Find companies:
Heart and Stroke Foundation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Heart and Stroke Foundation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Sales Associate (Former Employee), West Island (Various locations)June 4, 2014
Pros: rewarding
Cons: being ignored by passer-bys
Enjoyed working for them selling various small items, several times a year very much. I often did it with a friend, or co-worker and it was very rewarding for everyone involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, short delivery timelines, tech-oriented and revenue oriented company
Manager, Surrey/Langley/White Office (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 7, 2014
Pros: focus on what needs to get done. be efficient with your time and that of others.
Cons: no real long term vision. dynamics could turn into work politics
Generating revenue was paramount. Everything revolved around that but it was a fun and easy to get along with people environment. People were very focused on the tasks at hand and what the deliverables were.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but busy place to work-always understaffed
Program Coordinator (Current Employee), Cape Breton, NSMarch 29, 2014
-enjoy interacting with the community/volunteers
-lots of data entry
-isolated
-continual changeover in staff
daily-interaction with business leaders and community volunteers and data entry along with bank deposits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting graphics on plane.
Office Services Intern (Former Employee), Downtown, TorontoFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: getting rewarded for a great job done.
Cons: long hours
-Come to work and greet co-workers/management then begin work by getting direction from employer
-Learned to work on task at hand, focus, and how to bring in quota
-They have to be able to deal with pressure
-Waiting and expecting
-Getting projects done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heart and Stroke Foundation
Administrative Assistant/Reception (Former Employee), Saint John, NBJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: people in office are very eager to assist with any questions
Cons: they did not have enough funds being a non profit to hire me full time
Heart and Stroke foundation introduced me to many tasks that would be held by someone in an Office Administrative field.

I was able to do all tasks in a short period of time and to a high standard. I was able to be left unassisted within 4 days of being onsite. I am a quick and efficient person who learns tasks quickly. I am well liked by all employees – more... as I have a great spirit and good team work skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, growing experience, fun working atmosphre
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 28, 2013
* Good management

* Nice co-workers

* Got an opportunity to use and improve my technical skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
having so much fun with the kids
Volunteer Work (Current Employee), Oakville, ONAugust 27, 2013
My typical day at work most of the time going out with the kids to the park , library ending them to their activities. I learned a lot giving best care to the kids , emotion being more and more patient. Management are great . Teaching kids the good things and polite way. Co workers comes out very friendly,the hardest part of the job is when there is – more... unexpected happenings. The enjoyable part of the job is when the kids learned good things and acting nicely to people with respect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business first, Mission somewhere down the line
Community Mission Specialist (Former Employee), Southwestern OntatioAugust 21, 2013
Pros: heart disease is a serious issue requiring a concentrated focus.
Cons: weighted at the top.
It is an employer with a great mission. However, in its modern manifestation it is a big business with a mission. Not a mission that is fully supported.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of work.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), St. John's, NLJuly 11, 2013
Pros: experience
I did not work there on a a salary level. As a volunteer I found it to be a worthwhile cause.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun day
Extracurricular Activities/Volunteer (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 5, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: sometimes got boring
A typical day would be organizing paperwork and working on calculating totals. I learnt how to improve my mathematical skills. I met new people and got to talk to them on a regular basis. The hardest part was when the pledges got misplaced or mixed around with others so it got confusing. The enjoyable part was when i got to do the calculations and paperwork – more... because i like doing that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Canvasser (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 21, 2013
Working in a month for Heart and Stroke Foundation was really cool because I got to help people and spread awareness. The hardest part of the job was to dedicate some time to go walk around your neighborhood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer
Canvassing/Entry-Level Consultant (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMay 11, 2013
this was a volunteer experience, i didn't get paid for doing this but i did gain experience that i could use later in a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Types of work
Canvasser (Former Employee), Prince George, BCMay 8, 2013
I was on a mission in day to day canvassing for the Heart and Stroke Foundation. I did not know any of my co workers as I was working independently. Through the experience, I developed stronger interaction skills with other people. The job is fairly easy, I just need to talk to the people I was canvassing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many areas to improve on
Anonymous (Current Employee), Calgary AbertaMay 1, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: poor organizational communication, poor management, barriers to progress and advancement
The organization has a lot of potential but due to problems with upper management and deplorable internal communication there are barriers everywhere you turn. First of all, the organization lacks appropriate structure. If you attempt to make a positive change, typically your suggestion is shot down or not followed through with, which is frustrating – more... and leads to high levels of employee apathy. Additionally, due to some major organizational changes nationally, executive staff and management are unable to focus on the problems within Alberta due to commitments pertaining to national unification, which worsens the problems at home. Once we are operating as a cohesive organization across Canada, I can see it working well, but for the moment this is a stressful and tumultuous environment with heavy workloads and little hope of advancement from within. On the plus side they let you set your own hours within reason, which is nice as it promotes work life balance and allows you to work during your most productive times. Also most of the staff are very nice, which is a major factor in employee retention. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
producctive, good work environment
Route Planner (Former Employee), Guelph, ONApril 25, 2013
Pros: comfortable
Cons: too busy so i couldn't finish the work in the time given so i did the work afterwards
It was a good environment to work with lots to do and comfortable to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing organization with passionate people who are all aligned behind the cause
Director of Marketing (Former Employee), TorontoApril 9, 2013
Pros: large stable organization
Cons: size of organization can sometimes lead to slow decision making/action
The Heart and Stroke Foundation is truly a special place with great people all working together to advance the organization's mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canvassed for donations.
Canvasser (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioApril 2, 2013
I volunteered to canvass my neighbourhood looking for donations to the Heart and Stroke Foundation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Sales Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 14, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no advancement
no chance of advancement unless someone leaves and then again you might not even be chosen - Management does not know what workers do, no consideration, no respect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning and a fun position
Heart Health Lead Ambassador (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 13, 2013
Pros: seminars, workshops and more learning opportunities
Cons: sometimes weekends at work
It is a very refined work place to polish one's professional skills. Volunteers are treated with great respect and honor. The co-workers are cooperative and understanding toward each other. The only hardest part of the job is to sacrifice one day at least out of weekend. Still it keeps me happy because I am making difference. The diverse ethnic backgrounds – more... of volunteers make this place enjoyable work place with no stress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning and a fun position
Heart Health Lead Ambassador (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 13, 2013
Pros: seminars, workshops and more learning opportunities
Cons: sometimes weekends at work
It is a very refined work place to polish one's professional skills. Volunteers are treated with great respect and honor. The co-workers are cooperative and understanding toward each other. The only hardest part of the job is to sacrifice one day at least out of weekend. Still it keeps me happy because I am making difference. The diverse ethnic backgrounds – more... of volunteers make this place enjoyable work place with no stress. – less