H&R Block Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Tax Preparer/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 August 2017
Pretty much you work on your own. Management is not approachable and the pay was too low. its hard to work in the invironment that make you feel not welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Regional Functional Support (Seasonal Position) (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON14 August 2017
Working for Block is like being back in high school. Most staff are only there for the almighty dollar. They spend more time being rude to others than anything.
Pros
Learning about current taxes
Cons
Disrespectful management, high expectations of staff with minimal training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment.
Computer Crew (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON11 August 2017
The staff around are incredible, if you can find one person to get along with, you will have the time of your life. If not well lets just say the stress and anxiety will probably get to you by the end of the year.
Pros
Fantastic co-workers
Cons
Too many problems for the amount of staff on hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON9 August 2017
Overall I am satisfied the job. Always been encouraged to step ahead. great benefits as an motivation to increase level of productivity. Rewards for some excellent feedback from the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with coffee
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto Central District9 August 2017
Productive and career improvement workplace full of fun and encouragement. Excellent management Team full of understanding. Friendly, accommodating and support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Customer Service Professional (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON8 August 2017
Opportunities for growth and well-laid out plans for staff. you do not have to remain at one level... there are opportunities to improve each year in the company's training program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized, too many bosses that did things differently
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC5 August 2017
Training is not adequate, clients had to wait in my office while I did the tax return and it got approved for sending to CRA. They should have been able to drop off the information, and come back & pick it up when it was done.
Cons
Long hours, Clients in your office while returns were being prepared
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok for some extra money
RECEPTIONIST/TAX PROFESSIONAL/MANAGER (Former Employee) –  London, ON3 August 2017
ok for some extra money, good after the Christmas holidays. Not a career that's for sure. Most of the people are ok though. If you want to learn how to do your own tax they offer good courses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL26 July 2017
H&R Block is a fantastic place to work! The management is phenomenal, everyone is so friendly to work with, and you are constantly learning new skills. They are so flexible and understanding with schedules as well. And even though we only meet with clients once a year, on average, it is such a fun and rewarding experience every single time.
Cons
None!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK24 July 2017
enjoyed working there but need more hours/ higher wages . single one income. meet lots of people. experience in fields as administrative assistant. all cultures and walks of different poverty . answering phones, cash, cheques, administrative assistant experience
Pros
good people/flexable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Client service professional (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 July 2017
loved working for this company, will hopefully be returning this year for 2017 tax season, learned a lot in a short amount of time, was basically the go to person in my office even tho i was new. i took the time to learn things when it was slow.

this was my first office job and i really enjoyed it, i wanted the full time hours and they were short staffed so worked at 4 locations in Calgary on a regular basis
Pros
everyone was nice. wanted to help everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
SENIOR TAX PROFESSIONAL (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 July 2017
Helpful colleagues, flexible hours. I have worked with H & R Block for over ten years. Every year I have to take an in house tax course that I enjoy very much.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very long hours
Office Leader (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK14 July 2017
super busy during the tax season with not much financial benefits, very close to where i resided so it was beneficial for me but not much to do after the tax season was over
Pros
walking distance from my hours
Cons
employees no show on a regular basis and no back up provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Work
District Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
The team work at H&R Block is amazing. When I started out at H&R Block as a Tax Professional one of the thing that impressed me the most was the team work in my office and other departments in the organization. This is because the organization's common goal is customer satisfaction.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No Benefits for employees labeled as part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great tax prep company
Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 July 2017
Salary is too low. Not efficient in customer service as well as to its employees. No benefits. Schedules are flexible though according to their availabilities.
Pros
Flexible schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You don't work there for the pay
Tax Professional - Seasonal (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 July 2017
If you love taxes and want to help others this is the place to work. Pay is not good. The company can really do something to take care of their works. Instead all HnR is concerned with is their revenue.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H & R Block are ok to work for
Income Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Hanover, ON8 July 2017
When I worked for this company, things were good, except when I took ill with pneumonia at the end of tax season and because of that they chose not to hire me back the next season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Position
Customer Service Manager (4 month temp position) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2017
Working for H & R Block during tax season can be busy at the end of the season, slow at the beginning. Lots of learning done when it comes to the way taxes are handled in locations such as H & R Block.

The hardest part was dealing with the customers who were surprised by the cost of having someone prepare their taxes. This resulted in some creative problem solving to keep both the clients and the tax preparers satisfied.

The tax preparation staff were good to work with and they were very easy to approach.
Pros
Temporary position for 3 months, easy to get to the office
Cons
Work load was variable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal
Customer Service Leader (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC4 July 2017
Tax season is a stressful time, working at a tax office during that time can be very stressful. It tended to be a lot of trial and error, even with the training at the beginning.
Pros
free tax return
Cons
no clearly defined expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Receptionist / Front desk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 June 2017
You learn a lot of skills at this job, such as communication with co-workers and your employers along with how to interact with customers in a positive manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H&R Block. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,186 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1