Find companies:
Hbc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Hbc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 9, 2014
In the 14 years I was there I was able to advance in the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I think had a good job
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: yes
Cons: good
I had a good time working with others As a sales person. I work for six years part time and not much chance to work full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi units over Western Canada that allowed me to travel and see the country
Regional Food Service Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: lots of travelling within canada
Cons: long hours when you include the travel time
Demanding but exiting job as Regional Manager, able to meet people in different positions that are willing to meet and greet. Lot's of travelling that made the job very interesting. Reviewing successes and good results was the highlight of visits. Home office and Regional meetings were very enjoyable and productive. I miss the interaction with various – more... people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My overall dropped after the last change of ownership. Earned pay increases were lost to min. wage increases. ↓drive to achieve storewide
merchandise operations associate (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSJuly 2, 2013
Pros: staff discount, medical and dental benefits
Cons: new limitations on availability of staff discount
Mostly a positive experience. A manager and supervisor I liked and respected.Great camraderie between most associates. The best part was the regular customer that became Zellers family. The worst part was associates who skate by with no effort or consequences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with multi tasking job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Quezon City, PhilippinesJune 26, 2013
Pros: contractual
Cons: no overtime pay and benefits
we have 10 hours shift including the 1 hour lunch break and 30 minutes cofee break. but we are obliged to extend our duty due to costumer, I learned from this job is how to communicate and handle different types of people,flexibility, patience,doing the facial, diamond peel. hair dye application services and casheiring especially multi tasking.
the – more... management is good but theres a problem when it comes to the salary and overtimes,my co-workers are friendly, approachable, fun to be with.The hardest part of this job is my 2-3 hours travel back and forth from the working place, but im flexible enough to adjust with the time.I enjoyed most in this job is conversation with the costumer while selling and doing the services for them.it makes myself busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Full time - Cashier (Former Employee), sq1 mississauga ontNovember 29, 2012
manager at zellers was rude didnt like him rest of managment got along with talk to though facebook text
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,Good environment
Customer Service Representatives (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 15, 2012
Pros: complete time for break
Cons: flexible hours of work
Working like 25-30 hours a week.dealing with customer is much more interesting,Cool environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HBC review
Transport Driver (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 14, 2012
Cons: long hours some times 12 to15 hours a day
started 3pm and i did pick-ups. also did delivery from wharehouse to wharehouse.met alot of new people management were good people as well as my co-workers a lot of differant people over the years.Nothing really hard and it was enjoyable because their was always something differant every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable and learn a lot of the company
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), North YorkOctober 15, 2012
Pros: we have an hour lunch and a thirty minute break and co workers are amazing to work with
Cons: we have to go over and beyond in some occasions which can be challenging
The Bay is all about customer service and making customers leave happy. Hardest part of this job is to satisfy everyone especially when you have to deal with multiple customers at once due to low staffing on some occasions. I enjoy dealing with customers and helping them find what they need and also providing additional information about a product and – more... anything they are inquiring about that relates to what they are looking for. It is a multitasking job because you many tasks to accomplish and do it in a certain time frame. I enjoy working with my co-workers because we are like a family and we help each other when we are in need of help. To go over and beyond to help customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps you on the run.
Hardline Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, OnSeptember 27, 2012
Pros: friday morning meetings.
Cons: some days long hours.
The knowledge that was provided and learned most amazing. Great teamwork among the team and management coaching style. Great challanges and trouble shooting problems everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment was confortable and celebrated birthdays monthly
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: the working enviroment was warm
Cons: not having any health benefit
A typical day at work includes processing credit for customers' account and shipping parts for customers following up with Canada Post for missing packages, and tracking packages via Purolator.

I have learned to be determine and followup with customer complaints.

I got along well with all my co-workers and management team.

The hardest part of the – more... wait was the waiting period, waiting for answers from companies and have irate customers and not being able to give an answer.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the people i worked with. They were always willing to listen and give a helping hand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful company
Sales Audit Associate (Temp) (Former Employee), toronto, ONAugust 16, 2012
Pros: group parties and great culture
Great team and leaders
weekends off
great pay and benefits
great support system
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Zellers (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCAugust 16, 2012
Pros: free snacks
Cons: short hours
short days, lots of work, learning new ways to put objects together, great management, great co-workers. the hardest job was cleaning up nasty spills. the most enjoyable part of the job was working with great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Supervisor (Former Employee), Listowel, ONAugust 4, 2012
I enjoyed everyday that I worked for Hbc. They were a growing company which allowed assoicates to learn new skills and advance as they saw fit. I had the opportunity to work in many areas of the business which gave me a very rounded view and challenged me to grow and keep motivated, The most enjoyable part of the job were the customers and helping them – more... with their many problem solving issues. The hardest part of the job was watching it close down. As a loyal associate I grew not only to enjoy the job and customers but also my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment - learned many different skills and strengths.
Human Resources and Service Manager (Former Employee), London, OntarioJuly 10, 2012
Pros: held bbq days for staff and customers - very enjoyable. also various events in-store - contests, midnight madness sales, etc.
Cons: at times, additional tasks and longer hours required but no problem.
Excellent work environment. In my role as Human Resources and Service Manager I interacted daily with employees and customers. Job was very rewarding in helping to teach and guide as well as resolve and satisfy associates issues and concerns and provide great customer service to keep our customers loyal. Enjoyed working with my co-workers and I believe – more... my efforts to maintain a good morale within the store helped to make the workplace more enjoyable - very important. At times, needed to juggle many tasks and special events required longer hours and more work but the results proved successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging work environment
Distribution and Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee), Washington, PAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: enjoyable work and co-workers
Cons: low staff and untrustworthy hr department.
I coordinate the efforts of the inventory team to identify and solve inventory issues during the production shift. I enjoy the challenge of problem solving. I have learned how to think outside the box to solve difficult issues. I enjoy my co-workers and immediate supervision.
The most difficult part of the job is staff retention and cross training through – more... out the different job types. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people and good working place
Beauty Exclusive Sales Assistant / Cashier (Former Employee), PhilippinesJune 18, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: healthcare/ short breaks
• friendly service by actively seeking out customers to assess their needs and provide assistance.
• Process the cash payment, check payment, and credit cards transactions. Promoting/Endorsing product
• Part of the job is promoting the promo or products on sale.

*I learned how to be a good salesperson .

*The management is good in terms of handling – more... people.

*Good employee-employer relationship.

*The hardest part of my job is when there is a customer complaints but I know how to deal with it.

*The most enjoyable part of my job is when there is a customer satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is definitely a clique
Clerk, Harris Teeter (Current Employee), Kill Devil Hills, NCMay 17, 2014
Pros: great customers and a few co-workers
Cons: lousy workers, overworked and underpaid
Not the best place to work considering no one wants to actually work as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WITH ANNUAL PARTY FOR EMPLOYEES
STORE MANAGER / MULTI TASK/ ALL AROUND EMPLOYEE (Former Employee), PHILIPPINESMarch 19, 2014
a typical day at work we are always happy assisting customers

a have learned so many sales techniques in their seminar

the management are approachable

my co workers are so friendly

the hardest part of the job is the annual inventory because you have to work so long hours up to 16 hours straight duty.

my enjoyable part of the job when you your customer – more... happy because of the service and the product we gave to them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Shifts
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Meadow Lands, PAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: benefits/union
Cons: management/percent standard
While some may see it as an easy job, others cannon cope with the long mandatory hours required. Management aside it is a good job with nice people. Most of the management is not helpful and often tries to micro manage. Also be weary here, though it may be a union postion HR will find ways to fire people left & right. The benefits are second to none – more... and the pay is good but this company does not care for its employees, example, they give you $25 gift card to THEIR store for a holiday bonus. lastly you work on a percentage system were you must work at least 95% productivity, inactivity can result in punishment after multiple "PCW's". ALL in ALL great short term job 1 to 3 years but not a great place for a career, no job advancement, at all. – less

About Hbc

The Hudson's Bay Company, abbreviated HBC, or "The Bay" ("La Baie" in French) is the oldest commercial corporation in North America – Read more