Harvey's Restaurant Employee Reviews

Found 84 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free foood
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB18 May 2017
THIS WOULD BE AN EXCELLENT beginning place for a student. I loved working there because of the people and the free food. I recommend anyone beginning in the food industry start there i think they are currently hiring.
Pros
free food, great hours and benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first Job
Garnisher (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB15 May 2017
i was very young when i worked here and had several buddies i worked with and got to learn a lot my experience was fun and i learned a lot about customer care/service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 May 2017
working in Harvey's was really fun because people got along with each other and had really good customers. for example at the end of the night everyone with helping each other with everything.
Pros
friendly works
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON26 April 2017
When I was working at Harvey's I was working all the time and showing that I am efficient at my work and that I don't sit around like the students do when they are busy using their cell phones.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sooooo long ago
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON19 April 2017
sooooo long ago dont remember all i remember was management was bad at the time and i was in high school when i worked here the job it sef wasnt horrible from what i remember
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Cook (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON11 April 2017
Very fun atmosphere. The boss was great to work with, and so were the employees. A fast-paced environment that required team work and independence. Great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for my second job
Sales Associate and Garnishee (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON29 March 2017
It was okay for my second job. I made really good friends whom I still talk to. The pay is minimum wage and the management sucks though... not very professional. Treats their employees like dogs.
Pros
50% off meals during break
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 March 2017
The Staff are Fantastic and Fair Treat you like Family, Hardest part of the job was dealing under the stress of customers you never knew how the next one would behave most were friendly though
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
some staff weren't ok with listening
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unbalanced and unequal work distribution
Food Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  British Columbia8 March 2017
Personally, working on that particular Branch didn't push that nice on my part. management specially owner and manager's have attitude problem. i'm still thankful to them
Pros
balance staff
Cons
no free meal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good
Cashier/Garnisher (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON26 February 2017
Working at harveys is a very good place to work to earn esperience. People there are very nice and understanding. Great customers, not hard. Very fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Fry Cook, Cook, Garnishee (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2017
Great place to work.Very energetic people to always work with during the day and or at night. i would recommend this job to a colleague
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
long hours, paying for food. short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Garnisher, Cashier, Grill (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON25 January 2017
They are still kind to me although my time has come to an end. The hours were great. The management were rude. But other staff was very nice. Overall good first job.
Pros
Flexible with hours
Cons
Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Cashier, Garnisher, Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 December 2016
Great food, great people great learning experience. Many food options to satisfy all customers. Limited time food specials are always going whether its a new type of burger or 2 for 1 on burgers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but in shambles
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON30 November 2016
makeshift with equipment subpar management and trash employees they suck bad vibes individuals must be self taught and it is not easy to get along
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Newmarket1 November 2016
I enjoyed working with my colleagues to serve the community and customers our the restaurant. There was opportunities to promote from within.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Hands on
cashier, food preparation (Current Employee) –  222 hunt club rd17 October 2016
The job is very tedious. There is a demand for great customer service and a good attitude. It is important to be able stay on task and find different jobs to do during your shift so you aren't standing around.

It helped with developing productivity and initiative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 July 2016
this was my first job and by far best. this workplace taught many fundamental work and life skills that will help me in my future. great management team.
Pros
free food
Cons
busy restaurant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific workplace with unrealistic HR expectations
Cashier/Garnisher (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ON28 June 2016
My team at work is often terrific and I work with some of the most earnest and hard working employees I've ever met. However work hour cuts leading to under staffing and forcing employees (including myself) to work stressful/unpaid hours has made the job taxing and unenjoyable. While we aren't being told to work unpaid hours, it has become an expectation of us. Being told to come off of my legally sanctioned break time only part way through it to come back to work has been my last straw.
Pros
Great, friendly staff
Cons
Unreasonable expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Fast food attendant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 June 2016
typical day at work was giving customer service and performing tasks in a team enviorment. The managment was easy to get along with but not all was properly trained
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kind coworkers and manager, fast paced and harsh authority
garnisher (Former Employee) –  Lasalle, QC18 June 2016
-good hours
-kind coworkers
-mostly kind customers
-kind management
-abusive boss
-high pressure and stress inducing orders from boss
-underwhelming discounts on food
-cleaning, garnishing, cashier
-hard to move up and get role as cashier
-new staff very common
Pros
good work hours (20+, gives days off)
Cons
abuse from boss when he is stressed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvey's Restaurant. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 90 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4