Find companies:
HSBC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,794 reviews

HSBC Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC working
Video Collaboration Consultant (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 20, 2015
Pros: Bonus
Cons: layoffs
Great place to work, an excellent work life balance environment. HSBC celebrates every one and appreciates their employees. I found the management to be easy to get along with. I enjoyed my co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been a great experience.
Manager, AML Investigations (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 20, 2015
Pros: Free coffee
Cons: distance
Great company to work for. I enjoyed working there. A lot of learning opportunities and training available. I learned a lot in my role there and I had the support of the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Premium Banker (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 7, 2015
Coming to work and meeting with clients to discuss the future from a financial prospective. Helping people understand products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with ample learning opportunities.
Personal Banker (Former Employee), White Rock, BCJuly 6, 2015
Provided timely and accurate services to individual and business clients. Opened accounts and cross sold additional products and services while ensuring operational and system compliance. Researched and responded to competitor strategies, resolved customer concerns and built client lists. Opened branch, served as cash custodian, and balanced total daily branch transactions and cash balances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Backend Executive (Contractual) (Former Employee), New DelhiJuly 4, 2015
It is very fast paced working environment required detail attention, keep you busy and active during shift. I got to learn how to put detail attention in every task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC experience
Account Executive (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONJune 10, 2015
Pros: Independence within a team
Cons: Nothing
It was a fun work place where I contributed immensely to the growth of the company. Customer satisfaction was my priority.

I followed company policies and protected company's image and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stands out as a banking institution
Recovery Operations Manager (Current Employee), MontrealJune 6, 2015
Pros: Remote Work
Cons: Approval processes are long
Good company to work for, creativity will be encouraged. Work life balance is highly supported and appreciated by employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary but poor culture and management
compliance analyst (Former Employee), Markham, ONMay 22, 2015
Pros: Good pay
Cons: poor culture, ineffective and inexperienced leaders
Your entire career here will be kissing rear ends for the privilege of being spoken down to everyday.

It's one thing to be spoken down to by, say, the CEO, but when its a consistent stream of middle management donkeys with no real education or self worth, it becomes a little frustrating.

I would say the pay is decent and security is sound, but the culture is very poor and riddled with agency-principal conflicts straight out of a management 101 textbook.

Might be for you, not for me!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMay 21, 2015
Not too bad, avg income....good employee system...good reward systemNot too bad, avg income....good employee system...good reward system
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations Specialist
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), VancouverMay 11, 2015
Great place to work. Salary and Benefits could be better. It is difficult for an employee to connect with the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SR. ADMINISTRATION CLERK (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 15, 2015
Pros: People
Cons: Lack of resources
Reception - Word documents/filing; prepare training binders.

Don't be afraid of failure

Good support

Friendly and busy

Heavy work load without the resources

People
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with global opportunities
Marketing and Communication Manager (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 31, 2015
Pros: work flex, strong teams and vacation
Cons: long hours
I have worked for HSBC for 8 years and overall, I've enjoyed it.
The teams are strong, the expectations are high, compensations packages are fair- however, work -life balance is non existent.

Its an excellent company for upward mobility, but being the large company that it is, it can be very political. If you are aware and comfortable with this, then the awareness will lead you to success within it.

With the ongoing restructures, hiring freezes etc this company has been in shift for the past 5 years, that said- change always brings opportunity. Good place to be for those looking to learn and grow within a large multinational environment with global opp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC Canada: Lack of job growth, discriminative, confused management
HSBC (Former Employee), HSBCMarch 30, 2015
Lack of growth opportunities, whatever they have go to those with some connection, nepotism, mangement is very confused; growing one year and contracting next year, lot of negative media publicity, job culture is very bureaucratic, run like imperialist mind.

Good for new entrants to learn and move onwards to a different organization.

HSBC international is completely different than HSBC canada, slow integration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 4, 2015
Good work/life balance but pay is low.

Pros:
Good work/life balance
Minor employee perks such as staff rate on exchange rates.
Most service fees waived.

Cons:
Not enough hours at some branches
Some branches schedule you in for 3-4 hours shift.
Pay is low in general, all the way up to branch manager level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging workplace
Processeur de Paiments (Current Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 8, 2015
I review different types of customer accounts.
Different types problems/situations always arise, and I enjoy solving each and every one of them.
I learned how to use many different types of new software in the workplace.
My self and my co-workers all work together as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Global Bank
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee), Saskatoon, SKFebruary 4, 2015
Very busy work environment, I like the hectic space.
Clients of a global bank very diverse ever changing goals and needs.
I am part of the management team, heavy schedules.
Very diverse coworkers.
Work life balance.
Helping Clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun workplace with opportunity for career advancement
Recovery Collections Manager (Former Employee), Montreal, QCFebruary 3, 2015
Over my 11 years at HSBC Financial I learned numerous aspects of the sub-prime credit market including collections, customer service, fraud and funding. It was a great place to develop and share in the company's success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Account Executive (Former Employee), Halifax Nova ScotiaFebruary 1, 2015
I was there for only a short period of time before HSBC moved their lines of business to the US which did not allow me to get a good feel for the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun department to work at
Operation Specialist II/Client Service Associate (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCJanuary 28, 2015
You'd process commercial clients' requests on a daily basis. Most of the managers are open for discussion and are willing to assist on any work-related training material. Co-workers are friendly, fun and easy-going. Generally speaking all teams under the department are enjoyable to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for professionals looking for an international careers
Head of Sales - Canada, Global Banking, PCM (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 8, 2015
Exciting international career by connecting businesses to opportunities globally.

1 2 3 4 5

About HSBC

HSBC Bank Canada is a banking and financial services company. It has three segments: Personal Financial Services, Commercial Banking – Read more