HMSHost Employee Reviews

Found 102 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 May 2017
Fun and unique work environment in the Edmonton International Airport. Great staff and team. Lots of room to grow and variety in the work day. They offer shuttles, benefits and a meal plan to staff members. Unique that HMSHost runs the food and beverages at the airport so you have the chance to work for many different companies under the same umbrella.
Pros
Meal Plan and Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON17 May 2017
Is a good place to work. get open shifts and as many hours required but is on highway, takes long to reach there. at times there are no co workers, work pressure is more.
Pros
open shifts
Cons
on the highway
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Employee (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON27 April 2017
This place is an absolute nightmare. You get launched into the position without any training and are expected to be perfect. The upper management clique is absolutely impossible to deal with, you're asked to break standards every single day, and there is no communication. Operations managers are so two faced and fake, and play favourites. You only get a half an hour break, but are expected to punch out for it before you can even leave your work center. By the time you get out and get something to eat, you usually have about 5 minutes left. The place is disorganized chaos, and absolutely toxic.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Terrible upper management, intimidation from bosses, lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Customer Care and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 April 2017
hms host is superb company. i was always enjoying job there with great soul's all staff. all the staff of our company had really religious and good manners.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place to work
Manager of Operations (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC6 April 2017
good place to work, hours difficult, need to find experience manager to operate, multi unit to operate, need to be on floor all time, need more staff,
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place with absolutely no one
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, ON22 March 2017
This place if awful if you're looking for a job. They have no diversity among the staff whatsoever. Almost all (out of the 6 people) were white females. They have practically no employees and is just an overall terrible place. Wouldn't recommend it. Wish I could rate it less than one star. Not working there because this place is absolute trash.
Pros
Chargers for your phone
Cons
Literally everything, especially the management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a family oriented workplace. Company doesn't care about their employees or managers.
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC21 March 2017
Company doesn't care about you or your respinsibilities with your family. They only care about what they need from you. Performance is not based on your skills but the amount of time ( long hours) you are willing to work for them. No fixed days off and schedule really sucks. They think once you're employed by them, they own you and can just play around with your time. Maybe this job is only for single people and with no commitments.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Can affect your life, family and health badly.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Tim Hortons Team Member (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON19 March 2017
Got hired on the spot and was very eager getting into the job, I ended up leaving within a year.
Managment threatens employees and doesn't treat them with any respect, supervisors stand around and watch as you work and doesn't get all team members doing equal work. Bottom line is I never wanted to get back into fast food service after this. Good, easy work but not when the management is so terribly poor. Would not recommend this to anyone, a small paycheck isn't worth the stress!
Pros
Free Drinks, Experience
Cons
Management/Supervisors, Unstable Work Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work
Tim Hortons Team Member (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON18 March 2017
Save your sanity and never ever ever work at this tim hortons. This particular tim hortons definitely avoid. This place is run by "people" who think you are literally nothing. Way too understaffed and the management is an absolute joke. I wouldn't recommend this particular tim hortons to my worst enemy
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 March 2017
Good team work
New Experience
Enjoyable place
Hard work
Safe place
Great Environment
I loved to work there because I learned new things everyday. I learned how to make new drinks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about HMSHost?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
F&B Operations Manager (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON10 March 2017
Unorganized and uneducated managers.

Pay very little for the managers and associates sometimes make more than the managers with less stress.

Transfers are too sudden; not enough time given
Pros
Free Meals
Cons
Bad Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt get paid from these guys, but yet they sent a t4
Fast Food Worker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON7 March 2017
I didn't like the head boss nor did I like how we got yelled at constantly. I didn't receive any pay from these guys and have bank records to back up my claim. They hire the most laziest teenagers around that sit on crates and do nothing.
Pros
nothing
Cons
the whole place
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fast paced hospitality
Senior Director of Operations - YYC Branch (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 February 2017
A great place to work with diverse challenges and great people. Airports are interesting places and this is reflected in your coworkers and customers.
Pros
Great pay and opportunity to advance
Cons
It is still hospitality and it is a tough business!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hms host
Site manager (Current Employee) –  Port Hope, ON16 February 2017
not a bad place to work needs work on management lack of communication between staff members lack of discipline when a staff member does something wrong
Pros
free meals for managers/supervisor
Cons
lack of communication between staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super demanding workplace compared to similar paying jobs
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Odessa, ON6 February 2017
If you want to work, there are more hours than you can handle, but everyone gets sick of their phone ringing off the hook multiple times per day. Show up for a scheduled shift to find out you're alone because everyone else called in and nobody else would take the shift. Silently disciplined for wanting more hours by having hours cut if you don't accept call ins. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU DO NOT LET YOUR CHILDREN WORK THERE!. No respect for family events. Discipline for not showing up for shifts that were scheduled outside of your availability. Some students were even scheduled during school hours because management was soo disorganized. Cut throat environment. Favoritism in full force. Upper management does not even support lower management, let alone staff. Staff are a dime a dozen, and treated like that. Schedules are supposed to be done 3 weeks in advance, yet sometimes I had to call to see when my next shift was bease it was Tuesday and Friday's schedule was not up yet. Then when it does get posted it gets changed multiple times in one week.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Poorly managed, treated with disrespect.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever would never recommend
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Newtonville, ON31 January 2017
This place is ridiculous. The manager team is just a bunch of bullies and the supervisory team is a joke. There is so much bullying of lower staff and discrimination that happens at this establishment. I was discriminated here in particular by a supervisor because i am a native woman. Myself and many other employees have tried to contact HR about these issues and are constantly ignored. I would never recommend anyone work here ever. DO NOT DO IT.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Management, supervisory team, and pretty much everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has no people skills.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Newcastle ontario25 January 2017
Management had absolutely no knowledge on how to talk to employees or customers. You will get your schedule 3 weeks in advance but they are constantly changing or cutting hours so what's the point? They cannot keep staff so we were severely under staffed for every shift. You can not run a 24/7 operation with 17 employees. It got so bad that you were cross trained among 3 brands just to get hours. How are there no full time hours with no staff in the building? People would be in for their second shift and just leave on break never to be seen again. This place is a joke and lose good employees. Keep the bad ones because they're desperate. So many corners cut. The brands would be appaled by the lack of cleanliness standards. The health department was constantly called in. No idea how they passed. Temperature logs were just written in and not actually tested.
Pros
Free drinks.
Cons
Everything. Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Starbucks Barista (Current Employee) –  Innisfil, ON5 January 2017
Typical day at work is good
I have learned many communication skills
management is poor
co workers are great
the hardest part of the job, short staff
the most enjoyable part of the job is communicating with customers
Pros
accommodate hours
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast past environment
Warehouse Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON25 December 2016
Typical day at work could be very challenging but with teamwork we get through it. I have learned that showing initiative at work could bring opportunities for the future. Management is well organized and always there to look after when you seeking help. The co-workers play a big role everyday in my job and without them a task can be difficult to do. The physical work is the hardest part of the job but the most enjoyable part is when we finish work early.
Pros
Free lunches, Vacation pay, Hundred percent coverage
Cons
Parking not free, Food is not halal
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON16 December 2016
Save your sanity and avoid this place. The management is garbage. They talk to you like you're stupid and belittle you. They have no people skills, and they find it extremely difficult to make one task run smooth. Don't expect to have a social life working here. Especially in the summer. 9-10 hr shifts is the norm. And they don't really care if you miss a break.
Pros
Friends
Cons
Poor management, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HMSHost. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,118 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2