Hallmark Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect work, life balance.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Canada5 October 2017
Stores gradually closed as leases expire. Eliminating asst. managers. Don't have full-time sales associates. Key carriers are part-time sales associates, don't have own job description, so not held accountable for their LOD shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment
Fulltime key holder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 September 2017
The management at hallmark as well as the staff were great.
Having a positive environment to work in really made a difference in the quality of work that was getting done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, decent hours
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ON21 July 2017
During my time at Hallmark i can say that they offer flexible hours. However, there is not very much hours to be given. The hours can range from 4hrs-15hrs a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall it was a great experience
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 June 2017
loved the atmosphere and friendly co-workers. Amazing customer service as well as great benefits. I loved working at Hallmark. However I never received my last salary!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON30 May 2017
Hallmark was my first job and it will always have a special place in heart. The environment is amazing, the people you socialize with really make your day.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contradiction to Hallmark Values
Product Marketing, Head Office (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 May 2017
Worked at Hallmark for several years and watched as the company declined in numbers and morals. Sometimes the conditions were inhumane and it all had to do with the managers that worked there. HR would not do anything about it and a lot of the managers were there because they had worked there all their lives (straight from high school) and had all the experience but lacked managerial/people skills. I, along with several people who no longer work for the company, can attest to the fact that there was a lack of respect for employees and a lot of shady things occurred within the management team that could be said to go against everything Hallmark portrays to value. I willingly left the company as did a lot of people, whether it were for another job or for sick leave (which occurred way too often and had to do with the mental health of employees). The only good thing to come out of this job, other than a steady income, was the friendships I made with co-workers.
Pros
Resume building
Cons
Worked everyone like a dog, Shady HR manager, lack of perks for employees, but managers got all the perks like sporting events, telling employees they should be grateful they have a job, minimal raises if any, salary freezes frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for learning
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 May 2017
6 hours a day 5 days a week.
great for learning cleaning.
not a great management team but good place to work.
Great people to work with and good pay.
hardest part of the job was having to complete tasks on tight schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time employment for students
Cashier and Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON13 May 2017
Hallmark cares about their employees. Great wage, excellent work environment, accommodating management. Healthy competition between coworkers to increase sales. Kind customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
festive enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON12 May 2017
Hallmark was an exciting environment to work in because of the different holidays and occasions. I would get the pleasure of helping customers prepare for special occasions, celebrations and much more. The hardest part of the job was trying to figure out if some people needed help.
Pros
free chocolate bars
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy, fun to talk to and help customers
Manager (Former Employee) –  Stonewall, MB18 March 2017
One wall of windows made for a sunny happy atmosphere. There was always work to do and many repeat customers that I could compliment and help. Our computer cash system was efficient so training new girls was relatively easy. If needed I would come in to help them close a few times.
Pros
Healthcare paid 50 percent by the owners
Cons
All holidays managers were required to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
agréable
Marchandiseur (Former Employee) –  Saint-Georges-de-Beauce, QC14 March 2017
belle compréhension
productif
beaucoup physique (dans les entrepots des magasins)
travail sur la route
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB10 March 2017
Don't pay enough and if you work the sunday shift you open and close by yourself and don't get a break. They do all book keeping by hand and the till is not electronic. outdated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, not a lot of oppurtunity
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON6 March 2017
Although the work is simple and enjoyable there isn't much in the way of advancement, nor working hours (we only get two shifts a week) and the salary is minimum wage no matter how long you've been working there. The customers are more frequent during the day and therefore the evening shifts are extremely long and boring.
Pros
Easy
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of old loyal customers
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2017
Hallmark carried a lot of their franchised products and had a lot of old loyal customers who were emotionally attached to them. That was a great learning experience for me.
Pros
Employee discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Product Marketing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Canada17 February 2017
Good way to learn about product marketing. Free card every day. Christmas a box of different products were given to each employee.
The job could be redundant at times.
Pros
Free greeting card everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2016
This was my second job after only 3 months in Canada.
I felt very well accepted and welcomed from my colleagues and customers too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and good work enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 June 2016
Hallmark was an amazing work environment. I learned a lot about customer service, handling cash/balancing till, opening and closing the store on my own so I was entrusted with a store key. My co-workers were amazing and did an amazing job training me. The hardest part of the job would of been Christmas time as the malls are crazy busy. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing my regulars.
Pros
good management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and work environment
Customer Sales (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON18 May 2016
I enjoy working at Hallmark because it is a new and different environment I was not used to. I love being able to provide customer service to all our customers, as well as being able to merchandise and stock product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The delightness of my first job in Calgary
Housekeeping job (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 April 2016
This was my first job in Calgary. This was a new work experience for me. The things that made this delight full is the support and care of my co-workers, peers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International consumer expressions company
System-matic Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 April 2016
International company with a great culture. Challenging and fulfilling on a daily basis. Was a great opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hallmark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,555 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7