Find companies:
Hampton Inn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
999 reviews

Hampton Inn Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work!
Receptionist (Current Employee), Wausau, WIDecember 11, 2014
Pros: hotel discounts all over world wide
Cons: we dont have breaks as for reciptionist.
I work 2nd shift and I've only been here at the Hampton inn for 6 months. I love working here, we have a great team work. My manager never failed to teach me anything new or helped me with anything I was struggling with. Everybody always has a positive attitude, always has a smile on. We always make sure our guest is satisfied with the stay at our hotel. – more... what I love the most about Hampton inns property is that we offer 100 % satisfaction guarantee. which means if your not satisfied with your stay we will handle the room payment for you and you will have a free night with us. This really builds a relationship with our guest. Because we would not want you to pay a room at a high price and did not experience a good stay with us. We will always complete our guest needs, which I feel is very important. I've learned a lot from this property and being a receptionist. The hardest part of this job is when reservations are charged with a different credit card. Guest's gets really angry, i will inform my guest that we can find a way to handle that. Sometimes if I don't have the authorization to do that for a guest I will transfer them to my general manager. And also leave a note to let her know what's the situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), South Plainfield, NJDecember 10, 2014
I would always check to reservations and write up the key holders.
Greet guest as they come and go. Around dinner time we had warm cookies and popcorn. it was such a pleasant place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for Hilton
Coordinator (Former Employee), Humble, TXDecember 9, 2014
Pros: meeting stars, discounts
Cons: standing and short breaks
Working in a hotel is never a dull moment. You meet many new people and really have to exercise your customer service. Learning how to handle stressful situations come in handy in and out of work. You know your doing your job when you inspire management. Your employees depend on you to be there and on time. If ever there is time you can't usually they – more... always have your back. The hardest part of the job was the long periods of standing but it pays off when that one customer commends you for your smile when they walk thru the doors. The most enjoyable moments are our parties and bonding moments. Those memories will last a lifetime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME place to work
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Chandler, AZDecember 8, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I worked a B-Shift (3PM-11PM) and it was the BEST shift. The managers were so appreciative, and helping. They were, in my opinion the best people I have worked with. Everyone was like a family. We all cared about each other, and loved each other. Everyone was always there for each other. And I really enjoyed working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Chief Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee), Daytona Beach, FLDecember 7, 2014
Pros: management, employees
Cons: budget just like every where
Owners and management are very inclined to do what needs to be done to get the job done right. Customers come first
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Guest Service Supervisor/Front Office Manager (Current Employee), Washington, PaDecember 6, 2014
A typical day at the Hampton Inn & Suites would be a typical day at any hotel; I checked guests in & out, among many other manager duties. I've learned just about all you can about a hotel from working here. I have done everything from houseman to General Manager duties. My coworkers are awesome, friendly and upbeat. The most enjoyable part of my job – more... is interacting with the guests. The Hampton Inn & Suites is a small hotel located in a small town. We have a lot of regular guests and a lot of the oil & gas industry stays with us. I love getting to know these people and what they like. They love that I remember their name, or their wives names when I ask about them. I love the hotel environment because it's always changing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Sioux Falls, SDDecember 2, 2014
You are constantly on your feet, the environment is great, the people are fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 2, 2014
I enjoy doing the housekeeping work. I feel that if the Hotel was ran alot better that we wouldnt get the scores that we do. Overall I wouldnt mind continuing dong this kind of work just another hotel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Houekeeper (Current Employee), Springfield, ILDecember 1, 2014
A typical day at work is fast and alot of talking and moving.
I learned how to become 100% committed to a room.
Our management is very tight.
My co-workers are very friendly and very helpful.
The hardest part of my job is making sure you dont forget anything, not one thing.
The most enjoyable part of my job is making a room perfect and making the guest – more... happy so they give a high score and i get a tip. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy but boring.
public space/maintenance (Current Employee), Presque Isle, MEDecember 1, 2014
Pros: discounts on rooms, paid holidays, vacation time.
Cons: can't trust anyone, no room for advancement, bad scheduling.
It's an easy job, basically just cleaning everything. The problem is scheduling and management. Being scheduled for a night shift (3-11) and then having to come in the next day for a day shift (7-3) is hard on anyone. Management doesn't seem to care about the employees as long as they come in and do their work. There were a lot of empty promises made – more... during the interview, such as a guaranteed 40 hours a week when I'm 4, sometimes 8, hours shy. Too many rumors floating around about everyone that works here, a lot of hypocracy from management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An alright environment.
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Lansing, MichiganDecember 1, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: no benefits
A typical day at work for me is coming in, clocking in, and getting right to work. I've learned a lot as far as how to run an hotel and the importances of what's need to be done in order to run an hotel. Our management are very hard working people who does a pretty good job of keeping the hotel as one of the best in Lansing as well as the co-workers. – more... I'd say the hardest part of the job can sometimes be the attitudes of some of the unhappy guest we have here. The most enjoyable is simply payday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active and fun workplace
Housekeeper/Laundry person (Former Employee), Greenwood, MsNovember 30, 2014
I enjoyed coming into work because it was filled with humor, fun, and excitement. I got my work done and was still happy about working their.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Security/concierge/bellman (Former Employee), 102-40 Ditmars blvd, East Elmhurst, N.Y.November 23, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: one guard on duty at a time
Dealt with illegal activities, crowd control, monitor CCTV and acted as busboy. I had to patrol the entire property by myself including the parking long. There was a homeless shelter next door so I had to deal with those situations as well. I had to deal with marijuana smoking in room and staircases. I also acted as the busboy and knew our regular guests – more... on a first name basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment. We strive for outstanding customer service.
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCNovember 21, 2014
Pros: having a positive impact on guests and associates, making loyal guests and customers, employee appreciation
Cons: healthcare benefits, no long term benefits, high employee turnover
My day starts by clocking in and greeting guests. I then go over notes and comments with the desk clerk about events that occurred prior to the start of my shift and the previous night. After that's complete, I "break out the house" for the housekeeping staff. That consists of assigning a designated amount of rooms for them to clean for that day. Throughout – more... the day I check emails, address guest complaints, check inventory and order supplies. I also work with Microsoft Excel, Word and PowerPoint. I started out as a housekeeper and have learned and promoted greatly. I have been a positive leader and example to my fellow coworkers, as well as my supervisors. The hardest part of my job would be ensuring that everything is completed at the close of the day. You know there's never enough hours in the day. The best part of my job would be planning events, employee functions, and getting to meet so many wonderful guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
Auditor/Front Desk (Former Employee), Solon, OHNovember 21, 2014
The management at my hotel was great. The pay is not very good. If you are interested in this industry it is not a bad place to work. This was't a job I had any interest in. I don't have anything more to add.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at work
House Keeping (Current Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 20, 2014
Pros: 30$ a night at any hotel with the company
Cons: in the winter the hours get cut.
My typical day at work is basically quite simple, I am assigned a number of rooms on what ever floor I am working that day. I proceed to my cart and start off on my assign rooms. I assist guests throughout the day making sure they are enjoying their stay. What I learned was to make sure each guest is satisfied and if anything, hoping they are well pleased – more... with my hard work cleaning each room to my best ability, I have also gotten alot comfortable with different guests and situations some good some bad, management is somewhat fair, but there are times where things are a problem, they sometimes tend to side with the mexicans working there, if there is an issue they are quick to make an excuse for them, because majority do not speak full english , which is understandable, but there are times where it isn't fair to the rest of the housekeepers working there. My co- workers are okay, but I do not speak spanish, so it is sometimes are to understand some of them, I tend to speak when spoken to to keep the problems down, but there are times where some of them are starting problems, things that aren't that important, for an example : one of them tried to accuse me of stealing their lunch, then when I was completely honest and told them I didn't they proceeded to have one of the other co-workers look on my cart without my permission, which I had showed them my whole bag of lunch on break which didn't have any of their lunch in my bag. The hardest part of the job is really the guests complaints, sometimes I can do the best job ever and there could be a complaint about something anyway, its really on how you handle the situation, which is professionally. The most enjoyable part of the job is you get to meet new people, gain more customer service and have pride in what you do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Houseman (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYNovember 20, 2014
● Cleaned hallways, restrooms, lobby, fitness, pool areas, elevators, and outside of building grounds.
● Emptied waste baskets, emptied and transported other trash and waste to disposal areas.
● Replenished supplies such as linens and bathroom items.
● Kept storage areas and carts well-stocked, clean, and tidy.
● Swept, scrubbed, mopped floors, using – more... brooms, mops, and rags.
● Cleaned rugs, carpets, upholstered furniture, draperies, using vacuum cleaners and/or shampooers.
● Washed windows, walls, ceilings, and woodwork, waxed and polished as necessary.
● Carrier linens, towels, toilet items, and cleaning supplies, using wheeled carts or by hand as needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORKED 3DR SHIFT GOOD HOURS
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Roxboro, NCNovember 18, 2014
Pros: had my entire day to my self
Cons: pay was not good and not advancements
LOVED MEETING NEW PEOPLE
LOVED WORKING 3RD SHIFT
CO WORKERS WAS NICE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new managemnet in not prepared for this job
front desk associate (Former Employee), Borger, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: discouns at any hilton hotel
Cons: eight hour shifts can be exhausting
Love working for Hilton and with coworkers. When new management came in the atmosphere got very uncomfortable and was super stressing working for the new general manager. I enjoyed helping guests and being able to actually interact with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive staff, with complementary breakfeast
Front Desk Clerk/Night Audit (Former Employee), Westchester, ILNovember 17, 2014
My day would start off getting a cup of coffee in the morning before my shift, after clocking in i would talk with the manager and the last desk clerk to relay information about the guest and groups that were at our hotel, after that i would balance the cash drawer and clean up around the front desk, i would have to say the most enjoyable part in working – more... there was talking and getting to know the guest, and helping them out with whatever they needed. the hardest part of the job was cleaning rooms when they weren't ready and find guest another hotel if we were booked – less

About Hampton Inn

Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus/Polaris is owned and operated by Buffalo Lodging Associates, LLC, a hotel development & – Read more