HSBC Employee Reviews

Found 185 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work colleagues and management made it enjoyable to be at work.
Risk Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 December 2014
Flexibility on work hours gave me the ability to balance work/family life very easy, and the technology to work from home occasionally gave even more flexibility.
Producing management reports using Excel/SAS to extract data from the bank database made the day challenging but also exciting.
Management where "hands on" and knew so much that you learned a lot, fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really good place to work for
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby7 December 2014
A place where people are very friendly and want to teach you what they know in order for you to grow.
The day was never boring as I had to multi task and to assume alot of responsibilites. People are eager to help you and to explain if you dont know something.
The best part of HSBC where I worked was the people I worked with.
Pros
Salary, benefits. work/life balance
Cons
Leadership is lacking direction at times
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
AML Compliance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC23 October 2014
Flexible start/end times with a great team of people. The work itself was autonomous - you could spend an entire day not talking to a single other person. Management seemed really supportive and patient with learning; co-workers maintained professionalism at all times, and rarely talked about personal lives.

There was no "hard" part of the job; the most enjoyable job was that your work could be quantified via metrics. That was rewarding, as you were able to track specifically how you contributed to your team.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 September 2014
International company to work for
Sales targest
Tranings in place
Room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
HSBCnet Support Officer L1/Training Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC22 September 2014
Is a good company to work for.
Flexible hours. Very good training for new hires.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuously contact clients for meetings.
Premium Banker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 September 2014
- Overcome client objections
- Long hours
- Manage and organize client leads
- Very little communication between co-workers
- Extensive product knowledge
Pros
Meeting with clients.
Cons
Very little communication with co-workers; very competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
things i learned in hsbc
Collector (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 September 2014
I LEARNED A LOT OF THINGS SUCH IS COLLECTING ACCOUNTS ... CUSTOMER SERVICE

GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND BUILDING RELATIONSHIP WITH CLIENTS ...

LOVED WORKING WITH MY TEAM
Pros
team outings
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very proactive and customer facing
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 September 2014
It would be setting up cash till, balancing till, have al stationary in place, al systems up and running. Typical day dealing with customers requests, debiting, cashing, cheques, payments, transfers, exchange currencies, help activation, verifying i.d. and much more.

Hitting targets, encouraging sales, low complaints, following rules and regulations all part of the job,

Can have rude and difficult customers to deal with, enjoying wud be customer satisfaction rates.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to work really hard.
Mutual Fund Advisor/Premium Banker (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC29 August 2014
The target is high and you have to work really hard to archive it.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy my work and deadline meeting is the target.
Manager Regulatory Reporting (Current Employee) –  Vancouver23 August 2014
I enjoy my work but want to change to get specific experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about HSBC?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got a lot of experience of AS/400, project management, retail banking & marketing.
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver24 July 2014
Most of the time required team work, lots of pressure and tight deadline. Quick decision making is required while production support.
Pros
challenging, satisfaction
Cons
very high pressure, long hour working
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement, yet strict work culture
Account Manager, Commercial Real Estate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 July 2014
HSBC facilitated my foray into the financial industry, having studied business management in school.

Starting as a Customer Service Representative, I worked my way through to an Account Management position with support from superiors all the way through.

Having transitioned from a smaller, local branch, to the main downtown branch, work culture shifted from a more relaxed, open culture, to a very political, closed culture.

This made it difficult to continue in this environment, as superiors were not open to new ideas and led with a tight fist.

Although the company as a whole is a great place to work given the international work opportunities, the right mentorship, leadership and management I feel needs greater improvement to encourage younger employees to thrive.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Execution of Strategic Projects and Process development involved
Projects and Process Development Analyst (Former Employee) –  El Salvador, Central America14 June 2014
Process Analysis and Improvement

Participation on Strategic Projects selected by Directors Board and CEO

Interaction with partners from many countries (Mexico, Central America, India, etc.)
Pros
High Exposure with DIrectors / grow opportunities
Cons
Short Time to Implement estrategies
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thoughtful Management
Senior Associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC10 June 2014
HSBC Securities is a leader in terms of providing a connected network of products and services to potential clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Asian bank in Canada.
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 May 2014
The retailing banking of HSBC in Vancouver is really Asian, and the starting salary is relatively lower, compared to other Canadian banks.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working culture
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC24 May 2014
big organization and most people work hard.
free parking
cafeteria onsite
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QA Analyst
QA Analyst (SIT/UAT) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 May 2014
• Worked closely with business team in gathering Test requirements and Test documents by participating in several walk throughs and meetings
• Performed User Acceptance Testing (UAT), Functional, System-Integration (SIT), End to End, Regression, Negative and Integration testing in various types of software development life cycle (SDLC) and Project Management life cycle (PMLC)
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QA Analyst
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 April 2014
• Reviewed and understood the requirements for Mobile projects
• Involved in the development of Test Scenarios, Test cases, Test data and Test scripts according to Requirements, Wire frames and Use Case documents
• Test scenarios, Test cases were provided to the business analyst for signoff and approval
• Classified the test cases based on High, Medium and Low for execution purpose based on the business priorities
• Written and stored Test scenarios and Test cases in Quality center test plan tab and mapped the Test cases to the requirements using Requirement coverage tab
• Involved in testing the Integration between personal, business account, bill payment, transfers and statements on different devices like Android, IPhone and Blackberry
• Used Devise Anywhere for testing such as Functional/System, Integration, Regression, End to End, Performance and User Acceptance testing
• Reported defects into defect module of Quality center with all the required information
• Regularly participated in Test Review and Status meeting
• Provided planning and execution status reports to the management
• Devise anywhere, iPhone SDK 3.2, XCode, Android, Blackberry, XML, Java, J Unit, JavaScript, SQL Server, MS Access, Quality Center 10.0 and Oracle
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best bank for international business
Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton16 April 2014
A very good bank to work in if one would like international opportunities
Pros
International footprints
Cons
Horrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging role where i can contribute my wealth of experience while i develop myself as well.
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto20 March 2014
Working with HBSC was quite interesting and challenging and gave me the opportunity to develop myself further. I am leaving because my contract is about to come to an end.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HSBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,316 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8