Find companies:
HMSHost
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
125 reviews

HMSHost Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place if you want to advance
Lead Cook (Current Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: made some nice friend that turn into family like. learned alot.
Cons: bad management. worst restaurant i've worked at
Managers here don't care about you...they let you do their work. They ask you to do things that's not part of your job description. They work you to the bone. I personally work here to learn as much I can. I have working here for almost 4years. I'm transfer from a different state. I kept my years of service but I don't have my 41k until I resign... – more... A typical day for me is.. Make sure I have everything on the menu..nothing 86 ( out of item ) I practically help put away our delivery, even though its not my job, but I always help out. We don't have a walk in so everything we need. We always have to go downstairs where we take an elevator enter our badge( if you have clearance to enter a restricted area). It's such a inconvenience goin up and down. The manager is always not around.. Never cares when you work hard. Never says hello how are u? Never does anything.. Never thanks you for all your hard work. I thought it was a good company, but I thought wrong...all they do is overwork you without any rewards. I give my heart, energy and time here. I committed myself to this company and for what.?? in return just pain and misery. Never again! Plus my seniority as a lead never counts...I never once used it. They just give you whatever schedule they give you. The only thing that keeps me here are the great family employees. Made some nice friends that turn into family like. I've not only cook,but I've learned to bartend and pretty much everything...I'm more the "acting manager" then the one we have... Simply hands down never again.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, customer, transaction & standards driven with a proven track record.
Senior Operations Manager (Former Employee), Oakland AirportSeptember 4, 2013
A typical work day consist of the following task,
Asset management, product inventory, P&L management, labor control, recipe execution, training, safety & sanitation monitoring

What I learned
Landlord relationship, vendor and client interaction. Team building & employee training
Brand execution.

Management - Each manager was brand certified and possessed – more... skills that allowed them to manage a particular number of restaurants on a rotating basis.

My co-workers
Hard working dedicated engaged and goal driven.

Hardest part of the job
I worked for a company that was the single vendor in most airports, however times have changed. When contracts are renewed, HMSHost is no longer the sole tenant and now has competition. Consequently this has caused HMSHost to loose businesses & employees.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to build strong capable trusting teams that achieved goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 2, 2013
I am working with this great company ...great customer service and excellent cash handling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baristas having fun
Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 24, 2013
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: short breaks
The day would begin at 4am. Every single day id learn something new about how to stock or make drinks faster. My manager was very strict on getting things done. My coworkers were fun and helped with anything they could. The hardest part of the job was the beginning of the day setting up the store. My most enjoyable part was making the drinks and having – more... customers compliment how good it is! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady and Secure work place
Associate Lead (Current Employee), Plainfield, PAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: free lunch, flexible schedule
Cons: short breaks
A typical work day is steady with work always to be done. I am scheduled to a concept with a position. But I also am an Associate Lead. I am basically an assistant to the supervisor or manager on duty. I will help out my co-workers as needed and answer any questions they may have. I also must make sure that their work as well as mine is being done and – more... things are caught up. I have learned many things from this job. I am now Servsafe certified, First Aid and CPR trained, and I have learned a good bit about Customer Service. I couldn't say anything bad about management. They are always there to help when it is needed and they are friendly and put themselves on your level. My co-workers are all easy to get along with and fun to be around. We all work well as a team together and help each other through communication. The hardest part of my job is keeping on top of my work and making sure the others are as well during our busy periods. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people I work with and the extent that I understand the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Allentown, PAJuly 8, 2013
Only problem with the company is there isn't enough hours and pay is low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities
Accounting Cash and Payables Clerk (Current Employee), Jamaica NYJuly 7, 2013
Pros: many positions
Cons: not all pays the same
Good for a starting job, Have many benefits.
You can elevate to other positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for high school students
Starbucks coffee supervisor (Former Employee), Hammonton, NJJuly 6, 2013
Good as a part-time but you can't make a living of this place. Unless your in management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Somerset, PAJuly 6, 2013
The management didn't help associates much and the high energy demand made working there hard. However, working there gave me the experience to think on my toes and work extra hard to please already annoyed customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding work experience for me.
Sr. Retail, Food & Beverage Operations Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 25, 2013
Pros: great people i worked with, wonderful working experience, free food.
Cons: some old units had constant ac issues and the landlord did not fix them asap at times.
I worked for almost 17 years and got laid off because of the work reductions, company lost big portion of the contract. I worked in the retail division for 16 years, then in the F&B division for 6 months. My manager was very professional and treated me with respect and dignity, always giving me an opportunity to improve the work I did. My co-workers – more... were always there to assist with anything I needed. The employees made me come back to work with enthusiasm because I knew I can count on them to get any project done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OMG!!
Attendant (Former Employee), Fort Myers FlJune 18, 2013
Pros: growth in the company
Cons: poor management, and meals are 50% off
Very stressful place to work, managers always expecting a lot from you while they be around doing nothing and at times coming in late to work or sitting down having lunch,
awful,tiring schedule/no family time, don't appreciate your effort towards the company, you could be on time everyday never late never asking to leave early but when calling off for – more... a family emergency your the bad person. Not even the breaks "30 minute" are enjoyable because you have managers calling u to ask you questions!! PLACE SUCK, SAVE YOUR SELF SOME STRESSFUL TIME!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED IT!
Barista (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLJune 7, 2013
Being a barista you will face alot of different challenges and skills you never knew you had! If you love meeting new people, this is the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hell in bright lighting
Cashier (Former Employee), Delaware HouseJune 2, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: rude managers, favoritism
I had worked for host for some time and I will say don't waste time with this company . The managers are rude and talk to you like you are a dog. They DO NOT care about you the only thing they care about is their bonus check.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Multi-Unit Luxury Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 1, 2013
Pros: paid lunches
Cons: no job advancement. no job security. you can get fired for anything.
Management was poor. Too many rules for retail associates. We are there to do one single job and that is to sell luxury retail brands. With all the extra rules and regulations it cuts into actually performing the job, as simple as it is. If management would actually listen to its employees, the turnover rate for the company wouldn't be so high and you – more... would have more people willing to make the sacrifices they have to make for the job. There was absolutely no advancement under the manager I worked for. Every employee complained and the whole moral of the job was completely low. It's just a job and once we can find something better or we just completely can't take it anymore employees leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something to see new everyday
Barista (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 1, 2013
I work for Starbuck in LAX so I got the opportunity to see many different people and attitudes. Management was great and the pay was good as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I have ever had in my life
Cashier (Current Employee), PennsylvaniaMay 30, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Managers are so rude and awful, how did they earn the title as a manager is beyond me.Its not just managers, its the higher up people too. None of them ever told me I was doing a good job. I have worked for this company for two years and everyday i dread going in and feel unappreciated. Managers sit on their butts in the office, or text on their phones – more... well the rest of us work our butts off for min. wage. Managers do not know how to do anything right and care about things that are not important, they could care less about anything going on in your life. I was in a car accident and my manager still tried to make me lift or clean knowing it put impact on my body. Spare yourself, do not apply. you will gain nothing but regret. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that cares for you
Associate (Former Employee), Lakewood, COMay 30, 2013
Pros: free lunch!
Cons: difficult to get overtime
My time working at HMSHost was so great, I couldn't imagine that working in a food court at a busy mall would be as good as this job was. Starting pay was above minimum wage, and they gave meal tickets every time you worked enough to get a 30 minute break.
The management was always helpful and friendly, I never felt like I couldn't ask a question and – more... when I was harassed by a co-worker, they immediately too care of it. They were good at making sure you could get any time off that you requested, and it was easy to trade shifts if you or a coworker wanted to (supervisors almost always approved it).
I only worked at HMSHost for the summer, but I felt like I was important to the company as they expressed a desire for me to come work for them again in the future (and if I'm in a situation that I can work for them again, I wouldn't hesitate to)!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A terrible place to work. People warned me about working for this company.
Utility (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 30, 2013
Pros: it's a job
Cons: poor management, unnecessary miscommunication, everyone is just looking out for themselves
I was with this company for a only a short time and I hated every minute of it. They have so many rules and regulations in place and try to scare you into following them but some employees walk all over the rules and management doesn't care. Other than a few things, I was not trained to do my job. On more than one occasion and to more than one manager, – more... I asked if I would be trained. I was told yes and STILL received no training. Every other new hire knew how to do their job except me. I literally just stood around for a few hours until I found something to do. I took my complaints to HR and the woman I spoke to was patronizing and tried to make it as though I didn't know what I was talking about and was blowing things out of proportion. She also made excuses for why I had not been trained how I was supposed to have been. There is no consensus among the management and the people in HR because several things that I was told in the initial new hire orientation didn't match up with what I was told after I quit my position.
This company is more concerned with making profits than it is with having employees capable of doing their jobs and having something of value to contribute. They're okay with having someone there to simply take up space rather than do what they were hired to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work balance with transport for deliveries
Warehouse Clerk (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMay 24, 2013
good management and compensate well. Get along well with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hardworking employees with poor management staff
Barista- TFGREEN Airport (Current Employee), Providence, RIMay 23, 2013
Pros: full time employees receive benefits
Cons: short breaks, poor management, predjudice against certain races
I love working with my coworkers. They're all hard working individuals but the company itself and it's managers are lacking when it comes to the relationship between themselves and their employees and they're lacking in professionalism. I have met only two managers so far that I find to be professional and kind to their employees.

Norton – July 10, 2013

I worked for HMSHost for over 3 years. I have been in the food and beverage industry for over 19 years. I have worked for MGM as a F&B Manager in Las Vegas. I worked for Hilton as a Bar Manager in Los Angeles. I came back to Anchorage Alaska and started working for HMSHost as an Assistant Store Manager and this is the worst company you could ever work for. They are very bad to their employees and they lead the Managers on by saying they will get a bonus and in the three years no bonuses!! No matter what you do or what goals you reach for them they have an excuse for you not to get your bonuses and they work you at least 15 to 19 hours a day in the summer and also had 27 strait days without a day off. Here in Anchorage there is so much prejudice from some phillipino Managers that have been there for 20 years you would think you live in the Phillipines. An example is Chilis has 95 percent phillipinos employees working there and Starbucks, and Quiznos. There has been plenty of other nationalities apply with way more experience and can speak English but they won't hire them. I brought it to the Corporations attention but nothing done about it. If your not phillipino or management be ready to be prejudice against. There is no proper management training for any of the managers or supervisors so if you don't know much by the time you leave you know less!!! The wages are so low for all positions and they make a killing by charging all customers high prices. If you plan to work for or even be a customer for HMSHost RUN, don't even walk into there establishments go to another restaurant!!!