HMSHost Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Associate (Former Employee) –  Bainsville, ON18 September 2017
Poor management middle upper and at corporate office, all about the money, do not work for this company. Read the reviews, it's horrible. Dear parents if your kids are even thinking about working there stop and turn run. There are much better places to work. I'm not a crazy disgruntled employee, I gave them many years of dedicated work, I needed the steady pay, but had to leave with all the stuff I was witnessing, hope this gets out there thanks
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Management, no social life, used
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meets expectations
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee) –  Port Hope, ON18 September 2017
at HMS host everyday is different but always fast paced. you'll have to understand how to deal with rude costumers... and the drama that comes with the employees you work with not all the time. most or all staff is over worked. management is okay, depends.. and the training is alright they do try to teach you the basics but learning all the drinks in a couples shifts can be difficult when its busy. over-all its a friendly work environment and we are short staff so we don't get a lot of shift availability
Pros
10 dollars off your lunch when on 30 minute break, you don't need to punch out for your 10 minute break, 20% off merchandise and food when not working
Cons
where it is located isn't convenient for anyone, you must punch out for your 30 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow. Just wow.
Food and Beverage Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON6 September 2017
Hired as a Food and Beverage Manager and assigned to Tim Hortons. Received zero training in two weeks. The person assigned to train me left for vacation the day I showed up and no one replaced him. I was told to "just wander around" to see how things got done (not the best management training, even for someone experienced in the biz like me). On-site management is severely lacking in any real people management skills (or almost any other management skills, for that matter) and it shows: massive and constant turnover of staff, staff breaking down in tears all the time because they are overworked and stressed to the limit, staff not showing up or calling in for shifts and then being allowed to come back to work when they feel like it. Food safety and brand standards mostly ignored. Filthy restaurant (Tim Hortons). Cost of sales are inflated due to uneccessary waste. Customer service is the worst I have ever seen - ever - and I've been in the business a very long time. Everything about this place is, in a word, chaotic. Unorganized. There are some good people working here, but the lack of training and - at best - mediocre management means it will be extremely difficult to correct all the bad behaviours. I was brought in to help turn things around, but that's hard to do when nobody gives you any tools to work with. And that's a shame because I was looking to embark on a new career path and I feel I had a lot to offer this company. I'm sure there have been others, too. But we've all been chased away. I can't imagine how they can continue like this much longer. The vague and mostly  more... empty promises upper management makes about a supposedly soon-to-be "reinvention" of the business are going to be very difficult to implement.  less
Pros
If things were better organized there might be a real career path, free lunch
Cons
Complete lack of training on all levels, Lack of skilled and motivated management, Lack of vision, Unbelievably stressful working conditions, Overworked and overwhelmed staff, Uninterested and minimally talented management, Long hours, Unfulfilled promises
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to gain experience
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 August 2017
the day is pretty busy that the time just flies by really, you get to meet a lot of interesting people, I've learned how to manage a large crowd from this job
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No schedules flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Food and beverage Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 August 2017
Great place to work with been there for last 5 years. Good place for development always promote within company. Fun place to work and busy environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive hard working quick pace
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 August 2017
Over all routine work with very few differences in day to day activity. fast pace and physically demanding. rough tough environment. multitasking is a must and communication skills on par.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 July 2017
it is a good company. good place to work. the staff that works here is good. nice environment. supportive management. it is a busy place to work. overall good place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad company
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC14 July 2017
start work here as a line cook. at starting few days they will treat you very nice but one month after they treat you like a machine. there is no rules and regulation in this company for worker and rules is only in the papers. their managers are never ever listen your request. you only work for them. they make you sick and you will lose you health. their management and communication are so bad that effect the worker life. you don't have any your personal and family life if you work their.there wages are very very low. they make your schedule like that you can not able to work any where.
Pros
nothing is free
Cons
lose your healthy badly, no family life, rude management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best working environment
Cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 July 2017
Management is terrible.
hours are long,
The only good thing is meeting new people.

didn't like the toxic environment. Employees would leave, they didn't want to hire and new staff.
Pros
pay is good
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and socialble
casher (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC23 June 2017
employees are usually in good mood and ready to offer support and help when needed. its is also a very enjoyable place to work in the summer with all the great summer barbecue experiences
Pros
safe
Cons
noisy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 May 2017
Fun and unique work environment in the Edmonton International Airport. Great staff and team. Lots of room to grow and variety in the work day. They offer shuttles, benefits and a meal plan to staff members. Unique that HMSHost runs the food and beverages at the airport so you have the chance to work for many different companies under the same umbrella.
Pros
Meal Plan and Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON17 May 2017
Is a good place to work. get open shifts and as many hours required but is on highway, takes long to reach there. at times there are no co workers, work pressure is more.
Pros
open shifts
Cons
on the highway
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Employee (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON27 April 2017
This place is an absolute nightmare. You get launched into the position without any training and are expected to be perfect. The upper management clique is absolutely impossible to deal with, you're asked to break standards every single day, and there is no communication. Operations managers are so two faced and fake, and play favourites. You only get a half an hour break, but are expected to punch out for it before you can even leave your work center. By the time you get out and get something to eat, you usually have about 5 minutes left. The place is disorganized chaos, and absolutely toxic.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Terrible upper management, intimidation from bosses, lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are awesome, complicated
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Innisfil, ON22 April 2017
Everyday is different working here, you really never know what you are walking into. There are so many levels of management and so many things going on all the time its hard to keep track. one of the biggest down falls of here is trying to balance your life at work and at home.
management was ok, except the lack of communication from upper management to the assistants.
the hardest part of the job was trying to balance management duties and crew member duties at the same time. the customer volume as well for the labor that was aloud was not coinciding.
the best part of the job was all the people that i worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Customer Care and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 April 2017
hms host is superb company. i was always enjoying job there with great soul's all staff. all the staff of our company had really religious and good manners.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place to work
Manager of Operations (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC6 April 2017
good place to work, hours difficult, need to find experience manager to operate, multi unit to operate, need to be on floor all time, need more staff,
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place with absolutely no one
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, ON22 March 2017
This place if awful if you're looking for a job. They have no diversity among the staff whatsoever. Almost all (out of the 6 people) were white females. They have practically no employees and is just an overall terrible place. Wouldn't recommend it. Wish I could rate it less than one star. Not working there because this place is absolute trash.
Pros
Chargers for your phone
Cons
Literally everything, especially the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a family oriented workplace. Company doesn't care about their employees or managers.
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC21 March 2017
Company doesn't care about you or your respinsibilities with your family. They only care about what they need from you. Performance is not based on your skills but the amount of time ( long hours) you are willing to work for them. No fixed days off and schedule really sucks. They think once you're employed by them, they own you and can just play around with your time. Maybe this job is only for single people and with no commitments.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Can affect your life, family and health badly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Tim Hortons Team Member (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON19 March 2017
Got hired on the spot and was very eager getting into the job, I ended up leaving within a year.
Managment threatens employees and doesn't treat them with any respect, supervisors stand around and watch as you work and doesn't get all team members doing equal work. Bottom line is I never wanted to get back into fast food service after this. Good, easy work but not when the management is so terribly poor. Would not recommend this to anyone, a small paycheck isn't worth the stress!
Pros
Free Drinks, Experience
Cons
Management/Supervisors, Unstable Work Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work
Tim Hortons Team Member (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON18 March 2017
Save your sanity and never ever ever work at this tim hortons. This particular tim hortons definitely avoid. This place is run by "people" who think you are literally nothing. Way too understaffed and the management is an absolute joke. I wouldn't recommend this particular tim hortons to my worst enemy
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HMSHost. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,281 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2