Harlan Laboratories Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animal Care
Animal Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Dublin, VAJanuary 8, 2016
I enjoyed the animals but the management was poor. They treated their employees like dirt and worked them like a dog. I loved my co workers and the animals the work was not hard just the management was terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job....
Animal Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Haslett, MIOctober 11, 2015
A typical day at work consists of going in at 6 am and getting out before 3pm everyday. The management is pretty flexible the hours and on what time you get there as long you work 8 hours and that you get there between 5 and 6:30am and you leave by 2:30pm. The job itself is not hard at all and doesn't require any schooling what so ever. Just training by a co-worker. Basically you make sure the animals are healthy and happy and make sure the cages are cleaned and the work area is free of dirt and bacteria. I worked with chickens so I learned a lot about chickens and how they work and yes I even came to like them.
The benefits are good since you start out getting 4 hours of paid time off for every 2-weeks of pay and the insurance isn't bad either. There is even a 401K program. The management was a little lax for my liking but you do get to work with minimal supervision as long as the job is getting done. And it was close to home and it payed the bills.
Even with all that, the larger picture was that this job is the starting point for research and production of the measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine so it was great to know that working here was part of a larger cause.
Pros
Great hours and benefits
Cons
No advancement, repeatitive
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Ex Animal tech (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis IsolatorsAugust 5, 2015
Typical work day is 9-12 hours a day you can have 8 hours however you have to be so fast at your job. I had 962 mice that was 3 units when people quit you had 162-300 or more on top of what you already had. Harlan is a blood sucking company if you can do more the more they will ask plus you have to be a janitor and do laundry it is everyone's job on top of your units no bonus, no pay raises except when they feel like it start pay is 10.15 might go up to 10.35-10.40 in 2 years there are people making 10.65 after 5 years. Raises are not across the board they have a PEI which is what your mouse unit goal range is so if you mice die and don't produce enough off spring future breeders your PEI goes down and affects your raise. On the bright side if you love favoritism and know how to brown nose supervisors the job is perfect but don't get on the bad side you will be out of click. Coworkers are all good some bad very very high school in behavior. You will be dog tired every day this is a very very stressed mentally and physically job. Hardest part about the job is the box room gets real hot up to 75-80 degrees no air conditioning with coveralls on. The other bad part to the job is the units are very close together if you have COPD the units are so close they will be suffocating to you. Harlan does not care about your well being only how much they can suck the life out of you for the sake of money lots over time and a wonderful cup cake at the end to show your worth .
Pros
none if you love being worked to death
Cons
I have nothing good to say about to say
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but more wanted
Full time work (Current Employee) –  Blackthorn, ENGJanuary 26, 2015
To help maintain the hygiene and cleanliness of the building. Also provide access to fresh food and water at all times. Clean the stock cages and enrichment and make sure they are safe for the stock use. Provide daily health checks and deal with any tasks passed down from the supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Driver/Logistics (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDDecember 30, 2014
HARLAN LABORITORIES
Customer Service and Sales
Responsible for the accountability of product delivered on a daily basis.
Use of manifests to determine delivery date and location along with serial numbered product.
To complete daily reports of product delivered, mileage, and customer comments.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was my own boss
Animal Technician I bread and clean (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, INOctober 30, 2014
I would do paper work, ordering store, inventories, baking, cook, clean my DM was great the hardest part of the job was making sure every shift was covered and sometimes having to work 80 hours a week to do so.
Pros
i love working with people
Cons
the money
Was this review helpful?Yes6No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedium and repetition.
Animal Technician (Current Employee) –  Haslett, MIOctober 1, 2014
The bottom line of working at the Haslett Harlan location is that we do the same thing every single day. If that's what you like to do then it could be a good job. This is assuming you can get past the smell that thousands of rodents can make. Almost every person working their is very pleasant, though they are almost exclusively uneducated. Those that aren't pleasant though.... Well, she holds a position of power and, for some reason, seems unfirable. She's absurdly lazy and does everything she can to get out of doing her work. I'm getting cranky describing this place so I'm going to end it here. Find work elsewhere unless you're truly desperate.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks
DRIVER (Current Employee) –  INJune 18, 2014
This company was just sold. Workers are lazy and management does nothing to comply.If you want to have manager that doesn't stick up for his employees then this is your place
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes33No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great people to work with :-)
Lab Technician, Ecotoxicology Dept (Current Employee) –  DerbyshireApril 27, 2014
All in all not a bad place to work,i work with some great people and some not so great as you could say with most companies.

Unfortunately there are those who just wont work as a team which can make your day not so enjoyable but on the whole my days go by quite quickly.

Harlan is a great place for anyone wishing to gain lab experience before moving on for pastures new.
Pros
local
Cons
lack of team play and having to work some weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes8No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cage washing tech (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDMarch 23, 2014
loved working with the People I was with. the Management was great and helpful
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes5No25
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, different
PSS (Former Employee) –  Cumberland< INFebruary 23, 2014
I like it but they dont pay much, but sense what we do saves lifes I am all down for it.
Pros
everyone there is nice
Cons
dealing with dead animals
Was this review helpful?Yes9No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid.
Manager (Former Employee) –  IndianapolisDecember 3, 2013
Where to start? I'm upset with myself for choosing this place and sticking around for too long. If you want to lose your skill set, be faced with endless mind-numbingly inconsistent procedures, and work with an upper management trying to figure out how to work together and avoid the back-stabbing long term uneducated 25+ year employees; then this is the place for you. This is not a business to be proud; it's rodents. You lower your standards and tell yourself it's for research (drink the koolaid), and then you realize how poorly equipped this place is to deal with their own incompetence. It's embarrassing to have this place listed on a resume. It's appalling what goes on here.
Pros
entertaining bar fights courtesy of sales leadership.
Cons
too many in nearly all areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes63No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harlan is a good place to begin
Microbiology technician (Current Employee) –  Derby, ENGSeptember 23, 2013
A good starting point to a career in the life sciences. A good company with good values. A wide range of staff backgrounds, which has lead to under qualified individuals awarded roles in which they are not the best candidate.
Pros
good hours, early finishes, constant workload, great people
Cons
no progression opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes14No26
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting & varied job
Study/Laboratory Support (Current Employee) –  DerbyFebruary 16, 2013
To primarily provide administration support to study staff in preparation of study files, study reports and IUCLID summaries; working closely with Study Directors compiling, checking and reviewing these documents. To conduct technical procedures as required for the ecotoxicity studies performed by the department. Ensuring that all work allocated is completed efficiently and to the highest standards in accordance with the current Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) and Good Laboratory Procedures (GLP). Ensuring a full awareness of the requirements of GLP and SOPs.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No30
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job closed
Animal Technician (Former Employee) –  Branchburg, NJAugust 20, 2012
care for lab animals. very tedious job. the facility closed in 2011 due to reduction of workforce & no investment made in products sold
Pros
n/a
Cons
job closed
Was this review helpful?Yes19No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kunden und dienstleistungsorientiert
Telefonistin / Empfang (Current Employee) –  Itingen, BLJune 11, 2015
Ein typischer Tag: Ich gewähre einen reibungslosen Empfang, sowie die Betreuung der Besucher und Lieferanten unter Einhaltung der Sicherheitsanweisungen.
Ausbildung: Verkaufslehre EVZ
Weiterbildung: 30 Jahe Erfahrung im Empfang und alsTefefonistin.
Management: Kunden- und dienstleistungsorientiertes Arbeiten.
Meine Kollegen: Ich schätze an meinen Arbeitskollegen, das freundliche,pünktliche und leistungsorientierte Verhalten, um die Anforderungen der Firma und den Beitrag am effizienten Arbeitstag best möglichst zu erfüllen.
Was gefällt: Der typische Tag mit neuen Herausforderungen der Kunden, der Lieferanten und der Austausch mit den Mitarbeitern und Vorgesetzten.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
buen ambiente de trabajo
Tecnico de laboratorio (Former Employee) –  Castellar del Vallès, CTDecember 4, 2013
el dia a dia del trabajo era muy ameno ya que se realizaban distintas funciones no era nada monotono.
Aprendi desde las diferentes tecnicas de extraccion de sangre en distintos animales igual que a sondar a separar muestras de sangre, calibracion de material de laboratorio y a tratar con muchas especies animales
Was this review helpful?Yes3No15

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.1