Find companies:
Hampton Inn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
827 reviews

Hampton Inn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Management.
Front Desk Clerk, Reservations (Former Employee), Cocoa Beach, FLJune 24, 2014
Great staff.
Fun work environment.
Monthly employee meetings = free buffet style lunch and raffles.
Management took time to send birthday cards, thank you cards for years of employment with the company, etc.
You regularly deal with happy guests who are excited to be on vacation.
Owners and management appreciate all staff and show it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity for Advancement
Front Office Manager (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILJune 23, 2014
Pros: great advancement opportunities, meeting people from all walks of like
Cons: hard to balance work and life in the hotel business in general
Hard work and an understanding of the business will get you far with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice atmosphere
Front Desk Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), Greenville, MSJune 22, 2014
Pros: the guest, atmosphere
Cons: no benefits, healthcare, nor evaluations to determine raises
Loved meeting new people traveling getting to know them was always a nice pass time while checking in a guest.

I was very interested in learning the traits for payroll and accounts receivable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up and coming hotel
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 21, 2014
This Hampton Inn was an up and coming hotel franchise at the time. They did not have security cameras so I did not feel safe. The work environment, management, staff and atmosphere were a pleasure, however.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Cookeville, TNJune 19, 2014
Learned point-of-sale and rewards systems. The hardest part was getting along with a co-worker who liked no one. The best part of the job was getting to meet people and help them along their journey.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hampton Inn was a grate experience
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 19, 2014
Pros: we out on great lunch brakes
a great place to work had good experience very good team of people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous schedule, rude employees
Housekeeper/ Breakfast (Former Employee), Cleburne, TXJune 19, 2014
Pros: a job
Cons: a waste of time, which equals a waste of money
Hired on as morning shift only, was only hired to serve breakfast around 6-6:30 AM. Was required to be in at 4:30 AM to begin cooking, and was to be ready to serve guests by 7 AM. After breakfast, was to help housekeeping with laundry. Would be asked to stay until around 6 PM pushing 7 PM. Wouldn't ever find the manager at work. Minimum wage, no benefits, – more... horrible scheduling... absolutely NO advancement options. Wont do this again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 years
Front Desk/ Breakfast Hostess (Current Employee), Toledo, OHJune 18, 2014
Pros: great money
Cons: never received pay increase
I worked for this company for 5 years. I was great at my job as a waitress. Always made the guest the main priority. Management on the other hand was terrible. So was ownership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to be involved in.
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Eden, NCJune 17, 2014
I enjoyed my co-workers. Working as a team got the job done in a timely and fashionable manner. I enjoyed meeting and greeting our customers' they were more like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PROFESSIONAL PEOPLE
Housekeeper (Former Employee), JACKSONVILLE FLAJune 17, 2014
ILIKE THE CUTOMERS AND I LOVE THIS TAX PREPARING JOB AND THIS JOB IS LOCATION IS JACKSONVILLE FL
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like the hours
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Swansboro, NCJune 17, 2014
Pros: limited free breakfast
Cons: lack of management
Housekeepers typically never have the items that we need to start our day. We constantly are walking the hallways looking for bedding, linens, or vacuums, or the items we need to properly stock the rooms. We often have to share vacuums with other housekeepers. My co-workers want to get paid but they don't want to work, they are outside taking smoke – more... breaks every 30-40 mins, then expect others to help them complete their rooms. Lack of competent management. The hardest part of working here is being expected to go help others who are undeserving of help and never give help in return. I enjoy the hours (8:30-your rooms are done)
There is no room for advancement here, whether in positions or raises. Over worked and under paid. House keepers are not appreciated for the work that we do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i hate it there
Maintenance worker (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAJune 12, 2014
ros – great discount, lots of downtime.

Cons – long hours, indicisive management, corporate policies are extensive, too much red tape

Advice to Senior Management – cut the fat. get rid of the people that don't want to work here and learn to appreciate the ones that do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hotel jobs teach someone patience and ability to multi-task
Night Auditor/ GSA (Current Employee), Dayton, OHJune 12, 2014
Pros: meeting people from all walks of life.
Cons: never close.
The hotel industry is one of the most exciting jobs someone can experience. You meet people from all walks of life. To work in the hotel business, it takes someone that is truly a people person and able to work under stress and at a very fast pace.

As front desk agents, we are the face of the hotel. Always remember the 10 - 5 rule. Which is 10ft you – more... make eye contact with the guest and 5ft you speak to the guest.

There is always something to do rather it is looking at today's arrivals and any special request or future arrivals that might have special needs or look to see why the guest will be staying out your hotel. This is a time to really "WOW the guest rather it is a happy or sad reason they are staying at our hotel and that it is home away from home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Burlington, WIJune 10, 2014
Pros: almost everything
Cons: i had to attend the university to work there
I was able to do my job and if it was slow workpace, i could work on homework or go on the computer. The managers were compassionate and empathized with your situation. I got along with everyone. The hardest part was dealing with customers complaints. the most enjoyable were the perks. I got to workout for free. I had weekends off. it was a very flexible – more... schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PALCE TO WORK AT ENVIOREMENT WAS GREAT STAFF WAS A TEAM
Receptionist (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAJune 10, 2014
Pros: gift certificates
Cons: no break room
TYPICAL DAY AT WORK WOULD BE COME IN AND PREPARE BREAKFAST FOR GUEST AND DO ROOM SERVICE WHICH MEANT CLEANING ROOMS RESTROOMS STOCKING WATERS CRACKERS ETC. I LEARNED THAT CUSTOMER SERVICE SHOULD ALWAYS BE GREAT TREAT GUEST/CLIENTS AS FAMILY. MY CO-WORKERS WERE GREAT WE ALL PLAYED AS A TEAM.THE HARDEST PART OF MY JOB WAS GETTING UP AT 2:30 IN THE AM – more... TO PREPARE BREAKFAST BUT AS THE CLOCK WOULD GO THE DAY BECAME EASIER.THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART WAS TO SEE THE GUEST HAPPY AND SATISFIED WITH OUR JOB, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Laundry Attendant/Housekeeper (Former Employee), Leeds, AlabamaJune 9, 2014
Pros: being caught up on hotel linen.
Cons: not getting help when needed.
Getting laundry caught up for the hotel.
Hardest part of the job was getting behind on laundry and not getting help when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team work very friendly staff
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Princeton, WVJune 9, 2014
Pros: great team
Cons: not enough time
great people to work with we always had a good time
go to work grab supplies clean rooms greet costomers if one finished before another we helped each other out
learned to stop being so shy and how to correctly clean their rooms
co-workers were very nice enjoyable people to be around
hardest part was getting the rooms cleaned on time especially when – more... there was trash everywhere and no extra time for the extra work needed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Favorite Job of ALL
Asst Executive Housekeeper/Hostess/Front Desk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ILJune 9, 2014
Pros: everything!
Cons: the co-workers smoking
A typical day was day was when I had to clean 24 room in less than 7 hours, and most the time I skipped breaks. I enjoyed cleaning, it felt like I accomplished something. I learned out to remove tough stains from floors and inspect rooms completely (even when I go to visit a hotel for a break). My co-workers were awesome! We always worked as a team, – more... if one fell behind being somebody had a destroyed room, we'd pitch in and help. Over all, I can't say any bad about the job than I seemed to be the only non smoker in the break room. Blah!!! LOL – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful work environment
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Kuttawa, KYJune 7, 2014
start the day with a staff meeting
load cart, start cleaning rooms
how to clean a room better
very judgmental, shows favoritism
unlike was treated badly
taking the judgement from all
leaving the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Stroudsburg, PAJune 6, 2014
had fun making sure guest were always satisfied also always good people around wasn't really a hard job

About Hampton Inn

Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus/Polaris is owned and operated by Buffalo Lodging Associates, LLC, a hotel development & – Read more

Hampton Inn Photos