Find companies:
H&R Block
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,211 reviews

H&R Block Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review of H&R Block
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 22, 2013
Pros: enjoyable work environment .. and flexible hours for the most part .
Cons: its only a seasonal job . would have liked to stay on all year ..
I would get their a half hour before my shift started to open up and get things running for when the tax pro's got there.I worked as a C.S.R. So I answered phones, booked appointments, entered clients into CIS , matched clients up with the tax pro most experienced to handle their specific tax needs and cashed them out after their appointments. I also – more... did the filing and pccp calling . I learned alot actually ... I learned how to book appointments how to cash out clients such as take payment or make up their cashback money orders or master cards .. I also learned alot about taxes and whats allowed to be claimed and whats not ...My manager was awesome ... She was more then willing to work with me and help me learn my job .Most of my co workers were great and very supportive ..I am a people person and usually get along with most everybody . The hardest part of the job was in the beginning when i just started but after that it wasn't bad at all .. I'm not afraid to ask questions if I don't know something . The most enjoyable part of my job was the people I worked with .. And I love learning and gained alot of valuable experience .. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working at the company
Tax Professional (Seasonal) (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 18, 2013
Pros: good place to work and learn
Cons: temporary work (tax season only)
*It provides very professional environment. A great place to work and learn
*I developed strong tax knowledge , Interpersonal & Analytical skills
*Management is very helpful and organized
*Co-workers are very efficient, knowledgeable and cooperative
*Because Tax laws are enormous and constantly changing, we have to attend the tax school for 3 months – more... each year. Still sometimes our abilities are not enough at different complex level of returns
*Helping people by providing tax advice and tax tips – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to tax world.
Office Leader (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMay 15, 2013
Pros: 20 free taxes for friends & family
Cons: short lunch breaks during peak time.
-Back to back appointments for 8 hours.

-Outstanding classes offered

-Working with senior tax professionals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Drayton Valley, ABMay 12, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
I worked part time for my Aunt whenever I was needed, which was mostly in the summers. I would do anything she needed, I was her assistant.
Filing, paperwork, customer service were just a few of the things i would do. It was great practice for me for when I started actually working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great seasonal job
Tax Associate (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONApril 17, 2013
Pros: great experience
Cons: low pay with lots of unpaid training
great seasonal job with low pay and high expectations. I enjoyed working with the co workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Tax Professional (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 11, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: too short, only seasonal & changes every year
I ALWAYS FELT COMFORTABLE ASKING FOR HELP AND VOICING WHAT I HAVE LEARNED TO SOMEONE ELSE NEEDING INFO. THERE ARE GLITCHES IN THE COMPUTER PROGRAM THAT SOMETIMES PRESENTED A CHALLENGE, BUT SOMEONE WAS ALWAYS WILLING TO PROVIDE THEIR EXPERTISE. I LEARNED THAT ALTHOUGH CUSTOMERS CAN SOMETIMES HAVE A BAD EXPERIENCE (THEY OWE $$$)--THERE IS ALWAYS A TAX – more... TIP THAT WE AS TAX PROS CAN PROVIDE TO END THEIR EXPERIENCE ON A POSITIVE NOTE AND THAT THE TRAINING I WAS GIVEN PREPARED ME QUITE WELL TO DO AN EXCEPTIONAL JOB AND THAT DOING TAXES IN THE RIGHT ENVIRONMENT CAN BE FUN!! I REALLY ENJOYED MY LEADER AND MY CO-WORKERS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help our clients get every advantage at tax time
Tax Professional (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONApril 8, 2013
• Prepare professional tax returns for individual clients
• Perform related clerical duties, such as word processing, maintaining filing and record systems, faxing and photocopying
• Communicate with government officers such as CRA and EI officers to verify clients' tax information
• The hardest part of the job is to help the clients find their T4 lost – more... by ckecking CRA website
• The most enjoyable part of the job is to find the clients T4 lost on CRA website – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Client Service Leader (Current Employee), West Vancouver, BCApril 6, 2013
One of the most interesting job that I enjoyed.
Many hard working employee.
Good service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee), Aldergrove, BCApril 1, 2013
Pros: great management
Cons: only seasonal
It was an excellent company that offered good experiences.
Enjoyed working with the co-workers everyday.
Multitasking was challenging at the end of the season.
I was able to identify needs and undertake tasks
and achieve consistent customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, lots of responsibilty, intense
Receptionist (Current Employee), Vernon, BCMarch 24, 2013
Pros: free tax returns
Cons: no lunch hour
My typical day at work is very busy, dealing with multiple things at once, answering phones, scheduling appointments, taking payments for income tax returns, computer skills, andswering many tax inquiries and dealing with people.
I have learned how to deal with multitasking in a very stressful job, dealing with members of the community, at a very stressful – more... time.. tax season!
My co workers are fantastic, we work and support each other as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Customer Service Professional (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 16, 2013
Pros: free tax returns
Cons: none so far
Team work is very essential in this organization. Everyone has own vital role to execute. Failure of one may fail the organization's objective.

Busy during tax season.

Management are good motivators and mentors.

Hardest part is handling difficult and impatient people, yet, enjoyable when you are able them to stay for their appointment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work place
Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 11, 2013
Pros: helpful people
Cons: sometimes chaotic
Enjoyed working !! Increased my knowledge about various aspects , as to how to deal with people , communication skills and remaining calm in chaotic situations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job can learn many skills
Tax Associate (Current Employee), Whitby, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: learn about taxation
Cons: place to work is assigned and it is far.
-File tax return for customers, answer any questions related to their tax return and suggest eligible refundable/non-refundable tax credit.
-I learned customer service skills, taxation knowledge and co-operation skill working in a team.
-The co-workers are very nice and helpful. We all support each other and work as a team to reach some goals which – more... are set by management. For example: promoting master card sales, service grading rate.
-The hardest part is to meet the need of the customers. Some customers assume they could have refund each year, but that may not be true.
-The most enjoyable part of the job is to enjoy learning through acquiring experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working with team.
Tax pro (Current Employee), Barrie, ONFebruary 15, 2013
enjoyable part is working as a team and co workers are very friendly, meeting new people and helping them , and learning new things. helping client when they walkout from our office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Office Job
Receptionist (Former Employee), New Minas, NSFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: friendly environment, independant work
Cons: seasonal work
Great job for someone who like to work with people. Can be quite busy at times and at other times can be slow. Management and staff are friendly and treat you wonderfully.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H&R Block
Receptionist (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 29, 2013
Cons: 3 day's a weej seasonal
I was working at the front-dest as a receptionist, I look after for the client's appointment, answering the call.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt Tax software
Tax Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton ABJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: good support by co-workers
Cons: only seasonal
Completed individual Tax returns. Interesting work, good training and support by co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied Client
Tax Professional (Former Employee), Moncton, NBJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: friends and family free returns
Clients want someone that can provide them with an accurate return that will give them the maximum benefits of tax reductions. This was our main focus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Driver/Checker (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: meeting different people
Cons: driving in bad weather
I would pick up returns from the satellite offices and take them to the main branch to be checked by the proofers and then return them in the evening on my way home. I learned how to process a tax return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but good job.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: the hours were good; i was able to walk back and forth from work.
Cons: the pay wasn't good enough and there could have been better training..
This was an exceedingly busy job as it was tax season. I met people of all cultures and loved being on the desk helping them out. I learned to manage their stress with regards to long waiting periods by adopting a method of calling them back instead of waiting in the office. This job got me used to a busy office environment. My co-workers were hard – more... working people and some of them I'll never forget because of how wonderful they were. The Office manager was somewhat difficult to deal with but you learned how to operate with her. – less

About H&R Block

H&R Block is one of the world's largest tax services providers, utilizing more than 100,000 highly trained tax professionals – Read more