Find companies:
Gymboree Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
367 reviews

Gymboree Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 4, 2014
Pros: healthcare, great management
Cons: extremely long hours
Gymboree is a family oriented store. If you enjoy working with parents and children this is the place to be. Gymboree afforded me the opportunity to develop and strengthen my management skills. This company took pride in my successes and encouraged me to become better in all areas of my business life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Gymboree
Sales Lead/Key Holder (Current Employee), Tannersville, PAMarch 1, 2014
Working at Gymboree I was able to learn many things and also move up in the company. A typical day at work would be very easy going for the most part. I would have to execute markdowns and marketing changes in a timely fashion when they were called for. I would also do floorset. I learned how to provide legendary customer service and the tools to attempt – more... to meet the sales goals the company set. The hardest part of the job was making sure that all of the customers left the store happy with the whole team when you do not have control over the rest of the team. The most enjoyable part of the job was making a connection with the families especially the children and seeing them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Plano, TXFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: discount on kids clothes
Cons: company doesn't care about their employees
I was left alone in the store for long periods of time, even in the busiest season. Management was not understanding and corporate wouldn't help the struggling store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, upbeat enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Columbia, SCFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: n/a
This was my first real job and it was a great experience. I learned valuable lessons while working here like how to get along with the general public and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company with a comfortable enviroment.
Sales Associate, Accessory Expert, St. Jude leader (Former Employee), Burbank, OHFebruary 17, 2014
A wonderful company to work for that really cares about it employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee), Dixon, CAFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: temporary and seasonal
I loved working for this company, I learned so many new skills and had the amazing time assiting customers they can be a little brutal but nothing I could not handle, many times I had to woosa just to move to the next call , Mangement is very helpful, what I have learned about this company it is about who you know on the inside to be able to get to – more... higher positions, other than that great company, I just hate that they only have either Temporay Jobs or Seasonal it is very hard to get in this company if you do get in work your tail off to stay in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gymboree
Sales Lead (Former Employee), CTFebruary 11, 2014
• Responsible for opening and closing the store
• Monitor sales staff performance to ensure that goals are met.
• Support associates and management team in meeting/exceeding all sales targets including plan, comp and other financial performance indicators
• Listen to and resolve customer complaints regarding services, products, or personnel.
• Review – more... financial statements, sales and activity reports, and other performance data to measure productivity and goal achievement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Director
Human Resource Coordinator (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARFebruary 7, 2014
Did Presentations with Childcare Centers to get our program in their centers to help develop the children
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work with great people.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: work with my school schedule
Cons: shorts shifts
A typical day at work, I help customers find exactly what they are looking for and show them I care. I have learned many new things while working for this company, like ; POS system, stocking, visual displays, customer service skills. I work with some amazing people and management is always there to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced company with highly-energized customers
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Clinton, CTFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: great hours, great pay, beautiful location
Cons: little direction, below average communication
My career at Gymboree came in the form of a recruit by a co-worker I had worked under previously. The opportunity seemed great, and the advancement caught my eye. During my two month stay with this company, I feel I was not trained to full satisfaction, or even standards for that matter. The communication was poor between myself and district manager. – more... And as month two neared, I had an obligation to step up as acting manager due to an on-the-spot resignation from my GM. Many promises were made for me to have one-on-one training with a member of management from a different store, but that promise never came to fruition. I struggled to find a balance between several quitting employees and lack of direction. While I was there I did the absolute best possible job I could do with the little direction that had been given. My strengths showed through while talking to customers and my ability to learn the company's back office. I found a great interest in scheduling, paperwork and tracking progress. I also learned how to properly execute a floor reset on a 160 sq. ft. store. All in all, I learned a great wealth of knowledge- good, bad, and indifferent. I learned how to speak my peace in a professional manner and address not only my own, but my staffs' concerns, and I learned how to prioritize with efficiency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inventory Control
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Springfield, PAFebruary 6, 2014
Cons: no breaks long hours
This job was difficult for me. They were always under staff and a high shrink store. I learned to be very attentive and give customer service to everyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover, OK Company, Great Brands
Store Manager (Current Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: laidback environment
Cons: high turnover
Love the Brands but upper management is not engaging, and doesn't truly build relationships with district. Company is experiencing a lot of changes, hopefully good ones. A lot of turnover that just never ends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Secaucus, NJJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: discounts on children cloths
Cons: no health care
Working with children was great and parents having a lot of patience. Management was okay. My co-workers were okay. The hardest part i felt like i was doing all the work . Most enjoyable working with children
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POOR WORK ENVIRONMENT
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), PRIMM, NVJanuary 28, 2014
I WAS HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR SOMETHING THAT HAPPENED OFF THE CLOCK. POOR HOURS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter Job
Sales Lead (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJanuary 27, 2014
I recommend this job to people with no working experience. Not a job that you want to make into a career. Pay isn't great either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have nothing to comment on.
Sales Lead (Current Employee), Marietta, GeorgiaJanuary 27, 2014
I work hard, give 100% of myself when I am there and I expect to see the same but do not. Lack of respect from Management is how I feel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but terrible work atmosphere
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: manager
Manager of store was very controlling and looked down on all of her employees. This made for a terrible work atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a great company to work for but did not value it's people.
REGIONAL LOSS PREVENTION MANAGER (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: vacation time accurres. good discount.
Cons: a class society exsists. so of the executives actually think they are betterhuman beings.
I did my job. I knew my job. I was passed over for promotions I was not even made aware of. My co-workers were the best. we all suffered together. Management was out of touch with what was really happening in the stores. Very senior members of the management staff would routinely violate serious company policies everyone else seemed to take for granted – more... as obvious, like sleeping with each other. Senior management has no connection to store, district or regional management. The product cheapened as far as quality is concerned. The good people leave (surprise). The company is dying a slow and painful death which will hurt many great people. The rich will stay rich and nobody gives a darn what happens to the rest. In the end it will be every man (or woman) for themselves. So sad, so very sad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales lead
SALES LEAD (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 24, 2014
SALES LEAD
• Key holder, responsible for opening and closing the store.
• Serving as an assistant to management and acting as manager in their absence.
• Operated a cash register to process cash, check and credit card transactions, during the checkout process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
other
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Oak Brook, ILJanuary 20, 2014
Gymboree is great company
management great
hours vary
family friendly
flexible hours

About Gymboree Corporation

Despite being over 30 years old, The Gymboree Corp. is still a retail toddler, stumbling periodically, learning quickly, and growing – Read more