Halliburton Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 114 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of cash
Technical Professional - Production Enhancement (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKApril 26, 2015
lots of fun and lots of learning, good environment, benefits, rrsp, stock program, engineering, operations, fracturing, oilfiled, stimulation
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start out
Service operator/ Class one driver/ Fraccer (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABJanuary 26, 2014
I think halliburton is a great company for people that want to get there foot in the door and make a bit of money.
The only reason im leaving is i would like to be home ever night if that wasnt and issue i would not even consider leaving the company.
Pros
average pay
Cons
long hour and away from home for extended periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gainful Employment
Australasia Country Manager (Current Employee) –  New Plymoth, New ZealandMay 4, 2015
Overall a decent company to work for. Aggressive with cost cutting measures and perhaps a bit too near sighted in the current climate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the Halliburton R&D facility was an enjoyable experience.
Technician-Mechanical (Former Employee) –  Nisku, ABOctober 2, 2013
It's a great company to work for. One is taught how to work safe. Co-workers are good in general. Everybody respect each other. My job there as a mechanical technician in the R&D facility was great. I learned new things and most of the time there was something new to do and to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefit and human relations
Material Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKMarch 18, 2015
A safe place to work until a oil sector market went down.

The working environment was like a family home, people come in with smiles and work together as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Halliburton was great fun for me.
MWD Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nisku, ABDecember 29, 2014
-Before you do something we need to make sure everything go smoothly for instance no injuries.
- I learned a lot about field work and how they work
- Planning and execution was greatly stressed upon workers at the field
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical
Hydraulic Fracturing Operator (Former Employee) –  Clairmont, ABApril 20, 2015
- Not a good field of occupation if you have a family and value family/work life balance.
- Company turns a blind eye, when internal employee issues arise.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operator Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, ABMarch 18, 2015
Great company to work for. Always promote growth by providing their employees with a mentor as well as the necessary tools for advancement.
Pros
free training programs
Cons
lack of job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Poorly managed
Downhole Tool Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  NiskuFebruary 17, 2015
This company from the outside looks like it can offer you a bright future. However when they do the interview process and the new hire process they roll out the red carpet and treat you like a king. However in a short while later you realize it was all fluff. There is no team moral boosting, if you want a raise or to try a different task you have to fight for it for a full year before they even consider it. Too many managers contradicting other managers. However this place has great benefits and pensions. If you can work for a sub-par wage, and great benefits, fighting for your small raises and work in a place that recognizes you faults before ever acknowledging your successes, then go work here. Oh and they say that safety is number one but they try to prevent employees from seeking medical attention so the managers get their safety bonus at the end of the year.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
demanding enviroment with little rewards, no yearly raises, have to fight for raises, poor company morale, too much red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent working environment and awesome boss.
Material / Inventory Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Nisku, ABApril 11, 2013
A typical day at work starts with a Tool meeting where someone from the team is expected to share their value or safety moment.
The rest of the day just go bye quickly because there is always something to do.
Pros
stress free work environment
Cons
non that i can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees and team members with mutual respect and good work environment
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 5, 2013
Always busy with my own work load and helping others getting their work done. Management allows me to take my own decisions and helpful in providing all assistance. Good team environment and love to work such a company.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
parking is a nightmare
Was this review helpful?Yes26No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well run and organized environment. Compensated extremely well
Electronic Technician (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABSeptember 9, 2013
I started at Halliburton when I finished Lambton College as a Electrical Technician I was responsible for the units in the field while I was on site as well as the repairs to the units when the got back to the shop. The shift work was 10 days on 4 days off of 8 hour shifts but while in the field shifts could last anywhere from 8-16 hours giving a lot of opportunity for overtime. The management that I answered to was very knowledgeable and willing to help whenever it was needed. The most enjoyable part of the job was that it was different all of the time and since technology is always changing and upgrading there is always going to be more to learn. The hardest part of the job was in the field when there is no cell reception and needed to ask a question you would basically be stranded until you figure it out.
Pros
a lot of overtime opportunity
Cons
possible long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes18No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Descent money
Field Engineer (Well Services - MWD/ LWD), UK (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, UKOctober 15, 2012
I worked in this company for 4 years now. 3 in India and Oman and 1 in UK. It has provided me with a stable job and it requires significant amount of travelling. The work on field is quiet hectic.
Pros
established company and hence job security.
Cons
big company, hard to go up the ladder
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a very productive and fun place to work
Software and Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston TX, Calgary, ABDecember 27, 2012
Enjoyed working for this employer till they placed all the eggs into one nest - ignoring Windows platform and favoring Linux.
Pros
global exposure - great experience serving huge projects in different geographies
Cons
short bench of professionals
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company - bad management
Heavy duty mechanic (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABApril 22, 2014
the last 2 and 1/2 years have been great up until recently. Currently we do not have a shop foreman and they do not care about hiring new employees to replace the currently understaffed mechanic's shop.
Pros
great shop environment
Cons
management will not hire new mechanics
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with
Cement Laboratory Technologist (Current Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NLJune 9, 2014
Typically I will complete any testing that needs to be done first thing and then work on results and anything else the customer requires. I have learned the processes of how a well is cemented and how much work actually goes into it.
Cons
on call 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Mechanical Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Nisku, ABFebruary 19, 2015
- The management system is not efficient.
- Multi-cultural environment
- Friendly work place
- moderate payment
- A challenging work place
- day-to-day learning
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and bennifits
fracer (Former Employee) –  grande prairieApril 29, 2015
enjoyed working here. good pay and co workers. a lot of work out of town good rotations but not much time home. long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent equipment and shop
Cement Operator ( Service Operator II ) (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BCOctober 15, 2012
On a 24-7 rotation for 15 days doing Cementing jobs on drilling rigs Learned to operate the high pressure pumps and calculating the volumes of materials for doing the job
Pros
bennefits and housing for out of town workers
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning Ground
Production Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 3, 2015
Good training provided but there is less space for advancement. The work culture is good The managers are helpful & they want you to progress
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,923 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7