Holt Renfrew Employee Reviews

Showing all 109 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experiencia internacional
Asistente Ejecutivo (Executive Assistant) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario, CA15 May 2017
Organización de reuniones, preparación de horarios diarios, coordinación de Tiendas, diseño de Display, Manejo de Personal y Entrenamiento para Dependientes & Campañas Publicitarias
Pros
muy buena experiencia
Cons
no es mi pais de residencia
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and compensation
Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON26 April 2017
Management is not concerned with the well being of their employees.

Human Resources lacks patience and compassion for staff and their situations.

Do not recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 April 2017
Best Place I have ever worked at. Would have loved to keep this job as a part time job for the rest of my life. Learned a lot from working at Holt Renfrew. Extraordinary experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very authoritative company
Marketing Internship (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 March 2017
Very pretentious staff and management with little room for advancement or critique. Very poor customer service and often rude to customers. Does not treat all equal.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast-paced business, however lack efficient management
Personal Shopping Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2017
With the nature of the business, everyday would be busy, making the day go by quickly. However, the company lack a strong, efficient management team. Employees did not feel supported by the leadership team, therefore people would feel either depreciated or misguided on how to perform well.
Pros
Fun work environment
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ppl but poor management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 March 2017
It's a good place for ppl who needs retail experiences but not for the professional ones.
Also, it's a chaos after Saks and Nordstrom open, they were doing crazy sales mess up all industry standard.
The new management very sucks, not appreciate employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the people I worked with, The boss was great!!! Felt blessed to work there! Commission was higher than other retail jobs!!!
Make-up / Fragrance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 March 2017
Love makeup if you work hard you can make alot of money! Management was great, fun to work their....alot of give aways from company . You can move around ....
Pros
better rate of commission
Cons
Retail!!! Hours!!!!!!!!!!! You work every weekend store in opened later now
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2017
- great work culture
- make your own pay cheque
- room for growth
- management support
- money wasn't great when business was slow
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun loving staff
Stock Associate/ Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2017
a typical day at work, I would received stock and made sure stock room was organized and safe for my co-workers to find the merchandise they're looking for, i would also open all cashiers most morning and i would also close at nights. i learned about brand i haven't heard off before. Management was great made you feel good about the work you did.the hardest part was learning the brands and the history.
Pros
good hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They lie
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 February 2017
Do not get fooled. They will tell you one thing and do another. They make it seem that you will get benefits and earn more when in fact they play with your head the whole time.
They give unrealistic goals so you can never attain the bonus. At the interview when they tell you how much you will be making divide it by 2 so you will know what to expect.
Manager and sales associate at Hugo were pleasant and nice. The real problem is the other associates from the neighbouring department like in Theory. You have a giraffe working there that is wild and crazy.
Pros
Discount
Cons
The uniform barely give you any
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report

Want to know more about Holt Renfrew?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Renfrew, ON1 February 2017
Holt's has great managers and I have talented co workers. I am learning a lot as well as teaching others. It has given me a lot of leadership experience in the creative freedom that comes with the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people!
Manager, Email Marketing (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2017
Organization in flux but the people are great and everyone is dedicated. The stores offer a great selection of luxe brands.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and productive workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 January 2017
-Coworkers are friendly

-Fluctuation in traffic

-Good discounts

-management can come off as unprofessional/ inexperienced at times
Pros
Discount
Cons
Lack of growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working environment not very good
Apparel Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 January 2017
Good discounts.

The store is very busy sometimes and very slow sometimes.

Coworkers could be good or bad depends on your department.

Limited opportunities to move up.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Productive workplace
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Yorkdale, ON16 January 2017
the working environment is superb. Other coworkers are extremely friendly and very helpful. during my time here, i gained many skills such as stock organizing, dealing with customers and brands knowledge.
Pros
Friendly workplace
Cons
Difficult Customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad company to work at but depends on what team you are in
Merchandise and Inventory Planner (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 January 2017
Fortunately my team is very different from other teams in the company. I have great work / life balance because my director has cultivated it. High turn over of the company cause different management directions and hard for employees to follow.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management in Vancouver store
Server (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 January 2017
I worked in the restaurant, it was a terrible work environment. I felt ostracised by the management, many servers including the head chef and sous chef have moved on.

The director of catering through intimidation influenced her staff to also participate in propagating this culture of animosity by threatening them with their jobs. I was lucky I was only a server and could leave.

Apply at your own risk! Not a good environment. This review is only for the restaurant.
Cons
Long hours, Bad Management, Unorganised
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 January 2017
excellent place to work
excellent management
great hours
great incentives
amazing colleagues
flexible hours
consistent work
great recognition programs
Pros
environment
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyed working with a strong team
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 November 2016
Working at Holt Renfrew was a great experience and I learned great team building skills and widened my skills in merchandising from cosmetics to handbags.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tres beau endroit de travail
Cook (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 November 2016
Confort de travail. Établissement de luxe respective pour la clientele.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holt Renfrew. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 109 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

76%
26 ratings
Add your rating