H&R Block Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tax prepare
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 April 2017
-Preparing customers personal tax return T1 and relative schedule for provide years.
- Providing tax tips or suggests to clients
- answer office phone calls
-booking and confirming apointment
Pros
Growing skills and knowledge about personal and business tax
Cons
low salary and lots of pressures
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taxing and arduous
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC7 April 2017
The job was taxing. Everyday was extremely redundant. It paid minimum wage and they expected you to work late quite often but always made sure you never worked over 40 hours a week.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's where I got my start in Management
Assistant District Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL3 April 2017
This is where I got my start in Management. I have nothing but respect for this company as they pulled me away from the great white north back to Newfoundland with open arms.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair wages
Income Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB30 March 2017
Not fairly compensated for the work and money that we bring into the corporation. Paid a minimum wage salary for something that you bring in over $100 per return to the company.
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 March 2017
Maintained client schedules and tax returns, complete accurate data entry and processed payments efficiently also greeted Clients and provided information.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurray , ab28 March 2017
awesome staff this review , that is all I have to say about working at h and r block in fort mcmurray ab. thank you but there is nothing else I can say .
Pros
great freinds
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2017
As a CSR in H&R block, I learnt to deal with different types of people and helping them with tasks. It was a busy place during the tax season and there were deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy work atmosphere
Client service professional (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB20 March 2017
When I started I had very little training. I was quick to learn the new tasks without little assistance. Work hours were amazing at my location. Lack of communication and under staffed made for some upset customers. Got great work experience dealing with dissatisfied customers.
Pros
Hours were what I wanted. Built my own schedule
Cons
Breaks didnt happen often because we were so busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Tax Preparer (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB18 March 2017
A very supportive team with flexibility in work schedule. Enjoyed meeting customers from all walks of life and helping them complete their tax returns which can be stressful.
It was hard to tell customers when they owed taxes but was so fun to tell them when they would receive a return!
Pros
Diverse customer base; supportive work environment
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON16 March 2017
getting folders ready for customers to do their income tax filing
learned different computer skills
my manager was great
hard part of job long hours
best part of job, meeting new people
Pros
getting paid
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging but interesting place to work with
Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB13 March 2017
Working with different people everyday if very challenging but interesting at the same time. People are relying on you in explaining clearly and in details what is their refund or tax owing depending on their tax situation.
Pros
Able to meet lots of people from all walks of life
Cons
Stressful in dealing with some irate clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 March 2017
Tax knowledge learned
Not busy
Challenge everyday
Great teamwork
Management so so
Diversified culture
Flexible schedule
Good job for seasonal, retirement and student
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love math so this was an enjoyable experience!
Tax Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON2 March 2017
I liked working with clients and being able to help them fill their personal income tax returns! Management was great and they let us work independently and only required us to report to management if necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Income Tax Associate (Seasonal) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2017
A good place to start for new grads. Comprehensive training and friendly staff. They take you from a novice to an expert in income tax preparation over 5 seasons
Pros
Professional experience
Cons
Temporary job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment & experience
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 February 2017
The first time I started filing tax returns is the most difficult one. From my first time experience, I learnt a lot from my experienced colleagues, and they are very nice and willing to help me. Thanks to them, I am now confident with the whole process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON16 February 2017
This job was fast paced and detail oriented. I learned to prepare personal taxes and grew quickly into an office manager position. We needed to be very goal oriented to reach corporate set goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you dont reach sales, You get no commission.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 February 2017
Bad Bad Bad place to work if you care about people. Spending time with clients and going the extra mile for someone will only get you yelled at and uninvited to come back next tax season. Its all about the money. This company changed the contract without telling anyone and often go through with illegal tax returns. if you have a conscience, work somewhere else.
Pros
Steady work hours
Cons
High pressure, constantly changing proices, poor and pushy management, no commission granted if office doesnt reach sales goal, shady activity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you are only looking for seasonal
Tax Specialist (Current Employee) –  Goderich, ON6 February 2017
If you are looking for February to end of April work and School to refresh your learning from September to January this is the place for you. Most people are ok to work with.
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce to work with HR Block
TAX PROFESSIONAL (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 February 2017
It's a seasonal job but the excellent job opportunity to start and get experience in accounting work at HR block. nice place to work
Pros
get experience in accounting work
Cons
seasonal job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB4 February 2017
Cleaning your office on a daily bases
Doing income taxes for clients throughout the season
Following up on clients
Customer service

Easy going job. Very helpful people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H&R Block. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,177 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1