Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,943 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff good learnig enviroment
Delivery Manager (Former Employee), Cheektowaga, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: creativity with customers and product knowledge
Cons: management- and core expections
A typical day requires patience cause its involved a multitude of work mostly not of your own to be accomplished in an unrealistic manner without help. What learned is just every aspect of construction business in sales and distribution on your own accord do to the lack of knowledge or understanding by company standards.
Management pronounced to be – more... the most unprofessional staff the company can offer along with a very demeaning attitude. The workers understandable/ relatable in the fact that they are over worked and underappreciated. The tasks required of you are not difficult if management has the confidence to allow you to operate in an efficient manner. it gives you a great chance to work one on one with people and products and be a creative problem solver which you will never receive credit for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at, gained new knowledge on home improvement, flexible hours.
Bilingual Cashier (Former Employee), Denver, COSeptember 10, 2014
It was a fun place, helped a lot of people. I was able to learn new stuff both in English and Spanish. The supervisor worked with all of our schedules, it was a fun seasonal job that i enjoyed very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do.
Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Newark, DESeptember 10, 2014
When I started at Home Depot I was a part-time Flooring Specialist at which I excelled in and after 10 months of employment I was offered a full-time position as the Customer Order Specialist. There was never a dull moment as the Customers kept me on my toes and I built relationships with all my customers. After 3 1/2 years I was promoted to Department – more... Supervisor and I ran Kitchen & Bath for 1 year and then Customer Service for 1 year. The hardest part of the job was the variances in scheduling. With working Retail there is no set schedule. I enjoyed all the associates & customers and always liked teaching new things to others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of work life balance. Culture was very harsh
Operations Manager (Former Employee), McCalla, ALSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: slaray
Cons: no work life balance, worked 12-18 hours every day including weekends
This was with the distribution division not the store. Not a great place to work. Hostile work environment from mgt. always a fear for job security on all levels. Most enjoyable was leading my team and motivating them to prodice and maintain a god attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of work life balance. Culture was very harsh
Operations Manager (Former Employee), McCalla, ALSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: slaray
Cons: no work life balance, worked 12-18 hours every day including weekends
This was with the distribution division not the store. Not a great place to work. Hostile work environment from mgt. always a fear for job security on all levels. Most enjoyable was leading my team and motivating them to prodice and maintain a god attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enviroment.
Cashier (Former Employee), Arnold, MOSeptember 10, 2014
I was a cashier and helped customers find products. Learned alot about home improvement products. Things I never saw before, interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced fun enviroment with few good employees and no acknowledgement regardless for good work.
PRO Puller (Former Employee), Homer Glen, ILSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: easy to obtain training and licensing.
Cons: no rewards, or acknowledgement for exceeding job standards, unless you are a salesperson. poor supervisors, with little to no interest about thier employees.
Came to work, made coffee, cleaned departments sometimes ones other than my own. Handled taking care of deliveries, loading or unloading trucks from different companies, spoke with customers/contractors in person or over the phone about their orders and deliveries. Rushed to meet deadlines if necessary. Continueously standing, walking, running, bending, – more... kneeling, holding, climbing, driving, wrapping, etc and sometimes 2 or more of those at the same time. Lifted up to but not limited to 200lbs from overheads, floors, aisle or vehicles by hand most of the time without help. Filed paperwork, set up transfers and deliveries, quantied out orders as needed and maintained a great attitude towards customers and management and assisted them when I was done with everything else. I learned so much here, which is the only good part. I've learned about roofing, flooring, drywall, painting, electrical, freight, receiving, sales, services and so much more. I also received both my forklift licenses here and my order picker license. Most co-workers were fun to be around but majority of them did almost no work compared to me and a few others and took credit for others work. Hardest part of the job was probaby the fact that salespeople would sell huge deliveries and promise they would be delivered the next day after I had already left work. Then the next morning I'd be expected to get them done by a random deadline ranging anywhere between 6am and 6pm by myself most of the time. I'd also add I did it rather well and never missed a deadline because I'm an extemely hard and fast worker. I learned everything that I could as quickly as possible so I could perform the job at the best level. The thing I loved about this job was knowing everything that customers, co-workers, supervisors and managers asked me. I had too much knowledge of the business and how everything worked and it made me feel awesome. But, to my dismay, nobody cares if you know it all, you just make their job that much easier. Driving and operating the different types of machines was definently the best part and most fun part of this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow and learn
Department Supervisor (Current Employee), Minot, NDSeptember 9, 2014
Great potential to grow. Great rewards and good benefits. You can start on the bottom and grow to run the store. Being a Department Supervisor is like running your own business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, friendly customer service
Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Cypress, CASeptember 9, 2014
Cons: management
Typical day would involved me greeting all my customers and team members and see how they were doing and if they needed any help from me. I learned how to manage a multi-million dollar business. My co-workers were fun to work with and had great knowledge. The hardest part of the job was the inconsistency of my management team and how they ran the store. – more... The most enjoyable part was working with my team helping customers and driving sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot Associate
Lot Associate (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MISeptember 9, 2014
1. Provided excellent customer services
2. Managed the parking lot so everything ran efficently
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Hyattsville, MDSeptember 9, 2014
Employee recognition, making their employees feel appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic pleasure to work for Home Depot
Freight Associate (Former Employee), Bensalem, PASeptember 9, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: budget cuts and employee lay-off
Great interaction with other employees and management-Enjoyed working with customers outside the store with propane tanks and loading merchandise onto their vehicles and pushed a variety of carts to their designated bay areas. The hardest part of the job was the unpredictable weather conditions such as heat and rain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with a great group of guys and i loved my job.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Saint George, UTSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: periodical breaks. great break room and great managment.
Cons: worked till 1 every day.
I would show up to work at 6pm and start unloading the truck that came in for the day. Once I staged all of the pallets i would then begin to take them out to the aisles and store them in top stock. If other employees would need forklift assistance i would stop and help them. The hardest and most enjoyable job was unloading the tuck because it was always – more... timed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy work load
Freight Associate (Current Employee), St. LouisSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: work at on pace.
Cons: bad pay
It is a fun place, good co-works. management is OK. I am learning to run new equipment to help in new job searches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love to serve others this company is where you want to work
Cashier/Returns Associate (Former Employee), Alamogordo, NMSeptember 9, 2014
I loved working for Home Depot. They participate with community action/improvement projects, they take care of their employees and they focus on the customer. I am a friendly person and I love helping others so this was a great job for me. I loved that I could were jeans and tennis shoes to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Human Resource Manager (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 9, 2014
No day is the same when working at the Home Depot. The company strives on taking care of their customers and associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sales Associate/Lawn and Garden (Former Employee), Brandon, flSeptember 9, 2014
I worked a varied schedule that could include me coming to work as early as 4am. My job was demanding physically and was very fast paced. I was responsible for completing daily tasks, special projects, stocking, and superior customer service. I could be loading 100 bags of mulch at one moment and then assisting a customer with a credit application for – more... a riding lawnmower the next. I learned to work as a team to complete tasks while constantly being pulled away to do other aspects of the job. The management was always available and I really enjoyed working alongside fellow employees. The hardest part of the job was the varied work schedule. The most enjoyable part was the fast pace and working alongside great associates always willing to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking atomosphere
Front End- Cashier (Former Employee), Flagstaff, AZSeptember 9, 2014
Typical day at work entailed clocking in, heading to the front of the store to find the head cashier. Then I was told to either work at the pro cash registers, regular registers, self check out, or garden registers. It was always a very fast paced environment and I had to check customers out quickly and effective while still maintaining a positive and – more... cheerful attitude. Soliciting credit was also a huge part of the job; offering it to every customer that came my way. The hardest part of the job was being able to direct customers to the location of their desired products when I first started working there. I had not familiarized myself with everything yet. It was an easy solution though, whether I asked a nearby associate, the head cashier, etc and provided the answer for the customer. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to the customers. Many customers bought very unusual things for tasks such as DIY and it was nice to talk to them about their plans as I checked them out. It enabled me to provide great customer service while I checked them out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking atomosphere
Front End- Cashier (Former Employee), Flagstaff, AZSeptember 9, 2014
Typical day at work entailed clocking in, heading to the front of the store to find the head cashier. Then I was told to either work at the pro cash registers, regular registers, self check out, or garden registers. It was always a very fast paced environment and I had to check customers out quickly and effective while still maintaining a positive and – more... cheerful attitude. Soliciting credit was also a huge part of the job; offering it to every customer that came my way. The hardest part of the job was being able to direct customers to the location of their desired products when I first started working there. I had not familiarized myself with everything yet. It was an easy solution though, whether I asked a nearby associate, the head cashier, etc and provided the answer for the customer. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to the customers. Many customers bought very unusual things for tasks such as DIY and it was nice to talk to them about their plans as I checked them out. It enabled me to provide great customer service while I checked them out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was fun there.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: free lunches, fun customer appreciation events and sales. the work environment was always pleasant.
Cons: the opportunity for advancement was not based on proper company protocols.
The typical day at work for a Home Depot employee consists of heavy lifting, constant customer problem solutions, restocking and order filling. The management are very nice and very clear on job duties. The work environment was the best and the worst, but my co-workers were very friendly and often hard working.

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more