H&M Employee Reviews

Found 181 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall experience
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 June 2017
I was with the company for about 5 years
its a good place for teenagers to build a resume and personality
the company is overall good but the management sucks and isn't fair.
They are not fair enough for Women who are pregnant.

day to day for a part timer is
Running clothes
taking care of the fitting room
being on cash. rotating between Functions occasionally being on truck.

Learning the skills at H&M is amazing
it will take you far. I jumped from one retailer to another and H&M is the ONLY company that i've seen work as efficiently in a fast past environment.

Meeting new friends and networking was my favourite part of working there. if it wasn't for my co-workers I would of not known how I would make it through the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends what you really want to do
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario7 June 2017
If you really want to work in retail this is a great place. They're training and management are great. Retail in general in pretty unpleasant pay but I would say H&M is better than most.
I would say the hours are not great but they are normal for retail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly workplace
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 May 2017
The best part about working at H&M is the people. Ever since I started (almost) 3 years ago, it has never felt like work or I was never out of place. The people definitely makes you feel like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat and challenging
Sales (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 May 2017
the managers were difficult to deal with at times, and sometimes they don't have enough people working, so its difficult on the ones that are. HM has good culture though, and they try to give back to the community, which is commendable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales and Stock Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 May 2017
fast pace environment
very team friendly
lots of benefits
great discount
flexible hours
fun activities within the company/staff
get snacks very often
Pros
lots of fun activities for the staff
Cons
very fast paced environment which can result in very stressful situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and easy
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON14 May 2017
great work place, fun and nice enviornment! great discount and work perks. staff is very nice. Trainning was very helpful! H&M lets you grow in there company
Pros
great discount
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON10 May 2017
H&m was a fun place to work. The employee discount comes in handy, and is very useful. Management is great and work culture is fantastic. Overall great job!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at times but now they're cutting back
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
had an okay experience at H&M, loved my co-workers but management was not the best. H&M is changing and is now cutting back hours even though they keep hiring more people. i liked the company before the changes happened and now they're just going downhill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, can be very fast paced
Part time sales advisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 April 2017
I loved working at H&M. Their core values as a company really shaped me into the worker I am today. They value hard work and dedication almost as much as offering fashion at the best price. I really loved the culture and the vibe of the store. I met a lot of great people. The only thing I would recommend is make sure you say no when you are at your limit. Sometimes the hours for part timers would get a little out of hand and the store can be incredibly busy. It's okay to say no to that extra shift if you're burnt out. Don't push yourself for the sake of the paycheque. The customers will benefit from you being well rested and happy to be there!
Pros
amazing coworkers, team spirit, flexible hours, great environment
Cons
not always enough coverage during peak hours, unpaid lunch, can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 April 2017
Very fast-paced
Need to be quick
Great place to work
Approachable management
Good benefits
You can grow with the company, many opportunities to work in managements, HR, and much more.
Pros
discount
Cons
long closes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best company to work for but the people are great
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 April 2017
Management is horrible there is a lot of favouritism. Hours are not bad but only 4 hour shifts for part timers. 25% discount. Fast pace work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H&m
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS15 April 2017
Honestly, this is not a bad job. I was welcomed into the team and felt comfortable with management and my other co-workers. However, I found that the hours were all over the place and the pay was not fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 April 2017
It was a great company to work for. Every day you were able to learn something new. The management staff was excellent and always cared about the staff and customers.
Pros
Work well with a schedule
Cons
work holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H&M makes you feel like you belong to a big family
Visual Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 April 2017
H&M group is a great place to work for! A day at work is never the same! For me the best part of working for H&M was the workplace culture! The company believes in all the employees and it feels like being part of a big family!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto Gore, ON11 April 2017
if you wanna work all day and get paid minimum wage then go for it. if not, maybe retail isn't the life for you innit
try a bank or a hostel or maybe even a
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and high pace environment
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC7 April 2017
Fun place to work
High pace environment
A lot of cleaning and helping out customers
Rotated you, helped you not get bored at work
Co-workers are fun and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment with horrible management and miserable two faced employees
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 April 2017
A typical day includes literally running around the store. Every hour, your tasks change. So in a 6 hour long shift, you will be going back and fourth between different departments either cleaning, running or trying to remain sane.

On days when your short on staff (honestly every shift) you can find yourself being responsible for cleaning an entire department, processing transactions at the cash and being responsible for watching the fitting room. Please keep in mind that if you've ever walked into an H&M before you know that the stores aren't small so its almost impossible to do this alone.

The employees are horrible. Although a lot of them are friends, they've known each other for years outside of the store! So when new people get hired, don't expect them to welcome you with open arms. When asking for help, FORGET IT. they are extremely rude and gossip constantly about how you should just "know how to do this" Its a very negative and fake workplace. Picture yourself working with the girls from Mean Girls, thats how working at H&M is. Ask any one of the employees how their shift is going.. I promise you, they'll say their "Fed up of this"

Management is worse. None of them know how to run a team at all. They are extremely unwelcoming and two-faced. Please keep in mind, when they say: "Yeah its okay, its not a problem, sure!" its a lie and expect to find yourself in a horrible situation a few short weeks later.

Their on call system is jacked. IF your looking to make some extra money, just don't go there. Its very hard to get hours there. The most enjoyable part
  more... of the job: breaks and when the shift is over.  less
Pros
25% discount on clothing
Cons
Horrible management, either extremely long hours, or virtually no hours at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting retail job
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 March 2017
Big work team, got to meet lots of coworkers and always had an enjoyable experience on the job. Some management positions should've been changed as they were not capable of managing people in an appropriate way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellow employees make the job
Sales Associate (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2017
Terrible management, terrible pay. Been working here part-time for many years, haven't had a raise in a very long time. This company is the worst to work for. Cutting back all part-time employees to 4 hour shifts! Not entitled to a break during the 4 hour shifts - this company needs to be reported to the Better Business Bureau. Absolute garbage.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to mention...
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect starting job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC25 March 2017
I learned all my job skills at this company
great people and great training
fun and safe environment
depending on your availabilities you might not get many hours
very understanding for students
every shift is something new and fun
hardest part is finding skills to deal with customers
Pros
great environment
Cons
not enough shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H&M. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,253 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9