Find companies:
H&R Block
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,268 reviews

H&R Block Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work, meeting people and being able to help them with their income taxes.
Income Tax Preparer (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJune 17, 2013
Pros: interacting with clients.
Cons: seasonal work during income tax period.
Very good environment to work in meeting new people, being able to help and give advice with regards to their income tax. Management was exceptional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced industry which often has heavy turn over.
District Manager (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJune 13, 2013
Pros: autonomy
Cons: no job security
Company with heavy management turn-over at the senior level. Little regard for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Paris, ONJune 6, 2013
Pros: end of season dinners, awards, and prizes
Cons: peak season can be a bit challenging at times
A typical day at work:
Greeting Clients
Answering telephones, taking messages, booking and scheduling appointments. Faxing and receiving faxes. Photocopying information, filing-- retrieving files, and filing them after no-longer needed. Receiving drop off`s dating them when they are to be ready for clients. Updating client`s information. Taking new – more... client`s information. Putting them in order of date to be completed. Receiving payments, through moneris. Printing and issuing receipts. Stapling our copies of method of payment inside client`s files. Doing end of day balancing. Making out deposit slips and putting cash amounts in bag along with deposit slips, sealing it, dating it, then depositing it in the night depository at the bank. Doing light cleaning of work area. Taking out the garbage on garbage days at end of shift. Pretty general and straight forward. Co-workers are great, team spirited and helpful. Harmonious. Management or office leader are great. We had an awesome office leader. Hardest part of the job, is equipment malfunctioning, example when computer crashes, or moneris isn`t working at the most crucial times or when they are all down. The most enjoyable part of the job is customer satisfaction and happy office leaders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational
Tax Professional (Current Employee), Prince GeorgeJune 2, 2013
Pros: meeting new people and never the same
Cons: seasonal
Days are busy, learned new things every day, management was great and co-workers amazing. Hardest part was trying to please everyone. Most enjoyable is the different people I would meet. Loved solving problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wa salways a challenge
Office manager and tax preparer (Current Employee), OttawaJune 2, 2013
Pros: opportunity to make decisions
Cons: lack of recognition.
I enjoyed the diversified client base that we dealt with and the challenge of staying current with the government updates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Income Tax & Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), St-Albert, ABMay 24, 2013
Pros: good enviroment
Cons: short breaks/lunch
Excellent Experiance, nice co-workers, good place to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and treated like a family
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), saint john nbMay 24, 2013
Pros: family like easy atmosphere
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work would be making sure all clients are seen as quickly as possible and the tax preparers have all the information they require. Co-workers treat each other like family and are very friendly and easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work place.
Tax Professional (Former Employee), Langley, BCMay 24, 2013
Pros: friendly and helpful assosiates.
Cons: pretty low wages for very responsible job.
The most enjoyable part of the work was to do the best possible tax return for the clients and when clients were living the office happy, promising to come back the next tax season.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review of H&R Block
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 22, 2013
Pros: enjoyable work environment .. and flexible hours for the most part .
Cons: its only a seasonal job . would have liked to stay on all year ..
I would get their a half hour before my shift started to open up and get things running for when the tax pro's got there.I worked as a C.S.R. So I answered phones, booked appointments, entered clients into CIS , matched clients up with the tax pro most experienced to handle their specific tax needs and cashed them out after their appointments. I also – more... did the filing and pccp calling . I learned alot actually ... I learned how to book appointments how to cash out clients such as take payment or make up their cashback money orders or master cards .. I also learned alot about taxes and whats allowed to be claimed and whats not ...My manager was awesome ... She was more then willing to work with me and help me learn my job .Most of my co workers were great and very supportive ..I am a people person and usually get along with most everybody . The hardest part of the job was in the beginning when i just started but after that it wasn't bad at all .. I'm not afraid to ask questions if I don't know something . The most enjoyable part of my job was the people I worked with .. And I love learning and gained alot of valuable experience .. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working at the company
Tax Professional (Seasonal) (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 18, 2013
Pros: good place to work and learn
Cons: temporary work (tax season only)
*It provides very professional environment. A great place to work and learn
*I developed strong tax knowledge , Interpersonal & Analytical skills
*Management is very helpful and organized
*Co-workers are very efficient, knowledgeable and cooperative
*Because Tax laws are enormous and constantly changing, we have to attend the tax school for 3 months – more... each year. Still sometimes our abilities are not enough at different complex level of returns
*Helping people by providing tax advice and tax tips – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to tax world.
Office Leader (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMay 15, 2013
Pros: 20 free taxes for friends & family
Cons: short lunch breaks during peak time.
-Back to back appointments for 8 hours.

-Outstanding classes offered

-Working with senior tax professionals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Drayton Valley, ABMay 12, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
I worked part time for my Aunt whenever I was needed, which was mostly in the summers. I would do anything she needed, I was her assistant.
Filing, paperwork, customer service were just a few of the things i would do. It was great practice for me for when I started actually working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great seasonal job
Tax Associate (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONApril 17, 2013
Pros: great experience
Cons: low pay with lots of unpaid training
great seasonal job with low pay and high expectations. I enjoyed working with the co workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Tax Professional (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 11, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: too short, only seasonal & changes every year
I ALWAYS FELT COMFORTABLE ASKING FOR HELP AND VOICING WHAT I HAVE LEARNED TO SOMEONE ELSE NEEDING INFO. THERE ARE GLITCHES IN THE COMPUTER PROGRAM THAT SOMETIMES PRESENTED A CHALLENGE, BUT SOMEONE WAS ALWAYS WILLING TO PROVIDE THEIR EXPERTISE. I LEARNED THAT ALTHOUGH CUSTOMERS CAN SOMETIMES HAVE A BAD EXPERIENCE (THEY OWE $$$)--THERE IS ALWAYS A TAX – more... TIP THAT WE AS TAX PROS CAN PROVIDE TO END THEIR EXPERIENCE ON A POSITIVE NOTE AND THAT THE TRAINING I WAS GIVEN PREPARED ME QUITE WELL TO DO AN EXCEPTIONAL JOB AND THAT DOING TAXES IN THE RIGHT ENVIRONMENT CAN BE FUN!! I REALLY ENJOYED MY LEADER AND MY CO-WORKERS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help our clients get every advantage at tax time
Tax Professional (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONApril 8, 2013
• Prepare professional tax returns for individual clients
• Perform related clerical duties, such as word processing, maintaining filing and record systems, faxing and photocopying
• Communicate with government officers such as CRA and EI officers to verify clients' tax information
• The hardest part of the job is to help the clients find their T4 lost – more... by ckecking CRA website
• The most enjoyable part of the job is to find the clients T4 lost on CRA website – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Client Service Leader (Current Employee), West Vancouver, BCApril 6, 2013
One of the most interesting job that I enjoyed.
Many hard working employee.
Good service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee), Aldergrove, BCApril 1, 2013
Pros: great management
Cons: only seasonal
It was an excellent company that offered good experiences.
Enjoyed working with the co-workers everyday.
Multitasking was challenging at the end of the season.
I was able to identify needs and undertake tasks
and achieve consistent customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, lots of responsibilty, intense
Receptionist (Current Employee), Vernon, BCMarch 24, 2013
Pros: free tax returns
Cons: no lunch hour
My typical day at work is very busy, dealing with multiple things at once, answering phones, scheduling appointments, taking payments for income tax returns, computer skills, andswering many tax inquiries and dealing with people.
I have learned how to deal with multitasking in a very stressful job, dealing with members of the community, at a very stressful – more... time.. tax season!
My co workers are fantastic, we work and support each other as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Customer Service Professional (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 16, 2013
Pros: free tax returns
Cons: none so far
Team work is very essential in this organization. Everyone has own vital role to execute. Failure of one may fail the organization's objective.

Busy during tax season.

Management are good motivators and mentors.

Hardest part is handling difficult and impatient people, yet, enjoyable when you are able them to stay for their appointment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work place
Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 11, 2013
Pros: helpful people
Cons: sometimes chaotic
Enjoyed working !! Increased my knowledge about various aspects , as to how to deal with people , communication skills and remaining calm in chaotic situations

About H&R Block

H&R Block is one of the world's largest tax services providers, utilizing more than 100,000 highly trained tax professionals – Read more