Find companies:
HMSHost
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

HMSHost Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and communication
cashroom clerk (Former Employee), atlanta, gaJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: lunches purchased for management, paid parking
Cons: poor management, working environment
POOR MANAGEMENT AND COMMUNICATION, they do not properly communicate. Lack of respect for individuals and poor treatment of employees. Hard to work for if you have a family especially when it comes to requesting time off. Very small pay raises including infrequent yearly raises. Pay sucks considering the position I was hired for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work expeirence
Utility (Former Employee), Tampa International Airport- Tampa,FlJanuary 19, 2014
Cons: rude hr, schelduled for days i couldnt work
I worked there for almost three months. In the beginning it was nice. I loved my job. Even though it took two hours to get there by bus. And then towards the end, I was sick with a bad kidney infection. I was in the hospital for 12 days. And during my hospital stay, I called my manager and told them. When I first started working there, I told them I – more... couldnt work Tuesdays. And yet they still schelduled me to work on those days. I didnt work many hours during the week. And I know this was my first job. And there was a day I couldnt come in. So I called my manager and he didnt answer, so I left a message. Hours later and still no call. So I called a few more times. Still no answer. And then I get an email from HR. And said I was fired. No warning or anything. And they said to turn in my badge or they'll call the police. I mailed it in. And they recieved it. Then I emailed the HR person and asked for my food and safety certificate. And she said they were sent to the associates home. I told her I never recieved it. And then she got real nasty with me. And I asked her for a termination letter each time I emailed her. Because I needed it. And she never said anything about it. And I got a 100% on that food and safety test. And I still dont have it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company ever
Bartender (Former Employee), Charlotte Douglas AirportJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: coupon for food
Cons: management horrible..
I worked for HMS host for over a year..I saw that they underpay hourly employees and write you up if you hit overtime. A multi billion dollar company cant afford overtime?? In my case I had benefits..but they were dropped because my hours averaged 1 hour less than full time. My managers were never around..always eating. or outside smoking. If they were – more... there..they talked to you like you were 5. I worked at a Wine bar at Charlotte Douglas and my manager said "no snack bar attendent will ever work here" And she made sure noone who wanted to transfer did not make it..making excuses.."they didnt pass the ingredient test" Me personally I have a disease and was suspended and fired for it..They changed their mind knowing it was illegal to do so..but offered instead a bartender position..a dishwasher or cashier position for 8 an hour..when I couldn't take the pay decrease..I was asked to resign..do not work here..please!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Accounting Clerk 1 (Current Employee), Concord, NCJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: free employee meals
Cons: work most holidays
These folks have taught me that you can still care about people and be professional too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management makes your job miserable
associate (Current Employee), clyde, ohioJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: convience
Cons: management- obviously
At first, I really loved this job, but after a few years and some shifting in management, it has become unbareable. The people highest up have even been informed about certain managers and have taken no action. A typical day here is not bad if a certain someone is not present, but if they are, the enviroment is hostile and uncomfortable. The co-workers – more... are great people who do not deserve such harsh treatment. No one will stick with this company long because of the problem no one fixes- MANAGEMENT. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
Project Manager (Former Employee), IndiaJanuary 9, 2014
Work with good learning and fun. I learned a lot working in this project. Client interactions were smooth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with all my co-worker
Sales Audit Analyst (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDJanuary 8, 2014
auditing sales and cash by location. Ensure that all revenue is accurately booked and that cash is audited and matches to cash submitted by the field and to submit timely and accurate over short notifications. i am responsible for auditing and researching unclean data coming into Balance. i learned how to resolves internal and external conflict situation – more... effectively.I always do my best to work correctly and check my progress to make sure stays ahead of the curve and turns in quality results. I am able to identify and report issue independently. i enjoy my work all the time. I am eager to help others and promote a positive atmosphre in the wokplace. we are help each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good first decent job
Food Prep (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: free food, steady hours, decent environment.
Cons: never got my benefits when promised.
I have had 2 other jobs before this one, but this one was a good long term job. Free food, able to transfer to different places, always busy. Didn't like the fact that they never gave me my benefits when they said they was suppose to give them to me. Other than that the managers at my location were nice, but didn't know how to do the job well sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with exceptional employees and a great management team.
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKDecember 17, 2013
Pros: great benefits packages for full time employees, opportunity for advancement as well as opportunity to crosstrain to different positions, flexible and accommodating scheduling, free employee parking, breaks with $15 per shift for meals.
Cons: food service jobs only
HMS Host is a great place to work if you love customer service oriented jobs. There are many positions available in the various franchises run by the company, allowing you to have a work experience more tailored to your individual abilities and interests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing!!!!!!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Kennebunk, MENovember 26, 2013
I was here for 2 years. the people are awesome. if I ever move back to this area I will deffinitley work here again, never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Supervisor (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 23, 2013
My most enjoyable part of my job is my customer interaction. My goal is to make sure that each customer leaves happy. Our motto is "Making the Travlers Day Better", and I do that with each customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Cashier (Former Employee), Orlando International AirportNovember 15, 2013
Pros: lunch up to allotted amount
Cons: attendance policy, lack of healthcare
I worked for HMS for two years when I got diagnosed with asthma. They did transfer me from Sbarros to Brioche. The problem is that I was having asthma attacks which made me go to the hospital. Although I had doctors excuses I was told it still counted as an absence. The attendance policy is not realistic for people get sick, their kids and you're still – more... expected to cone to work sick.Also, management sucks! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever had the displeasure of working for
barista (Former Employee), O'Hare, Chicago, ILNovember 14, 2013
Pros: lunch is paid for, healthcare
Cons: terrible management, coworkers had poor customer service skills
Bad management from upper management to lower management, not a lick of logic to be seen anywhere. How this company is even still running is beyond me. If you are going to work here, expect unprofessionalism and incompetence all day, everyday. Once working for them, I found myself looking for a new job within 2-3 months from my start date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast pace work enviroment
Supervisor (Current Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: airport
As a Starbucks Shift Supervisor, I will assist the store manager in executing store operations during scheduled shifts. As a team lead, I will deploy partners and delegate tasks to create the Starbucks Experience for our customers by providing legendary customer service with prompt service, quality beverages and products, and maintaining a clean and – more... comfortable store environment. I will be responsible for modeling and acting in accordance with Starbucks guiding principles and best of all, be part of a company that is consistently rated as a great place to work and the people here love what they do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 7, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: vacation is not fixed
Help the people registration and checkout grant price total day,
Learn how to communicate with people and how to deal with temporary status.Is useful in the management of the system.My co-workers are united.This difficulty is how to work with the patient to communicate, and how to face the emotional ups and downs of the people.I really like this job – more... is that it can serve as a people,and listen to their feelings, so I know better now have to cherish. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
RUNNER (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 3, 2013
GOOD RELATIONSHIP ALL OVER THE PLACE WITH EVERY ONE.NEVER HAVE ANY COMPLAINT OR BLAME IN THE MATTER OF ATTENDANCE, SECURITY AND TEAM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reluctant to say anything bad
Supervisor / food and beverage (Current Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 14, 2013
Pros: insurance, the people
Cons: compensation rate
I think if you are the right fit, perhaps it would be great. I like HMS, but I do feel like, the monetary compensation for your work could be more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN FAST AND RUN FAR!!!
Crew Member (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 13, 2013
My typical day starts off in dysfunction and ends in dysfunction. The company would be 100% better if they cleaned house with management. The co-workers are the only plus....but that all depends on your personality and if you deserve respect from others. The hardest part about this job is being under staffed and over worked. The most enjoyable part – more... of my job is clocking out and pay day...other than that...not a thing. Bless the heart of any individual who has the displeasure of working for this company. I wouldn't refer it to my worst enemy. If you don't trust any other review written on this page you can trust this one...you'd be better off working a street store.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with high profit expectation
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Bangalore, KASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: high incentives
Cons: no proper management policies
Airport catering service ,lack of guest service

focus was on less pay scale & hiring unprofessional

Hardest part was shift timing & transportation
Extra hours work but without extra pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management, Friendly staff
Cashier/Barista (Current Employee), Palm Springs, CASeptember 25, 2013
Pros: $10 free meal if over we pay remaining amount, friendly staff members, great management
Cons: health care
HmsHost is a good company absolutely love working there. All staff are friendly of course we sometimes deal with different types of personalities which we all get used to considering we work at a airport. we typically work at fast pace. Most crew members use alot of communication which for us it is necessary to communicate with each other in whats needed – more... to be done and finished. I would say the hardest part in working there is having to deal with angry passengers who sometimes take their frustration out on us staff. But we work with them providing the best customer service we can to satisfy there visit. – less

About HMSHost

HMSHost is part of Autogrill S.p.A. – the world’s largest provider of food and beverage services for travelers. Along – Read more