Find companies:
HMSHost
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
136 reviews

HMSHost Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing!!!!!!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Kennebunk, MENovember 26, 2013
I was here for 2 years. the people are awesome. if I ever move back to this area I will deffinitley work here again, never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Supervisor (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 23, 2013
My most enjoyable part of my job is my customer interaction. My goal is to make sure that each customer leaves happy. Our motto is "Making the Travlers Day Better", and I do that with each customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Cashier (Former Employee), Orlando International AirportNovember 15, 2013
Pros: lunch up to allotted amount
Cons: attendance policy, lack of healthcare
I worked for HMS for two years when I got diagnosed with asthma. They did transfer me from Sbarros to Brioche. The problem is that I was having asthma attacks which made me go to the hospital. Although I had doctors excuses I was told it still counted as an absence. The attendance policy is not realistic for people get sick, their kids and you're still – more... expected to cone to work sick.Also, management sucks! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever had the displeasure of working for
barista (Former Employee), O'Hare, Chicago, ILNovember 14, 2013
Pros: lunch is paid for, healthcare
Cons: terrible management, coworkers had poor customer service skills
Bad management from upper management to lower management, not a lick of logic to be seen anywhere. How this company is even still running is beyond me. If you are going to work here, expect unprofessionalism and incompetence all day, everyday. Once working for them, I found myself looking for a new job within 2-3 months from my start date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast pace work enviroment
Supervisor (Current Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: airport
As a Starbucks Shift Supervisor, I will assist the store manager in executing store operations during scheduled shifts. As a team lead, I will deploy partners and delegate tasks to create the Starbucks Experience for our customers by providing legendary customer service with prompt service, quality beverages and products, and maintaining a clean and – more... comfortable store environment. I will be responsible for modeling and acting in accordance with Starbucks guiding principles and best of all, be part of a company that is consistently rated as a great place to work and the people here love what they do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 7, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: vacation is not fixed
Help the people registration and checkout grant price total day,
Learn how to communicate with people and how to deal with temporary status.Is useful in the management of the system.My co-workers are united.This difficulty is how to work with the patient to communicate, and how to face the emotional ups and downs of the people.I really like this job – more... is that it can serve as a people,and listen to their feelings, so I know better now have to cherish. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
RUNNER (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 3, 2013
GOOD RELATIONSHIP ALL OVER THE PLACE WITH EVERY ONE.NEVER HAVE ANY COMPLAINT OR BLAME IN THE MATTER OF ATTENDANCE, SECURITY AND TEAM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reluctant to say anything bad
Supervisor / food and beverage (Current Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 14, 2013
Pros: insurance, the people
Cons: compensation rate
I think if you are the right fit, perhaps it would be great. I like HMS, but I do feel like, the monetary compensation for your work could be more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN FAST AND RUN FAR!!!
Crew Member (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 13, 2013
My typical day starts off in dysfunction and ends in dysfunction. The company would be 100% better if they cleaned house with management. The co-workers are the only plus....but that all depends on your personality and if you deserve respect from others. The hardest part about this job is being under staffed and over worked. The most enjoyable part – more... of my job is clocking out and pay day...other than that...not a thing. Bless the heart of any individual who has the displeasure of working for this company. I wouldn't refer it to my worst enemy. If you don't trust any other review written on this page you can trust this one...you'd be better off working a street store.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management, Friendly staff
Cashier/Barista (Current Employee), Palm Springs, CASeptember 25, 2013
Pros: $10 free meal if over we pay remaining amount, friendly staff members, great management
Cons: health care
HmsHost is a good company absolutely love working there. All staff are friendly of course we sometimes deal with different types of personalities which we all get used to considering we work at a airport. we typically work at fast pace. Most crew members use alot of communication which for us it is necessary to communicate with each other in whats needed – more... to be done and finished. I would say the hardest part in working there is having to deal with angry passengers who sometimes take their frustration out on us staff. But we work with them providing the best customer service we can to satisfy there visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good place to work
Cook (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 25, 2013
it was a really layed back place and the money was easy
i learned a lot about Italian food
management was really cool but some of them didn't know a lot about culinary
the people that worked there were interesting but were down to earth
he job itself wasn't hard at
i enjoyed working with my coworkers the most
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place if you want to advance
Lead Cook (Current Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: made some nice friend that turn into family like. learned alot.
Cons: bad management. worst restaurant i've worked at
Managers here don't care about you...they let you do their work. They ask you to do things that's not part of your job description. They work you to the bone. I personally work here to learn as much I can. I have working here for almost 4years. I'm transfer from a different state. I kept my years of service but I don't have my 41k until I resign... – more... A typical day for me is.. Make sure I have everything on the menu..nothing 86 ( out of item ) I practically help put away our delivery, even though its not my job, but I always help out. We don't have a walk in so everything we need. We always have to go downstairs where we take an elevator enter our badge( if you have clearance to enter a restricted area). It's such a inconvenience goin up and down. The manager is always not around.. Never cares when you work hard. Never says hello how are u? Never does anything.. Never thanks you for all your hard work. I thought it was a good company, but I thought wrong...all they do is overwork you without any rewards. I give my heart, energy and time here. I committed myself to this company and for what.?? in return just pain and misery. Never again! Plus my seniority as a lead never counts...I never once used it. They just give you whatever schedule they give you. The only thing that keeps me here are the great family employees. Made some nice friends that turn into family like. I've not only cook,but I've learned to bartend and pretty much everything...I'm more the "acting manager" then the one we have... Simply hands down never again.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, customer, transaction & standards driven with a proven track record.
Senior Operations Manager (Former Employee), Oakland AirportSeptember 4, 2013
A typical work day consist of the following task,
Asset management, product inventory, P&L management, labor control, recipe execution, training, safety & sanitation monitoring

What I learned
Landlord relationship, vendor and client interaction. Team building & employee training
Brand execution.

Management - Each manager was brand certified and possessed – more... skills that allowed them to manage a particular number of restaurants on a rotating basis.

My co-workers
Hard working dedicated engaged and goal driven.

Hardest part of the job
I worked for a company that was the single vendor in most airports, however times have changed. When contracts are renewed, HMSHost is no longer the sole tenant and now has competition. Consequently this has caused HMSHost to loose businesses & employees.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to build strong capable trusting teams that achieved goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 2, 2013
I am working with this great company ...great customer service and excellent cash handling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baristas having fun
Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 24, 2013
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: short breaks
The day would begin at 4am. Every single day id learn something new about how to stock or make drinks faster. My manager was very strict on getting things done. My coworkers were fun and helped with anything they could. The hardest part of the job was the beginning of the day setting up the store. My most enjoyable part was making the drinks and having – more... customers compliment how good it is! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady and Secure work place
Associate Lead (Current Employee), Plainfield, PAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: free lunch, flexible schedule
Cons: short breaks
A typical work day is steady with work always to be done. I am scheduled to a concept with a position. But I also am an Associate Lead. I am basically an assistant to the supervisor or manager on duty. I will help out my co-workers as needed and answer any questions they may have. I also must make sure that their work as well as mine is being done and – more... things are caught up. I have learned many things from this job. I am now Servsafe certified, First Aid and CPR trained, and I have learned a good bit about Customer Service. I couldn't say anything bad about management. They are always there to help when it is needed and they are friendly and put themselves on your level. My co-workers are all easy to get along with and fun to be around. We all work well as a team together and help each other through communication. The hardest part of my job is keeping on top of my work and making sure the others are as well during our busy periods. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people I work with and the extent that I understand the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Allentown, PAJuly 8, 2013
Only problem with the company is there isn't enough hours and pay is low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities
Accounting Cash and Payables Clerk (Current Employee), Jamaica NYJuly 7, 2013
Pros: many positions
Cons: not all pays the same
Good for a starting job, Have many benefits.
You can elevate to other positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for high school students
Starbucks coffee supervisor (Former Employee), Hammonton, NJJuly 6, 2013
Good as a part-time but you can't make a living of this place. Unless your in management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Somerset, PAJuly 6, 2013
The management didn't help associates much and the high energy demand made working there hard. However, working there gave me the experience to think on my toes and work extra hard to please already annoyed customers.