Hitachi Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 29 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting workplace
Supplier Planner (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONJune 24, 2016
It was an interesting place to work due to the products we sold. The mining industry has been very shaky the last few years which made many of the positions unstable.. Our company went from 3 shifts when I started to two and then one. There has been major down sizing the last few years. We were given a one time opportunity to accept a buyout this past April, or stay and take our chances on keeping out job.

I took the buy out and although not technically employed at the moment, I am on payroll with all benefits for several months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company culture
Welder (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKApril 27, 2016
This is one of the best places that I have worked. They care about their employees, and go above and beyond in all aspects of the workplace. Safe, clean, well maintained. It took me a couple of weeks to get used to the stretches in the morning, but they foster a team dynamic, and also reduce workplace injuries from strains and sprains. HCI was (at the time) one of the only shops in Sask that actively participated in the journeymans program.
Pros
Clean, well maintained shop, Good managers
Cons
Repetitive work can be mind numbing at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and professional
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 8, 2016
The best work environment! Friendly co-workers in a relaxed environment that allowed us to focus on what is important: Provide great customer service.
Pros
Breakfast options were available every day, and beer too if you wanted.
Cons
Noisy open space.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rapidly shrinking
National Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONNovember 2, 2015
Great company, but only sells one product and demand is diminishing. Broadcast industry in Canada is suffering meaning Hitachi is suffering.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Technology but is it Future Proof?
Solutions Consultant (Former Employee) –  MontrealOctober 22, 2015
Hitachi has always made great storage hardware, no question but the industry is moving towards commodity storage platforms defined by software. This does not play into HDS's strengths so it remains to be seen if HDS can adapt.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Big Data Experience
Engagement Delivery Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 6, 2015
The Hitachi experience as a company is great. The big machine is poised for a great future. Leadership in the US have a great vision and the business itself is huge. BIG Data is the future.

The Canadian operation is not run well. Poor inexpereinced managemnt, and the leadership is not skilled in developing a business. Too many promises and not enough follow through. This will be the downfall, as customer service is poorly satisfied.

A great place to get some BIG Data experience, but not a place to stay for the long haul.
Pros
Great Storage Equipment
Cons
Inexperienced Canadian Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A reltively good workplace.
North Africa Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  EgyptSeptember 9, 2015
It provided a good working environment, but the diversity in the job description is a little bit unspecific, which could make a manager not very focused on issues that he/she needs to develop.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic company with opportunity for growth
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 22, 2015
Great people to work with, young active culture. Going through a transition period causing it to be a little rough. Once the transition period is finished and the company settles into it's new role things should be better
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place for freshies
Developer (Former Employee) –  MalaysiaMarch 29, 2015
Poor Management for both Project Management and HR. No work life balance. For fresh graduates, this place have got a lot experience to offer.
Pros
Free Lunches, Good allowance
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back work environment
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONSeptember 2, 2014
Was a good company to work for. Deadlines were not to intense lots of engineering knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for new immigrants
Business Intelligence Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 4, 2014
My experience was good: fun place to work at; good management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With conducive working environment
A. Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  PhilippinesJuly 15, 2014
A successful business often depends on the people you work with, and having a good attitude plays an important role in ensuring you are able to work well with others. The company offers such kind of environment. Another thing that I like is that the company offers trainings which helps me become more productive in your work.
Pros
free transporation benefits and other health benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving this place specially because of its work environment
Intern (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCJuly 10, 2014
Loving this place specially because of its work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun selling
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKJune 3, 2014
* many challenges which I enjoyed giving my input
company very slow to change into new markets and new ideas
It has now just completed a merger which could change the mind set
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was allowed to do creative things that were enjoyable
Business dvelopment manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKJune 3, 2014
enjoyable
constant learning
analysis
constant business challenges
high level selling

fun using my selling skills

most enjoyable
people contact in oil /gas energy markets

dislike
the money that I earned did not reflect the kind of volume of new business that I constantly brought in
and they did not have a marketing department that understood the complexities of new business and how to treat new customers concerns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment for manufacturing
Quality Technologist (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKFebruary 27, 2014
I enjoyed working here and learned a lot from the management. They treat their employees well, and have a good model for improvement initiatives.
Pros
good authority/responsibility model
Cons
manufacturing doesn't have the money that operations does
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people and nice to go to work for
Truck driver / Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILDecember 4, 2013
miss the job. the pay was fair and the work was always interesting
Pros
good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun and interesting by doing team work.
Electrical Equipment and Machine Assembler (Current Employee) –  JPENovember 23, 2013
everyday we have a morning meeting lead by our Sub-leader discussing the rules and jobs of each member. After that we have a 5 mins. exercise and then we will listen to our leader's report about the current situation of the japan and the company especially the accident topics.
Pros
free dormitory
Cons
study japanese laguage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent retention programs, respect, dignity good people to work with.
Maintenence Millwright / Master tradesman (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKOctober 24, 2013
Their pay may be 20% below par but Your work is respected and valued as long as you do your job.

If there are temporary layoffs they often top up pay to full in order to keep valued employees.
Pros
supervisors treat workers with respect.
Cons
forced to use vacation days for christmas shutdown if not working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good engineering experience
Project Coordinator Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKJune 3, 2013
Hitachi is an excellent place to work and do business. The projects that I was able to work on showcased the magnitude, and the detail the company was capable of. The only downside to working for Hitachi was simply the job security, at my time there I had seen many people come in, and many people leave. The companies billing rate is quite high because the level of detail given is a premium service. Because not many companies need the detail that Hitachi can give, they were not busy enough to keep on all staff.
Pros
good work environment with a strong push on safety
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 754 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7