HSBC Employee Reviews

Found 238 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call centre is a nightmare..
Client Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2017
Call centre job was a nightmare to me, but could be a good job for you if you are' the talkative' and 'doesn't get affected by others' words' type of people.
Culture was bad, managing style was horrible.
Pros
fixed hours, no need to OT
Cons
everything else..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Culture
Head of Commercial Card products (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2017
As an international bank in Canada. HSBC offers a unique clientele and banking experience. HSBC is a suitable workplace for the mobile professional who are willing to seek roles in other markets.

Within Canada, HSBC struggles to keep up with big 5 especially in terms of local IT and people resources. Most major management decisions are made out of group offices in London or New York.

Pay is at or above the salary offered by the Big 5 local banks.
Pros
International exposure
Cons
Limited decision making within Canada
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place with standards
Business Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2017
As a part of HSBC Canada's retail transformation project, I feel really honored. My ideas were being considered and implemented around various initiatives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with many deadlines.
Asst Manager - Documentation (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 March 2017
- Processing import and export documents for clients
- Learned how to work in a fast paced environment with multiple deadlines
- Management was sometimes too busy to help, so the staff needed to be autonomous
- The hardest part of the job was to quickly adapt to the ever changing procedures
- Most enjoyable part was the people and to work as a team
Pros
relaxed dress code
Cons
multiple procedural changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No career path
Senior Systems/Team Leader Tech Support, (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON7 March 2017
HSBC went through and is still very actively outsourcing most of technolgy jobs to India. They have taken the same approach and similar direction to most financial institutions. Offshore as much as possible to maximize profits.
Pros
Not many at all
Cons
no career opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Administrative Assistant to Investment Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 March 2017
I help an investment advisor with daily administrative duties as well as addressing any requests from clients.

I learned alot about finance, and organizational skills. I planned events and coordinated conferences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internships!
Security and Fraud Risk & e-Business Intern (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 February 2017
I had a great time at HSBC, all managers were willing to put time into my success and future growth. Great to have on your resume, the day to day was always different as much involves shadowing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense workload, diverse teams but knowledgeble staff
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 February 2017
Benefits are good with bank holidays, employee training and staff are friendly.

Company is big and hard to navigate.
Lots of department, so hard to manage projects effectively in the begining
Workload can be very heavy and management direction changes frequently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun company to work for
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 February 2017
Typical work day at HSBC, requires to be able to work in a team or by yourself. When I started with HSBC I had no banking experience or knowledge of the banking industry, when I left I with alot of knowledge and experience. HSBC encourages their eimployees to learn everything you can. Many opportunities to move up in the organization. HSBC believes in Job Work/Life Balance, they expect you to work hard and do your properly. Management is always open and willing to listen to any concerns that their empoyees may have. My experience is everyone is great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed learning and working with the teams located worldwide
Project Manager - Payment Services (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC2 February 2017
Typical daily working routine:
- check and respond to emails
- check/prepare project documentation
- interact with business and discuss details on the requirements
- interact with IT engineering to work on design
- daily call with engineering/business teams in across the world

I learned:
- payment systems infrastructure
- payment processes framework
- payment channels
- integration of the banking systems with payments infrastructure
- project management methodology
- communicating with people, 'follow up" and meeting protocols

Management:
- goal oriented, collaborative and team supportive

Workplace culture:
- continuously changing/adjusting
Pros
minimum control
Cons
permanent organizational changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working enviorment
Premium Banker & Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC26 January 2017
good working enviorment, but the internal policy needs to be improved. The retail banking of the HSBC is not as competitive as other big 5 banks in Canada
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Bank with lots of job opportunities
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 January 2017
I have learned a lot about banking operations in the last 10 years. The people is great and vice to work with. The work can sometimes be quite demanding and requires long working hours.
Pros
Large global bank
Cons
Not easy to balance work & life
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work there and I learned alot.
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst IL22 January 2017
Working with HSBC was very good for me, I learned alot and i grow proffesionally with the company. It was a very well balanced with my personal life.
Pros
Always learning something new
Cons
Management not always fair
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC Bank Canada
Senior Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 January 2017
Lots of lateral opportunity, Little work/life balance, employees not empowered to say no if overloaded. Management very critical of employees.. Very little vertical opportunity. Good benefits package.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not interested in the review
Risk Identifier Snr Asc (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 January 2017
Great Company to work for. Great life work balance. Co-Workers mostly team oriented. Most enjoyable part is opportunities to learn many different aspects of work in other departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
FATCA Analyst/Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 December 2016
good place to work, coworkers are helpful and the bosses are supportive as well. it can be stressful at times but this occasional stress is a part of any job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS19 December 2016
HSBC is a great place to work.
Great work culture and opportunities
Able to hone my communication skills
I can only appreciate the leadership team that is consistently walking the talk, seeking for feedback and doing something with the feedback.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hsbc canada
Compliance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 December 2016
currently working for same company. Having global presence. Good place to work. I joined in the month of March 2015 and working for the same bank till now.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Team Leader, Investment Services (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 December 2016
A day at HSBC InvestDirect is composed of a fast paced enviroment as a securities brokerage firm. From the opening bell until market closing, we're constantly servicing clients and resolving issues. As a management team member, you're faced wiht challenges thoroughout the day to resolve with the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Firm
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 December 2016
I come across many opporutnities and challenges every day I am at work. It's fun to deal with the unexpected daily, it makes the job so interesting and the learnings tremendous as I deal with each unexpecetd event as it unfolds.
I have a team who is passionate and motivated and we face our challenges together.
Leadership is about having fun while firm as well. Its about creating an environment where you walk through the door every morning and your excited for the day to begin and look forward to the highs and lows.
I thourougly enjoy every day with my team and look forward to the learnings each and every day.
Pros
Social times as a team
Cons
Not enough hours in the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 6,846 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9