HARRIS REBAR Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Ironworker Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 June 2017
Great company with great benefits. This is a very hard job. A day in agony is a day in the life of an Ironworker. You should have a hard skin to work hear. Not for the faint of heart.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detailer
Detailer (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS15 May 2017
Manager needed to be appeased. Enough said. The fellow employees were great and the work was fine. No training was provided however. The radio HAD to be on all day and we weren't allowed to wear our own headphones because the manager wanted to be able to yell to all of us at once without waiting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB3 May 2017
Loved my job. Loved my manager. Loved the work.

Learned a great deal about rebar and the rebar industry.

Made lifelong friends

Work hard play hard
Pros
People, Work, Money
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great global company
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 April 2017
Fantastic working environment, wonderful people to work for. Great staff, diverse, flexible and always busy! A wonderful company to work for!! A very interesting and flexible company. A pleasure to have had that experience.
Pros
Great locations
Cons
Competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy fast paced environment
COR certified Safety Advisor/Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 March 2017
If you like working hard and building bridges and skyscrapers this is the company that probably has all the major work in western Canada a great company to work for
Pros
good pay
Cons
exhausting work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Worker (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan21 February 2017
Senior management is only after bottom line resulting in poor branch level management. Poor safety reps. Smoke and mirrors.Friends and Relatives hired into positions and then do very little . Nucor core values makes a great poster to hang on harris walls but its
no match to the buddy system
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Security managment safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sheer Operator (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB13 January 2017
was there for I think 6 years and made it to one of the highest positions we could get to before moving up to foreman. so that being said in order to get that position the foreman would have had to quit or get fired and that wasn't going to happen anytime soon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Iron Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 January 2017
worked on lots of big projects at high profile job sites. the management was great with finding you work on slow days. the guys you wou work with are great. very helpful with training and teaching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy
Div. Of Harris - Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 December 2016
Coordinate essential personnel on-site for the project.

Communicate and enforce all safety regulations.

Manage supplies, materials and equipment.

Plan, direct and budget activities concerned with the construction of structures, facilities or systems.

Read and interpret site plans, construction drawings and scopes of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging career
Ironworker (reinforcing) (Current Employee) –  British Columbia18 September 2016
Working in any career that is based on a demand for the trade has its challenges. I am changing careers because of that reason. Being an Ironworker is still pretty cool.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had fun while I worked for them
Welder/Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC25 July 2016
I was working for them up in Kittimat I was there for 6 months it was fun. Everyone was cool met a lot of cool people and worked hard 12-14 HR days.
Pros
Lots of breaks, free gear
Cons
Long hours away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, never a dull moment
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 July 2016
Cut, bend, and deliver rebar for specified customer orders. Faced paced, always moving, Full time hours, 5 days a week. Enjoyable job with great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a decent place to work
DRIVER / SAFETY (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB29 April 2016
I really enjoyed working with this company, when the economy slowed I was laid off, I miss working there, good environment and excellent management.
Pros
great enviroment
Cons
couple of sour grapes
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Bender (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 December 2015
Bend rebar and load trailers
how to use a heavy duty bender and stack rebar
management is easy going and good to work for
co-workers are nice and easy to work with
getting rebar ready for cutting and bending
loading the trailers and the end of the day
Pros
pay day every friday
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My RevIew on Harris Rebar
SHIPPING/RECEIVING COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB17 September 2015
My day required me to create Bill of Ladings, that I generated for customer and product purposes.
I would reassure customer that they were getting billed correctly for the correct product.
I learned to work in a multi fast industry. Where my attention to detail could never lack.
Management was very good and efficient
As I only had 1 co- worker, it made for an easy work relationship
I loved the diversity of my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, supportive managment
CAGE MACHINE OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB21 August 2015
Great co workers, Safety comes first, lots of opportunity, occasional staff BBQs, good hours, constantly learning new skills
Pros
Good management
Cons
The pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Shop
Machine Operator/Welder (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 May 2015
Schnell operator
I liked this job, it was extremely fast paced and I performed well.
Under pressure most days to fill orders I learned how to deal with the pressure and also that under those circumstances I thrive.

Co-workers made the job. It was a close knit family of guys who relied on each others safety, assistance when needed and to keep things fun.
Pros
Close to home, relationship with coworkers, Ot
Cons
Tolerance for sick/compassionate days zero, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a work out and fun
Shop hand (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 March 2015
Harris Rebar is the most unsafe company I've ever worked for. We produced a lot of work. The training was terrible I learned but was never taught the proper procedures. I enjoyed getting paid every week hardest part of the job was tying small rings of 15 m favorite part was learning metric measurements
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
General Foreman/ Superintendent (Former Employee) –  LMRP Kapuskasing, Ont.11 February 2015
I believe their was too much inexperienced people in control of this specific project, and each had their own ideas.It needed one person to take charge. Unfortunately I did not start near the beginning of the project and therefore did not get an opportunity. I had a very good working relationship with the general contractor, Kiewit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive environment
Accounting Administrator - Temp Contract (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON21 September 2014
A good company to work for. Supportive and friendly co-workers. Management is helpful and takes direct interest in supporting all arrears of administration. Company in whole has a family value to it, and it was wonderful to see in my brief contract assignment how much everyone put so much effort in supporting fundraising up to little events such baby showers and birthdays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HARRIS REBAR. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8