Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,058 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resolving Issues Daily
Supervisor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 9, 2014
A great place to work with excellent benefits. While you are constantly resolving customer issues and complaints you leave at the end of the day feeling satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service (Current Employee), Lithia Springs, GAApril 9, 2014
Pros: great team members
I enjoy working at Home Depot....................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A LOT TO LEARN
Building/ Lumber/ Flooring (Former Employee), Tucson, AZApril 9, 2014
Pros: i learn something new everyday
TYPICAL DAY IS HANDS ON LEARNING

I LEARNED HOW TO CUT WOOD, LAY FLOOR, PLUMING ECT....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work - very busy
Receiving / Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXApril 9, 2014
Pros: always have something to do
 Received and stocked daily shipments of merchandise
 Provided customer service, answered questions and aided in finding products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with different race of people and handling wide range of products.
Cashier (Former Employee), Mississauga,ONApril 9, 2014
Pros: paid breaks, well maintained lunch room, lockers for personal belongings.
Cons: mostly heavy equipment to deal with
At Home Depot as a cashier, i use to serve more than 100 customers a day. Every customer was different from the other buying a different product. The best thing about this job was i get to interact with many different people coming from different race & culture, professions etc. Some customers were very satisfied with the service/products, others were – more... not. As i said every customer was different from the other, i learned how to manage people and their queries. Gathering information about different products and learning new procedures was also a great/enjoyable experience for me. Co-workers were friendly and helped me performing my job duties efficiently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace and never boring
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Emeryville, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: you learn a lot about what it goes into building a home.
Cons: it can be stressful at times when customers are rude and demanding.
My typical day working for The Home Depot was always challenging and high pace yet productive. You interact with customers who can be demanding,impatience and rude. I have met various contractors who have increased my knowledge in the construction trade by simply asking for certain construction materials. I've learned to hone my communication skills. – more... Management is great because they understood that my job can be a high stress environment. I understand the importance of communication, patience and tolerance on the job with all the pressures of helping customers. I found that those attributes have helped me become a better worker. I've learn how to work in a high pace environment where things are constantly changing. Being that this job can be stressful coworkers are understanding and helpful.The hardest part of the job is not being able to help a customers the required construction materials needed to complete a home improvement project. It makes me feel bad for the customer because i know when taking on a home improvement project that time is money and any delay in getting materials can hurt a customer's finances. The best part of the job is when I have helped a customer in acquiring the materials for their home project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Larger Company
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Grove City, OHApril 9, 2014
This is a great first job for someone who is just starting out. With this being such a big company I felt like I was not getting recognized as much as I thought I should be which made it hard to want to come back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Job
Systems Administrator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 9, 2014
Instability of housing market brought company down. Probably wouldn't return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Cashier (Current Employee), Oakland, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: they empower you
Cons: no healthcare coverage just dental benefits
Its very busy during the week, the management team is easy to get along with. co workers are very helpful and also easy to get along with, everyone works as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great workspace.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 8, 2014
 Greet customers and ascertain what each customer wants or needs.
 Describe merchandise and explain use, operation, and care of merchandise to customers.
 Recommend, select, and help locate or obtain merchandise based on customer needs and desires.
 Compute sales prices, total purchases and receive and process cash or credit payment.
 Answer questions – more... regarding the store and its merchandise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, no discounts
PRO Associate (Former Employee), Santa Clara, UTApril 8, 2014
Working for this company was great. I was in a very positive environment all-around and I really enjoyed working there. Sadly, there was no discount for anything in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, warm, exciting
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CO and St. Louis, MOApril 8, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule, helpful co-workers, helpful managers and department leads, fun meetings each quarter!!
Cons: i really can't think of any cons . . .
Customers from different levels of understanding when it came to home improvements.
Managers were always helpful and willing to step in and assist you when you were backed up or needed to take a break or go to lunch.
We all were like a family, not just at work but in our personal lives. I am in touch with all of my co-workers from The Home Depot to – more... this day.
The hardest part of the job was getting items off of the upper racks.
The most enjoyable part was when I got the conduct the "Do It Herself" Classes. I showed women how to replace a bathroom faucet, install a toilet, paint a wall correctly, install tile on a wall and on a floor, install a ceiling fan, install a vinyl window and install a light/vent in a bathroom. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job.
Fright Team (Former Employee), Leavenworth, KSApril 8, 2014
Its a good job for people looking for part-time work.
good job security. good pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace workplace with high energy
Implementation Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 8, 2014
• Identified growth opportunities for new programs within key and national market areas.
• Selected new Service Providers to support key programs & drive revenue targets for the
Services Business.
• Managed cross-functional assignments such as Marketing/Advertising, Legal, Visual Merchandising,
Service Provider Compliance & Management, research evaluation – more... and Associate & Service Provider training.
• Provided guidance to store associates, Field Management, Service Providers for program development, training & forecasting program metrics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job
Cashier (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNApril 8, 2014
This is a great job for anyone looking for health benefits or just looking for a great environment. A typical day includes great teamwork and access to any training needed. If I ever have a question on the task at hand, I can find easy assistance. The managers are caring for their workers. They want the workers to be in a comfortable environment and – more... they want the workers to come to them with any problems. My co-workers work as a team and are wiling to help out anytime. There is no hardest part about the job since resources are available to you whenever you need them. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing customer satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a new experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 8, 2014
very fast lines moving through checkout line. I learned that contractors come in different variety those you admire and would hire in a heart beat and those you just shake your head at and keep going. I learned that you should be friendly but keep it professional with co-workers. The hardest part was the heavy lifting. The most enjoyable the friendships – more... developed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work as well as the environment..
San Bernardino C, A- Department Supervisor (Current Employee), san bernardinoApril 8, 2014
it is an overall solid company to work for providing good benefits and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work until the VOC's started
Bilingual Cashier and returns department (Current Employee), Cape Coral, FLApril 8, 2014
Pros: bonuses, homer awards
Cons: voc requirements
My reviews were very good. But, in the last year with the VOC requirement the job was not the same any more unfortunately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 8, 2014
Had supportive co-workers/store associates with whom I interacted to complete ordes placed by customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very good work place
machine operator (Former Employee), Kennesaw, GAApril 8, 2014
experience working with line breaks and manufacturing very good people and a very nice place to work

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is an American retailer of home improvement, construction products and services. The Home Depot operates 2,248 – Read more