Find companies:
Hamilton Health Sciences
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Hamilton Health Sciences Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchasing
Purchasing (Former Employee), St PetersNovember 18, 2014
Pros: collegues eager to perform
Cons: purchasing leadership lacking
Co workers are great to work with. Frequent conflicts in policy and job requirements. Lack of policies and procedures.
Job security is limited. Reducing support staff dramatically. Building is very old and has asbestos in the walls. Poor work environment .
Significant opportunities for challenging projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POSITIVE PROFICIENT WORK ENVIRONMENT
BUSINESS CLERK (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONOctober 22, 2014
Pros: staff appreciation lunches
Cons: no breaks some late hours
THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB IS THE PEOPLE INTERACTION
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work security
security (Current Employee), hamiltonSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: everything
dont work for security the departments a joke management is literally out to get everyone and the guys working it are all pretentious know it alls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing Resource Team
Full-time Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONSeptember 7, 2014
A typical work week as a registered practical nurse as part of the Nursing Resource Team involves planning for the complete unexpected. Floating between two hospitals and all wards ranging in acuity from emergency departments, trauma units to rehab or ALC, involve applying all required skills. HHS really utilizes their RPN's within the hospital setting; – more... working along side of RN's and all interdisciplinary team members. A float nurse must be flexible, competent and accepting to change. Each shift is spent on a different ward; consistency lies within my own personal routine. My manager is very approachable, flexible and assertive. My co-workers are all very easy going, skilled, very educated, and friendly nurses. The highlight of my job is going to work each day with a new team, and getting to work with a variety of different nurses on each ward. The hardest part of my job is the nurse to patient ratio and being under-staffed; resulting in poor quality care. This fast paced work environment is exciting and very rewarding; floating to all areas keeps myself as a nurse sharp and always on my toes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management that encourages you to grow..
Pharmacy Research Coordinator (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 16, 2014
Pros: large institution, great management, great experience
Cons: not enough full time positions available
I obtained this job through a placement from my program at Niagara College. When I started my placement in the pharmacy at McMaster I immediately fell in love with the staff in the pharmacy department. This connection I had with the staff is what caused my now manager to approach me for a Research Coordinator position that had opened up. I have learned – more... so much from this job and continue to learn new things every day. After a period of time my manager offered me an opportunity to start working at BARL while still gaining the experience and knowledge from my job at the hospital. She constantly is finding different ways for me to gain experience in different aspects of pharmacy research to help me be prepared for other job opportunities within the same field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping people is important
Hospital Volunteer (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 1, 2014
Pros: free beverage
Treating patients every day with similar illnesses allows you to learn about the subtle differences in different stages of a disease.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved in interacting with patients
Unit Clerk (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no overtime allowed
Brilliant oncologists. Loved my co-workers. Family atmosphere.
A typical day would be working various clinics such as chemotherapy, scheduling patient appointments and procedures.
Setting up conference rooms for the doctors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivation
Registered Health Care Aide (Current Employee), Hamilton, OntarioNovember 30, 2013
Pros: variety of shifts
Cons: comprised supplies or short staffing because of budgets
Everyday we have something new to experience, whether it is a new procedure, a funny story from a Patient, Co-worker or a family member. Always something new to learn and develop with our experiences. Managers often would like to see more than the budget allows for, co-workers can make your job difficult or enjoyable, everyone has different ways of – more... dealing with stressful issues and sometimes this can be very trying. Seeing patients and their families smile is my personal goal while I am at work. I take this same goal in my personal life as well. Life is not always easy,I try my best to keep the workplace an enjoyable place to be under sometimes stressful situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hamilton health sciences corp.
Staff Nurse - Ward F5 and B3 (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONNovember 28, 2013
Pros: excellent salary
Cons: understaffed
Excellent teaching hospital. Many opportunities for personal growth through education and career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hamilton Health Sciences :)
Registered Nurse - Orthopaedics (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONNovember 13, 2013
Enjoyable place of employment.
Positive culture and inter-professional collaborations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive work environment
Intercom Operator (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONNovember 12, 2013
Pros: no pressure and routined workplace
Cons: not challenging enough
A typical day at the Parking Office requires being alert of cameras and ensuring all gates are functioning properly, while assisting customers experiencing difficulty entering or exiting the lot. It is a fast paced work environment and requires immediate response in case of gate failures or emergencies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Store Clerk/Cashier/Stock (Former Employee), Barton st. east hamilton, ontarioOctober 30, 2013
-Very busy but manageable.
-i learned how to deal with stress in a professional manner.
-i got along very well with co-workers
-i didn't find any difficulty in the job.
-meeting new people and building relationships with clients was the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with but chances of moving up are limited.
Inventory / Desktop Deployment. (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONOctober 5, 2013
Pros: salary, staff, location culture.
Cons: chances of moving up are limited.
Great place to work with but chances of moving up are limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
auditing procurement contracts and processes
SENIOR PROCUREMENT/PURCHASER (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONAugust 13, 2013
Pros: can find the holes
Cons: not long enough to sustain
It is very difficult when you have a short period of time to assess. But most of the time, it is about a process to follow and how it is dealt with in terms of union and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of politics in this institution -
Charge RN, and Scrub/Circulating RN (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 4, 2013
I worked at HHS for 6 years, and found it very difficult to find any upper or middle management that were not focused on their own career paths, and what it would take to get them there. In my experience, the excellent managers and administrators quickly moved on to other institutions at their earliest opportunity. This unfortunately has a trickle down – more... effect into the front line staff, with politics and negative behaviours prevalent and openly encouraged. Too bad, as there is good medicine going on in this system, but patients bear the brunt of poor work environments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Registered Nurse - Autism Spectrum Disorder (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 25, 2013
A good teaching hospital that caters to different employees' need. With good management that is open to new changes. Staff are friendly and very willing to support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a productive academic hospital
INTERNATIONALLY EDUCATED NURSE (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 24, 2013
The main objective of this project is to familiarize international educated nurses to the Canadian workplace environment. This aim is reached through clinical skills review, practice, and enhancement. Moreover, I participated in advanced workplace communication for IENs and diversity and inclusion training module.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 12, 2013
Arrive at 8am, check research line for messages. Call participants and make recruitment calls. Run participants and take blood, then process and deliver blood to downtown lab.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Purchasing and Contract Analyst (Former Employee), Hamilton OntarioNovember 21, 2012
Some great knowledged individuals. Participated and lead many projects to its success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working just one day a week as I am semi retired works well for me. I am able to do other jobs as well. Really enjoy the patient contact.
ENTEROSTOMAL THERAPIST - HAMILTON GENERAL HOSPITAL (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONNovember 5, 2012
Pros: days are flexible
Cons: follow up with patients for teaching is difficult with just one day a week.
I have other co-workers on the team that are supportive and willing to share their expertise. The patient contact is the most enjoyable part of the job. The most difficult is the time restraints doing just one day a week. Follow up with the patients is limited. Other full time clinicians in other areas do not appreciate an older nurse or the experience – more... and expertise they bring to the position. – less

About Hamilton Health Sciences

Hamilton Health Sciences is a family of seven unique hospitals, a cancer centre and an urgent care centre, serving more than 2.3 – Read more

Hamilton Health Sciences Photos