Find companies:
HSBC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,601 reviews

HSBC Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SR. ADMINISTRATION CLERK (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 15, 2015
Pros: People
Cons: Lack of resources
Reception - Word documents/filing; prepare training binders.

Don't be afraid of failure

Good support

Friendly and busy

Heavy work load without the resources

People
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with global opportunities
Marketing and Communication Manager (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 31, 2015
Pros: work flex, strong teams and vacation
Cons: long hours
I have worked for HSBC for 8 years and overall, I've enjoyed it.
The teams are strong, the expectations are high, compensations packages are fair- however, work -life balance is non existent.

Its an excellent company for upward mobility, but being the large company that it is, it can be very political. If you are aware and comfortable with this, then the awareness will lead you to success within it.

With the ongoing restructures, hiring freezes etc this company has been in shift for the past 5 years, that said- change always brings opportunity. Good place to be for those looking to learn and grow within a large multinational environment with global opp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC Canada: Lack of job growth, discriminative, confused management
HSBC (Former Employee), HSBCMarch 30, 2015
Lack of growth opportunities, whatever they have go to those with some connection, nepotism, mangement is very confused; growing one year and contracting next year, lot of negative media publicity, job culture is very bureaucratic, run like imperialist mind.

Good for new entrants to learn and move onwards to a different organization.

HSBC international is completely different than HSBC canada, slow integration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 4, 2015
Good work/life balance but pay is low.

Pros:
Good work/life balance
Minor employee perks such as staff rate on exchange rates.
Most service fees waived.

Cons:
Not enough hours at some branches
Some branches schedule you in for 3-4 hours shift.
Pay is low in general, all the way up to branch manager level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging workplace
Processeur de Paiments (Current Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 8, 2015
I review different types of customer accounts.
Different types problems/situations always arise, and I enjoy solving each and every one of them.
I learned how to use many different types of new software in the workplace.
My self and my co-workers all work together as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Global Bank
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee), Saskatoon, SKFebruary 4, 2015
Very busy work environment, I like the hectic space.
Clients of a global bank very diverse ever changing goals and needs.
I am part of the management team, heavy schedules.
Very diverse coworkers.
Work life balance.
Helping Clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun workplace with opportunity for career advancement
Recovery Collections Manager (Former Employee), Montreal, QCFebruary 3, 2015
Over my 11 years at HSBC Financial I learned numerous aspects of the sub-prime credit market including collections, customer service, fraud and funding. It was a great place to develop and share in the company's success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Account Executive (Former Employee), Halifax Nova ScotiaFebruary 1, 2015
I was there for only a short period of time before HSBC moved their lines of business to the US which did not allow me to get a good feel for the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun department to work at
Operation Specialist II/Client Service Associate (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCJanuary 28, 2015
You'd process commercial clients' requests on a daily basis. Most of the managers are open for discussion and are willing to assist on any work-related training material. Co-workers are friendly, fun and easy-going. Generally speaking all teams under the department are enjoyable to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for professionals looking for an international careers
Head of Sales - Canada, Global Banking, PCM (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 8, 2015
Exciting international career by connecting businesses to opportunities globally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work colleagues and management made it enjoyable to be at work.
Risk Management Analyst (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCDecember 30, 2014
Flexibility on work hours gave me the ability to balance work/family life very easy, and the technology to work from home occasionally gave even more flexibility.
Producing management reports using Excel/SAS to extract data from the bank database made the day challenging but also exciting.
Management where "hands on" and knew so much that you learned a lot, fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really good place to work for
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), BurnabyDecember 7, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits. work/life balance
Cons: leadership is lacking direction at times
A place where people are very friendly and want to teach you what they know in order for you to grow.
The day was never boring as I had to multi task and to assume alot of responsibilites. People are eager to help you and to explain if you dont know something.
The best part of HSBC where I worked was the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
AML Compliance Analyst (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCOctober 23, 2014
Flexible start/end times with a great team of people. The work itself was autonomous - you could spend an entire day not talking to a single other person. Management seemed really supportive and patient with learning; co-workers maintained professionalism at all times, and rarely talked about personal lives.

There was no "hard" part of the job; the most enjoyable job was that your work could be quantified via metrics. That was rewarding, as you were able to track specifically how you contributed to your team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 25, 2014
International company to work for
Sales targest
Tranings in place
Room to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive team
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), British ColumbiaSeptember 23, 2014
working with my team is always enjoying and we accept new challenges together and finish the task on time..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
HSBCnet Support Officer L1/Training Coordinator (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCSeptember 22, 2014
Is a good company to work for.
Flexible hours. Very good training for new hires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuously contact clients for meetings.
Premium Banker (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: meeting with clients.
Cons: very little communication with co-workers; very competitive.
- Overcome client objections
- Long hours
- Manage and organize client leads
- Very little communication between co-workers
- Extensive product knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
things i learned in hsbc
Collector (Former Employee), Montréal, QCSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: team outings
Cons: short breaks
I LEARNED A LOT OF THINGS SUCH IS COLLECTING ACCOUNTS ... CUSTOMER SERVICE

GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND BUILDING RELATIONSHIP WITH CLIENTS ...

LOVED WORKING WITH MY TEAM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very proactive and customer facing
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 7, 2014
It would be setting up cash till, balancing till, have al stationary in place, al systems up and running. Typical day dealing with customers requests, debiting, cashing, cheques, payments, transfers, exchange currencies, help activation, verifying i.d. and much more.

Hitting targets, encouraging sales, low complaints, following rules and regulations all part of the job,

Can have rude and difficult customers to deal with, enjoying wud be customer satisfaction rates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to work really hard.
Mutual Fund Advisor/Premium Banker (Former Employee), Port Coquitlam, BCAugust 29, 2014
The target is high and you have to work really hard to archive it.

1 2 3 4 5

About HSBC

HSBC Bank Canada is a banking and financial services company. It has three segments: Personal Financial Services, Commercial Banking – Read more