Heart and Stroke Foundation Employee Reviews

Found 64 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
phone calling
Campaign Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 March 2017
the job is calling, including cold calling people and following a written script to ask people to participate in fundraising events for the Heart and Stroke foundation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON11 December 2016
Collecting donations by going door-to-door. Not a job but required for community service hours for graduation. Communication skills learned, management non-existant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming environment.
Labelled volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto,8 December 2016
The team was very welcoming and worked together to complete tasks. Learned many event planning skills. Much space for independent learning and growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Tele recruiter and supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 November 2016
I worked here as a part time Tele recruiter and also as a supervisor. I absolutely loved it. The staff were all as helpful, friendly and easy to be around. I was there on contract and wish it hadn't of ended. If it wasn't evening shifts I would be back in a heart beat.
Pros
Laid back, easy job, good pay
Cons
Evening shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Communications Assistant (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON25 October 2016
The work i was able to do with them was great. Allowed for growth and felt my work was making a difference. Learned a lot from my co-workers as this was a placement position for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn with experience
Practicum Student (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 October 2016
I have done my Practicum in Heart and Stroke foundation where i work in team to prepare fundraising kits and Data Entry.
My previous experience from India i learn :

* Arrange meeting and corporate functions
* Executive mail distribution and expense accounts
* Organize and maintain filing system
* Order and inventory office supplies
* Coordinate telephone ans maintenance
Pros
i love learn new things and do my best
Cons
i hate to sit free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great learning enviroment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 October 2016
I enjoyed completing my co-op at the Heart and stroke foundation. I learned a lot while working there. My co-workers were friendly and assisted me if I had questions
Pros
Learned new computer programs and accounting processes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good day
Telerecruiter (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON5 October 2016
-organised
-amazing work place
-good atmosphere
-friendly
-head strong
-relaxed
-energetic
-short hours
-short contract
-easy going
-nice work place
Pros
nice enviroment
Cons
short contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON31 August 2016
Typical day at work was really good.
I have learn that you cannot take anything for granted.
Management and the union is not for any of my co-workers
my co-workers were all great
the hardest part of my job was that the company kept changing on what to say on the phone to the customers.
The most enjoyable part of my job was that I got to speak different people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
casual environment
Telerecruiter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2016
typical day at work would include calling volunteers to canvass their neighbourhood for monthly fundraising event. everyone pretty much kept to themselves
Pros
no pressure
Cons
customers hanging up on you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowing and Practicing
Volunteer Telemarketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 August 2016
Typical day at McDonalds is always different. But their is always that most of the customer have in common, a happy face after i give them the happy to help attitude.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer for a cost
IT Help Desk Technician Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2016
I don't have much say about heart and stroke foundation, I just work as a volunteer for 4 hours a week. I learned how to troubleshot printer problems, resetting end user's password in Active directory and upgrading computers to windows 7.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Telemarketer (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON5 May 2016
it is a interesting journey working at the heart and stroke foundation because i was able to talk to new customers on a daily basis
Pros
two breaks
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Human Resource Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON4 May 2016
Great Experience learnt how the Non profit organization works. Trained new volunteers how the organization works and operates
Pros
Great work ethic and employees
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of people working towards heart and stroke awareness.
Volunteer Engagement Coordinator (Current Employee) –  1373 Victoria St N, Kitchener ON21 April 2016
A very interesting place to work considering it depends highly on a large volunteer base. Recruiting solid people devoted to our purpose is key.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible schedule
Volunteer Canvasser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 March 2016
It was fun because i could get to walk outside and go door to door to other peoples houses, this would be whenever I had time to because they give a certain timeline to complete the task, and it was a very generous amount of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work at
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON9 March 2016
Even though there was no pay but working at Heart and Stroke Foundation was an extraordinary experience that you can know great people and know how to communicate professionally.
Pros
great working atmosphere
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Telerecruiter (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 February 2016
The telerecruiter job was good for students or anyone who wants to get a few hours work in the evenings. It was a bit of a sales environment, where we had to achieve certain recruitment goals per a day. Sometimes you got more than you aimed for sometimes you got less. Unfortunately the supervisor could be a little aggressive if you got none, which made some of the employees a bit upset. Other than that it was a good temporary position.
Pros
nice coworkers and you contribute to a great cause.
Cons
Sales environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to begin my career
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2016
It was a great place to begin my career. The people are amazing and we do great work. I have learned a lot from HSF.

I love speaking with our donors and stakeholders and learning about their personal connection to the cause.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS25 January 2016
It was challenging, fun and productive environment. Supervisors were open and welcoming to new ideas. Colleagues are very corporative and are open to opinions and suggestions to supervisors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0
93%

CEO Approval

Based on 16 ratings
Add your rating

Heart and Stroke Foundation Reviews by Location