Holiday Inn Employee Reviews

Found 341 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun workplace
Switchboard Operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 January 2016
Great place to work fun work place with great staff and managers. Great hotel with lots of benefits and competitive salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned how to and be part of the comunity in Hotels and Banquets
Food & Beverage Supervisor / Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, NL19 September 2016
Learned alot and once I got familiar and proper in doing what needed to be done. Enjoyed all that I needed to do. Helping find rooms for those who needed to stay and help the kitchen and pub with items. Helping being part of the Banquets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and I enjoyed my responsibilities.
Housekeeping supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK6 September 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed this workplace, right until the end. I was able to maintain my full responsibilities with ease. I felt a great sense of pride in maintaining my work load and keeping guests happy and enjoying their experience within the hotel.
Pros
staff parties
Cons
drama within the team
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE29 August 2016
Often work load is heavy. Hard to keep employees. Staff is nice. Often receive tips. Management often very understanding. Very friendly costumers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Work place
Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2016
Everyday i start my work by checking the internal and external of the building, checking the electrical, boiler room and pool water chemistry and then proceed to my usual daily work order schedule after finishing the work request i go for my daily preventative maintenance.

Everyday has a different task and problems so i learned a lot specially the maintaining the pool and the boiler.

Co-workers, we have a camaraderie because i maintain a good communication.

Hardest part of the job, none

Enjoyable part of the job is my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet but fasted pased
Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 October 2016
The hotel was always quiet but yet very busy. Even if it was something as booking rooms you were always on the go. made the day go by faster
Pros
Early starting days
Cons
never had time for breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB21 October 2016
- half hour drive to work
- learned to communicate with others professionally
- supervisors were very demanding
- co-workers weren't as friendly
- difficult meeting the managers expectations
- enjoyed receiving tips
Pros
Discounts on rooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team is good
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB16 July 2016
Always facing the unknown when going into work. The team was very good to work with .Management was selfish, and did not care about its staff. Treated its foreign workers horribly. Would not work there again.
Pros
Small, friendly team of coworkers
Cons
Hard work, for little pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet time
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB5 October 2016
I worked night shift balancing the books, checking people in as well as ensuring the customers were happyy w. dealt with most customers and helped them find what they were looking for whilr still applyinh principles ad morals
Pros
free pool Swimming
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Housekeeper/Laundry/Breakfast/Front Desk (Current Employee) –  Dryden, ON27 November 2015
I work mornings/evenings and sometimes the grave yard shift- The staff is very friendly- I have upgraded my computer skills while working at holiday inn - down fall of this job is there is no benefits and lots of miscommunication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff
Chief Engineer (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON14 September 2016
over seeing all preventative maintenance , ongoing maintenance issues , keeping guests satisfaction up.
Working and organizing with outside contractors on an ongoing basis.
rebuilt maintenance department with new qualified , dependable maintenance helpers
Pros
free lunch
Cons
extra hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A self motivated senior hotel executive
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 November 2016
with strong multi-national experience, maintaining the highest standards of quality control, guest stratification and house Profit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Management
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 July 2016
The Management Team at the Holiday Inn Express are very supportive, informative, accommodating, and knowledgable. The hiring process screens in team members with a strong work ethic and great personalities.
Cons
shift work, strange hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Busy Workplace
Night Auditor (Accountant) (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL20 July 2016
I enjoyed working at Holiday Inn. The management was great and the working atmosphere was incredible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Folded Laundry
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON9 October 2016
I would fold laundry, take out from washers and dryers and I would sort the laundry into different piles. Co-workers were really nice and a lot of fun to work with.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Hot in room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home away from home
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON5 July 2016
A typical day at Holiday Inn Sarnia, Ontario is interesting as I meet people of diverse culture and background and I have learnt to relate with them individually to meet their personal need and my colleagues are friendly and cooperative most times in order to achieve customer satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 August 2016
it is just an ordinary day to work in the morning, I learned to do my tasks in a minimum supervision. My co-workers are indeed supportive for each other.The hardest part of my job is when there is no stuff to provide but one thing I enjoy is when I receive a tip from the guests.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Banquet Waiter (Former Employee) –  waiter1 January 2017
good very good pay and really good co-workers. and you will be happy if you join the team and everybody will welcome come to join.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
BARTENDER/ MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB13 May 2015
A typical day at work for me was I started at 3pm and ended around 11pm. I was a bartender and also a bar manager. I really liked working with the team we had working, we all got along great. The hardest part of my job was trying to get as many hours as I needed. The most enjoyable part of my job was serving and talking to my customers. working in a hotel gave me the opportunity to meet a lot of different people. i enjoyed my job a lot.
Pros
Working with the excellent people I worked with.
Cons
I was a manger yet they would not give me a raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Satisfying place of employment
Special Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON14 June 2016
the management & staff always made each day great for both the guests and the employees! Most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the different guests & building relationships with the regulars.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 6,796 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6