Find companies:
HMSHost
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

HMSHost Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi unit manager
Multi Unit Manager (Former Employee), Delaware/ Maryland/ New JerseyMay 22, 2014
Pros: insurance package is great and bonuses are nice
Cons: no holidays off.
Good company to gain experience as a multi unit manager, but the culture is not used to change or new ideas. Not up to date with new new hiring processes and they don't promote externally for upper management positions. You meet a lot of different cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
server
Server (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 7, 2014
typical server job in airport. high volume. Fun place to work depending on management and staff. Great opportunities to move to other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Asst Manager (Former Employee), RDUApril 28, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: not enough space to list
WOW! Always look before you leap I've been told. And this place is one to look at before you sign on the dotted line. GM interviewed me and he was obviously out of touch with his management team. Extreme turnover rate in all areas of operation. The management plays favorites with scheduling . The best day I have had in a long time was the day I left. – more... And I am ashamed that I didn't leave sooner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heinous.
Burger king food attendant (Former Employee), Colorado Mills MallApril 26, 2014
They didn't really care for their employees. Terrible management and scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Life Experiance
Cashier (Current Employee), Fort MyersApril 23, 2014
Pros: 50% of lunch anywhere
Cons: don't have any
HMShost is a great company to work with while attending college, they are flexiable with my schdule, and always caring about me as a person not just a worker. I have had a great learning and growing experiance since working with HMShost. I have had many different job titles that gave me some experiance in areas I never had knowledge in before. I have – more... been greatful to have worked for this company and hope anyone else who comes across them has the safe experiance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER
Snack bar attendant (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 15, 2014
Pros: pay for meals at limited places
Cons: rude managers
Mangers are rude and disrespectful. If you are smart and educated this place is not for you. Not even if your just looking for a part time job do not go. Also company has a bad rep in airport. I had a co worker threaten me on the job and management did nothing about it because they needed people so bad. Informed TSA and Airport police they said they're – more... always having problems with them. Another thing HR gives you a set schedule before you start work and then the store manager will give you a different schedule. The Mangers love to threaten your job often and remind you of you 90 day probation for all new hires.They are just messy and unorganized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee), MNApril 12, 2014
supporting the manager of a store with medium sales volume and moderately complex operations, and is responsible for day-to-day supervising of non-management associates, assigning work to non-management associates, focusing on store level operation performance, coaching and developing Shift Supervisors and other non-management associates and performing – more... all other responsibilities as directed by the business or assigned Management of which associate is capable of performing. This is an exempt position and typically reports to the Operations Manager, depending on local requirements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OKAY
Cashier Barista (Former Employee), Somerset, PAApril 9, 2014
Pros: $10 to spend on lunch breaks everyday
Cons: management, organization
I had a bad experience at this job so I'm obviously not going to have a good review. Everything at HMSHost was extremely unorganized and there was no such thing as order there. Managers were more like "sit around and watch everyone else work" kind of people. I worked at Starbucks on the Southside Plaza in Somerset PA. One night I was working a shift – more... alone and I had a line of 15+ people and managers stood across the plaza in the other franchises watching me.. now you would think with them being managers they would have enough brains or even courtesy to come help, but no. My second bad experience was when we had a line of about 40+ people and my co-workers that I was working with at the time did not have very much knowledge of Starbucks and the items that they sell. Well this resulted in people not getting the correct things they wanted and they started throwing their drinks back at me. After they were throwing their drinks another one of my co-workers started screaming and swearing at me to get on the register and figure things out. Well I told a manager and he did not see anything wrong with the situation so I had had enough so I voluntarily quit and went home. The working environment is not good. The boss that is in charge of the whole plaza has not a clue what goes on so how is anyone to correct what they are doing? There is favoritism that goes on. It was the worst working experience that I have ever had and it was my first job so now I never want to work in fast food or anything similar to that again! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!
Multi-Unit Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management 2 thumbs down!
Pay was great, benefits awesome, free lunch, 401k........
everything else HORRIBLE. Management was unapproachable and uncaring. 45 min just to get to your car... crazy schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and overall friendly work environment
Associate (Former Employee), Beckley, WVMarch 30, 2014
Pros: free lunch up to $9.00 tax free, flexibly schedules, friendly manager, and great pay for fast food
Cons: not a lot of room for advancement and hard work tends to get overlooked.
Through my experience, during the summer every day was busier than the last. Most of my co-workers didn't like it, however I found it challenging and better than the days when it was slow. During these times the management was helpful and through all this I learned to look on the bright side of things and try to be the best at everything you are told – more... to do. Oddly enough, to me the hardest and most enjoyable part of working at this company was when it was busy. It would make the day go by fast and i could really apply my skills i learned throughout the time leading up to the busy season. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start Pay Bad Management
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Newburg, PAMarch 15, 2014
Pros: $10 lunches which at their prices isn't much
Cons: management, young co-workers equals lots of drama.
Pretty Easy work typically fast food work environment Training is only a few hours Management is pretty screwed up schedules are posted only a day or two before going into effect many request offs are ignored. Scheduling is erratic and in winter time almost nonexistent. Full time workers may or may not get their full time hours and part time workers – more... hours is completely a game of hope and luck. Also if management doesn't like you, you will almost never be scheduled.
Starting pay at least on the Pennsylvania Turnpike is currently $9/hr. and raises are annual based on evaluation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it!
Barista (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 13, 2014
I just loved this job. Starbucks is one of my favorite companies in existence. I've never had a job I loved more than this!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced working environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Belmar, NJMarch 12, 2014
Pros: 12 dollar discounts for lunch
Cons: waiting in long lines for lunch-break
In this job there was never really a typical day at work. Different people come in all the time. The summer is very busy time for HMShost. Mondays-Thursdays would be considered the slower days, and Fridays-Sundays were the busiest days. It was never boring. There was always something to do or someone to talk to. I learned a lot about working at a fast-pace, – more... while still maintaining excellent customer service. My co-workers were very nice, and very helpful while going through training. The managers were all great there, and always helped as needed. The hardest part of the job was how fast-paced it could get. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to the customers, and providing every single one with outstanding customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Shift Lead (Former Employee), North East, MDMarch 5, 2014
Pros: great people, free lunch
Cons: not sure, .
Very fun place to work. loved the people they had everything set up great. A lot of people come through but most of em are good people and easy to learn. hard part was learning to understand other nationalities language.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUBY, NY HMSHost
Cashier (Former Employee), Ruby, NYFebruary 24, 2014
Cons: many
I would arrive at work and my co-workers were too busy to be bothered to carry their weight. My night manager would sit in a chair and tell us what to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manager I (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Supervised food preparation, checked on sales, managed staff schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Family environment
Temp Accounts Payable (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDFebruary 11, 2014
Certain items I can not comment on because I am Temping. I have learned a great deal. They are great at teaching you anything you would like to learn. Part of the company was recently purchased by WDFG and the work is limited right now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun People
Supervisor (Former Employee), Portland, ORJanuary 28, 2014
Team Members were great. They provided a positive work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
bartender (Former Employee), salt lake cityJanuary 22, 2014
Cons: everything
No management... No breaks ... They will fire you if you make one mistake. Money is good but everyone is on edge worried about losing their job .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Employee (Current Employee), Portland, ORJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: co workers are wonderful to work with
Cons: schedule is never posted until 2 days before it starts
The management is terrible. Our work schedules are never posted until 2 days before we are scheduled to work. The turnover is rapidly increasing. The employees who have worked for this company for years are leaving the company because of workplace issues that never get resolved. New hire employees are given empty promises of full time hours and benefits – more... but the reality is that unless you work 35 hrs a week every week for months you will never receive the benefits. – less

About HMSHost

HMSHost is part of Autogrill S.p.A. – the world’s largest provider of food and beverage services for travelers. Along – Read more