Find companies:
Holiday Retirement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
99 reviews

Holiday Retirement Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in my 45 years ow work experience this is the worst company I have ever incountered
Resident Property Manager (Former Employee), Kingston, ONMarch 18, 2014
Cons: everthing
The job was resident manager, turns out to be a high phone marketing job with little property management aspect to the job. A promise of caring for your residents with the Holiday Touch. After you sign up a resident and they move in they care little about the clients and more about keeping the place full and the bottom line. Back stabbing staff both – more... in middle management above you and the staff the work for you. High turnover of manages. The property I managed had has 16 different manages in two years. That should speak volumes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Community Sales Leader (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 21, 2014
Staff were great to work with.
Senior management was tough but some were good leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is what you make it - Fun to work with seniors
Community Manager-Live (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONApril 12, 2013
Pros: free rent and food- good bonus's if you can sell
Cons: long hours and having to say goodbye to residents who pass on
Early morning start at 6:30 am
Eat breakfast with residents then manage building by:
Dealing with employees and residents non stop.
Cold calling and produced lists to market building.
Visiting potential clients in their home making transition easier.
Constantly touring potential residents.
Making sure building is up to code and clean.
Handling payroll, – more... vacations etc. for employees as needed
Keeping residents entertained, secure and healthy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Executive Director (Former Employee), Sanford, FLDecember 3, 2014
They don't value employees regardless of how hard you work and dedicate yourself to your job, Find another assisted living, Initially the company started off as a great place to work however the harder I worked the less I was acknowledged and they pick favorites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training
Operations/Sales Manager (Current Employee), Hilton HeadNovember 29, 2014
Pros: free meals and rent
Cons: live at work
A organization to receive great training, but as a manager the expectations are very demanding. It is literally a boot camp the first 90 days. I feel that I can do anything now. I've been with the company for almost a year and am browsing for potential opportunities where I don't have to live at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comapny has wrong focus
Executive Director (Former Employee), New YorkNovember 19, 2014
Pros: has potential to be a good company
Cons: focus lacks to attract residents as homes are dirty and poorly managed
I had several interviews for an exciting executive position. Two regional directors lacked providing all the information about the job, leading to misguidance on the true expectations. They also had blinders on to the real issues that required immediate attention at the property. All the focus was numbers and move in, refusing to see why they had a – more... poor clientele. Poorly run company with no communication and wrong priorities which is not the way I work nor the way I am successful at my jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corrections atmosphere
Executive Chef (Former Employee), Hanford, CANovember 10, 2014
Pros: great job place
Cons: not any
ordering,inventory,menu planning,production line,catered events,deliveries to various jails
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth Doing if you want the Experience
Buyer (Current Employee), Lake Oswego, ORNovember 4, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, relative autonomy, great people
Cons: heavy workload, poor compensation, uncertain future
This review is for the Home Office location in Lake Oswego

3 Things to know for a candidate considering Holiday:
❖ They are owned by a Manhattan hedge fund that could sell the company in the near future
❖ There is a lot of turnover at all levels of the company. For many people, Holiday is a stepping stone into the Portland corporate world
❖ Unless – more... you have powerful connections, advancement is rare and the pay is very low for the market.

Your experience here will really depend on the department, but most managers are generally nice and supportive. The best benefits are the schedule flexibility and telework options. You can gain a lot of valuable experience here, and there is opportunity to build yourself as a professional, BUT understand that you probably won't be rewarded very well for this effort. Prepare to add some lines to your resume and look to other companies when you're ready to move up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good career choice
Manager (Former Employee), Georgia, ALNovember 3, 2014
Pros: room and board included, good benifits
Cons: pressure selling to seniors
It is very hard to balance taking care of seniors and selling apartments to seniors. Management insisted on 95% occupancy and micromanaged the selling process.
Best part of the job was interacting with senior residents.
Worst part of the job was having to pressure sell to seniors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a Great Opportunity with Different Upper Management
Community Manager (Former Employee), midwestOctober 27, 2014
Pros: being able to help senior residents enjoy their retirement lifestyle.
Cons: working with heartless and dishonest upper management.
The Management teams and Sales Leaders are very under appreciated and mostly recognized for numbers rather than quality of work.
There is no consideration for the sacrifice that managing couples make in transitioning into becoming live-in managers. Many couples sell their homes only to find that they feel forced to leave and start all over. The upper – more... management is seriously lacking in skills for training, development and team building. Communities without enough staff and resources are expected to produce the same as the ones that are fully staffed and well maintained.
The hardest part of the job is to have senior residents afraid to move out or get evicted because they can not afford to live there anymore.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help seniors feel safe and secure about having a place to stay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like running around with your hair on fire, Holiday's for you.
Manager (Former Employee), Lake Oswego, OROctober 18, 2014
Pros: makes other companies look a lot saner; the residents we serve
Cons: short-term thinking as a corporate ethos
Only 40-something years old, 12,000 person company I've seen run like a start-up. Senior management is very reluctant to delegate downwards, much less communicate regularly or meaningfully. Avoids long-term strategic planning - instead, everything is a crisis. Great place if you like quick-and-dirty operation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More than a job
Lead Manager (Current Employee), Longview, TexasOctober 14, 2014
Pros: residents/employees
Cons: differentiating work and personal life.
I live at the community where I work with my husband. Our days are filled with our residents and employees who we adore, that's the best part of our day. Most of the day is spent making "cold calls" endless conference calls and answering emails. We also attend to open AR, AP, Kronos, hiring, training and marketing. The hardest part of our job is when – more... residents move into higher care or when they pass. They are more than residents to us. We visit them in hospitals and rehabs, we sympathize with their families when they pass. We love our job but unfortunately we don't have a equal job-personal life balance. Since we live here, we're always "on call" We also don't care to move up the ladder. We've see what our RD goes through and we've decided to stay at our present level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultative Sales with competitive commission
Strategic Sales Leader (Former Employee), Lenox, MAOctober 10, 2014
Pros: salary and advancement
Excellent company to work for. Great base and commission along with room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job did not turn out to be what it was portrayed to be.
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Groton, CTOctober 7, 2014
The push was always sales, sales, sales. The concern for the resident and their needs got pushed aside. Management had so many meetings, conference calls, that any spare time was used up and interaction was barely able with the residents. Interacting with the residents was the best part of the job IF you could find the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity to serve the Greatest Generation
Sales and Marketing, Operations of the building (Former Employee), Carson City, NVSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: knowing famous and interesting seniors from all walks of life.
Cons: constant sales pressures
Daily duties included supervision of a staff of 25, a chef and kitchen staff, servers, and housekeeping staff, enrichment coordinator and a maintenance man. Sales and marketing, generating traffic with events for the community and cold calls. Reaching sales goals. Staying ahead of maintenance issues. Interacting with superiors and producing results; – more... increasing occupancy and retaining residents. Managing the budget and expanding services to residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers Over worked
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Shreveport LaSeptember 24, 2014
Managers are over worked and have to live in a super small apartment with no washer or dryer or life! They have a HUGH management turnover at the drop of a hat!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managment
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee), Lake Oswego, ORSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: fair benifits
Cons: managment
good co-workers, time management, hardest was the long drive when they left Salem
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The single worst company I have every been affiliated with.
Community Manager (Former Employee), Napa, CASeptember 22, 2014
I have absolutely nothing positive or constructive to say regarding Holiday Retirement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
live on site with active seniors
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: lived on site
Cons: staying professinal when you love the residents
In this position we lived on site as managers. We were on call 40 hours a week as well as 45 office hours.We loved the selling; it was a good product. Holiday retirement offers independent living for seniors. They provide three meals a day plus housekeeping. I did it all! we became a family. When someone needed help; resident or employee, we jumped – more... right in and made it happen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment with a self-paced atmosphere.
Community Sales Leader (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXSeptember 7, 2014
The typical day at work included multiple face to face interactions with prospective residents as well as lead generation. The job was a benefit to me as I was able to interact with the current residents on a daily basis while meeting prospective clients. A typical day included hot and cold calls, daily conference calls, touring the facility as well – more... as city outreach. This job was enjoyable as it was a self-paced and allowed for personal growth within the company. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Holiday Retirement

When Holiday Retirement was founded in 1971, it set out to create an independent living lifestyle unlike anything seniors had – Read more