Find companies:
Gymboree Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
395 reviews

Gymboree Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall okay place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Roanoke, VAMay 26, 2014
Cons: short breaks, long shifts
Overall working for Gymboree is a pretty good place to work. There are always opportunities to advance your career. co-workers can sometimes be a pain, but that's the same in all places really. Unfortunately some district managers like to brush problems off and not solve anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn the business
Performance Supervisor (Current Employee), Groveport, OhioMay 22, 2014
Pros: was involved in the start up process
Cons: long work weeks, typically about 65 hour a week
The day to day operations are very volatile based on the orders that come in.

It is a rewarding job because I make a positive impact on my employees lives and the company's reputation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, great people, lots of work for little money
Owner & Teacher (Former Employee), Lexington, KYMay 21, 2014
Owned a Play & Music Franchise. The people at Corporate are great to work with and the company is awesome for families and kids. I would have loved to have stayed with the franchise until retirement but the money is horrible. Put lots of money into the franchise and never really made much of a profit. Recession didn't help. Ran, operated, and managed – more... all aspects of the business by myself including teaching many of the programs. ALOT of work and unable to pay someone to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible hours but poor management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Katy, TXMay 21, 2014
The work hours were very flexible but the management and wage was poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childrens clothing store
Sales Associate (Former Employee), The Woodlands, TXMay 20, 2014
This job was only seasonal. The time I was there, I enjoyed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would love to work in big retail stores. I like being active
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Tucson, AZMay 11, 2014
Pros: discounts on products
Cons: no free lunch.
A typical day at work would be just making sure i reach my sales goal helping customers with best interest. Understanding and listening to customers. Trying to sell the products. Hardest Part is trying to sell multiple products sometimes. I always work well with my co workers have laughter and smiles making sure we help eachother with sells. I enjoy – more... meeting new people and learning about people you just met and making them happy with their products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast workplace
SALES LEAD MANAGER (Current Employee), Aurora, ILMay 6, 2014
management
typical day at wok
- focusing on sales and task for that day
- open or close registers
- create deposit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Educational Workplace
Teacher (Current Employee), Glen Ellyn, ILMay 6, 2014
Working with children all day makes your day fly by!
I worked the front desk, answering phone calls, registering customer and teaching a school skills class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced!
Sales and Service Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 25, 2014
I loved working here because I was lead stock and I got to reset the store with new products every month. I also enjoyed being able to see the new products before everyone in the store! So had so hard times but when I look back it was getting through those times as a team that made us stronger!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive and Childish Management
Sales Lead and Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 24, 2014
Cons: the district manager, store manager of the river oaks store, all the galleria and pearland locations
I worked for this company for two years and i endured so much none sense from management to sales associates. wouldve been a great company if the management was worth anything. shady store managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gymboree
Sales Lead Key Holder (Current Employee), TXApril 22, 2014
The Gymboree Corporation is a specialty retailer operating stores selling high-quality apparel and accessories for children under the Gymboree, Gymboree Outlet, Janie and Jack, and Crazy 8 brands, as well as play programs for children under the Gymboree Play and Music brand.

The Gymboree Corporation's history begins with the founding of Gymboree Play – more... & Music in 1976, making it one of the oldest companies in its field. The appeal of the Gymboree brand was so broad that in 1986 Gymboree entered the apparel business—designing, manufacturing and retailing unique, high-quality merchandise for children – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I accomplish my goal
Cashier (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJApril 22, 2014
I learned bein patient with the customer, i learned how to price check . I connect more with my workers to help me in sales and push my goals . The most thing enjoy doing was hanging up my new clothes on the wall they were so cute. i love doing that
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally Disappointed
Assistant Manager/Teacher (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 18, 2014
The Gymboree corporation runs the site in Los Angeles, from San Francisco. In my experience, the management that is directly in the site does not have much decision making ability.

I believe that this dynamic sacrifices the quality of teaching, as well as control in customer service. The training process is done through conference calls, to trainers – more... in the site, who have never been to a physical training, when the job is VERY hands on.

It is a happy place to work because of the children and the general attitude of the other team members. But when there is a team member who has openly insulted customers, insulted other team members, not come in to work, and treated the management with disrespect, they have not been rightfully terminated.

I believe that in the environment of teaching children, this behavior is UNACCEPTABLE. But the corporation will not terminate the person, because they're worried about a lawsuit, that in my opinion, doesn't exist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace!
Sales Lead Manager (Former Employee), Eatontown, NJApril 18, 2014
Overall, working for Gymboree was a good learning experience. I was promoted to be apart of the management team after six months with the company. With this position, it allowed to me open up and experience another side of retail. I was able to do scheduling, handle all the required paperwork as well as train "new hires". I would answer phones, assist – more... customers on the sales floor, sort through and put out new shippment. I learned to have more patience especailly when it comes to training. I really enjoyed my time at Gymboree. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work depending on who you are working with
RETAIL SALES CLERK (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAApril 18, 2014
Pros: flexible and good environment
Cons: no benefits and pay was low
I enjoyed working with the people on my team at this job. I did inventory, stocking and customer service. The store sells children's clothing so it is ideal for anyone who had children. The management when I first started was good, but she left for another job and when management was replaced it was not pleasant at all. There is nothing hard about this – more... job, but if you have children or go to school this job would be ideal for you because employees do get a discount. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with toddlers and parents teaching songs and skills for development
Instructor (Former Employee), Washington Twp., NJApril 12, 2014
Pros: it was fun and exciting to see the children develop new skills and was hands-on, which i like.
Cons: some parents had their own ideas and questioned mine, no such thing as a break.
I liked working there a lot. I had fun singing songs, playing games and interacting with the kids and their parents. Was good exercise to boot!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace with Excellent Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hazelwood, MOApril 11, 2014
Pros: fun and productive work envirnoment, flexible hours, and reasonable pay for the work provided.
Cons: i did not recieve enough hours.
A typical day at Gymboree Outlet consisted of: clocking in, socializing with managers, co-workers, and customers. I learned POS, how to count a cash register for closing times, how to distribute new-line and re-plan merchandise on the sales floor, how to conduct and style new line. I also learned the ins and outs of retail, and how to converse and communicate – more... with customers in various situations on a daily basis. My co-workers were awesome, I enjoyed and looked forward to working with them, whenever I was scheduled to work. The job was not hard at all. The most enjoyable part of the job was fulfilling customer satisfaction, working with my co-workers/managers, organizing face-outs, and socializing with the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much work, so little reward
Store Manager (Former Employee), VirginiaApril 9, 2014
Upper-level managers are often unavailable and usually unhelpful. Skeleton payroll means store managers work in excess of 55 hours per week. Company is in a chaotic transition mode that makes even more work for store employees but doesn't account for employee feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to play and learn with kids
Play and Learn Instructor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 8, 2014
Study and learn lesson plans for age specific classes ranging from 0-5yrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Fast pace work place
Sales Lead (Current Employee), Rogers, ARApril 7, 2014
I have enjoyed working with Gymboree. But of course like any job there are downsides.

About Gymboree Corporation

Despite being over 30 years old, The Gymboree Corp. is still a retail toddler, stumbling periodically, learning quickly, and growing – Read more