HSBC Employee Reviews

Found 252 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe workplace and good environment
Analyst Programmer (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC20 April 2017
It is a good company. They support you starting to your career, and benefits is competitive. Leaders took care of the employees well being. Physical fitness area also available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Associate Commercial Account Opening (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 April 2017
HSBC is a great place work. Good pay and good benefits. Hard work pays well. Community service is encouraged and appreciated. Multicultural place and everyone is well respected. Hardest part is pressure of work - too much to do and hard to complete within the given time.
Pros
Team lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and progressive company
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  London, ON8 April 2017
Overall a good place to work, but a complex organisation to work in. I got to be involved in interesting work and had good management.

Diverse and inclusive workforce in my area of the bank
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work culture
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2017
Flexibility in technology and skill sets. Nice coordination between technical team, business analysts, business partners and the testing team. Good working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work and gain experience
Red Deer, as a Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB28 March 2017
Its a good place to work, pay is not that great. People are nice, I learnt alot working there. Clients are very nice people and that makes life much easy there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
AML QUALITY ASSURANCE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 March 2017
Easy to blend in as the staff is helpful and make it comfortable for the new hires. The downside is that the IT department is very inefficient and to fix something it takes weeks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Customer service specialist (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 March 2017
A place I learned a lot about the financing world as well as management. The management style was harsh at times and advancement was limited. The benefits were amazing.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
The hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free work environment
Compliance Remediation Administrator (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON23 March 2017
Good colleagues, great line manager, back office work suits me better personally.

Management needs to put more effort in training temps, but does delegate work so that you learn the processes.

Overall positive experience
Pros
Lunch room, free wifi, good management
Cons
Better training on the job would be nice to build on transferable skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call centre is a nightmare..
Client Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2017
Call centre job was a nightmare to me, but could be a good job for you if you are' the talkative' and 'doesn't get affected by others' words' type of people.
Culture was bad, managing style was horrible.
Pros
fixed hours, no need to OT
Cons
everything else..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Culture
Head of Commercial Card products (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2017
As an international bank in Canada. HSBC offers a unique clientele and banking experience. HSBC is a suitable workplace for the mobile professional who are willing to seek roles in other markets.

Within Canada, HSBC struggles to keep up with big 5 especially in terms of local IT and people resources. Most major management decisions are made out of group offices in London or New York.

Pay is at or above the salary offered by the Big 5 local banks.
Pros
International exposure
Cons
Limited decision making within Canada
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about HSBC?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place with standards
Business Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2017
As a part of HSBC Canada's retail transformation project, I feel really honored. My ideas were being considered and implemented around various initiatives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with many deadlines.
Asst Manager - Documentation (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 March 2017
- Processing import and export documents for clients
- Learned how to work in a fast paced environment with multiple deadlines
- Management was sometimes too busy to help, so the staff needed to be autonomous
- The hardest part of the job was to quickly adapt to the ever changing procedures
- Most enjoyable part was the people and to work as a team
Pros
relaxed dress code
Cons
multiple procedural changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No career path
Senior Systems/Team Leader Tech Support, (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON7 March 2017
HSBC went through and is still very actively outsourcing most of technolgy jobs to India. They have taken the same approach and similar direction to most financial institutions. Offshore as much as possible to maximize profits.
Pros
Not many at all
Cons
no career opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company of international fame
Banking Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh6 March 2017
I was blessed with an opportunity to work for HSBC. A fast paced company wherein I was required to deal with customers of all kind. I wish it was a long term opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Administrative Assistant to Investment Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 March 2017
I help an investment advisor with daily administrative duties as well as addressing any requests from clients.

I learned alot about finance, and organizational skills. I planned events and coordinated conferences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internships!
Security and Fraud Risk & e-Business Intern (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 February 2017
I had a great time at HSBC, all managers were willing to put time into my success and future growth. Great to have on your resume, the day to day was always different as much involves shadowing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense workload, diverse teams but knowledgeble staff
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 February 2017
Benefits are good with bank holidays, employee training and staff are friendly.

Company is big and hard to navigate.
Lots of department, so hard to manage projects effectively in the begining
Workload can be very heavy and management direction changes frequently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun company to work for
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 February 2017
Typical work day at HSBC, requires to be able to work in a team or by yourself. When I started with HSBC I had no banking experience or knowledge of the banking industry, when I left I with alot of knowledge and experience. HSBC encourages their eimployees to learn everything you can. Many opportunities to move up in the organization. HSBC believes in Job Work/Life Balance, they expect you to work hard and do your properly. Management is always open and willing to listen to any concerns that their empoyees may have. My experience is everyone is great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed learning and working with the teams located worldwide
Project Manager - Payment Services (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC2 February 2017
Typical daily working routine:
- check and respond to emails
- check/prepare project documentation
- interact with business and discuss details on the requirements
- interact with IT engineering to work on design
- daily call with engineering/business teams in across the world

I learned:
- payment systems infrastructure
- payment processes framework
- payment channels
- integration of the banking systems with payments infrastructure
- project management methodology
- communicating with people, 'follow up" and meeting protocols

Management:
- goal oriented, collaborative and team supportive

Workplace culture:
- continuously changing/adjusting
Pros
minimum control
Cons
permanent organizational changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working enviorment
Premium Banker & Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC26 January 2017
good working enviorment, but the internal policy needs to be improved. The retail banking of the HSBC is not as competitive as other big 5 banks in Canada
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HSBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 7,068 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9