H&R Block Employee Reviews

Found 293 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced People to work with
Tax Accountant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 8, 2015
not very fast paced, a lot to learn in terns of Canadian Taxation Laws and Regulations. Usually more time during the off season to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but some major management issues.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary,AbJuly 6, 2015
Can be a fun place to work with the right supervisor/manager.
Competitive environment, can be too competitive
A lot of brown nosing from co-workers
Pros
Great Social Committee, colleagues that you build relationships with last a lifetime
Cons
Stressful environment, lay offs are easy for the mgmt
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 4, 2015
Very busy office with a variety of client with different needs.
I am looking forward to taking level 4 courses and corporate tax this year.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ideal for part-time job which supplements a full-time job
Tax Associate (Former Employee) –  VancouverJune 30, 2015
Good for learning new tax law and to keep adding more customer service skills and knowledge each year. Enjoyable meeting new co-workers and interacting with new and recurring clients.
Pros
Flexible scheduling and meeting new clients
Cons
low pay and sometimes challenging demanding clients
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Junior tax professional job
Tax Specialist - Part time/Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 28, 2015
They provide systematic training before tax season starts but the on-job training is not sufficient. Good start as a junior tax professional job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Days
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Prince George BCJune 25, 2015
Always went to work happy. Loved being with my co-workers. Never hated one thing except schedules. They always seemed to change it on me.
Pros
Dealing with Clients
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy and fast paced
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Shawville, QCJune 17, 2015
Working at H&R Block is a high energy fast paced job. Meeting with clients and preparing their returns. I've improved on my organizational skills and customer service. My co-workers were fantastic to work with, always happy. My most enjoyable part of my day was having satisfied customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace and busy
Tax Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 11, 2015
A typical day at work included communicating with various customers and CRA. I learned how to file tax forms and communicate with public over the phone as well as face to face. The hardest part of this job was travelling the distance between work and home with young kids. Most enjoyable part of the job was the the training prior to working.
Pros
Training experience
Cons
Distance between work and home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H&R Block
Office Leader/Tax Professional Seasonally (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ONJune 9, 2015
Excellent team working company to work for. This company is very fast paced and the employees get along with each other. There is always a lot of customer service experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helped in setting a standard in Customer service levels.
Tax Proffessional (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCJune 2, 2015
It was a busy work station. Although seasonal i was able to improve my computer skills and customer service skills.People form varied walks of life came to do their taxes and that gave me an insight into the life of people in canada.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall good experience
Tax Associate (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, OnMay 31, 2015
Prepared tax papers for tax submissions and returns
Answered telephones and provided information to clients
Type, printed and copied documents as requested
Performed data entry services
Made appointments and worked with correspondence
Pros
team work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work for and with
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  New Glasgow, NSMay 26, 2015
From the time you start until the time you end, you have great people to work with and to help you if and when you needed extra information. Hardest part of the job is when the tax season is over and you miss your co workers. The most enjoyable part is when you are able to help the clients prepare their taxes and show them where they would be able to improve their refund or if they needed extra information forms for different situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work situation, good team building environment
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCMay 15, 2015
Come in an hour early on my own time to prepare for the day.
Establish a comfortable relationship with each individual and ensure I was able to obtain all the necessary information to assure the most accurate tax accounting result.
Learned to listen to each client and provide advice on tax management for future years.
Team working was essential and coordination with co-workers was an essential part of the job.
The hardest part was advising clients that they had not managed their tax deductions wisely and they owed tax to Canada Revenue. The flip side was telling clients that they had a refund that they did not expect and celebrating that moment with them.
Pros
Free tax preparation for friends and family
Cons
Low Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 9, 2015
My Typical day would include:
Filing income taxes for people
Making appointments and Cancelling appointments
doing taxes for drop offs.
Pros
balanced work and personal time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Client Service Leader (Current Employee) –  Selkirk, MBApril 30, 2015
A typical day in an H&R office is rather enjoyable. It is a strong positive environment with the perfect model of team work. We are all here to assist one another. At times it can be very fast paced and others rather slow paced but there is always something to do.

Corporate management could use some work. There is alot of avoidance when it comes to dealing with client complaints. Our biggest complaint is the prices. In my opinion there is no good explanation for so many price increases in one tax season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H & R Block is a decent place to work.
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBApril 27, 2015
In a typical day I would open and close shop, greet and inform clients, direct them to the appropriate professionals, schedule clients, and prepare and organize client portfolios.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environment
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONApril 27, 2015
* Daily review of the number of tax return filled with management.

* Senior tax preparers always willing to assist with tough/difficult returns.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn about tax system
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  GTA, OntarioApril 27, 2015
Not much training is given, a lot is expected. People are not especially helpful and managment lacks leadership capabilities. There are no chances of growth, they want people to work for free. Not to place to work year after year.
Pros
You learn about CRA and tax system of the country
Cons
Headoffice think little of people who make them money
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the experiance.
Office Assistant/ part time (Former Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BCApril 15, 2015
It was a great Job. loved working with the clients and would like to do it again.hours were 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday to saturday. for three months. As it was my first year i was restricted with the level of paper work. I was more frustrated when my CEO then held me back from getting work done because she was busy. She is not there now.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable.
CSP (Former Employee) –  prince george, bcApril 15, 2015
H&R Block, is a great place to work I highly recommend applying there. I am currently in process of learning how to do basic T4's. I manage appointments, phone calls, filing, and faxing. My co-workers are great all have a amazing personalities. The hardest part of this job is having the computers break down during a appointment. The most enjoyable part of being here is socializing with my clients and doing the best to make them have a great time here at H&R block. I definitely want to apply here again next year.
Pros
Absolutely everything.
Cons
Computers breaking down.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 4,656 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1