Find companies:
Gymboree Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
305 reviews

Gymboree Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun Work Place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Limerick, PANovember 20, 2013
Pros: hour lunches
Cons: short breaks
I enjoy working as a team, I believe that a work day should be fun most of the time. There are days were people will be stressed and you can help them out, or give the best advice and encourage them that they are dong a good job. I believe home life and work life should be separate. The most enjoyable part of a job is meeting new people and learning – more... new things. I like to take part with management to the best of my ability. The hardest part of the job would be adjusting to a new environment, but I'm very quick with learning and understanding new things. I enjoy having fun and outgoing co workers, although someone might not like you however there feeling matter but you should keep a smile on your face and not start any problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to start and get experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Southlake, TXNovember 19, 2013
Pros: no outstanding pros
Cons: tons of shipment, low hours, no holiday pay for part timers, bad communication, expectations set way to high
I've worked for the Gymboree for over two years and the first thing to say is communication between stores and upper level management is awful. Upper level management and the cooperate office set unrealistic goals for stores. Giving bare minimum hours for just one full time manager. Stores are expected to process up to 72 boxes of shipment with two – more... people, after close, in one night. No tasking is to be done while the store is open. Other problems store managers are promised all sorts of thing but you are a salary worker unable to go passed 40 hours a week. That would be fine however as the SM you will be asked to come in on your days off more often than you think as well as working and open to close shift.

Gymboree likes to pride it's self with having a family orientated policies however if you're in management you might as well say good bye to your family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive attitude and fun workplace to work for.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Manhattan Beach, CANovember 18, 2013
Pros: holiday treats, freindly manager and co-workers
Cons: short breaks
My typical day at work was productive and I would be reorganizing sections in the store floor. Welcome any entering customers and offer my assistance. Clean and cashier. I learned to work the register, how to speak with customers, the essentials of retail work and they way new lines work every season. The manager was always figuring out ways to keep – more... our store organized. She always tried to make our store look fun and welcoming to grab attention and bring in customers. Some of my co-workers did not work as if theywanted to be there, but i did have hard working and happy co-workers that I felt good working with. At timmes I had to work with lazy people and had to work double for their lazyness, but enjoyed my job while i was there. My job was not hard at all and always looked foward in my next day of coming in to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace work inviroment
Material Handler (Former Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 18, 2013
Usually dealt with a lot of shipping orders and unloading/ loading trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and entertaining workplace
Art Teacher/Receptionist (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 18, 2013
Pros: kind co-workers, flexible hours, comfortable work environment
Cons: none...i honestly cannot think of one.
A typical day at work includes a 60 minute art class with my regular children, working on hands-on activities to help develop their fine motor skills and imagination. Afterwards, I would thoroughly clean the site and then tend to customers with any information regarding product transactions or their account.

Location is ran by Blythe Donovan whom is – more... a warm-hearted and kind woman who loves nothing more than to help you help the children. Other co-workers are genuine, kind and understanding; it is never difficult to try and find someone to cover a shift in case of an emergency.

The hardest part of the job would most likely be figuring out what activities and projects you would like to teach the kids the next day your at work. There are just so many fun activities I would love to do with the kids, but I won't be able to do them all.

The most enjoyable part of the job is watching the kids explore their imagination and learn. You see their facial expressions and their body language and you really are witnessing something truly priceless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A PRODUCTIVE PLACE TO BE
Stock person/Cashier (Former Employee), Northbrook, ILNovember 17, 2013
I REALLY LOVE WORKING FOR GYMBOREE I LOVE THE STYLE OF CLOTHES THEY SELL FOR CHILDREN I LOVE THE JOYFULNESS OF THE CO-WORKERS THEY WERE FUN PEOPLE TO WORK WITH
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate/Stock Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Central Valley, NYNovember 14, 2013
Pros: respecting your schedule and the employees
Cons: minimum pay and working black friday
I was trained to use the register and to process shipments. I would assist customers in their search for the product they were interested in purchasing. Id also process shipments and organize the back stock room for maximum efficiency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the children and customer's but not what the company stood for: they didn't care for the employees
Store Manager (Former Employee), Sugar Land, TXNovember 13, 2013
product quality was amazing
company had a great idea but rant he stores on the smallest amount payroll i have ever witnessed
customer service expectations were unrealistic when running on a one person staff which was often
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Acting Store Manager (Current Employee), Springfield, PANovember 13, 2013
i love the customers. It makes me look forward to going to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting workplace with some fun people.
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Louisville, KYNovember 12, 2013
I was a sales lead at Gymboree, responsible for ensuring the sales goal for the day was met. I also learned how to manage both my employees, but also customer complaints. I learned how to do the payroll effectively and manage employee shifts. There were many challenges such as when there was a scheduling error and I was forced to close alone on a busy – more... night. I did enjoy working with most of the people there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active fashion community based on family values: children come first!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Shreveport, LANovember 9, 2013
I would check out and assist customers, keep the sales floor presentable, and arrange looks on the mannequins.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active Place to work
Teacher/ Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta AreaNovember 6, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: i didn't enjoy working weekends
You really get to enjoy teaching play classes to parents and kids. You have different kids everyday making it very interesting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great start for my employment
Seasonal Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Auburn, WANovember 4, 2013
I learned a lot more in-depth information about Retail. I increased my public speaking skills, one on one conversational skills with people I had never before met, received POS experience, as well as constant stocking experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Lead/Associate (Current Employee), Monaca, PANovember 3, 2013
Pros: time spent with kids, awesome coworkers
Cons: not so great training
Days are productive yet fun. The time spent with the children in store is a definite plus!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere wonderful employees
Cashier/ Stock/ Cleaner (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NvNovember 2, 2013
I love this company, I have been with them for a very long time and they teach you more than common sales, more computers and as well as how to do inventory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Music to the World, enriching kids at a developmental stage
Music Teacher (Current Employee), Arlington, VANovember 1, 2013
typically, I pull ou tmy pre-prepared lessons plans, make sure all the instruments and props are in place and began teaching my classes.
I learned that even at a small age 8-28 months, a child can learn the fundamentals of Music
I managed my classroom full of 12 students and parents
The hardest part of the job was making sure i got everything done in – more... a little time frame.
The easiest or most enjoyable part is teaching music and interacting with children – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE INTERACTING WITH CHILDREN
Customer Service (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAOctober 29, 2013
Love this store, worked cashier and hostess loved the environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Key Holder Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Midland, TXOctober 10, 2013
Completed point of sales openeing and closing procedures, including counting the contents of the cash register, handled customer relations, resolved complains.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good part time job
Part time sales associate (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAOctober 9, 2013
It was a pretty easy job! I definitely preferred to work stock but sales was just as fun. I had to pull out the new line and shift the walls of the old, answer the phones, take payments, and assist customers on the sales floor. So you can basically say there was always something to do. My manager that hired me switched stores but the person in line – more... was great at the job and made it fun. My co workers were great to work with and they always made the day go by faster. The only thing I didn't like about the job was I wished they paid a little more and offered full time employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the small environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Plano, TXOctober 6, 2013
Like the job just needed more hours and better pay rate
Store Manager and Assistant Manager were very understanding
Great work environment everyone is very friendly and courteous

About Gymboree Corporation

Despite being over 30 years old, The Gymboree Corp. is still a retail toddler, stumbling periodically, learning quickly, and growing – Read more