Find companies:
Holiday Inn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,338 reviews

Holiday Inn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiday Inn Express
Guest Services Supervisor/Manager on Duty (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 23, 2012
Pros: benefits package, team mentality at work, working with the public, how every day was an opportunity to learn
Cons: varying hours
I learned a great deal from this company both as a supervisor and as a guest services agent. I learned how to handle many different situations and the importance and value of treating everyone as the different individuals they are. I also learned how important it is to treat your team with respect and integrity, as well as how to be approachable.

A – more... typical day at work entailed assisting with customer complaints, phone inquiries, making reservations, and supervising the front desk team. Sometimes, it also entailed assisting the housekeeping department during heavy check-out days or when they were short staffed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place To Work
Human Resource Coordinator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 15, 2012
Amazing culture with room to grow that is fostered by all senior management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hotel, swimming pool.
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Hinton, ABSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: free breakfast and lunch.
Cons: some short hours.
I thought this place, was a really good place to work at, the people are very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kitchen well maintained
Chef (Former Employee), NLSeptember 15, 2012
Pros: located in home town
Cons: unionised
Nice kitchen , high turnover rate of employees including managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buisy and fun
Waitress/ bus girl (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: family
Cons: some very early mornings
I started working with my grandmother and mom at this hotel, the gentalmen that owned it was a family man and had no problem with this. I use to dress up as mrs. Clause, the Easter bunny and one year a clown for those special occasions. This job taught me a lot about a good work ethic and how to deal with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Chambermaid (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 31, 2012
When I worked for the Holiday Inn,I enjoyed it very much probably because they gave you a list of what you had to do and you would complete it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Involved in a lot of energy saving programmes
CHIEF ENGINEER (Former Employee), Holiday Inn Express in Dubai United Arab EmiratesAugust 19, 2012
Pros: reputed company
Cons: had to work long hours
Attending to urgent repair works.Planning for new projects.Regular preventive maintenance program.Was part of the management.Co workers were good.Hardest part was to receive materials required for the repair jobs on time.The most enjoyable part was the satisfaction achieved after showing the results of savings etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for them
Janitorial Assistant (Former Employee), Kenora, ONAugust 8, 2012
Because of my personality ,They found me other jobs instead of letting me go .They only reason I left that place of emploment was that I got married and moved to BC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced full of laughs
room attendant (Former Employee), Comox ValleyAugust 7, 2012
Pros: early mornings
Cons: finding linens
a typical day started at 8 am, stocking my cart, then doing some streches with everyone, and then getting our task sheets, if we were teamed up with someone or alone.
the hardest part of the job was having enough linens! lots of hunting for sheets!
the most enjoyable was the actual cleaning of the room, the Sparkle system they had in place was really – more... great, and i liked the routine of how each room was done, step by step. made my job a lot easier.
my boss was pretty great too, full of laughs and always did her best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place for training
House Keeping (Former Employee), Manila, PhilippinesJuly 22, 2012
Pros: on the job training
Cons: no salary
Cleaning rooms and other areas of the hotel and make sure that everything is in proper order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not enjoy working here
Front desk Agent / Reservations (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 1, 2012
Was not a good work experience here, I liked the work however, when they found out I was pregnant they reduced my hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are friendly
Maintenance technician (Former Employee), Gatineau, QuĂ©becMay 19, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no overtime
Co-workers are helpful
People are happly
People are loyal
Have fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with. Like to have fun but get the job done.
Executive Housekeeper (Current Employee), Huntsville, ONMay 5, 2012
Pros: can make my own hours as long as the job gets done, teamwork
Cons: mostly long hours in the high season, can be very physically and mentally exhausting.
A typical day can be very long for managers. Anywhere from 8 to 12 hours a day is required to get the job done when occupancy is high.
GM sometimes holds the process up by not getting back to the managers in a timely manner.
The hardest part of the job is the physical aspect of the job.....can take alot out of you.
The most enjoyable part of the job – more... is seeing the end result of our work and keeping the hotel up to standards that the guests expect and seeing the team work together and enjoy a laugh or two. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work job but its a nice environment
Housekeeping (Current Employee), downtown edmonton alberta,canadaApril 19, 2012
Pros: nice people
Cons: shortage of personnel
it's a very hardjob need hardwork eberytime its nice that my co-worker are very nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level experience
Department Supervisor (Current Employee), Newton, NJJuly 30, 2014
The hospitality industry is an excellence place to build a career. The people that I have met in the seven years that I have worked within the industry, co-workers and guests alike, have been incredible. After taking stock of those years, I have realized that the hardest part if the job was the physical labor involved in maintaining the hotel at which – more... I work. However, the most enjoyable aspect of the job was interacting with the clients and developing meaningful, professional, and heart-felt relationships with them. By doing so, I learned how to better assist the guests, anticipate their needs, and develop effective and efficient strategies to make their stay a truly memorable experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is Unprofesional and Impersonal
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee), Waldorf, MDJuly 30, 2014
Pros: christmas party gifts are great
Cons: management is unprofessional and impersonal
The job is as good as any other entry level position except for management. The managers are inappropriate, rude, unprofessional, or impersonal. Management shows no appreciation for any extra effort put forth from any staff members. They show favoritism with staff. When asking for more work or training, it is never given. Staff were told of raises occurring – more... once every year during training. A current manager told the staff that we already make to much money and raises weren't happening. Within the staff, the favorites of the managers get away with anything and are rude to guests and staff and have no work ethics or initiative. A manager likes to start rumors about staff and watch the fallout. This occurs often. However, the best part of your day is when a guest shows you gratitude and appreciation for what you do for them. I would not recommend this job to anyone unless they were desperate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Entry
Data Entry and accounts receivables (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 29, 2014
Data entry for various accounts.
Recorded monies to ledger
Accounts receivables
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great working environment!
Administrative Assistant/Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 29, 2014
Pros: your co-workers and management are tops!
Cons: pay is not good and almost no room for advancement.
This is a good place to work to hone your customer service skills. A pleasant atmosphere with Co-workers that quickly become family!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun Place
Sales Management (Former Employee), Florence, SCJuly 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch, feeling appreciated
Will train you to move from what one level of employment to the next .
Have staff meeting for each department, letting employees have a say in voicing their opinion on new ideas that could be used to better service the guest
Interacting with our guest most enjoyable learning their likes and dislikes what better ways that I could service them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Hotel Assistant (Former Employee), lutonJuly 29, 2014
typical days include conversing with customers, i learnt a wide variety of key skills required for the daily demands of life such as money management. The management there is very good and the co workers are excellent to work with

About Holiday Inn

John Q. Hammons Hotels & Resorts has several rooms with a view. The hotel development company owns and operates approximately – Read more