Find companies:
H&R Block
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,508 reviews

H&R Block Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like to work at HRBlock
Tax Preparer (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONDecember 7, 2014
A busy office not only during the tax season. Love this job, love to meet new people. Wonderful management and co-workers .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace everyone loves
Tax Professional (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 17, 2014
A typical day means filing income tax returns for clients.
Learned Customer service skills
Great management
Helpful co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of my experience working in taxes
Tax Professional (Current Employee), Edmonton, A.B.November 16, 2014
Pros: free tax return
Cons: enjoying my work and forgetting to take my lunch
I am the go to guy in the office. I have the knowledge and confidence that backs up the office. I run the late hours plus weekends assisting coworkers as needed. I meet clients and help them achieve what they where after. I manage the people at night plus close down the office. I teach to beginning people in the tax world. This is the part I enjoy passing – more... on my knowledge to other people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the work environment.
Tax Associate (Current Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONOctober 26, 2014
Pros: management is understanding to family needs so they are very flexible.
Cons: the pay is not in line with the high level of knowledge required for the job.
A typical day at work involves dealing with clients to complete their tax returns and answer their questions. The hardest part of the job is dealing with client complaints because it is not always pleasant but fortunately it does not happen that often. The most enjoyable part is continuously learning new concepts. Tax laws are always changing and there – more... are many new aspects to learn. We have a great training department on staff and everyone is pleasant to deal with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitve learning experience
Customer service rep (Former Employee), MississaugaSeptember 10, 2014
The day starts with logging in with computer and look it up the task for a day. Follow up with customer request and give them the pricing for our services. Handle work load and take multiple calls at the same time. The most enjoyable part of the work is that every day is different day, sometime its steady and smooth and at times it slow.Nice place to – more... work but its a seasonal job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Income Tax Office
Income Tax Preparer (Former Employee), Victoria, BCSeptember 8, 2014
Being able to work with other experienced Income Tax Preparers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good place to work and learn
Tax Associate (Former Employee), Burlington , OntarioSeptember 5, 2014
H&R Block is a very good place to work and learn. Everyday is a learning day at H&R Block. Managed by really good people. Co workers were really helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting New people
Assistant Office Manager (Current Employee), Windsor OntarioAugust 18, 2014
I love working here..Great place to learn and meet people.There is always room for advancement. Courses to take every year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and meet diverse clients
Tax Professional, seasonal (Current Employee), Regina, SKAugust 16, 2014
Pros: tax training
Cons: no front desk for small offices
Every clients is different, so are the cases. It's a good opportunity to apply your tax knowledge. Having reliable co-workers and good management helps to avoid little mistakes. The hardest part of the job is when you have new complex cases you have not dealt before. The most enjoyable part is having satisfied clients, who book an appointment with you – more... right away for next tax year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preparing all types of tax returns
Senior Tax Specialist (Former Employee), Kingston, ONAugust 15, 2014
Pros: meeting and helping all types of people
Cons: long hours, low pay
Enjoyed the work, learned a lot about Canadian Tax Laws, and co-workers were great and helped one another. Always felt the fee charged to do a tax return was a little high, especially the fee that seniors had to pay. When you consider the knowledge required to complete even the simplest tax return the remuneration was not all that great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Placement
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 12, 2014
Pros: get to learn something new everyday
Cons: less time during lunch
Dealing with a lot of customers a lot of problem solving.
Learned how to be calm and give my best service.
Management was great excellent on job training.
Co worker were very co operative and co-active.
Hardest part is angry costumers.
All over I loved the job it was very enjoyable because of the whole team of H&R block.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Job
Tax Preparer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 10, 2014
Pros: interesting work.
Cons: seasonal and minimum wage
You pay for the course for the first year and are offered employment if your grades are well enough.
Unfortunately it is a seasonal job.
It is extremely satisfying to help people file their taxes and represent them with Canada Revenue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a position full of experience
tax (Former Employee), mississaugaAugust 4, 2014
Pros: discount on tax filing of my family
excellent work experience. meeting wonderful people . .looking at them smiling after the tax result
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced dynamic interpersonal low pressure environment
Client Service Leader (Former Employee), St. Albert AbAugust 3, 2014
Pros: strong team support, individual flexability, personal responsability, helping others, team effort
Cons: season is too short
I have run the H&R BLOCK St. Albert Location for a few years now and have developed a pleasant work environment that has staff and clients insisting on my return yearly, I enjoy helping people with things they themselves find stressful and seeing the look of satisfaction when the job is completed. That applies to every job/ position I have held. Customer – more... satisfaction is my first priority and frequently go the extra mile to ensure they will consider me the next time they have a need. A happy customer is repeat and new business. It has always been personally satisfying to be the best representative of a company philosophy that matches my own personal beliefs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Tax Specialist (Former Employee), Leamington, ONJuly 22, 2014
A very busy day in the local office, great team work and a fun enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this job!!
Tax Specialist (Former Employee), Terrace, BCJuly 19, 2014
Pros: good company
Cons: seasonal
I learned how to do taxes and how they worked, and how to help the customer get the most possible back.

The management was amazing and fun.

The hardest part of the job is that it was seasonal and only lasts until tax time was over.

The most enjoyable part was seeing people faces when the got back a good return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and supportive company and team
Tax Professional (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 10, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: low pay
Great team work, flexible hours. Learned so much about great customer service and the importance of customer satisfaction. Great support from Management Level. Diverse customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and fast paced enviornment. The people there made me look forward to going to work
Seasonal Tax Preparer (Former Employee), Camrose, ABJune 24, 2014
Pros: free lunches on saturday, always showed appreciation, supportive and understanding
Cons: was only a seasonal position
I can't say enough good things about this job. The people were very understanding and supportive of a learning curve and very appreciative of the work you do. When I made mistakes they were there to help me out and to learn from them, when I did a good job they made a point of letting me know they noticed. The staff and management are all supportive – more... of each other and work as a team. Everyone helped everyone out. Very fast paced work during peak season, dealing with many tax returns a day so the day went by very fast. Management would give sweet little gifts on special occasion like an easter basket full of chocolates for easter or flowers, and encouraged you to make work fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awsome
Receptionist (Former Employee), fort mcmurray, abJune 20, 2014
Pros: met lots of people
Cons: not enough time there
I loved it there I met all kinds of new people and loved it. I started there in feb and ended in april , hoping to go back if they need me , I love working receptionist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fund work place and great job to connect with communities
Tax Professional (Former Employee), Halifax, Nova ScotiaJune 19, 2014
Pros: excellent trainning courses, good team environment, flex hours, sharing of expertise
Cons: seasonal job with no career path
Great people, flex schedule, lots of customer interaction makes it an excellent side job to make extra income for your vacation

1 2 3 4 5

About H&R Block

H&R Block is one of the world's largest tax services providers, utilizing more than 100,000 highly trained tax professionals – Read more