Halifax Regional School Board Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Work Life Balance
Substitute Educational Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS21 May 2017
Great Job If you love working with children
Job life balance and flexible
It could be tough working with different kids for each assignment ,Building trust could be challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with the kids and administration office.
Sub Secretary (Former Employee) –  Halifax Regional Municipality, NS30 April 2017
Answered phone, dealt with parants.reported to the principle and teachers, Took lunch money and organized lunch. did all the attendance for the teachers..entered in system.
Pros
loved the hours
Cons
underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Student Monitor (Current Employee) –  Monitor, AB17 April 2017
Watching children and getting to experience both their hardships and their accomplishments makes for a rewarding job. The job is not paid well and there are not many hours required but it has its benefits for stay at home moms to return into the workforce
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Library Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS22 March 2017
As a support staff there is little room for advancement and no respect. The support staff are the lowest of the low and are treated as such. Zero respect and zero cares.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Program Leader (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS9 February 2017
Its a great place to work, i enjoy every minute of it. There is no breaks and it is a fast pace environment. You need to be able to conform quickly to changes on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
posative and fun work place
Lunch Monitor (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS19 January 2017
The Halifax Regional School Board was the main company who is the ones who took care of everything. Easy people to talk to and very good listeners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Right place to work
EPA Subtitute (Current Employee) –  Varios location15 October 2016
Vulnerable sector to connected
work with special needs
Good team member
professional staff
Learning different devises
enjoyed play with kids
enjoyed helping them with school task at the class room
Pros
Not free lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Educational Program Assistant(EPA) (Former Employee) –  MULTIPLE SCHOOLS28 September 2016
Loved going to work everyday. Enjoyed the challenge. Loved the interaction with both students and teachers. Great way too meet new people. Learn something new everyday. Every child is unique and individual.
Pros
Summers off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with schools, teachers, etc.
Substitute Secretary (Current Employee) –  HRM, NS22 August 2016
I love working in the school system, but as a substitute the pay is low. Would like to gain pernament employment. I have worked in nineteen different schools since November, 2015.
Pros
summers off
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Interesting
Educational Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS27 April 2016
With kids, everyday is new so HRSB became an amazing place to head to in the morning. Short days, so lots of free time after work.
Pros
Working with kids
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with children but the job is high stress with little to no perks
Recreational Program Leader (Current Employee) –  Bedford, NS14 April 2016
My position allowed me to form wonderful bonds with the children I worked with. I love feeling like I make a difference in their day to day life. The program itself is quite poorly run, with little to no support for staff. We lost 2 staff during the first half of the year which have yet to be replaced which puts a strain on our 15-1 ratio when additional children are placed into groups to make up for lack of staff. The rate of pay is rather low considering the workload, as well as many unpaid days off and no possibility of health/dental coverage.
Pros
free child care, fun, everyday presents possibility for new experiences, lasting bonds with children
Cons
no benefits, low pay, low hours with no possibility for extra, unpaid PD days, little management support, high noise levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent, smart and funny people to work with, very socialable people
DUTY or LUNCHTIME MONITOR (Current Employee) –  Beechville, NS24 February 2016
Job started at 11:00 (snack + coffee time) 11:15- 11:55am working with the grade 5 and 6 students. Also grades 7 + 8's @ 12:15-12:55. Making sure they don't run down the Hallways., Supervising them, advised them to throw their garbage away. As, it is always their responsibility to do so. Watching them, observing their behavoir
making sure they were safe. I learned to love my job, came into work everyday, worked well with everyone. Never had a problem that I can remember. The hardest part of the job, was working alone, when my
co-workers were absent. Love the social interaction between myself + the children., Trying hard not to laugh @ them (silly Behavior) laughed with them. Kids are mostly always happy...
Pros
poutine on Fridays sometimes sheppard's pie
Cons
on my feet a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with children
Excel group leader (Current Employee) –  Bedford, NS11 December 2015
I thought working for HRSB would be a great career with benefits... Not so much I wasn't given hardly any training like I was promised when hired. Looking after a group of 15 or more children is stressful at times especially coming up with fun lesson plans for clubs, art and science, and NO benefits at all! If you are a parent then you won't have any time for after school activities with your child finishing work at 6pm during the week but you do get free after school care working in the program. My work colleagues are great bunch of ladies and we all try to help each other out when needed the salary isn't great and unless you work morning, lunch moniter and afternoon it's hard to get enough hours to pay all the bills
Pros
Free childcare
Cons
No benefits low salary stressful job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Casual Custodian (Current Employee) –  Halifax Regional Municipality, NS24 November 2015
Excellent people to work with, very flexible hours are available. If you are looking for a job with Benefits and security then here is one for you!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great job but i am not working enough to pay pills. I need another income or a change to something else cause teaching is not working
Substitue Teacher (Current Employee) –  Halifax Regional Municipality, NS27 October 2015
Its a great job but i am not working enough to pay pills. I need another income or a change to something else cause teaching is not working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a work term
HRBS Information Technology (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS7 October 2015
HRBS is alright job, i had fun fixing, upgrading computers and etc. the people i work with is good, they help each other out with troubleshooting etc. The only thing i didn't like was the hours but due to my lack of sleep it couldn't be help (later on i got use to it). i had a alright time here, and i would recommend for people who are looking for jobs. and one last thing is that i did this as a work term so i have no clue what the salary is so...sorry
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Long hours (but i got use to it)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lunch Monitor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS4 March 2015
start at 12 noon work till 1, help children open there lunches get them ready for outside. I love children so much fun to be around
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
2 .Substitute teacher (Former Employee) –  auburn drive,halifax west ,Lockvew high school5 February 2015
everyday something new to learn because we move to different schools Good and safe place to work but difficult to get permanaent positions right now I enjoyed working with schools because I feel I am a born teacher teaching is my passion
It s a challenging job and needs lot of energy and creativity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can get in, good career
Term and Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Halifax Regional Municipality6 November 2014
Limited full time positions available in Physical Education so I am looking for a new career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Halifax Regional School Board
Educational Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax15 July 2014
I truly enjoy working the the Halifax Regional School Board. I do however feel unappreicated in many situations and feel we are strongly underpaid.
Pros
helping children everyday
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 8Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Halifax Regional School Board. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

Halifax Regional School Board Reviews by Location