Find companies:
Holt Renfrew
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Holt Renfrew Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult working culture.
Leased Business Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 10, 2013
Not a very supportive culture. Difficult environment that makes it challenging to feel motivated and supported.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Counter Manager for Luxurious High-end Skincare (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 23, 2013
A great deal of responsibilities but always worth the hard work.
Over came quite a bit of obstacles
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't be blinded by the pretty interior
Personal Shopping Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 30, 2013
I was a personal shopping assistant at Holt Renfrew. I have to say I was very excited to be working for this company but now that I have worked there I do not see it in the same way.

Compared to other companies the one nice thing about my position was that I made $15.00 an hour. However, after working there and realizing how much work is involved and – more... how under appreciated you are as well as how badly you are treated this is not enough compensation. Seeing a shopper (who may have made their assistant pull the clothes and just shown up for the appointment) make 10% commission on a sale anywhere from $5,000 - $25,000 in an appointment anywhere from 20 minutes to an hour and a half was very disheartening. No, you do not get any commission. Working for someone who does half if not a quarter of the work and then seeing them make $2,500 while you make $15.00, sucks.

We would rarely get our lunch breaks. We were entitled to an hour a day but would be so busy that we wouldn't get the time to take it. To make up for this we would mark down that we had no lunches BUT would get lectured by our managers that we need to take our lunches. They would never speak to the actual personal shoppers and say "make sure your assistant is taking a lunch break." They made it our duty to say something, which for some people is uncomfortable when it can be busy.

All management cared about were sales. If you were making the company money they would treat you like gods, however, if you were in my position they were not friendly. They were constantly on our backs about every little thing. Holding meetings every so often with the personal shopper to let you know what you are doing WRONG and not showing appreciation for what you are doing RIGHT. The DVP would walk around and if you tried having a conversation with her all she would want to talk about were appointments and sales etc. She was not a friendly person and I honestly got the impression a lot of the staff were afraid of her. However, the VP was very friendly and you could always talk to him as an equal.

Overall, while this company has beautiful clothing and items it was awful to work for. Thank god I had a close relationship with the other assistants or else I would have hated going to work every day. I have never worked so hard in my life and felt so unappreciated. If I had been compensated higher I may not have minded so much. But being someone's unappreciated employee for $15.00 an hour was not worth it in my opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extra fun workplace
Data Entry (Former Employee), Saint-Laurent, QCApril 25, 2013
This company was the best place to work - I loved my job doing data entry - and the people were fantastic - we all got along
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful retail store
Sales Assocaite (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 6, 2013
Pros: staff discounts, friendly staff, free lunches, hourly wages
Cons: politics, high turn over rate, no loyalty
The company is great to work and pays much more hgiher than any other retail stores. Amazing discounts and the staff are all overall friendly. However, Holt Renfrew is a cut throat workplace where as employees disappear so often. Holt Renfrew doesn't not care about employee workplace rights. So the chances if they want you out, your gonna be out despite – more... how long you've been employed with them. I was terminated for no reason, but at least the company was kind enough to give me a two weeks severance pay, which was pretty kind of them. Holt Renfrew is a numbers game where employees who do not meet the companies quotas or image will not last very long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work with did many projects with internal design team well paid with bonus
Project Manager (Former Employee), Quebec, PQ. Montreal, PQ Ottawa, ON, Toronto, ONFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: great expense account
Cons: very demanding client
Great all around company very demanding but fair, and well paid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 6, 2012
Holt Renfrew is a great Canadian company to work for. I would highly suggest a career with this company for someone whom is interested in a fast paced, luxury fashion industry.

March 3, 2013

it is a horrible place to shop, unless you want to be humiliated and treated with disrespect!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend family or friends to work for this company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), VancouverNovember 7, 2012
Pros: staff discount
Cons: undefined sales boundaries and hostile corporate culture
High turnover, employees are not loyal to the company because the Vancouver store is not managed well. One day management will tell you to cross-sell the store and the next week they will change the rules creating undefined sales boundaries, not to mention making fellow employees angry at each other. Renfrew is lucky that Vancouver is such a wealthy – more... and lucrative market because the customer service is horrible and employee culture is hostile. I would never recommend anyone that I cared about to work for this company, despite the potential for 6 figure pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with eveything you need to enhance the client experience
Beauty Advisor - Chanel (Former Employee), Holt Renfrew Yorkdale shopping mallOctober 10, 2012
Pros: great products to work with at the chanel counter
A great work environment, with the tools and knowledge to succeed.
Makeovers on a daily basis
Updating client files
Sending thank you cards to clients
Housekeeping
Building relationships and starting new ones
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), 50 Bloor St WestAugust 9, 2012
Pros: going to the movies; historic sites and parks
Cons: awareness of the "fine line" in an "attention seeking" display
Carrying out regularly assigned duties related to the provision and supports of the individual, in collaboration with other team members. Identifying the needs of the individuals being supported daily, on a one to one basis or as group. Integrating people with an intellectual disability back into the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 27, 2012
A good job if you enjoy working with people and like designer goods. Sales driven environment but still friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but i've seen better
Visual Presentation (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 19, 2012
Fantastic company to work for, no complaints about the company!
The management is what needs the most improvement!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Renfrew, ONJuly 15, 2012
Pros: free snacks and discounts
Cons: long hours, repetitive
I had worked as a seasonal for Christmas and was kept fairly busy. I had to ensure that all customer satisfaction and optimal shopping experience. I also were responsible for opening, closing, and being knowledgeable for procedures for alterations and damaged goods.

July 31, 2012

Hey there, I was just wondering how you went about finding the job and getting it? Thanks!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
five star all the way
sales clerk (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONJuly 11, 2012
Pros: working surrounded by all of the top labels !
Cons: doing inventory
love love loved...working at HR....i have shopped at HR since i was 10 years old and i am no 50 ! Love fashion, always have and enjoy helping others choose their fashion sense of self !
Always enjoyed the comaraderie with co workers , the hardest part of the job was blowing my paycheck before i got it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fashion forward place to work at
designated sales associate (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMay 4, 2012
Pros: summer picnics, staff christmas party, free lunch for all staff on boxing day
Cons: the schedule was different everyday
maintaining a clean and organized department. display cases were cleaned daily . receive stock daily and putting the new items out for display.
confirming appointments for the day,
the most enjoyable part of my position was helping a client from head to toe get the perfect outfit for the specified event.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well managed and successful business and a positive learning experience
Purchasing (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 30, 2012
Pros: gaining experience in a high paced enviroment
Cons: long days
• Procurement of materials for 12 retail stores on a daily basis across Canada.
• Management of supplier relations (negotiations, contracts, due diligence).
• Implementation and management of inventory control systems.
• Inventory management on assets distributed to stores
• Paying invoices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High culture and values
Fashion Ambassador for the 2010 Winter Olympics (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 15, 2012
• Represented Holt Renfrew during the 2010 Winter Olympics by working in-store and at Olympic events to promote the company’s brand, products, and services to international visitors
• Wrote and distributed weekly emails to sales staff containing information on the latest Olympic merchandise carried by Holt Renfrew to ensure staff were aware of new products
 – more... Assisted management in coordinating private shopping events featuring celebrity guests by distributing promotional materials and managing customer hospitality – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture d'entreprise intéressante
Assistante Sales Manager (Former Employee), Montréal, CanadaJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: fabuleuse expérience professionnelle . faut la vivre pour la comprendre
Cons: stage non rémunéré
Entreprise commercialisant de produits de luxe, tels que le prêt a porter féminin, masculin, cosmétiques, maroquinerie possédant des marques de Luxe et où le service clientèle est très important d'où une clientèle fidèle et prestigieuse.

Ouverture d'esprit, donnant la chance à tous d' évoluer, bonne intégration au sein des équipes, bonne ambiance.

Journée – more... de plus de 35heures de travail. Spécialistes de vente ayant une relation très proche de leurs clients.

Management Nord Americain, philosophie de "profit-chain"

Aspect difficile, la langue puis la relation avec une clientèle atypique très prestigieuse.

Aspect agréable, gens chaleureux, culture enrichissante, laissant des responsabilités alors que j'étais stagiaire et je n'étais pas considérée comme stagiaire mais membre du groupe. – less

About Holt Renfrew

Holt Renfrew (also commonly known as Holt's) is a chain of high-end Canadian department stores. It is comparable to Barneys New – Read more