HSBC Employee Reviews

Found 179 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC experience
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON10 June 2015
It was a fun work place where I contributed immensely to the growth of the company. Customer satisfaction was my priority.

I followed company policies and protected company's image and growth.
Pros
Independence within a team
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stands out as a banking institution
Recovery Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Montreal6 June 2015
Good company to work for, creativity will be encouraged. Work life balance is highly supported and appreciated by employees.
Pros
Remote Work
Cons
Approval processes are long
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary but poor culture and management
compliance analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON22 May 2015
Your entire career here will be kissing rear ends for the privilege of being spoken down to everyday.

It's one thing to be spoken down to by, say, the CEO, but when its a consistent stream of middle management donkeys with no real education or self worth, it becomes a little frustrating.

I would say the pay is decent and security is sound, but the culture is very poor and riddled with agency-principal conflicts straight out of a management 101 textbook.

Might be for you, not for me!
Pros
Good pay
Cons
poor culture, ineffective and inexperienced leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations Specialist
Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver11 May 2015
Great place to work. Salary and Benefits could be better. It is difficult for an employee to connect with the management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SR. ADMINISTRATION CLERK (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 April 2015
Reception - Word documents/filing; prepare training binders.

Don't be afraid of failure

Good support

Friendly and busy

Heavy work load without the resources

People
Pros
People
Cons
Lack of resources
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with global opportunities
Marketing and Communication Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 March 2015
I have worked for HSBC for 8 years and overall, I've enjoyed it.
The teams are strong, the expectations are high, compensations packages are fair- however, work -life balance is non existent.

Its an excellent company for upward mobility, but being the large company that it is, it can be very political. If you are aware and comfortable with this, then the awareness will lead you to success within it.

With the ongoing restructures, hiring freezes etc this company has been in shift for the past 5 years, that said- change always brings opportunity. Good place to be for those looking to learn and grow within a large multinational environment with global opp.
Pros
work flex, strong teams and vacation
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC Canada: Lack of job growth, discriminative, confused management
HSBC (Former Employee) –  HSBC30 March 2015
Lack of growth opportunities, whatever they have go to those with some connection, nepotism, mangement is very confused; growing one year and contracting next year, lot of negative media publicity, job culture is very bureaucratic, run like imperialist mind.

Good for new entrants to learn and move onwards to a different organization.

HSBC international is completely different than HSBC canada, slow integration.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 March 2015
Good work/life balance but pay is low.

Pros:
Good work/life balance
Minor employee perks such as staff rate on exchange rates.
Most service fees waived.

Cons:
Not enough hours at some branches
Some branches schedule you in for 3-4 hours shift.
Pay is low in general, all the way up to branch manager level.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging workplace
Processeur de Paiments (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 February 2015
I review different types of customer accounts.
Different types problems/situations always arise, and I enjoy solving each and every one of them.
I learned how to use many different types of new software in the workplace.
My self and my co-workers all work together as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Global Bank
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 February 2015
Very busy work environment, I like the hectic space.
Clients of a global bank very diverse ever changing goals and needs.
I am part of the management team, heavy schedules.
Very diverse coworkers.
Work life balance.
Helping Clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun workplace with opportunity for career advancement
Recovery Collections Manager (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QC3 February 2015
Over my 11 years at HSBC Financial I learned numerous aspects of the sub-prime credit market including collections, customer service, fraud and funding. It was a great place to develop and share in the company's success.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Halifax Nova Scotia1 February 2015
I was there for only a short period of time before HSBC moved their lines of business to the US which did not allow me to get a good feel for the company
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun department to work at
Operation Specialist II/Client Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC28 January 2015
You'd process commercial clients' requests on a daily basis. Most of the managers are open for discussion and are willing to assist on any work-related training material. Co-workers are friendly, fun and easy-going. Generally speaking all teams under the department are enjoyable to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for professionals looking for an international careers
Head of Sales - Canada, Global Banking, PCM (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2015
Exciting international career by connecting businesses to opportunities globally.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work colleagues and management made it enjoyable to be at work.
Risk Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 December 2014
Flexibility on work hours gave me the ability to balance work/family life very easy, and the technology to work from home occasionally gave even more flexibility.
Producing management reports using Excel/SAS to extract data from the bank database made the day challenging but also exciting.
Management where "hands on" and knew so much that you learned a lot, fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really good place to work for
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby7 December 2014
A place where people are very friendly and want to teach you what they know in order for you to grow.
The day was never boring as I had to multi task and to assume alot of responsibilites. People are eager to help you and to explain if you dont know something.
The best part of HSBC where I worked was the people I worked with.
Pros
Salary, benefits. work/life balance
Cons
Leadership is lacking direction at times
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
AML Compliance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC23 October 2014
Flexible start/end times with a great team of people. The work itself was autonomous - you could spend an entire day not talking to a single other person. Management seemed really supportive and patient with learning; co-workers maintained professionalism at all times, and rarely talked about personal lives.

There was no "hard" part of the job; the most enjoyable job was that your work could be quantified via metrics. That was rewarding, as you were able to track specifically how you contributed to your team.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 September 2014
International company to work for
Sales targest
Tranings in place
Room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
HSBCnet Support Officer L1/Training Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC22 September 2014
Is a good company to work for.
Flexible hours. Very good training for new hires.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuously contact clients for meetings.
Premium Banker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 September 2014
- Overcome client objections
- Long hours
- Manage and organize client leads
- Very little communication between co-workers
- Extensive product knowledge
Pros
Meeting with clients.
Cons
Very little communication with co-workers; very competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,169 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8