with this second job at Home Depot, I had some savings...I will always be truly thankful for that! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Right place to learn excellent customer service and product knowledge, we used to play table tennis in break times.
Freight and Packdown Associate (Current Employee), 3065 Mavis rdAugust 17, 2014
Pros: i had free lunches many times from my employer.
Cons: i worked over time on my manager's request and went home.
One day 2 co-workers called sick, I took that day as a challenging day to complete my work and co-workers duties. My boss appreciated me!
It is great fun place and nice to learn lot of things like customer service, product display and safety tips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Lumber/Building Materials Associate (Current Employee), Boston, MAAugust 16, 2014
Home Depot provides a fulfilling and enjoyable work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I started in the receiving department, moved to the paint department, and then over to the customer service department.
Store Associate (Former Employee), Painted Post, NYAugust 16, 2014
In all three departments worked, customer service was the first priority, whether making sure inventory was stocked and accounted for or addressing any needs as asked. Both the receiving department and customer service department included telecommunications with vendors, customers, trucking companies, and other stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with some questionable management
SALES SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Champaign, ILAugust 16, 2014
Pros: bonuses for hourly associates, community outreach, training, advancement
Cons: store level management, health/dental benefits, allotted associate hours
The Home Depot spends a great deal of time and effort to educate their employees and give them the tools needed to succeed in a demanding environment. I have worked at a few stores that experienced various level of success due mainly to the quality of the management and associates. Some of the stores had very involved management who garnered respect – more... among the employees and performed well and one that was quite the opposite. The work environment is dependent on this relationship and some of the locations suffered due to the poor communication and trust. One thing I really appreciated though was the commitment to community outreach which I took part. Overall the company was nice to work with and I will take away many useful skills learned while serving as a sales specialist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome crew with awesome leadership.
Freight team member (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLAugust 16, 2014
Pros: free food if we do well, great management.
Cons: no full time.
Night ops manager is the best I have ever had, supervisor is amazing too. Only complaints is they stopped giving full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Appliance Sales (Former Employee), Lynwood WashingtonAugust 16, 2014
Good job. Sold appliances. Had to help customers with there choices on appliances and the benefits of each set or piece of purchase.

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more