Hill International Employee Reviews

Showing all 85 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intesting job
Construction Inspector (Former Employee) –  Marlton, NJ2 April 2017
A good job and a good cause... urban forestry, but driving from NJ everyday $30 in tolls. Then they were kind of unfair about paperwork. Claimed you could do it on the job, but impossible to construction observe and do paperwork at the same time. Had to do it at night. Thus 16 hours a day work... paid for 8 hours. That's why they have gone through 300 employees for a 20 position in just 3 years.
Pros
Planting trees making the world a better place
Cons
16 hour work days but only paid for 8
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project site based
Office Engineer / Document Control Manager (Former Employee) –  Doha13 March 2017
I had the privelege of working on an exciting and busy project. I immensly enjoyed working there. I was based on site during the role and the time flew quickly. I was mobilized quickly and efficiently by the HR team.
Pros
Big company with high profile projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Projects
Project Director (Current Employee) –  Al Khobar, KSA12 March 2017
Good company with very large and interesting projects from 1 billion AED.
Culturally very diverse, good systems.
Working all over the world
Good local knowledge
Pros
Interesting projects
Cons
Technical support could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Finance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sao Paulo, Brazil4 March 2017
Management genuinely cares about the advancement of it's employees. Managers are always making sure we see a bright future at Hill and are very supportive of where we want to go!
Pros
Benefits (lunch, transport, health insurance)
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work night shift
Construction Management (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CA19 February 2017
immediate supervisor playing hide and seek, never able to see him.
intentionally was leaving office if he knew I am visiting
bias and act of bigotry, and the front desk clerk outspokenly showed her racism and discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is a new challenge and a day for accomplishments
Senior Finishes Superintendent (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, Delhi8 February 2017
Achieving daily targets, providing solutions to site specific problems are the highs of the job. To execute the work exactly as imagined by the architects and even surpassing the quality standards is the biggest satisfaction of my job. To meet the project deadlines and helping the client to stay on the path of the financial success related to the timely project completion is the key motivation.
Pros
Career growth is on the upward path
Cons
Work life balance is comprised because of long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive Company
Sr. Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Europe6 February 2017
Hill has a lot of work all over the world. However, they bid low to win work and therefore do not pay that good and do not have ability to pay for relocation of personnel, limiting opportunities to transfer within Hill when a contract is completed.
Pros
Lots of work
Cons
Marginal salaries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging but rewarding experience.
Project Manager - Bahrain (Former Employee) –  Bahrain6 February 2017
Managing construction risk. Typical day will involve reporting progress, problem resolution, team resolution, materials, construction, design, procurement challenges to be resolved with design teams, QS teams, Client teams, Supplier and contractor teams.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Powerful and well established company
General site manager, Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Dubai Parks and Resorts3 February 2017
I can ensure that my career with Hill was developed and improved as Hill is one of the most well organized , well established company and it was my honor to work with Hill in Dubai Parks & Resorts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation is good, work experience variable
Risk Management Consultant for Genentech (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CA28 January 2017
The work has been all staff augmentation project controls support. The pay is good and once on a project I have been quite autonomous from Hill management. The day to day work experience varies dependent upon the client I have supported dependent upon their team and corporate culture.
Pros
Good pay and good projects
Cons
not guaranteed long term employment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice environment to work
Senior Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Abu Dhabi17 January 2017
Day to day work was interested and the co-workers are excellent as they are been trained to work as a team. I have learned a lot by liaising with the Engineering team in getting the design's review, approve and learn valuation process etc.,
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Travelling to various locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Hill is overall amazing
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Doha, Qatar3 January 2017
Working with Hill International is the most exciting and the most interesting part of my work experience, i learned a lot professionally within the tenure of work with the company. my colleagues are very friendly and supportive as long as the management. There are times that i am having difficulty with the IT matters that sometimes asked me to do though learning it afterwards, for me working with Hill is awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont try it unless you are jobless
general superintendent (Current Employee) –  Dubai Marina13 December 2016
no promotions
no bonus
no increment
get hired there if you are only jobless
minor supervision and no learning. avoid if you are secured in your company
Pros
salary always come in time
Cons
new team joins on every new project and gets dismissed afterwards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staffiong and organized approach
Project and Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  Baku Azerbaijan and Astana Kazakhstan12 December 2016
One of the most important phases of managing a project is the initial set up of responsibilities with some emphasis on responsibilities that may be unique. Staffing a project requires careful creation and assessment of a work responsibility matrix wherein assignments of individual and group responsibilities are assigned. Once complete, with workload balance and management agreement, the staffing process can then accurately be progressed with confidence. Done properly, there are few surprises along the way that cannot be solved and the entire team has a clear understanding of the combined objective procedures and perhaps more importantly, their own.

Hill understands this.
Pros
Unique challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place. Easy to get to the regional management
Vice President and Country Manager (Current Employee) –  Doha5 December 2016
Hill International is one of the best companies I have ever worked for. They recognize people's achievements and reward them for their efforts. Hill is also an international company with offices in over 100 countries around the world and this offers a great level of choices to the employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hill International
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Manama22 November 2016
i go to work deal with consultants look for clients requirment i have learned alot regarding management but as a fresher i would like to be a designer my co-workers remain busy most of the time the hardest part of my job is i am not specified to any task
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Riyadh19 November 2016
Pay and benefits were good. Management was not very good. HR was not good but work environment wasn't bad. Made alot of friends while working with Hill.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hiring directors/managers without Bachelor's Degree
Planning Engineer (Former Employee) –  Middle East26 October 2016
Some managers/directors are not having College/University Degree, no wonder why management and behavior are unimaginable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an American company ISO certified and ninth top of the world rank
Mechanical engineer Inspection (Current Employee) –  Abudhabi22 October 2016
good to work. unfortunately there is less project allotted this year and there no new project for the next year. Adnoc are the client they have projects completion stage and all of them fully completed
Pros
package
Cons
full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Standard of Pratice
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Abu Dhabi21 September 2016
Being Global leader in Managing Construction Risk Hill International consider it's Employees as an asset of Organization and give them with best opportunities to grow and work in a multi culture environment.
Pros
Support for Professional Certification
Cons
Saturday working on Projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hill International. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 85 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

88%
43 ratings
Add your rating