H&R Block Employee Reviews

Found 356 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Called Clients and booked their appointments
Client Connect Operator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 April 2017
Client connect decided which days it did and did not want to work. When it worked I was happy and often enjoyed my work. However when it did not work I often became frustrated and very sleepy.
Pros
My office staff were extremely nice.
Cons
Client connect often didn't work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work , but Shady District Managers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 April 2017
Basic Clerical Office work, not very challenging if you have common sense. unreasonable pricing for tax returns ( this is coming from an employee) some of management know nothing about taxes and CRA. great work life balance as the schedules are to your own choosing. Minimum wage . no real advancement as you'd have to pay from your own pocket for training.
Pros
Easy work, Clerical Experience
Cons
Overpriced services which leads to frustrated customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ive worked for 2 seasons now at H & R Block, and i love it!
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 April 2017
I love my staff, I love working here I hope to come back again next year and perhaps do taxes this time :) im thinking about taking the course and becoming a tax pro professional!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and fast pasted.
Tax Pro Consultant (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB18 April 2017
Loved the other consultants and working here was the best. clients were friendly, bosses were awesome. training was quick and easy. would love to work here again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Meticulous data entry (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC17 April 2017
I have no complaints about H&R Block they are an amazing company to work for seasonally. The management remembers you, and takes into consideration of your needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H&R block
Receptionist/ Assistant team leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 April 2017
This company can be a great place to work however depending on the team you are placed with you could end up in a petty situation. And it's only a temporary job.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
It's only seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive. learned DT- MAX software and how to handle problems ocurred while submitting income tax return
Tax Professional - Part time (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 April 2017
during my entire work term have learned lots of things regarding income tax return, how to get authorization consent from the revenue Canada, how to deal with problems any occurring, interview different clients to know their needs.
Pros
commissions
Cons
salary - close to minimum wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn tax
Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC12 April 2017
H&R Block is a good place to learn preparing canadian tax. It was first canadian job in which I held office.

The most enjoyable part was that we get to meet new clients from different walks of life.

Environment was very friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Bayshore, ON10 April 2017
The Company Was friendly. Management is very involved. Add campaign needs work. Benefits are good free tax returns for your family. Raises are 25 cents a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy Place to work
Customer Service Professional (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON9 April 2017
The direct mangers are amazing, district management not good at all. Training is provided but not enough before starting job. Very poor pay, no job security, barely time to take a break. Absolutely no home/work balance.
Pros
It is a temp job if that is what someone wants
Cons
No breaks, poor upper management skills, horrible pay, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tax prepare
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 April 2017
-Preparing customers personal tax return T1 and relative schedule for provide years.
- Providing tax tips or suggests to clients
- answer office phone calls
-booking and confirming apointment
Pros
Growing skills and knowledge about personal and business tax
Cons
low salary and lots of pressures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taxing and arduous
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC7 April 2017
The job was taxing. Everyday was extremely redundant. It paid minimum wage and they expected you to work late quite often but always made sure you never worked over 40 hours a week.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's where I got my start in Management
Assistant District Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL3 April 2017
This is where I got my start in Management. I have nothing but respect for this company as they pulled me away from the great white north back to Newfoundland with open arms.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair wages
Income Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB30 March 2017
Not fairly compensated for the work and money that we bring into the corporation. Paid a minimum wage salary for something that you bring in over $100 per return to the company.
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 March 2017
Maintained client schedules and tax returns, complete accurate data entry and processed payments efficiently also greeted Clients and provided information.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurray , ab28 March 2017
awesome staff this review , that is all I have to say about working at h and r block in fort mcmurray ab. thank you but there is nothing else I can say .
Pros
great freinds
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2017
As a CSR in H&R block, I learnt to deal with different types of people and helping them with tasks. It was a busy place during the tax season and there were deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy work atmosphere
Client service professional (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB20 March 2017
When I started I had very little training. I was quick to learn the new tasks without little assistance. Work hours were amazing at my location. Lack of communication and under staffed made for some upset customers. Got great work experience dealing with dissatisfied customers.
Pros
Hours were what I wanted. Built my own schedule
Cons
Breaks didnt happen often because we were so busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Tax Preparer (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB18 March 2017
A very supportive team with flexibility in work schedule. Enjoyed meeting customers from all walks of life and helping them complete their tax returns which can be stressful.
It was hard to tell customers when they owed taxes but was so fun to tell them when they would receive a return!
Pros
Diverse customer base; supportive work environment
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON16 March 2017
getting folders ready for customers to do their income tax filing
learned different computer skills
my manager was great
hard part of job long hours
best part of job, meeting new people
Pros
getting paid
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H&R Block. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,714 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

86%
1,281 ratings
Add your rating