Halifax Regional Municipality Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers
Utility Operator (Current Employee) –  Hrm25 August 2016
Disorganized, advancement not based on merit but instead on seniority. Makes it tough to have to work hard when merit doesn't factor in to advancement
Pros
Job security
Cons
Disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive management, friendly staff and wonderful experience
Inclusion Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS13 November 2016
Working during the summer as an inclusion support worker was a very rewarding experience. With numerous opportunities to advance current knowledge, free training and as well as appropriate guidance to ensure an enjoyable work experience.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crossing children across the street
School crossing guard (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 September 2016
Crossing the children across the street back and fourth. And talking to there pariants about safty and educating the kids about safty. And you where a vest and hold a stop sing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great people
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS22 August 2016
I was a student intern in charge of completing a only calendar used by police volunteers for neighborhood watch. I also developed a search suggestion feature that was to be used on a resign of the city websites.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people who work there are very professional, helpful and considerate.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS11 February 2016
A typical day would be checking e-mails, responding to them and preparing and attending committee meetings. Gathering information and preparing reports.

My co-workers were all team players and if they asked for help or I asked for help, everyone was more than willing to pitch in to get projects completed.

The hardest part of the day was to deal with complaints and resolving them in a timely manner.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the people, they are the most professional, intelligent team players that I have ever worked with.
Pros
Completion of a project, which were varied and sometimes would take months and years.
Cons
There was never enough time in the day to complete all the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service job throughout my education
Bingo Floor Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS14 October 2015
Practice public relations and customer service skills to enhance customer experience and increase sales volumes.
Provided quick, efficient and courteous service to patrons
Verification of winning cards and prize pay out to winning customers
Management of cash float through secure cash handling practices
Large handling and distribution of cash
Was expected to resolve customer issues
Pros
Adaptable work schedule during school
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
preventive maitance and minor and major repairs on fleet equipment
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS1 April 2014
Worked at a wide range of Heavy and light duty equippment , which was used for road construction and repair. This equipment was also used for snow and ice removal.... Our management kept a well organized work place. with an excellent result of team work. hardest part of the job was dealing with weather conditions on snow and ice removal...... The most enjoyable part of the job was working as crew chief which involved working along with management , union and fellow workers,,,,,,This created a new experience everyday.....
Pros
shift premiums, benifits, and overtime hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Job
Traffic Engineering Student (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS28 November 2014
The pace was calm. There was usually something to do, but no one was ever in a hurry. I really wish that there would have more stuff to do.

The people were great. I never felt left out or excluded.

Management was good most days. There was (still is) some miscommunication between our (the student`s)supervisors

We spent about half our time in the field and half in the office
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was short but sweet
Skating Instructor (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS27 February 2015
I only worked for a couple months, but the job was enjoyable. I was able to teach young children how to ice skate properly and safely.
The rink was very cold though, but the hourly pay was good.
Pros
Good Salary
Cons
Cold environment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productice workplace, always keeps me busy and motivated to learn more.
HRM Front Desk Staff / Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Halifax Nova Scotia21 November 2014
I learned how to interact better with custormers and to handle money even better, i also learned how to do bank deposits and i am always learning new things everyday through work.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Internship is Unpaid
Intern (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS30 May 2013
Everyone is nice, the work is not easy. I have two computers running programs while I do paperwork. My boss is nice and understanding. It is a bit to quiet for me, but restful after years of dealing with the public.
Pros
Work
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Delivery Driver (UPS) (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS11 March 2014
It was a fun and more than just work. I learned so many things there. I learned how to deal with new people which means perfect customer service.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.4

Halifax Regional Municipality Reviews by Location