Holiday Inn Employee Reviews

Found 371 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS7 February 2017
enjoyed my experience with this company, customers were great management were great staff were great.it was great place to work.
Pros
close by
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was the youngest at the time
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK7 February 2017
My Aunt use to be the supervisor there, it was a fun place , i liked it because i got to hang out with adults all day lol no but it was a great job, if only i wasnt too much of a child and stayed there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
Full time employment filling (Current Employee) –  Hinton, AB7 February 2017
fun place to work. fast passed work ethic and an easy to approach management . they offer a 50% meal discount when you are working and 15% off when you are not working. just not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Environment to work in.
Duty Manager/Night Auditor/Front Desk (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL6 February 2017
A typical day at work is very fast paced and people orientated! In this job I get to meet lots of people from around the world whether it be for business or pleasure, new guests, or ones who have been coming for years, its always enjoyable to hear interesting stories and get to know people and give them the best experience possible with our business. I also get to do lots of paper work and balancing of accounts, data entry and end of day reports. There can be a heavy work load at times but can always be made manageable to be completed on time. The hardest part of my job is problem solving, I always have to be fixing problems whether it be via accounts and paper work or dealing with guest issues and complaints. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to fix those problems and leave my manager and guests happy with the outcome and way it was resolved, to me there is no better feeling then doing the job right the first time and to the best of my ability.
Pros
Friendly enjoyable work environment.
Cons
Dealing with complaints and issues on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
house keeper laudry
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB4 February 2017
i enjoy my job work with lady keep going job my boss training me i was work with lady few girl i had moving moved look for job housekeeping two year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Checking room doing schedule irdering
Assistant excecutive housekeeping (Current Employee) –  River port Richmond26 January 2017
Doing schedule ordering ,every morning doing papers works for the girls ,scheduling ,sometimes helping all the girls to clean the rooms ,checking the rooms before the new guest coming
Pros
Free phone for me
Cons
8 to 10 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and knowledgable experience
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada23 January 2017
Workplace and culture was great. We treat each other as a family. The hardest part was, because I am the only person as maintenance, I have to do it all as much as possible as I can. I sometimes work even during my rest day specially those times of Snow and it's cold and the heater is not working and or other stuff that needs fixing.

I enjoyed most of my working experience with Holiday Inn Suites. I was able to manage not just my time and expertise but I was able to work with other nationality and climate.

I learned and passed Pool and Spa operator, I also had a certificate as preventive maintenance and it's all because the company allowed and make sure that we maintain standards in the hotel.
Pros
Free breakfast
Cons
weather- when snowing...so cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Housekeeping Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 January 2017
My experience working there was very good.
Friendly atmosphere among employees.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with great people who were hard working, loyal, trustworthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to be
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK16 January 2017
I enjoyed working there, got use to the staff, I knew what to do when I got asked, I never complained about anything knowing I liked that job
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
No comment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON12 January 2017
opportunity to be creative in regards to specials, management works with you and listens and makes you part of the process work as team it can get slow so sometimes you have to go looking for something to do.
Pros
they value you as employee
Cons
it can be slow at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And Always updated in training
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK10 January 2017
Every evening shift at work is a new day for me looking forward to work .. Ive learned how to be a good customer, the management are very supportive to us as well as my co -workers we really get along
Pros
Free hotel food
Cons
Guest sometimes very unpleasant to deal with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Banquet Waiter (Former Employee) –  waiter1 January 2017
good very good pay and really good co-workers. and you will be happy if you join the team and everybody will welcome come to join.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no respect
CHEF (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 January 2017
they have no respect for their staff they allow there night staff to drink in the change rooms the older staff smoke in the back stairwell close to the food
Pros
none
Cons
long hours pay for meals no supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many supervisors, not knowing what each r doing
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Westbank, BC27 December 2016
main management very poor, enjoyed work but not enough on hand training. supervisor more interested in playing games on computer. no more to say except restaurant only open a few hrs per day in fall and winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Room Attendant/ PT supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 December 2016
I loved my job because I love to clean., I didn't like the manager or supervisor. co-workers were ok.
days were the same, clean rooms, go home.
Pros
close to home
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to start career.
Sales and Catering Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB13 December 2016
There was little room for advancement, growth and creativeness. Mangers and owners micro managed. Overall morale was low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON5 December 2016
During my contract with the Holiday Inn, I have been very pleased with my experience here. Management is approachable and believes in a safe and healthy work environment.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Working night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, enjoyable workplace
Housekeeping supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 December 2016
* During my typical workday, I am responsible for housekeeping department my teams as they progress on various cleaning room. I check in and help them with any issues they may be having such as doing assignment or securing rights to the room cleaning. I keep in touch with the guest , update them on our progress and make sure they are satisfied with the room standards

* good supervisor and be a part of the manager team

* my co-workers are easy going

* the hardest part of the job when I deal with the difficulty guest

* when I'm helping the guest and housekeeper .
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
long hours at work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great workplace
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON29 November 2016
this was not a great workplace to work in, management almost was never there to help and always left you by yourself with little to no training on the subject. its really hard to get ahead and have a good day a work in this place.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
management was never there
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not too fun
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 November 2016
very gossipy place to work if you dont fit in you are talked about. The chefs are control freaks. Managers are unfair. You cant have cool hair. No faddish hairstyles are you in the 50's
Pros
1/2 price meals
Cons
breaks are few
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holiday Inn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 7,622 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6