H&M Employee Reviews

Found 163 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Department Manager, previously Visual Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 June 2017
The culture is amazing, many of my coworkers are what i consider good friends now. the only downside is an immense workload that often interferes with having a regular 8-9 hr day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Stressful
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2017
H&M was a great job that required a little too much commitment for part-time. Required minimum hours was a little much to handle with school and extracurriculars. A great place to work if it's the only thing on your plate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store is beautiful. Management is not.
Women's Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 June 2017
The company has great training in place but they take advantage by using "training" as a way to get part time sales associates who want to move up to do management jobs for minimum wage. Store manager at Limeridge Mall location is rasict and makes sales associates keep a close eye on any groups of black people that come into the store way more than white people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mauvais
Vendeur (Former Employee) –  Chicoutimi, QC14 June 2017
Management Vraiment mauvais ! Aucun respect envers les employés ! Changement d'horaire répétitif et sans avertir leurs employés ! Je déconseille fortement
Cons
Management tres mediocre
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall experience
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 June 2017
I was with the company for about 5 years
its a good place for teenagers to build a resume and personality
the company is overall good but the management sucks and isn't fair.
They are not fair enough for Women who are pregnant.

day to day for a part timer is
Running clothes
taking care of the fitting room
being on cash. rotating between Functions occasionally being on truck.

Learning the skills at H&M is amazing
it will take you far. I jumped from one retailer to another and H&M is the ONLY company that i've seen work as efficiently in a fast past environment.

Meeting new friends and networking was my favourite part of working there. if it wasn't for my co-workers I would of not known how I would make it through the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends what you really want to do
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario7 June 2017
If you really want to work in retail this is a great place. They're training and management are great. Retail in general in pretty unpleasant pay but I would say H&M is better than most.
I would say the hours are not great but they are normal for retail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly workplace
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 May 2017
The best part about working at H&M is the people. Ever since I started (almost) 3 years ago, it has never felt like work or I was never out of place. The people definitely makes you feel like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat and challenging
Sales (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 May 2017
the managers were difficult to deal with at times, and sometimes they don't have enough people working, so its difficult on the ones that are. HM has good culture though, and they try to give back to the community, which is commendable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales and Stock Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 May 2017
fast pace environment
very team friendly
lots of benefits
great discount
flexible hours
fun activities within the company/staff
get snacks very often
Pros
lots of fun activities for the staff
Cons
very fast paced environment which can result in very stressful situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and easy
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON14 May 2017
great work place, fun and nice enviornment! great discount and work perks. staff is very nice. Trainning was very helpful! H&M lets you grow in there company
Pros
great discount
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON10 May 2017
H&m was a fun place to work. The employee discount comes in handy, and is very useful. Management is great and work culture is fantastic. Overall great job!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at times but now they're cutting back
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
had an okay experience at H&M, loved my co-workers but management was not the best. H&M is changing and is now cutting back hours even though they keep hiring more people. i liked the company before the changes happened and now they're just going downhill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, can be very fast paced
Part time sales advisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 April 2017
I loved working at H&M. Their core values as a company really shaped me into the worker I am today. They value hard work and dedication almost as much as offering fashion at the best price. I really loved the culture and the vibe of the store. I met a lot of great people. The only thing I would recommend is make sure you say no when you are at your limit. Sometimes the hours for part timers would get a little out of hand and the store can be incredibly busy. It's okay to say no to that extra shift if you're burnt out. Don't push yourself for the sake of the paycheque. The customers will benefit from you being well rested and happy to be there!
Pros
amazing coworkers, team spirit, flexible hours, great environment
Cons
not always enough coverage during peak hours, unpaid lunch, can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 April 2017
Very fast-paced
Need to be quick
Great place to work
Approachable management
Good benefits
You can grow with the company, many opportunities to work in managements, HR, and much more.
Pros
discount
Cons
long closes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best company to work for but the people are great
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 April 2017
Management is horrible there is a lot of favouritism. Hours are not bad but only 4 hour shifts for part timers. 25% discount. Fast pace work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H&m
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS15 April 2017
Honestly, this is not a bad job. I was welcomed into the team and felt comfortable with management and my other co-workers. However, I found that the hours were all over the place and the pay was not fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 April 2017
It was a great company to work for. Every day you were able to learn something new. The management staff was excellent and always cared about the staff and customers.
Pros
Work well with a schedule
Cons
work holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H&M makes you feel like you belong to a big family
Visual Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 April 2017
H&M group is a great place to work for! A day at work is never the same! For me the best part of working for H&M was the workplace culture! The company believes in all the employees and it feels like being part of a big family!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meilleur expérience de travaille
Associer aux ventes cher H&M (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC14 April 2017
J'ai travaillé pendant quelque mois pour h&m et l'équipe est incroyable.L'énergie entre collègues est très agréable et paisible a vivre et favorise un bon travaille. J'ai vraiment aimé mon expérience et j'espère pouvoir y retravailler un jour.
Pros
bon collégues
Cons
aucune
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto Gore, ON11 April 2017
if you wanna work all day and get paid minimum wage then go for it. if not, maybe retail isn't the life for you innit
try a bank or a hostel or maybe even a
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H&M. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,891 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9