Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,984 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONAugust 12, 2014
Pros: free bbq's and sometimes managers bonding lunches
The Home Depot was a fun place to work especially at nights. We will do BBQ's for the associates and sometimes we would all go to breakfast after work in the mornings. Overall i had a great experience there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level company to work for
Service Desk Manager (Former Employee), OakviilleAugust 12, 2014
Varied work experiences available. Good training. Not a lot in the way of career advancement. Salary is possibly competitive, but seems stagnant given the changes in the market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), Markham, ONAugust 11, 2014
good benefits for part time employees

success sharing

tuition reimbursement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Merchandiser (Current Employee), merchandiserAugust 8, 2014
n/a .....................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical of a "Big Box environment"
Kitchen Designer (Former Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 7, 2014
Pros: steady work, kept busy
Cons: employees are workers not human resources
8 1/2 hour shifts any day of the week Mon thru Sun with half hour lunch.
Could be 6:00 am start or 11:00 pm finish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job if you can read instructions
Assembler (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABAugust 5, 2014
Pros: pick your hours
Cons: once everything is assembled you may not have another thing to work on for a while
Easy workdays, assemble at any time of the day you want, work alone, picking your hours is most enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Overnight freight associate (Current Employee), Orangeville, ONAugust 5, 2014
Pros: extensive training, great co workers
Cons: major cuts in hours during slow months
Overall, a great place to work especially if you are a full time employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of potential to learn, low pay $
Lumber/building materials sales associate (Current Employee), woodbridgeAugust 3, 2014
lots of potential to learn different aspects of home renovations however pay is low
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great start up job
SALES SPECIALIST, Appliances, Kitchen (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 1, 2014
Was a great place to start out and learn how retail works. Dealt with tons of customers on a daily basis and enjoyed working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
construction store
Cashier (Former Employee), Pembroke, ONJuly 26, 2014
Pros: working in garden centre
Cons: part time
very busy
the name of tools, different wood type
good working for
friendly
still toe shoes
working in the garden centre
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
protective and alright job
Lot associate/Lumber (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 24, 2014
What i did at Home Depot was loading customers vehicles correctly And working lumber isle and saw.

I learned a lot about lumber sizes and specs and workplace safety, also how to correctly load costumers vehicles.

I felt that the managers and head cashiers were really unfair and felt like they where better then us lower positioned workers. I also felt – more... like we were getting under paid as we worked full time hours but was employed as part time.also had no say in how many hows you were able to work, even if you had an appointment.

there was no challenge working at home depot

the most enjoyable part was i worked with a lot of friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad company to work for
Night Crew (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 24, 2014
Pros: independent work
Cons: wages
it's your typical night crew "box on shelf" job.Didn't really learn anything noteworthy. Management was good, but if your employees don't agree with the store's choice on who the new night crew manager is it will affect production, and employees might end up quitting. A night crew manager should be working like the rest of us, not walking around, and – more... monitoring us. At most, all they should do is say: hey, i got a pallet of (whatever) in Aisle X when you're done with that one. That's about all we need, that bit of direction, otherwise, we'd just grab whatever would be easy to put out. Co-workers were all great to work with. Hardest part was keeping up with the volume of merchandise that came in. The most enjoyable was when we put in place an organization system that VASTLY improved the productivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would like to apply my skills in a part time position.
Overnight Frieght Team Associate (Current Employee), Coquitlam, BCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: part time hours.
Cons: there aren't any in my view.
I feel working for the Home Depot would be a very valuable experience for me personally. The Home Depot is a large successful company that will be around for a long time. The Home Depot has a lot to offer. Stability and the opportunity to learn and advance. It would appear that hard work and dedication would be and is recognized by the number of stores – more... and the great service I have received as a customer. For these reasons I feel strongly about joining the company and contributing to the future success of the Home Depot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service, cashiering
Cashier (Current Employee), Milton, ONJuly 18, 2014
Pros: excellent employer
Cons: working every weekend
work in vault balancing previous day's cash - management excellent - co workers great to work with - meeting customers and finding out their project and being able to help them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard workers in retail setting
Cashier and Returns Associate (Former Employee), OntarioJuly 17, 2014
Typical big box retailer store with multiple departments and hard working individuals trying to help customers with their home improvement needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Lot/Seasonal Associate (Current Employee), Burlington, ONJuly 17, 2014
As a Lot Associate it was my responsibility to make sure that the car lot, as well as the front apron was kept neat, tidy, and free of any carts and garbage. Also, if a customer required assistance with something they had just bought, it was my responsibility to make sure they had help getting it into their vehicle.

As a Seasonal Associate it was my – more... responsibility to make sure that customers got the information and help they needed when purchasing an item from the seasonal department. Also, it was my responsibility to make sure there was enough product on the floor for customers and do pack down if this was not the case. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Environment, many products to learn applications
Co-op Student (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 17, 2014
Pros: co-op position, ability to observe most store functions, and take part in them.
Cons: no pay
I worked here as a co-op student. My typical work day involved me re-organizing products and helping customers find the best product for them.

I learned much of how the retail environment functions. I've worked in every department to learn their products and which ones would suit a homeowners and a contractor.

Management was great, they handled all – more... my questions when necessary.

Co-workers were very fun to work with, working in pairs sometimes to handle a customers needs can prove more fun and also builds customer appreciation.

Hardest part of the job was handling many customers questions at once.

Most enjoyable part of my job was the flexibility of my position, which allowed me to never be still,it deepened my understanding of the retail industry. I always had my hands full helping co-workers around the store, learning about what needs the departments had which weren't being fulfilled and being able to take care of the minimal duties which improved the quality of service given by my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HD culture
SPECIALTY SALES ASSOCIATE, VAULT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 17, 2014
Good place to start working as a teen or retirement age.
Decent place for advancement if you are motivated to do so.
Co workers are usually friendly and helpful.
Managers are perfectly adequate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONJuly 16, 2014
Pros: long lunches
Cons: management
easy work, can be fast paced environment but overall satisfactory
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier Life
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Brantford, ONJuly 15, 2014
Home Depot is a really exciting and fun environment. As a cashier, I was previously trained through other part time cashier jobs, when I was trained at Home Depot, they made it their mission to have every customer leave satisfied. I really enjoyed working at the lumber doors, dealing with the contractors and construction workers.

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more