Hilton Worldwide Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 88 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
swimming pool with jacuzzi
Food and Beverage Supervisor (Former Employee) –  uk surreyOctober 31, 2013
i learned a lot about wines, co workers were very helpful. an energetic place to work. lots of employ benefits where offered
Pros
good working environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did love the high-standards of expectation and of general organization
Food and Beverage Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCAugust 16, 2013
Make sure that all staff are present,and properly dressed,
make sure that all duties are accomplished to perfection.
Check and confirm some Reservations.
Receive all Guests in a professional manner and follow the service
till they leave the premises, to make sure they leave satisfy.
My co-workers were always professionaly helpful and courteous,
team-work was our motto.
As a middle-management Position, the hardest part of the job was,and is,to keep a proper Balance between costs and revenue,
between Executive Management,Employees,Union-rules and excellent service to the Guests.
I have,and I do enjoy seeing satisfied Guests, and receiving some
compliments from my Boss regarding my cooperation and help to
make my department a success.
Pros
excellent recognition for the management staff
Cons
dealing with some very difficult inebriated guests...
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and Fun Place to work
Guest Service Agent - Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  London, ONJuly 21, 2013
Really Nice place to work, Management team and Co Works all work hard and are a good team to work with.

The Most enjoyable part of the job is being able to work with a great team and meeting different people that come and stay at the Hotel.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room attendance/Massage
Room attendance/Massage (Former Employee) –  toronto,on,canadaJune 22, 2013
Looking for job to prove myself as a good service.I always try to give best service to customer & co-worker,always careful my duty.I enjoy my job & learning new clind.
Pros
yes
Cons
any
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to obtain a housekeeping in hotel or inn.
Work in the Housekeeping Department (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAMay 15, 2013
When I started working at the Hilton hotel in the housekeeping department (March to June 2010) the first week was training by doing 6 rooms per day. The second week, I started doing 16 rooms per day at work. I met new friends from many countries such as Italy, Spain,and Vietnam. They are all pretty nice people. It was a lot of hard work , but I enjoyed and liked it.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challengable, keep you busy, prestegious company, graet training
General Manager -Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences (Current Employee) –  CairoMay 13, 2013
- Busy day, full of challenge and learning.
- To be professional, Management, Patience.
- Great mix of co-workers
- Not enough time for private life.
- Challenges, celebarate success
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace team driven atmosphere
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Toronto ONMarch 23, 2013
Working at the Hilton was a fun experience, I enjoy interacting with many people and various customers. Was stress free for most part as long as you stay on top of your duties. Customers would tip often and staff kitchen would give out meals on occasion to co-workers. Im used to a more physical routine so the Hilton was a breeze and I actually had a good time while working there
Pros
tips and sometimes free lunch
Cons
some months in the year can be dead to witch hours are reduced
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hospitality environment
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ONMarch 21, 2013
This hotel had an inviting hospitality environment with friendly fellow houskeepers that worked with you to get the job done.
Pros
havin a lunch area
Cons
labour
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
# Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  toronto bramptonFebruary 23, 2013
always busy; most of the guests are nice and friendly; my direct supervisor was not very cooperating but overall it was a good team; hardest part of the job was there was, i did not get any break but it was not that bad cause it was all paid; most enjoyable part was to meet new and interesting people
Pros
good benefits
Cons
too busy
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review for the Hilton I work at...
Front Desk Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ONFebruary 20, 2013
All Hilton hotels are different but I have rated based on the hotel I work at currently. The company who owns the hotel has expanded to other properties causing cutbacks in hours, which has impacted hotel morale and quality.There is no Human Resources department so if there are any issues between employees, it can cause a conflict of interest if the main managers are involved.

The employees, who are the heart of the hotel, are great to work with and deserve the best.
Co-workers are amazing; most enjoyable part of the job is working with them and conversing with return guests who I have befriended.

Management is poor.

Typical day at work: Answer emails, try to retrieve money from outstanding accounts, deal with any issues at front desk etc.

Hardest part of the job is fixing issues with the Hilton system that no one knows how to fix (even Hilton), as well as dealing with conflicts between managers.
Pros
benefits, great staff, hotel discounts, experience
Cons
managers, cheap company (franchise)
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience in customer relations
House Keeping- House Person (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 7, 2013
Most of the time I have to deal with guests' request, which gave me a good experience in customer relations.
Pros
flexible
Cons
hard work and working hours are not guranteed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They know how to treat employees and recognize/appreciate hard work.
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  windsor, onFebruary 4, 2013
Great place to work! Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel part of their team. They make it "fun" to work for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
General Manager -Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences (Current Employee) –  CairoJanuary 10, 2013
Real school.
everyday you learn a new thing
you see your co-workers more than your family.
Pros
exeperince
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was fun
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 3, 2013
housekeeping is awesome as i love cleaning, its fun traing girls how to clean and get a routine to work faster. ehotel is different so this one was all about detail and very clean, i loved it. there was nothing hard about the job unless people called in sick then there work load piled onto yours but it just worked out to more pay. the best part of the job is cleaning and going at your pace, my speacialty is cleaning..
Pros
your own pace
Cons
some places dont pay well
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Vancouver Robson Street
Guest Services Agent (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCDecember 23, 2012
Very poor atmosphere to work in.
Micromanaging.
No hours.
Unorganized hotel.
Worst management to work for.
Pros
great guests
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide Guests good service and make them feel home away from home
Front Desk Agent Intern (Former Employee) –  MontralDecember 22, 2012
Usually we do these things every single day
1.Compile and check daily record sheets
2.Register arriving and check-out guests.
3.Provide information to guests
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours and have to stand aii the time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment
Front Office Mngr. & Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 30, 2012
good enough place to work but depending on the property it can be very hostile, cold shoulders, unfair game paly, and all around high school soap opera to be around.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast pace and fun.
Head Chef on night shift (Former Employee) –  Saint John’s Church, ENGOctober 15, 2012
Wonderful people and great food.
Very busy and a fun place to work. Co workers willing to help at anytime.
The hardest part of the day was the cleaning at the end of a very busy night .
I enjoyed this job very much.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hilton fun
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Cairo, ONSeptember 20, 2012
it is a great hotel and i have experince from work there and have more skills
Pros
s
Cons
8
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostess
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONSeptember 6, 2012
Greet customer and find the write seating for them
Responsible for all cash duties including daily closing balance and deposit
Answer all call's within three wringing, get all reservation promptly
Successfully handled all customer relations issues
Take all the room orders and forward them to room service department
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,431 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8