Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,722 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average big box work place
Delivery Co-ordinator (Current Employee), windsor,onAugust 28, 2014
Pros: hourly wage is very competitive
Cons: poor management
The company started out fantastic, it was a great place to work. However over the years it has declined. Still a good place to work, but not that family feeling when you walk through the door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting Customers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, OnAugust 27, 2014
Pros: good experience in dealing with people
Cons: can be physical
Assist customers with their needs - items they require, build delivery orders, assist loading heavy items

Maintain department - Ensure it's clean and presentable to customers, ensure products are available in homes, make sure there aren't any safety hazards
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It started off great...
Department Supervisor (Current Employee), Sherwood Park, ABAugust 21, 2014
Pros: social committee, good associates
Cons: salaried management
Come in to work, walk the floor, create an agenda for the day. Lots of lifting and heavy work, as well as driving equipment to ensure that the department stays clean and organized. Directed associates to help, set both personal and business goals with associates, helped them achieve them. Learned a lot about retail management, and how to plan for sales, – more... ordering, goal setting. Management is alright, unless they deem that you're not worth it. It's an obvious favoritism. Some people can get away with 23 schedule occurrences, where as others are not so lucky. HR doesn't know what they're doing (Even within 90 days they have to go through the discipline process.)

They hire assistant store managers externally, hardly promote from within. The guidelines for promoting from within are completely out to lunch. If you want to move up in the company you're better off quitting, and reapplying for the position that you want.

Department Supervisors are a dime a dozen, and they treat them as such. Completely replaceable, even if they've shown results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 19, 2014
Home Depot is a wonderful place to work and i personally liked working is as i am a civil contractor and there are products which are used in building or a house.
Home Depot also provides training for employees who are interested in moving up their career ladder.
Having many branches in different location and the job application with the selection process – more... being on line, employees can see where they would like to apply. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Right place to learn excellent customer service and product knowledge, we used to play table tennis in break times.
Freight and Packdown Associate (Current Employee), 3065 Mavis rdAugust 17, 2014
Pros: i had free lunches many times from my employer.
Cons: i worked over time on my manager's request and went home.
One day 2 co-workers called sick, I took that day as a challenging day to complete my work and co-workers duties. My boss appreciated me!
It is great fun place and nice to learn lot of things like customer service, product display and safety tips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time employment
Customer Service Agent, Cashier (Current Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 14, 2014
Pros: benifits, payed holidays
Cashier, greeting and cashing out customers
Hardest part of job is the miscommunication between management
Enjoyable part is getting paid, success sharing, BBQ, co workers n nice customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 14, 2014
A fun and supportive workplace working with a diverse staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work while in school
Cashier (Former Employee), Brantford, ONAugust 14, 2014
Pros: meeting new people everyday
Cons: small chance of promotion
A typical day consisted of helping customers at the registers. Some days can be very busy and when there isn't enough help, it can be very stressful. Co-workers were always nice and easygoing which made the day go by.

After moving into different positions at the help desk and seasonal departments, it was nice to have a break from the front line. Unfortunately, – more... there were not enough hours in the seasonal department to give out to the amount of seasonal employees so I did not get to work there very often.

Overall it was not a bad place to work. In a corporation as big as The Home Depot, it is the people that make the job worth while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONAugust 12, 2014
Pros: free bbq's and sometimes managers bonding lunches
The Home Depot was a fun place to work especially at nights. We will do BBQ's for the associates and sometimes we would all go to breakfast after work in the mornings. Overall i had a great experience there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level company to work for
Service Desk Manager (Former Employee), OakviilleAugust 12, 2014
Varied work experiences available. Good training. Not a lot in the way of career advancement. Salary is possibly competitive, but seems stagnant given the changes in the market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), Markham, ONAugust 11, 2014
good benefits for part time employees

success sharing

tuition reimbursement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Merchandiser (Current Employee), merchandiserAugust 8, 2014
n/a .....................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical of a "Big Box environment"
Kitchen Designer (Former Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 7, 2014
Pros: steady work, kept busy
Cons: employees are workers not human resources
8 1/2 hour shifts any day of the week Mon thru Sun with half hour lunch.
Could be 6:00 am start or 11:00 pm finish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job if you can read instructions
Assembler (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABAugust 5, 2014
Pros: pick your hours
Cons: once everything is assembled you may not have another thing to work on for a while
Easy workdays, assemble at any time of the day you want, work alone, picking your hours is most enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Overnight freight associate (Current Employee), Orangeville, ONAugust 5, 2014
Pros: extensive training, great co workers
Cons: major cuts in hours during slow months
Overall, a great place to work especially if you are a full time employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of potential to learn, low pay $
Lumber/building materials sales associate (Current Employee), woodbridgeAugust 3, 2014
lots of potential to learn different aspects of home renovations however pay is low
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great start up job
SALES SPECIALIST, Appliances, Kitchen (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 1, 2014
Was a great place to start out and learn how retail works. Dealt with tons of customers on a daily basis and enjoyed working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
construction store
Cashier (Former Employee), Pembroke, ONJuly 26, 2014
Pros: working in garden centre
Cons: part time
very busy
the name of tools, different wood type
good working for
friendly
still toe shoes
working in the garden centre
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
protective and alright job
Lot associate/Lumber (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 24, 2014
What i did at Home Depot was loading customers vehicles correctly And working lumber isle and saw.

I learned a lot about lumber sizes and specs and workplace safety, also how to correctly load costumers vehicles.

I felt that the managers and head cashiers were really unfair and felt like they where better then us lower positioned workers. I also felt – more... like we were getting under paid as we worked full time hours but was employed as part time.also had no say in how many hows you were able to work, even if you had an appointment.

there was no challenge working at home depot

the most enjoyable part was i worked with a lot of friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad company to work for
Night Crew (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 24, 2014
Pros: independent work
Cons: wages
it's your typical night crew "box on shelf" job.Didn't really learn anything noteworthy. Management was good, but if your employees don't agree with the store's choice on who the new night crew manager is it will affect production, and employees might end up quitting. A night crew manager should be working like the rest of us, not walking around, and – more... monitoring us. At most, all they should do is say: hey, i got a pallet of (whatever) in Aisle X when you're done with that one. That's about all we need, that bit of direction, otherwise, we'd just grab whatever would be easy to put out. Co-workers were all great to work with. Hardest part was keeping up with the volume of merchandise that came in. The most enjoyable was when we put in place an organization system that VASTLY improved the productivity. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more