Find companies:
Holiday Retirement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

Holiday Retirement Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in my 45 years ow work experience this is the worst company I have ever incountered
Resident Property Manager (Former Employee), Kingston, ONMarch 18, 2014
Cons: everthing
The job was resident manager, turns out to be a high phone marketing job with little property management aspect to the job. A promise of caring for your residents with the Holiday Touch. After you sign up a resident and they move in they care little about the clients and more about keeping the place full and the bottom line. Back stabbing staff both – more... in middle management above you and the staff the work for you. High turnover of manages. The property I managed had has 16 different manages in two years. That should speak volumes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Community Sales Leader (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 21, 2014
Staff were great to work with.
Senior management was tough but some were good leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is what you make it - Fun to work with seniors
Community Manager-Live (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONApril 12, 2013
Pros: free rent and food- good bonus's if you can sell
Cons: long hours and having to say goodbye to residents who pass on
Early morning start at 6:30 am
Eat breakfast with residents then manage building by:
Dealing with employees and residents non stop.
Cold calling and produced lists to market building.
Visiting potential clients in their home making transition easier.
Constantly touring potential residents.
Making sure building is up to code and clean.
Handling payroll, – more... vacations etc. for employees as needed
Keeping residents entertained, secure and healthy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More than a job
Lead Manager (Current Employee), Longview, TexasOctober 14, 2014
Pros: residents/employees
Cons: differentiating work and personal life.
I live at the community where I work with my husband. Our days are filled with our residents and employees who we adore, that's the best part of our day. Most of the day is spent making "cold calls" endless conference calls and answering emails. We also attend to open AR, AP, Kronos, hiring, training and marketing. The hardest part of our job is when – more... residents move into higher care or when they pass. They are more than residents to us. We visit them in hospitals and rehabs, we sympathize with their families when they pass. We love our job but unfortunately we don't have a equal job-personal life balance. Since we live here, we're always "on call" We also don't care to move up the ladder. We've see what our RD goes through and we've decided to stay at our present level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultative Sales with competitive commission
Strategic Sales Leader (Former Employee), Lenox, MAOctober 10, 2014
Pros: salary and advancement
Excellent company to work for. Great base and commission along with room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job did not turn out to be what it was portrayed to be.
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Groton, CTOctober 7, 2014
The push was always sales, sales, sales. The concern for the resident and their needs got pushed aside. Management had so many meetings, conference calls, that any spare time was used up and interaction was barely able with the residents. Interacting with the residents was the best part of the job IF you could find the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity to serve the Greatest Generation
Sales and Marketing, Operations of the building (Former Employee), Carson City, NVSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: knowing famous and interesting seniors from all walks of life.
Cons: constant sales pressures
Daily duties included supervision of a staff of 25, a chef and kitchen staff, servers, and housekeeping staff, enrichment coordinator and a maintenance man. Sales and marketing, generating traffic with events for the community and cold calls. Reaching sales goals. Staying ahead of maintenance issues. Interacting with superiors and producing results; – more... increasing occupancy and retaining residents. Managing the budget and expanding services to residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers Over worked
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Shreveport LaSeptember 24, 2014
Managers are over worked and have to live in a super small apartment with no washer or dryer or life! They have a HUGH management turnover at the drop of a hat!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managment
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee), Lake Oswego, ORSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: fair benifits
Cons: managment
good co-workers, time management, hardest was the long drive when they left Salem
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The single worst company I have every been affiliated with.
Community Manager (Former Employee), Napa, CASeptember 22, 2014
I have absolutely nothing positive or constructive to say regarding Holiday Retirement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
live on site with active seniors
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: lived on site
Cons: staying professinal when you love the residents
In this position we lived on site as managers. We were on call 40 hours a week as well as 45 office hours.We loved the selling; it was a good product. Holiday retirement offers independent living for seniors. They provide three meals a day plus housekeeping. I did it all! we became a family. When someone needed help; resident or employee, we jumped – more... right in and made it happen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment with a self-paced atmosphere.
Community Sales Leader (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXSeptember 7, 2014
The typical day at work included multiple face to face interactions with prospective residents as well as lead generation. The job was a benefit to me as I was able to interact with the current residents on a daily basis while meeting prospective clients. A typical day included hot and cold calls, daily conference calls, touring the facility as well – more... as city outreach. This job was enjoyable as it was a self-paced and allowed for personal growth within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
Server/Dishwasher (Former Employee), Hermitage, PAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: not getting payed what your supposed to.
Most of the day i would be in the kitchen with the cooks making jokes while getting the job done and it help the days go by.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for!
Sales Leader (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 15, 2014
Pros: love the seniors and the dedicated lower level employees.
Cons: too many to mention.
I worked at the company for 1 year and I had 4 different Regional Sales Leaders, all with different ideas and ways of doing the work, nothing was consistant. I also had 4 different management teams that didn't deliver the team work that was expected of them, resulting in further inconsistancy.

This occurance is normal for the company and not exclusive – more... to the community I worked in. The changes that accurred were not do to advancements thier career, it was due to them being terminated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Provider of Gracious Independent Living for Older Adults
District Trainer - East (Current Employee), East Disttrict (13 States)August 15, 2014
Pros: the environment and residents. the benefits are good.
Cons: work-life balance
This company is special and people is its core business. From the residents that they serve to the people they employ....it creates an environment where people want to thrive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional
Co Manager (Former Employee), High Point, NCAugust 10, 2014
Pros: taking care of the seniors
Cons: hired as managers instead you are a sales/marketing person
my husband and i relocated for this job. into 3 months of the job they fired us over bogus reasons. no explanation no warning no nothing.
i would not recommenced this company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and interact with residents.
Facilities Maintenance (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOAugust 7, 2014
Pros: free lunch, hours are great, close to home
Everyday is new problem to be solved and or resolved which helps keep things interesting. Although there are actually three different sets of managers we all work together quite well. I really enjoy the other employees the most we try to make it enjoyable place. The hardest part of job is do to budgets not being able to have what you need when you need – more... it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Relationships with Customers, Hair Pulling Relationships with Management
Prep Cook/Server/Housekeeper (Former Employee), Bloomington, INJuly 30, 2014
Pros: residents; free meals; decent benefits
Cons: management; relationship with co workers; irregular hours
I loved the wonderful relationships that I built with the residents. They have so much life and experience they love to share, and you come to love the people you serve (even if some of them can be cranky). They truly care about you and love to talk and know what is going on in your life.
On the other hand, management is enough to run anyone out of – more... there. I have never in my life worked in such a dysfunctional environment. No one wants to work as a team and everyone is always on a different page trying to push their own agenda. In my year working there I saw 6 different management teams come and go, and that isn't even getting started on the management in the kitchen. In a year there were at least 6 different chefs in and out, and the sous chef never lasted more than a week, and when they finally got one to stay he was one of the most insufferable people to work with, and he couldn't be fired because no one else would take the position. As a kitchen helper there were countless numbers of people constantly in and out of that position. Me and one other girl were the only ones to ever stay longer than a few months. The turn over rate was crazy. If you are looking for a happy stable work environment, Redbud Retirement in Bloomington IN is definitely not the place to be. The wonderful relationships you build with the residents just isn't enough to outweigh all of the cons in management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room to advance, family like atmosphere
Field Training Manager (Current Employee), Denver, COJuly 24, 2014
Although my training campus was eliminated in a RIF/Realignment I was not bitter nor angry with Holiday. Being a seasoned and tenured associate of over 4 years Holiday took good care of me and the decision was made based on logic and business sense.

They handled the transition professionally and tactfully. I have learned more about conflict management, – more... HR and professionalism working for Holiday Retirement then any other postion held EVER. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I agree with the previous statement "RUN".
Community Co-Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: the seniors we cared for and came to love.
Cons: your lead managers are in charge even if the residents like and respect you more.
Long hours, micro-managed, little advancement, back-stabbing.

1 2 3 4 5

About Holiday Retirement

When Holiday Retirement was founded in 1971, it set out to create an independent living lifestyle unlike anything seniors had – Read more