Find companies:
Gymboree Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
380 reviews

Gymboree Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work depending on who you are working with
RETAIL SALES CLERK (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAApril 18, 2014
Pros: flexible and good environment
Cons: no benefits and pay was low
I enjoyed working with the people on my team at this job. I did inventory, stocking and customer service. The store sells children's clothing so it is ideal for anyone who had children. The management when I first started was good, but she left for another job and when management was replaced it was not pleasant at all. There is nothing hard about this – more... job, but if you have children or go to school this job would be ideal for you because employees do get a discount. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with toddlers and parents teaching songs and skills for development
Instructor (Former Employee), Washington Twp., NJApril 12, 2014
Pros: it was fun and exciting to see the children develop new skills and was hands-on, which i like.
Cons: some parents had their own ideas and questioned mine, no such thing as a break.
I liked working there a lot. I had fun singing songs, playing games and interacting with the kids and their parents. Was good exercise to boot!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace with Excellent Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hazelwood, MOApril 11, 2014
Pros: fun and productive work envirnoment, flexible hours, and reasonable pay for the work provided.
Cons: i did not recieve enough hours.
A typical day at Gymboree Outlet consisted of: clocking in, socializing with managers, co-workers, and customers. I learned POS, how to count a cash register for closing times, how to distribute new-line and re-plan merchandise on the sales floor, how to conduct and style new line. I also learned the ins and outs of retail, and how to converse and communicate – more... with customers in various situations on a daily basis. My co-workers were awesome, I enjoyed and looked forward to working with them, whenever I was scheduled to work. The job was not hard at all. The most enjoyable part of the job was fulfilling customer satisfaction, working with my co-workers/managers, organizing face-outs, and socializing with the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much work, so little reward
Store Manager (Former Employee), VirginiaApril 9, 2014
Upper-level managers are often unavailable and usually unhelpful. Skeleton payroll means store managers work in excess of 55 hours per week. Company is in a chaotic transition mode that makes even more work for store employees but doesn't account for employee feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to play and learn with kids
Play and Learn Instructor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 8, 2014
Study and learn lesson plans for age specific classes ranging from 0-5yrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Fast pace work place
Sales Lead (Current Employee), Rogers, ARApril 7, 2014
I have enjoyed working with Gymboree. But of course like any job there are downsides.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nights at Gymboree
Part Time Stock Associate (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 5, 2014
Pros: you can wok with your choice of music, no distactions of customers
Cons: no real break (just for water and restroom), you dont leave until early morning
I joined Gmyboree as a sales associate, a few short months later I was promoted to a key holder. Later on I was offered a higher paying job. I was going to put in my two weeks, but my manager asked if I would like to help out a couple days a month to put out new line. My new title is stock associate. My job consists of (in order); taking out the product – more... from boxes, separate departments, find out if its hung or folded, hang the product, take out paper or plastic from folded. Once we are closed an can start the new line, our team divides up into departments. When I start my department I first consolidate and or back stock older product, shift and reconfigure the previous two lines, then I put out the new product according to the maps layout, look over to make sure it looks neat and orderly, and finally before I am finished I check to make sure I put out several displays to create an outfits. After I am finish I help my team finish their departments, put out marketing, dress up manikins, and make sure all fixtures an things around the store are put away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greta work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), Friendswood, TXMarch 31, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: work overload
The stores are not fully staffed, making the job impossible to complete
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A surprising experience
Management (Former Employee), Ocean City, MDMarch 21, 2014
Pros: meeting wonderful customers and their families
Cons: immature, uncaring atmospere that lacked open communication.
Being a company that seems all about children and family I was very surprised that once employed the atmosphere in the store was more of an immature high school. Also, the training was very little and it seemed as though the only thing that mattered was being able to cover shifts. Communication between members of management was little to non existent. – more... When personal/family issues were to arise one was expected to "figure it out" but not effect the schedules of other co workers. At the end of the day I feel like more management training and supervision could benefit this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales associate (Former Employee), Tigard, ORMarch 12, 2014
Pros: friendly, discounts
Cons: not enough hours
greeted customers and promoted any sales
really laid back environment
friendly co-workers and customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and productive work place with very friendly people.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKMarch 4, 2014
In a typical work day we will greet customers as they come in and help them find what they are looking for and provide different options to chose from. We would keep the store clean and organized and ring up customers while maintaining a friendly and helpful aditude. Everyone here is very fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Fort MyersMarch 4, 2014
Working at this company is one of the best places I have been at, but it is not a full time position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 4, 2014
Pros: healthcare, great management
Cons: extremely long hours
Gymboree is a family oriented store. If you enjoy working with parents and children this is the place to be. Gymboree afforded me the opportunity to develop and strengthen my management skills. This company took pride in my successes and encouraged me to become better in all areas of my business life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Gymboree
Sales Lead/Key Holder (Current Employee), Tannersville, PAMarch 1, 2014
Working at Gymboree I was able to learn many things and also move up in the company. A typical day at work would be very easy going for the most part. I would have to execute markdowns and marketing changes in a timely fashion when they were called for. I would also do floorset. I learned how to provide legendary customer service and the tools to attempt – more... to meet the sales goals the company set. The hardest part of the job was making sure that all of the customers left the store happy with the whole team when you do not have control over the rest of the team. The most enjoyable part of the job was making a connection with the families especially the children and seeing them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Plano, TXFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: discount on kids clothes
Cons: company doesn't care about their employees
I was left alone in the store for long periods of time, even in the busiest season. Management was not understanding and corporate wouldn't help the struggling store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, upbeat enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Columbia, SCFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: n/a
This was my first real job and it was a great experience. I learned valuable lessons while working here like how to get along with the general public and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company with a comfortable enviroment.
Sales Associate, Accessory Expert, St. Jude leader (Former Employee), Burbank, OHFebruary 17, 2014
A wonderful company to work for that really cares about it employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee), Dixon, CAFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: temporary and seasonal
I loved working for this company, I learned so many new skills and had the amazing time assiting customers they can be a little brutal but nothing I could not handle, many times I had to woosa just to move to the next call , Mangement is very helpful, what I have learned about this company it is about who you know on the inside to be able to get to – more... higher positions, other than that great company, I just hate that they only have either Temporay Jobs or Seasonal it is very hard to get in this company if you do get in work your tail off to stay in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gymboree
Sales Lead (Former Employee), CTFebruary 11, 2014
• Responsible for opening and closing the store
• Monitor sales staff performance to ensure that goals are met.
• Support associates and management team in meeting/exceeding all sales targets including plan, comp and other financial performance indicators
• Listen to and resolve customer complaints regarding services, products, or personnel.
• Review – more... financial statements, sales and activity reports, and other performance data to measure productivity and goal achievement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Director
Human Resource Coordinator (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARFebruary 7, 2014
Did Presentations with Childcare Centers to get our program in their centers to help develop the children

About Gymboree Corporation

Despite being over 30 years old, The Gymboree Corp. is still a retail toddler, stumbling periodically, learning quickly, and growing – Read more